Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 13
  2. Negative: 5 out of 13
  1. Aug 1, 2012
    79
    The only big problem of this porting is its technical aspect. Everything is worse than the PC version and the lack of stability in the frame rate has several bad effects on the camera. However the contents are all there.
  2. Aug 13, 2012
    58
    So yeah, Risen 2 is a pretty flawed experience, and again isn't going to be for everyone.
  3. Aug 10, 2012
    58
    Risen 2 is an awkward mish-mash of ideas that struggles to be anything more than promising or intriguing. You could work at it and pick out some of the fun elements out of the mess but should games be this much hard work?
  4. Aug 9, 2012
    55
    The PC original had the same problems, but a post-release patch made a marked improvement by adding a useful dodge feature that allowed player skill to overcome some of the horrible combat design. Unfortunately, that addition is not included in the console version. Publisher Deep Silver does not have any plans to release it later, citing the space restrictions "certain first-parties" put on title updates. Between that and the inferior graphics, framerate, and interface, I strongly recommend going with the PC version over this lackluster console port.
  5. Risen 2 gets worse when you lash that hideous combat to a graphics engine from five years ago, complete with a lurching framerate and sloppy interfaces. If you're charting a course for Risen 2 because you've heard the phrase 'pirate RPG' and figured nobody could screw that up, your hopes are about to swan-dive from the crow's nest to the poop deck. [October 2012, p75]
  6. Quests do occasionally offer intriguing objectives, but they're a rarity, and simple kill/fetch structures are the norm. [Nov 2012, p.87]
  7. Aug 27, 2012
    50
    If you are fans of this king of RPG's and fantasy, then it is likely that you can enjoy Risen 2: Dark Waters and ignore its technical problems.
  8. Aug 26, 2012
    50
    Love the pirate setting, but Risen 2 is a cold RPG experience that lacks decent combat, rewarding exploration or a satisfying plot. [Oct 2012, p.104]
  9. Oct 27, 2012
    40
    The PlayStation version of the game not only fails to improve upon the problems of the original release, it adds several new technical problems. Texture delays, blurry graphics and sound issues combines with the horrid combat system to make this a frustrating experience. Risen 2 should be considered a "PC-only" game.
  10. It's ambitious, but everything in it suffers from some hideous defect, like a garden centre in the middle of Chernobyl. [Oct 2012, p.110]
  11. Besides the graphics, which look like they are from the early 2000's, and the horrible voice work (both Javier and his buddy Carlos sound like they were born and raised in Buckinghamshire), the compass and map marking system barely work and collision detection simply doesn't exist. [September 2012, p.82]
  12. 30
    Rather than fixing the issues with the PC original the console versions only seem to add more problems, as a pirate's life is made to see even more frustrating and repetitive.
  13. Aug 1, 2012
    30
    Anyone on the lookout for technical problems might consider starting a list: Stuttering? Check. Tearing? Check. Pop-Ups? Check. Blurry textures? Check. Erroneous shadows? Check. Clipping? Check. Faulty collision detection? Check.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Oct 1, 2012
    8
    Yes, I will defend Risen 2: Dark Waters. I really don't care about the negative covering about this game. I'm almost 30 hours in an I simply can't put it down. But I won't sugarcoat it. Risen 2 suffers from several bugs, glitches and very poor graphics that - occasionally - makes it look like a PS2 game. But this is such an ambitious project, one without fear of taking risks that, if you manage to survive the initial bad impressions, you'll find a fun, engaging and very addictive game. I completely love it and it's a shame many gamers will not even give this one a try due to bad reviews. It reminds me of games like Fallout 3 and Elder Scrolls, the pirate theme is very atmospheric and cool and this is one of the best games I've played this year. Full Review »
  2. Sep 21, 2012
    1
    Worst GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!This to fill the character minimum Full Review »
  3. Nov 19, 2013
    4
    Boring game, the combat is very bad, the quests are boring and the story is very bad, the game sucks, this was a very bad game in my opinion and im not the only one who thinks that, my friends too Full Review »