Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Oct 31, 2011
    74
    Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is an interesting, addictive and funny platformer for PSN.
  2. Oct 19, 2011
    74
    Actually pretty fun, and considering that the game is only twelve dollars on the PlayStation Network, it's a pretty good deal if you are looking for a 2D run and gun shooter. It's no Contra, that's for sure, but it's tongue-in-cheek, goofy, and generally enjoyable.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Dec 3, 2011
    70
    Feels like Rambo for poultry. [Christmas 2011, p.104]
  4. Nov 7, 2011
    70
    Battling chickens and penguins is a lot of fun. The only problem with it is that it is too easy. That and the overall lack of originality make for a mediocre game that does not stand out among its contemporaries.
  5. Nov 7, 2011
    70
    Not a new step in the genre, but Rocketbirds shows a refined formula that works beautifully.
  6. Nov 4, 2011
    70
    From a sum of its parts standpoint, I probably shouldn't have liked it as much as I did, but it is a satisfying diversion that I do recommend.
  7. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Dec 29, 2011
    68
    Although you kill loads of evil penguins along the way, the gameplay is mainly centered around rather basic environment puzzles that get boring quite quickly. [Nov 2011, p.98]
  8. Oct 31, 2011
    65
    Contra and Metal Slug are the KFCs of the 2D shooter world. And this game is literally like hardboiled chicken–enjoyable for the price, but is no gourmet dish.
  9. Oct 19, 2011
    60
    Overly basic combat and puzzles keep Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken from taking flight.
  10. Oct 19, 2011
    60
    Although the gameplay mechanics are solid, there is no challenge whatsoever even on the highest difficulty setting.
  11. Oct 17, 2011
    60
    While Hardboiled Chicken loses out on some fundamentals, it does get a fair bit right. Best enjoyed in bite-sized chunks, players can find a lot to enjoy if they're simply looking for something to pick up and play. If you're a fan of side-scrolling shooters and have a weekend to spare, Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken may be just what you're looking for.
  12. Oct 27, 2011
    50
    The dark storyline and cut-scenes, the rock-based soundtrack and the occasional cool gameplay moments do save Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken from being a completely forgettable, average experience.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    6
    Run forward, push a box, jump, shoot a guy. Been there, done that. Good graphics and sound. A block of man-chicken isn't the most gracefulRun forward, push a box, jump, shoot a guy. Been there, done that. Good graphics and sound. A block of man-chicken isn't the most graceful character for this type of game. Its perfectly playable and graphically sound, but something in the back of your mind wants you to stop playing. Heed the call, its a little boring. Full Review »
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    6
    Really fun, but the controls are very limited. Games like shank took this up a notch. But this game is funnier. The worst part to me was thatReally fun, but the controls are very limited. Games like shank took this up a notch. But this game is funnier. The worst part to me was that the game was really easy, but the end boss was so difficult I couldn't defeat him. Full Review »
  3. Jan 20, 2012
    8
    Wow, what a surprise! At first, I thought this was just an average air fighting game (per the PSN preview). But I decided to look into it andWow, what a surprise! At first, I thought this was just an average air fighting game (per the PSN preview). But I decided to look into it and discovered that Rocketbirds HBC is a 2D adventure game. It reminds me of Flashback, which blew my mind back in the day, but with a simpler approach. Yes, there's actually the air fighting part, but this is just to fill in some gaps. The main heart of the game let us control a chicken-soldier in a very traditional 2D platforming way (like the old Prince of Persia, as well). This is currently under discount at the PSN and it turned out to be a great surprise. Nice graphics, easy to pick gameplay and even a couple of surprises in the way. Great indie game. Full Review »