R.U.S.E. Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: R.U.S.E. is a real-time strategy game that allows players to bluff their enemies to lead their nation to victory, controlling the action using views that range seamlessly from the heart of the battlefield to the full theatre of war. Players are plunged into the action thanks to the exclusive IRISZOOM Engine which offers an intuitive interface that allows for smooth, rapid transitions from a birds-eye view of the entire conflict, down into the heat of the battle and vice versa. In R.U.S.E., players use their brain as the ultimate weapon, fighting a war of perception, where the ability to deceive and mislead the enemy determines success. A first in a strategy game, R.U.S.E. promises to reinvigorate the genre by using deception to give new-found depth to the game play. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. I'm hoping that with patches (and some more players) that most of those can be corrected, and the basic concept of the ruses is solid and very enjoyable. It really is an RTS that plays like no other, and it deserves a second look on that basis alone.
  2. 82
    A solid strategy romp and well worth any strategy fans' time. [Issue#197, p.94]
  3. As an RTS game R.U.S.E. succeeds. It's tough and it's tight. As an RTS game, however, it's destined to only be embraced by a small, hardcore community. [Oct 2010 p.75]
  4. R.U.S.E. is a good game that has some flaws. The one thing that Ubisoft and the devs were counting on to entertain (the R.U.S.E. option) pays off really well in the end. The rest of the gameplay elements aren't overly different from what we've seen before in an RTS, which makes R.U.S.E. simply good and not great.
  5. This intriguing real-time strategy game overcomes its feeble campaign by encouraging a different approach to battlefield tactics.
  6. Jan 5, 2011
    72
    With a disappointing campaign and a lack of online players to challenge, R.U.S.E. is a tough sell.
  7. Despite a fascinating concept and an undoubted strategic deepness, the console versions of R.U.S.E. fail to deliver a fully satisfying gaming experience for both fans and newcomers to the genre due to some gameplay flaws and some questionable decisions made by the developers.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    All joking aside, I do not know what game the critics were playing, and what they think gaming is.
    R.U.S.E. is first and foremost (as with all
    games today) a multiplayer experience. It has been designed as such, with fantastic dialogue between beta testers (of which there were many) and impeccable attention to detail, gameplay, and realism.
    The single player campaign lacks the fast paced run and gun people are use to, but the heavily strategic and tactical gameplay of multiplayer absolutely shines. The art of deception the game is based around gives players an endless multitude of strategies to fool foes, interact with team mates and drag you in to a gaming experience you won't forget.
    My favourite title of the year.
    Expand
  2. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    Ich hab mir ein Paar trailer von RUSE angesehen, sieht echt Klasse aus, aber es erinnert mich echt and dass Alte Panzergeneral 2.. nur in Echtzeit.. also auch ein wenig an C&C Gernerals.( bessere Grafik und extras natuerlich, aber im endeffect son mix aus beidem) Ich fand beide Spiele total Geil, und wenn RUSE nur halb so gut wie die Games ist, wirds sicherlich ein Hit. Habt ihr es schon gespielt? Ich muss noch etwas warten biss ich mir dass besorgen kann,.. -.- Expand
  3. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    I really have to agree with the last guy - the game was designed for MP. The SP is actually not that bad but when you jump into the MP world it really starts to compare to some of the top of the line RT-Strategy games out there. Judge it for yourself - I recommend a buy but rent if you're skeptical. Expand
  4. Sep 14, 2010
    8
    this is my new crack. i'm a sucker for wwii games and these guys have taken it to a new level. RTS without the kind of boring repetition we're all used to with most stock RTS. the story is actually pretty good and there's some impressive music to accompany the beautiful graphics. so good! Collapse
  5. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    The game is one of the better new games available at this moment. I really enjoy playing it alone and/or with my friends. The singleplayer isn't that great, but the multiplayer makes that up.
    I just love the details.
    Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2011
    8
    Finally, an RTS that is playable on a console. This is mainly due to Ubisoft's use of the Playstation Move. The Move controller lets you highlight troops like you would with your mouse. Still the game is limited by the fact that we are the controller doesn't have as many buttons as a keyboard. But as far as console RTS it is miles ahead of many others. The confusing thing is that the PS3 has keyboard support so they could easily just port the game over to the PS3 with m/k settings. I would rather have move and keyboard though because when I sit on my couch it is harder to use a mouse since there is nowhere to put it that is firm enough (even when using a book). Expand
  7. Sep 22, 2010
    1
    I borght this game from game (wot game you say) the game in nottingarm. this by far my favourite british game, by game i mean game the shop not this game ruse. For my Yanky readers in US of America game is a game shop for you also silly american this means store. I felt rused out of £49.99 as that what i spent on this ruddy nightmare. I dunno how many millions of pixels were put in this game (can anyone say for sure?) BUT IT DIDNT HELP ONE IOTO. So very very very ugly and often out of focus. Surely the game publishers can focus on this minor floor next time?!

    I'm going to rip the publishers into flesh piece and see if they like that!

    Anyway this game is a rotton mess and doesn't work with the playstation HUB one oita. Rotton to the core. Anyone wanna buy it from me? msg me if that is wat you want.
    Expand

See all 13 User Reviews