Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rocksmith 2014 Edition lets players plug in any electric guitar or bass directly into your system and begin learning guitar with the Rocksmith Method.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. 100
    The definitive guitar tutorial that teaches wannabe guitarists in a fun and engaging way.
  2. 95
    While Rocksmith 2014 won’t be replacing the guitar teacher, it was designed as a supplemental tool to make learning and practice a lot of fun. I feel that it succeeds in this design and is an essential addition to any guitarist’s arsenal, whether you’re picking up a guitar for the first time or you’ve been playing for years.
  3. Oct 23, 2013
    92
    It says on a piece of paper in the box that you can learn to play the guitar in 60 days by taking the 60-day challenge. While I am not going to say this is 100% accurate, I can honestly claim that if you have the drive to learn, then Rocksmith will definitely be the best tutor you’ll ever pay for.
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    90
    With Rocksmith 2014 the developers have done a great job expanding their original software. The new version of the “game” works much better than the previous one and the awesome Session Mode is incredibly fun. This is just software, anyway, and if you are trying to learn how to play guitar or bass, you should find a real teacher asap.
  5. With its extensive focus on learning and comprehensive library, Rocksmith 2014 is a must buy for guitar enthusiasts.
  6. Dec 13, 2013
    80
    If you want some painless and enjoyable guitar lessons, go buy Rocksmith 2014 Edition. [13/2013, p.74]
  7. Oct 24, 2013
    70
    Rocksmith 2014 is a pretty good tool to learn how to play guitar and bass. The game features all the basics to understand the instrument and lead the guitarist to his first riff, all that with a tracklist full of classics and modern songs and a much better interface than in the first Rocksmith game.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    I am probably a near perfect example of a totally new beginner who never had the discipline, drive, and patience to learn guitar via traditional means.
    Though I had purchased the original Rocksmith years ago, I made the mistake of purchasing the cheapest brand name guitar I could find on Amazon, the Squier Fender Bullet Strat ($99), which upon unpackaging had the strings touching the fretboard. I still don't know if this was due to shipping or the product itself... I was going to get it fixed at the music store a couple towns over, but never got around to it (I'm also a good example of procrastination).

    This time around I decided to do some more research before purchasing the guitar, but it seems the one that comes in the bundle is the best (or at least one of the best) for the price currently (Epiphone Les Paul Jr.). I had to dig around for my old PS3 component cable, found it, left the video on HDMI and simply plugged the audio portion from the component cable directly into my stereo. Tuning was a snap, and though during the very first lesson it felt awkward, I could tell I had made real progress by the very next day. They say you can learn in 60 days, and right now I'm a believer. I started before their online site was up (it's still in beta), but today it appears like a very good second screen tool to check your progress.

    Basically Rocksmith does for learning guitar what Mavis Beacon does for learning how to type. It makes the learning process fun, changes it up so it doesn't get too monotonous, allows you freedom to learn what you want when you want to, provides immediate feedback and rewards.

    I'm not an expert yet, but the thing is I'm having enough fun for this to be a daily habit. It's a console video game that teaches you a skill, and makes learning that skill fun enough to keep up with it over time. I hope this coming generation sees Rocksmith continue to refine this process with their xB1 and PS4 offerings, while adding piano, drums, and vocals.

    Who knows, maybe even Khan Academy and Rosetta Stone could have their own console versions. I remember "educational" games on the Magnavox Odyssey 2 back in the day. They were not fun. But the times and technologies have changed enough that I believe learning certain skills (especially musical ones) can be easy and entertaining at the same time.

    But back to Rocksmith 2014. I can't find a fault in it, and maybe that's because I'm a beginner, but the thing is, it makes me want to keep that guitar in my hands every day and keep on learning new songs/techniques, so it is perfect for me.
    Expand
  2. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    This game is too awesome. Is a terrific improvement over the first Rocksmith, all the things that are bad in that game are fixed in this one. The fact that you can activate (an improved) Riff Repeater is one of the most helpful things. Te Session mode is a goldmine, perfectly well done. I thought "I'll check it out for five minutes before playing a song to see how it is" I spent 4 hours.
    I know what game is my game of the year
    Collapse
  3. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    Rocksmith rocks! Excellent game. If you like playing the guitar and you like video games you will be very happy that you bought Rocksmith. The sound modelling alone is worth the price of the purchase, not to mention the USB audio interface and great track choice. Only the most adept guitarists will not benefit from the lessons on offer and even they would still have lots of fun I am sure. Expand
  4. Aug 13, 2014
    9
    Excellent game, and as a beginner, I can testify you can truly learn guitar. The problems are with the interface, as it's not quite clear how to follow through with the missions sometimes. They also need to support other controllers other than the DualShock, which needs both hands to be held. With the PSMove, or even the PS3 remote controller, you could navigate through the menus while still holding your guitar. I like the track selection, but it seems like it leans a bit towards metal (the DLC has very good choices, but the tracks are pricey, at $3 each). Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2014
    9
    As a beginner, who never struck a single chord before, the rocksmith experience have been a roller coaster ride. First off, yes it works. It really works. And it is fun. But, if you, like me, never played before I think you should at least think about talking to someone who do play. The reason is, when you play rocksmith without guidance, the game will tell you if you play the wrong note or chord. But the game can not see what you are doing wrong. So, for me, for instance, I struggled with muting strings and holding my fret hand a bit off.

    A short talk and "lesson" from a friend did the trick and I went from 26% progression to 97%. Have played the game, every day now for two months and are already seeing a huge difference. I have learned several chords, are more familiar with the frets and notes. And have also started to play along to my favorite songs only using headphones and trying to play the right chords.

    But! The game crashes at times. I have tried to find out why. Some, on the boards, say certain DLC can make the console prone to crashing, some say that the amount of free space on the drive is the culprit. I have only had three crashes in two months time, no biggie, but still an issue.

    Verdict? Play this game, play more guitar. :)
    Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    Nearly every aspect of the game has truly been improved this time around. The setlist is better, the loading times are almost nonexistent, Session Mode is sweet if you like to jam and improvise like I do, Lessons are clear and more in depth. But perhaps the most welcome improvement is with the gameplay itself. The 'freeway' or note track is not only more attractive, but also easier to read, with fret indications more clearly marked and highlighted next to each note. Also, no more annoying 3 or more song concerts or qualifying garbage that you were forced to play in the first game, now its just 'Learn a Song' mode. Very refreshing. If you want to learn guitar, already love to play, or want to get back into it, you NEED to experience this game. Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2013
    1
    Extremely poor example of a "Rocksmith" game 2013 had a lot of amazing features that have been stripped away from the simplicity of enjoying playing guitar such as the concert mode. Now with no real feeling of achievement, a handful of the beginners may never continue to play their guitar and enjoy their music from lack of a better words motivation. I see what they're trying to do, but they shouldn't have taken out the sense of achievement in the game. No credits or anything to spend to earn a ranking of some sort. A title to feel proud of yourself. I hope to god in the 2015 edition they realize this was a mistake and have re added some simple features that enhanced the game play of traditional "Rocksmith". Expand

See all 15 User Reviews