Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Dec 21, 2010
    100
    Rock Band 3 is what we've been wanting since the release of the first Guitar Hero; it's what we've needed. The perfect music game is here, right now.
  2. Dec 21, 2010
    100
    If your bank account can withstand the investment for those pro instruments, or even if you want to keep playing the old way, Rock Band 3 is now the new benchmark of music games for groups. The Keyboard is a true bonus, especially in pro mode, and the Pro Guitar a real challenge for die hard gamers. Still blessed with its spot-on gameplay, as a videogame, it is beyond reproach and will entertain you for hours. But in terms of music teaching tool, we're not quite there yet. Only time will tell if the public will follow, and if the pro mode will indeed lead to new vocations, like the drums addition in the original Rock Band did. But Harmonix made progress and invested in innovation, while its competitors laze, and one may only applaud for that.
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    100
    Rock Band 3 continues to delight my gaming senses and eardrums, and I look forward in watching my wallet deplete of funds with new DLC songs and instrument options on down the line.
  4. Dec 21, 2010
    100
    The game's tutorial is excellent, and it slowly introduces you to some otherwise difficult concepts, but unless you have a lot of chords under your fingers beforehand, it takes actual practice to play on Pro Guitar.
  5. Dec 14, 2010
    100
    Rock Band 3 is a complete package and quite possibly the definitive music game. Once again, Harmonix defines and sets the bar for what the music genre can achieve. It will be hard pressed for anyone, Harmonix included, to top this game.
  6. Dec 14, 2010
    100
    Still nobody does this better than Harmonix, and with Rock Band 3 they are at the top of their game.
  7. Oct 27, 2010
    100
    Rock Band 3 is a knockout in just about every way it can be. If you enjoyed anything from Harmonix in the past, you owe it to yourself to rush out and buy this.
  8. Oct 26, 2010
    100
    Rock Band 3 is simply perfect. It's the final evolution of the music games, the perfect harmony between game and study, the perfect party experience and an awesome game. Everything is packed with love and attention, from the smaller thing to major features. If you love music and videogames, buy it and love it.
  9. Oct 26, 2010
    100
    Truthfully, the entire game feels like a defiantly kickass celebration of music. Combined with the complete success and undeniable innovation of Pro Mode, how could anyone resist Rock Band 3?
  10. Oct 25, 2010
    100
    The best music game ever. Harmonix have outdone themselves with new instruments and an insane Pro Mode that will keep us playing for months, perhaps even years to come.
  11. 95
    Rock Band 3 is quite possibly the most successful music game ever. It keeps the old Rock Band formula wholly intact, and adds upon it a whole new layer of gameplay that carefully leads you across the slow, rickety bridge from simple imitation to real creation.
  12. Jan 13, 2011
    94
    Rock Band 3 have an amazing track list, an exciting new support for instruments and many challenges and rewards that will keep us busy for months. This is the best iteration in any musical saga to date. A must-have.
  13. Oct 24, 2010
    94
    Rock Band 3 is simply the best there is in the music genre.
  14. It may be far less glamorous than new setlists and instruments, but the revamped user interface that underlies the whole experience is the game's most unqualified success. Fixing nearly every problem from previous installments, and layering in a whole new career structure, the new format is brilliant.
  15. Oct 26, 2010
    91
    The only thing I'm left wondering is where Harmonix can go from here with the series having pretty much crammed everything you'd want out of the series.
  16. As a standalone game it's the best music game available, even though it arguably has the weaker soundtrack compared to Rock Band and Rock Band 2. But it feels a little hollow as a standalone game; it needs you to build a massive library to fully exploit it. [January 2011 p76]
  17. Jan 5, 2011
    90
    Rock Band 3 is an excellent game and it's a great iniciative by Harmonix to try learning us how to play a real instrument. The familiar Rock Band formula is there, but some new changes to the franchise really spice things up. It's probably the best music game on the market.
  18. Closing your eyes and softly whispering Space Oddity: brilliant. [Christmas 2010]
  19. Dec 21, 2010
    90
    The unavoidable reality is that, for all Rock Band 3's considerable refinements and intuitive advancements, your current games and equipment will probably suffice if you're just after banging a few plastic keys to the odd tune every now and then.
  20. Dec 21, 2010
    90
    The fact that Rock Band 3 is both easy to pick up and play while offering an intricate learning tool is a remarkable thing.
  21. Dec 21, 2010
    90
    Multiplayer is always a blast.
  22. Dec 21, 2010
    90
    None can deny that it's a huge step forward.
  23. Dec 14, 2010
    90
    This one is easy, Rock Band 3 simply rocks!
  24. Rock Band's greatest achievement may be that it's not just another Rock Band game; it's an ambitious step forward for the genre. [Dec 2010, p.80]
  25. Oct 28, 2010
    90
    Rock Band 3 is the ultimate music experience. New instruments are solid, the keyboard is fun to play, and the tracklist is splendid and varied.
  26. 90
    What I can say about Rock Band 3, though, is that it's excellent, and a ton of fun in both single and multiplayer.
  27. Jan 4, 2011
    89
    A fantastic music game with a nice new way to play the career mode. The game also has a pretty nice soundtrack from normal to hardcore metal tracks. The game also features new instruments like the Keytar and you can play with the professional instruments in the Pro-Mode of the game.
  28. Jan 11, 2011
    88
    Pro mode is something new in a genre in a desperate need of innovation. Maybe it won't be able to teach you how to play music, but it's the nearest thing in videogame industry. Unfortunately, if you already are a musician, you will find yourself a bit frustrated by the rigidity of the system. Also, the keyboard hasn't been fully supported with a lacking tracklist and a limited peripheral.
  29. Oct 25, 2010
    85
    Rock Band 3 is the best music game option around. The more you put into it, the more you'll get out of it. But my bet is that most people will just buy the game and nothing more. And while that experience is still solid, it's not all that different from Rock Band 2.
  30. Dec 24, 2010
    84
    The best thing you can say about Rock Band 3 is that it's more of the same. [Issue#199, p.90]
  31. Jan 12, 2011
    80
    If Rock Band is an every-Friday-night thing for you, then grabbing Rock Band 3 would be a good call as the evolution the fanchise has made will be much appreciated by fans. If not, then you might want to pass.
  32. Dec 21, 2010
    80
    Rock Band 3 focuses more on the music, providing a fun and streamlined experience. However, taking full advantage of the game comes with a rather large pricetag, and it's up to you whether it's the worth the extra cash to upgrade from plastic to fantastic.
  33. Dec 21, 2010
    80
    Rock Band manages to be the definitive music game experience and if you enjoyed the previous ones chances are you will fall in love all over again.
  34. Dec 21, 2010
    80
    Thanks to a bevy of pre-loaded Setlists and Road Challenges, you now have an attractive and instant alternative to World Tour – which is still there and as rigorous as ever.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    5
    Rock Band 3 is without a doubt the worst in the series. There is absolutely no challenge (except for the "pro" mode, which I'll get to in a bit). The song selection suffers the same fate as Guitar Hero World Tour: It's too spread out to accommodate the new instruments. No song in particular stands out, they all just blend into one boring setlist. Unlike Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock, RB3 is entirely mundane. There's no epic finale, no setpieces that stand out. There just seems to be no emotion in the game. That's the best way to describe it.

    The one addition to Rock Band 3 that does work well is the keyboard. It is fun to use, and the additions such as Bohemian Rhapsody work much better on it. As a piano player myself, it was fun to jump right into pro mode and already know how to play it. However, the steep $80 entry price will discourage most players, and I've found after playing with my friends that it's even less popular to use than the bass.

    Speaking of playing with friends, I've found the guitar hero series, especially in recent years, to be much better at this. You STILL can't play with any combination of instruments, forcing the odd man out to play an instrument they don't want to instead of fun sessions in GHWOR with 4 people on guitar. Now on to the pro mode. While it worked alright when I played it in the store (they brought out some of the other pro instruments at best buy for people to try), buying all of them will set you back more than $300. Want the "real" pro guitar? Prepare to pay at least $300 for that alone. They haven't announced the price yet, but that's the most valid guess based on retailer slips and other rumors.

    Wondering why this game gets a 90 metascore? Because the reviewers didn't have to pay for the instruments. I guarantee that very few people are going to pay that much money just to get the full experience out of ONE game. And they don't even work in any other mode!

    TL:DR version: Rock Band 3 is the most disappointing in the series. Other than the one shining addition of the keyboard, it's a bland and uninspired sequel that requires a huge investment to get any more enjoyment out of. My advice? Stick with Rock Band 2. The DLC is backwards compatible, and you're better off saving your money for the dozens of other better games coming out soon.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    I've just bought the game yesterday, and was amazed by the possibilities offered from this game. I'm a heavy music based VG user. I bought most of the GH franchise and RB franchise and I can testify this ROCK BAND 3 is simply the final countdown to music simulation. In terms of music content, Rock Band has a very strong tracklist with massive tracks from all period of time and would satisfy any rock fans. (From I love rock n roll, smoke on the water, bohemian rhapsody, break on through to Just like heaven walk of life and many many more). Taking into account more thant 2000 tracks are available, RB buries competitors away, giving you the chance to localize the game upon your music tastes. You can also transfer your previous RB games library so it's pretty fair from HARMONIX supplying this function even though competitors do so;

    In terms of graphic environment, difficult to say since personal tastes may vary. As a drummer in a real band, I'm amazed by accurate references to the indie real world of amateur musicians. Quite immersive. In terms of music teaching method, well we can only trust Harmonix since pro guitars are not available yet. It seems they made it, allowing you to learn these classical rock tracks on a real guitar. As a drummer, I can say I would have loved to have this game when learning drums, working accuracy, tempo, and rock rhythms in a funny way. I guess it's the same with guitars and keys so, thanks for that.

    About tech specs,
    I'm a drummer for real and this time I can plug my Roland V Drums to play the game, only buying a MIDI converter. With this converter and the fender mustang, I will be able to play guitar in my home studio in MIDI or for real if I go with the fender SQUIER. I can also plug my midi keyboards. That's really amazing and even though is not of mass concerns is the absolute effort HARMONIX should have a reward for. When competitors fill shelves with same games with different tracklists, HARMONIX tends to offer a full compatibility between VG and music worlds. About the price, this is the only negative point. For a full experience, I need to buy the drums, the two guitars, the keys, the midi converter and the game. That leads to a final 1000 USD invoice, which makes ROCK BAND maybe the most expensive game in the world, even compared to WOW subscription model (it would stand for at least 7 years subscription), not taking into account DLC's. SUM UP : More than 2000 tracks available, the fun of casual game, the ability to learn instruments for real, full customization of music, this is the perfect game ever made for sure. Even though perfection has a price...
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 2, 2010
    4
    As a loyal fan of the series, Rock Band 3 is a major disappointment. The setlist is dull, thanks to the need for keyboard-friendly songs. The online features have been scaled back so much, it's shocking. All of the Player vs. Player battles are gone. In fact, they seem to have lost sight of the "band" concept in favor of the individual. The career mode is boring. It doesn't require you to take any risk or play at any advanced difficulty. Much of the venues seem recycled. The only real improvement is Pro mode - particularly if you are a drummer, as all new, exported, and downloaded tracks support Pro drums immediately and at no charge! However, this game lacks any semblance of soul. If you don't have any desire to go Pro - stick with RB2. Full Review »