Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Oct 14, 2011
    91
    Rochard is a breath of fresh air for the PlayStation Network and the gaming industry as a whole. It is an original ideal filled with great puzzles and an entertaining sense of humor.
  2. Oct 11, 2011
    91
    This is a charming, incredibly well designed title with a truckload of replayability (still a rarity for smaller downloadable games). Don't miss out on this in the glut of "holiday" releases.
  3. Sep 30, 2011
    90
    Rochard the man may be ordinary, but the adventure he stars in is anything but.
  4. Nov 20, 2011
    88
    Rewarding physics-based puzzles. [Christmas 2011, p.87]
  5. Oct 19, 2011
    88
    Rochard is a thoroughly enjoyable game that I look forward to playing again. Not every part of it won me over, but none of it was bad. It was refreshing to play a game with an everyman main character, and even after finishing the game, I can say I still want to be a space miner.
  6. Oct 14, 2011
    85
    It's really a shame that Rochard hasn't been advertised or promoted anywhere near as much as it deserves, but don't let Sony's oversight stop you... players seeking a fat-free experience with rock-solid fundamentals, polished production levels and cleverly engaging gameplay can hardly do better than this.
  7. Oct 13, 2011
    85
    If you like side-scrolling platformers, you should get Rochard. Immediately.
  8. Oct 11, 2011
    85
    Good action platformer with a gravity manipulator (aka G-lifter) and a real like physics to play with. The puzzles are clever and the difficulty curve is near perfect. [Oct 2011]
  9. Sep 23, 2011
    85
    Enjoy Rochard as it was intended, and let it bend your mind a bit. You won't be sorry you did.
  10. Sep 28, 2011
    84
    Rochard delivers great side-scrolling gameplay, inventive puzzles, a phenomenal soundtrack, and a fun visual style.
  11. Dec 19, 2011
    83
    These small complaints don't ruin the game's larger experience. Rochard's humorous dialogue, intriguing setting, and clever puzzles round out a package that is as unique and special as its titular hero.
  12. Oct 11, 2011
    83
    Rochard takes the somewhat-familiar puzzle-platformer genre and puts a unique spin on it. The gameplay is very well-done, and the controls are usually great, with only a couple of issues.
  13. Nov 11, 2011
    82
    Rochard is a good side-scrolling adventure game with inventive puzzles and fun visual style.
  14. Sep 30, 2011
    81
    A relatively lengthy, challenging, satisfying adventure that requires us to use our heads as well as our fingers.
  15. The story of the unusual hero Rochard is not a legendary one, but Recoil Games does deliver an interesting puzzle game that will easily keep you entertained for a few hours. [Nov 2011, p.96]
  16. Puzzles were never too frustrating, and Rochard's witty commentary really worked, despite his shoddy southern accent. [Dec 2011, p.69]
  17. Oct 26, 2011
    80
    Rochard is a very good side-scrolling adventure game. It puts up a well-balanced mix of combat and puzzles despite the dampened focus on exploration. The controls may be finger-bending at times, but it is a looker and has a great soundtrack to boot. It is a short adventure that's fun to experience. At $10, it's a game that adventure fans should play without hesitation.
  18. Oct 21, 2011
    80
    John St. John, pretty visuals, and a great story to get behind, Rochard is a sleeper hit. Learning how to long jump in low gravity or just launching grenades through five different force fields to destroy one small piece of metal for a trophy gets my fingers itchy. Another great game to play, but who am I to tell you. Figure it out for yourself. Alabama.
  19. Oct 17, 2011
    80
    Rochard is a charming romp through space with interesting ideas which, while not entirely original, are executed and pieced together well for an enjoyable final product. We'd love to see what they have in store for the inevitable sequel.
  20. 80
    Sure, the story is predictable and the humor is definitely not for everyone, but when the platforming and puzzle solving is this fun you won't really mind.
  21. Oct 6, 2011
    80
    The story is forgettable but the puzzles paired with the ability to control gravity make for addictive gameplay.
  22. Oct 4, 2011
    80
    It's a refreshing, perfectly sized game that squeezes the fun puzzle process, of learning and exploiting the rules, into tidy little rooms.
  23. Jan 10, 2012
    75
    The puzzles in Rochard are challenging without being unnecessary frustrating and find the right balance. Every so often that balance disappears with chaotic shooting sections.
  24. Oct 31, 2011
    75
    Rochard is a good game that could have been awesome. The premises are great, thanks to a lot of intriguing puzzles and the ability to manipulate the gravity in many ways, but things get worse very soon.
  25. Oct 16, 2011
    75
    What the game lacks in exploration (there is a little, but not as much as, say, Metroid) and fun combat, it more than makes up for in pace and puzzle-solving satisfaction.
  26. Oct 7, 2011
    75
    A solid game with a few frustrating flaws, which are not big or bad enough to topple my appreciation for what Recoil Games did here.
  27. Oct 30, 2011
    74
    Rochard is a fun game, though it is hardly a surprising one. Developer Recoil Games mostly plays it safe and manages to deliver a game that is both accessible and confusing at the same time. The graphics are fine, but the real fun lays in John 'Duke Nukem' St. John's voice acting.
  28. Sep 28, 2011
    71
    Rochard has a fair number of idiosyncrasies, including its off-key attempt at Southern, blue-collar comedy humor, but its heart is in the right place. It's not on-point 100 percent of the time, and it doesn't concern itself with optional modes or bonus content, but you'll mine more fun than frustration from this endeavor.
  29. Quirky. [Dec 2011, p.114]
  30. Oct 16, 2011
    70
    Though Rochard's influences are quite evident, the final result is a unique, thoughtful puzzle platformer.
  31. Oct 5, 2011
    70
    Rochard's gravity-defying antics make for an enjoyable adventure, albeit one that rarely reaches for the stars.
  32. Oct 4, 2011
    70
    Between the strangely absent humour and the ill-advised diversions into generic shoot-em-up territory, Rochard squanders enough of its potential to hold it back from something truly greatness. The tragedy is that this greatness can still be glimpsed, resulting in a game that invites passionate defence but never quite earns it.
  33. Sep 28, 2011
    70
    Pictures don't do Rochard justice; it's gorgeous and overflowing with color from beginning to end. If you've got free time and ten bucks to spare, Rochard is worth its weight in unobtanium (or whatever obscure space rock they were looking for before Rochard started shooting people in the head).
  34. 60
    For a downloadable game with barely a single new idea of its own this is still an entertaining, if rather uneven, platform puzzler.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    9
    I really liked it! It reminded me of Portal.

    The game looks really great and has some awesome music. I hope they will some day add
    multiplayer to this. Full Review »
  2. Jan 2, 2014
    6
    Had a decent start, liked the controls and humor.....but just got stale and boring after awhile and never picked up. Puzzles weren't very creative compared to other puzzle games. Full Review »
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    If i could give this game a 8.5 i would, This is better than an 8 game, but not quite a 9. The only problem was it was too short. I loved the setting the gameplay the characters, it was new and original. I love these re-imaging of 2-D platformers, but the only problems is length. I loved shadow complex and deadlight as well, if only these games become longer then I will be set. Full Review »