Rochard PlayStation 3

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Oct 30, 2011
    74
    Rochard is a fun game, though it is hardly a surprising one. Developer Recoil Games mostly plays it safe and manages to deliver a game that is both accessible and confusing at the same time. The graphics are fine, but the real fun lays in John 'Duke Nukem' St. John's voice acting.
  2. Sep 28, 2011
    71
    Rochard has a fair number of idiosyncrasies, including its off-key attempt at Southern, blue-collar comedy humor, but its heart is in the right place. It's not on-point 100 percent of the time, and it doesn't concern itself with optional modes or bonus content, but you'll mine more fun than frustration from this endeavor.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Nov 13, 2011
    70
    Quirky. [Dec 2011, p.114]
  4. Oct 16, 2011
    70
    Though Rochard's influences are quite evident, the final result is a unique, thoughtful puzzle platformer.
  5. Oct 5, 2011
    70
    Rochard's gravity-defying antics make for an enjoyable adventure, albeit one that rarely reaches for the stars.
  6. Oct 4, 2011
    70
    Between the strangely absent humour and the ill-advised diversions into generic shoot-em-up territory, Rochard squanders enough of its potential to hold it back from something truly greatness. The tragedy is that this greatness can still be glimpsed, resulting in a game that invites passionate defence but never quite earns it.
  7. Sep 28, 2011
    70
    Pictures don't do Rochard justice; it's gorgeous and overflowing with color from beginning to end. If you've got free time and ten bucks to spare, Rochard is worth its weight in unobtanium (or whatever obscure space rock they were looking for before Rochard started shooting people in the head).
  8. 60
    For a downloadable game with barely a single new idea of its own this is still an entertaining, if rather uneven, platform puzzler.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    9
    I really liked it! It reminded me of Portal.

    The game looks really great and has some awesome music. I hope they will some day add
    I really liked it! It reminded me of Portal.

    The game looks really great and has some awesome music. I hope they will some day add multiplayer to this.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 2, 2014
    5
    Had a decent start, liked the controls and humor.....but just got stale and boring after awhile and never picked up. Puzzles weren't veryHad a decent start, liked the controls and humor.....but just got stale and boring after awhile and never picked up. Puzzles weren't very creative compared to other puzzle games. Full Review »
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    If i could give this game a 8.5 i would, This is better than an 8 game, but not quite a 9. The only problem was it was too short. I loved theIf i could give this game a 8.5 i would, This is better than an 8 game, but not quite a 9. The only problem was it was too short. I loved the setting the gameplay the characters, it was new and original. I love these re-imaging of 2-D platformers, but the only problems is length. I loved shadow complex and deadlight as well, if only these games become longer then I will be set. Full Review »