Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Osaka based game developer Dimps, Saint Seiya Brave Soldiers will feature playable characters from the Sanctuary, Poseidon and Hades arcs within the Saint Seiya universe. Players will realize their dreams of battling the most vile and evil characters from Saint Seiya in one-on-one bouts that take place through the storylines from the anime series. The game will present enhanced graphics and effects; bringing the animated series to life like never before. Saint Seiya Brave Soldiers also gives players the ability to execute devastating combos and special moves as seen in the TV show. As players progress through the game, they will access the ability to enhance their chosen character's hit-point, strength levels, and Cosmos Power Gauge. Explosive online encounters await players via versus and ranking modes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 32
  2. Negative: 7 out of 32
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    Brave Soldiers is a solid game for both the anime and the fighting game lovers. The combat system is easy to grasp and can be mastered even by less technical players. The interesting multiplayer modes and the huge fan service turn this product into something you can look after.
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    70
    A decent brawler, even if way too similar to Cyberconnect's Naruto series. Some interesting changes to the mechanics make this a fun fighting game, but it's definitely not a technical one nor amongst the most original.
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    60
    With its limited depth, Brave Soldiers can't hold its own against more technical fighters on the market, and the tedium and lackluster presentation of the story mode won't give anyone who's not already a fan of the series much of a reason to become one.
  4. Our beloved anime series gains its wings with Saint Seiya: Brave Soldiers, fans of the anime will like it, other players will stay away from it.
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    50
    Saint Seiya Brave Soldiers has little to offer for those who do not like or even know the series written by Masami Kurumada. As "Fighting game" is to shallow to appeal to a broader public, but at the same time, it's like the piece that was missing from the experience fans had with Sanctuary Battle.
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    50
    Sorry Saint Seiya, but your old fashioned drawing style, super cliché dialogues and bad storytelling won't convince us. Neither will a few hours of 'entertainment', a simplistic combat system and repetitive nature. Too bad, because there's something about the simple Japanese storytelling that speaks to us, like Pokémon and Dragonball Z do.
  7. Dec 4, 2013
    30
    Saint Seiya Brave Soldiers is probably one of the worst manga adaptations we have seen so far.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    Ok I have taken this game apart i have studied and experimented with every aspect and i can say that this games combat system is fantastic the cancels and combos you can do are just amazing. There are plenty of characters to choose from and everyone is played differently. Most people don't play with orbs but why do all that work if not to use them.My answer this game isn't to its potential without them i have had battles with orbs that are so intense and face paced it makes the game seem like it was made for showing what a real saint fight would look like.Until you really dive in and master a character you don't know what you are missing.This game is a hidden gem and it is my top anime fighter. The story mode may be lame but this isn't an rpg,It is a fighter.If the game had no clones better CPU AI and more customization with BBA's i would give this a 10 for a fighter. Expand
  2. Dec 10, 2013
    9
    Too many things to do, 3 big story arcs, collection mode, you can get access to all those toys we love when we are kids. a lot of characters to play and many modes too. It quite simple to play but makes you learn fast how to do and avoid combos. Graphics look amazing and you can see a lot of the Naruto fight system there, that makes success. For you that enjoy Saint Seiya, is sure a buy! Expand
  3. Apr 15, 2014
    8
    Unlike the Naruto: Ultimate Ninja Storm series which is more and more a mess of technical, balance and gameplay issues these days, Brave Soldiers delivers what is a nice, franchise-based fighting game, at first, i was expecting a simple fighting game with some button mashing, however, the game proved me wrong and i fell in love, the combo system, while easy, is a lot more deep than the one in the Naruto games, with all of the characters having two special attacks, two "burst attacks", a knock-away and a launcher respectively, a throw and an ultimate attack(called a "Big Bang Attack"), every character also has an universal dodge-action that sends them behind their enemies while spending one cosmo bar, making bar management that much precious and shielding you from a half-a-hour combo, unlike in the NUNS series, the fighting and the characters are nicely balanced, with every character being fun to play and viable at the same time, the game runs smoothly without frame-rate issues and the cell-shaded graphics, character models, arenas and effects alike are nice to the eye, battles are divided into rounds, with all the tiny nice stuff like character introductions and outros being intact(fun fact: the characters will even comment on their score after the battle), the game also features an awakening system, called the "Seventh Sense" awakening, unlike the NUNS awakening system which became severely unbalanced in the later game, every character simply gains a damage/defense boost, with the conditions being the same for all characters, eliminating situations when one character can use awakening at almost any point in the battle, or one awakening being drastically stronger than the other, the game has a story mode with three story arcs used to unlock characters, a collection mode, tournament modes, a survival mode, a series of special versus modes and online battle modes. all in all, Brave Soldiers is a decent fighting game, with a balanced cast of characters, a fast yet technical combat, lovely graphics, a lot of content to explore and all that 80's swag Expand
  4. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    The game mechanics and structure works perfectly wether it be for 1 or 2 players. I would only recommend to fans of the series. Only disappointment are the missing Asgard characters and storyline. When you see DBZ games full of characters you think why didn't we get all Bronze Saints and all Silver Saints too. Its such a vast universe and it would be great to have access to them all. Other than that it works. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    7
    Good game, The combat is simple yet fun, the cast of playable characters is about 50!!! This game is a must be for all the Saint Seiya fans, if you or your friends enjoyed the Ps2 game, then Brave Soldiers will give you some nice hours of Fun, and for the new people, the cell shading is gorgeous and very well done, it deserves a try just for the well modeled characters and easy yet satisfiying combat system.

    Pegasus!!!! Ryusei Ken!!!!!!
    Collapse
  6. Nov 28, 2013
    6
    The Hype of this game was incredible, but it is just the same of PS2, with new characters, but the same of Hades, not really bad, but i was looking for more. Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2014
    2
    O filme tão bosta quanto meu amigo Caio Jaime. Expand