User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 115
  2. Negative: 10 out of 115

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    No rules here, you are free to do whatever you want, however you want, with the strength of ten mans, and your own growing gang, you are pretty much unstoppable. The single player story proves to be hilarious yet entertaining, and the Co-op for is amazing, as it allows you to do everything from the single player game, with a buddy (Activities and Missions), or just mess around and do insane stunts. The multi-player requires skills, you'll mostly need a good team to survive too,but the terrible matchmaking system will tear you up, as you are even allowed to bring your own friends to ranked matches, often results it getting banged up by the bests players all together, and finding a match usually takes a while to work. The great customization the game offers is also remarkable. You are free to modify the attributes from the body; gender, muscularity, fatness, age, skin tone. Deep customization options for your character's face, many hairstyles and make-ups, and lastly, the personality; the way he or she walks, talks, compliments and taunts. Then you can go up with many layers of clothing, for tops, undershirt, shirts, coats and bras, and for bottoms pants, belt, undies and socks. You can even buy rings for each finger, or get your whole body tattooed, each and every piece of clothing is tint-able for your own tastes. As much as I enjoy the game and find it extremely hilarious when playing with buddies, I'm unable to give it a higher score since there are way too many frustrating bugs that will get in your way, but this is definitely a fun game that will get you the experience you missed from GTA: San Andreas. Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    As with the rest of the reviews it is kind of like GTA, The main difference is the graphics are brighter, language is 10 times more vulgar, and some of the missions are more brutal... that being said this was an excellent game that i would recommend......
  3. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    Best game in the worlddddddddd... WIckedly hilarious and deeply engaging storyline. Charismatic and badass characters. Good ol graphics and quite a massive city to explore. Tons and tons of hours of fun. I paid $13 for this and i dare to say one of the best bargain in my life!
  4. Jul 12, 2011
    8
    im actaully suprised hear THQ did a pretty decent job with this game . it picks up right where the first one ends . every thing you worked for in the first is lost and you have to reclaim it . its a good GTA clone that in some ways does it better . i live the creat a charicter mode its pretty deep . the story is fairly decent and the missions pretty fun . the biggest down side is you are still in the same city . i mean this could have just been a expansion pack for the first one .still its fun game . Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    If your inserted a blank Blu-Ray disc into a PlayStation 3 and your PlayStation 3 started to tell jokes and start rampaging around the room putting on random clothes and then spits the Blu-Ray disc out again, Saints Row 2 is probably what you would end up with. This game is a silly version of Grand Theft Auto and because of this, the game is so much fun to play. The game is set in the fictional city of Stillwater and the game basically plays like any sandbox game you've played with a huge city to explore and find hidden areas. There's the main campaign in which the story centers around your character and your gang known as the Saints, try to bring down 5 rival gangs and reclaim Stillwater through a variety of missions which include shooting, driving and the odd protecting and destroy mission. The game play is your standard Third Person Shooter and at times it really works well: Take out enemies using a selection of weapons or take them on with hand to hand combat. The driving stages feel great and instead of being limited to firing your gun out the side of the car while your driving (Like in the PlayStation 2 stages) you can now aim and shoot through 360 degrees and with a handy cruise control feature in each vehicle you drive, you don't have to keep the car moving and concentrate on shooting your enemies. The graphics are great but lack detail and it can be glitchy sometimes. The story mode is fast-paced and full of comical cutscenes and great voice acting. An addition to the story mode, there are activities to take part in which add to the crazy factor of the game. There's Fuzz, where you play as an undercover cop and try to capture footage for the TV Show known as Fuzz by apprehending your suspects with different weapons. Then there's Trail Blazer where your on a quad bike covered in flames and have to race through checkpoints smashing into cars and barrels and setting pedestrians on fire to gain time and money. There's even more ridiculous activities to try and you earn respect from them so you can move on to the next mission in the story mode. The brilliant thing about this game is the customisation options. Unlike Grand Theft Auto 4, you aren't limited to playing one pre designed character. Before you start the campaign, you can choose what your character looks like. You can choose if the character is male or female, their build their facial features, their voice (a selection of 3 voices for male or female), hair style and colour, their taunt and normal facial expression. The wealth of customisation options is staggering and you can really put your creation skills to the test with this game. Create the most sensible character or create the most outrageous character ever. You can even customise your vehicles though not to the degree of Need for Speed: Underground. The shops throughout Stillwater provide even more ways to customise your character with clothes shops and Jewelery shops. There are a healthy amount of vehicles to choose from and unlike Grand Theft Auto 4, you can pilot a jet! Feel bored and want someone to play with? Get connected to PlayStation Network and double the amount of fun you'll be having by playing with a friend on online co-op which allows you to complete the campaign or activities together. Or you could just mess around a bit, causing destruction or telling people to f*** off with your taunt (or what ever your taunt is). The online multiplayer is basic team-deathmatch and can provide you with some entertainment or a mode called "strong arm" in which two teams fight for control over a neighbourhood. Saints Row 2 is a lighter, more hilarious game than Grand Theft Auto 4 which doesn't take itself too seriously and is a game that nails the definition of a video game due to guaranteed entertainment and limitless customisation. Expand
  6. May 9, 2011
    9
    Living in the shadow of GTA isn't easy and Saints Row 2 has been finding that out but make no mistake Saints Row 2 is not a GTA imposter as suggested, it deserves to be treated on its own. And on its own its a damn fine game! Yes, its insane and outrageous but that means only one outcome... an all round fun experience. In order to fully appreciate SR2 you have to let all serious things go and just embrace whats on offer. The story of SR2 picks up from where the original left off, you have been in jail in a coma. After a jailbreak you realise that The Saints are no longer the dominating force in Stilwater. A new group Ultor now leads the way. It isn't the strongest of storylines but the missions are a combination of madness and brilliance as you take down three rival groups in any which shape or form you choose. Visually its safe to say that SR2 is a million miles away from the likes of God of War or Uncharted but don't let that hinder you, although you way wtiness a few bizarre glitches even now and then! Gameplay is just awesome! Really, GTA may win in terms of graphics and looks but the gamplay is quite repititive but Saints Row is enticing and always offers something different from blowing people into smithereens from a step away, to protecting or gaining strongholds. If the single player mode doesn't occupy you (really?) then their is plenty of DLC available to be played as well as online co-op amongst things to enjoy! In all honesty Saints Row 2 is one of the most underated games and for that fact you don't really know what your missing out on. And based on the price that SR2 is selling at right now I couldn't recommendit more! Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2011
    8
    Given how I enjoyed playing sandbox games like Grand Theft Auto, Red Dead Redemption, TESIV Oblivion and Fallout, I decided to give this game a random chance after I was pretty much done with other games despite watching the trailers and going "What year was this game released again? You sure it wasn't made for the PS2 instead?" Anyway, got the game on discount and after completing this game, I must say I was truly satisfied and I come to see the fine differences between SR2 and GTAIV. While GTAIV focused on a more being dark and mature theme. SR2 is entirely the opposite. Sure, it adopts the same open-world concept. Punch a guy on the street, taunt a pimp and get your butt kicked, it's all up to you. But I'll tell you what SR2 does (which GTAIV doesn't) that makes SR2 good enough to avoid itself being labelled 'the poor man's GTA'. You play the head of the 3rd Street Saints taking on the other factions to reclaim the territories of Stillwater. You can customise your character's facial and body appearance, clothing, voice, taunts, figthstyle, walking style etc. It can look like you, your favourite actor, or Niko Bellic if you still think this is GTAIV. The cutscenes are more over the top, and you'll probably go "Wow! That's bad*ss!" in most of them, or get a good laugh or two in others. The side characters are hilarious and likable, more so than the ones in GTAIV. Another thing that stood out having your own gang members who usually hang out in cribs or the Saints headquarters, and you'll be able to recruit up to 3 Saints to join you on your missions. You can also choose your gang style (attire), vehicles, sign, and taunt. Outside your main mission there are lots to do, there's street racing, boat racing, driving a helicopter, spraying cr*p on people and buildings, being a bodyguard for a celebrity, pimping, demolition derby, you name it. Now, the bad part, the graphics as I said are bad. It looks like it wasn't meant for current gen consoles. Poor AI and the poor combat controls makes shooting ugly to feel and look at. Multiplayer is also poorly implemented and it's nowhere near the excitement you'll get when playing online in GTAIV or RDR. There's no trophies in this game for the PS3 meaning that you'll probably have less of a reason to complete the sidemissions and activities. My final statement, try to enjoy SR2 for what it is rather than trying to see how it fails to be GTAIV. You get a good story, a more enjoyable and less serious gameplay, likable characters, and the feel of running a street gang. It's definitely worth giving it a shot. Expand
  8. Aug 22, 2011
    7
    Having played the original "Saints Row", followed by "GTA IV", the second seemed tired. The reality was I played it out too fast. After ages having it lay on the shelf collecting dust, I finally started playing it again. This time I paced myself. This time I didn't bother doing stuff I found annoying or unfun just for the 'rewards'. This time I simply did what felt enjoyable in the moment. This time I had great fun. Expand
  9. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    Games don't need to innovate. Thats only a bonus. This game does what open world gang shooters should do. With nice looking graphics, an open world with a ton to do, and nearly maximum customization, its one of the most fun games of its entire genre.
  10. Dec 24, 2011
    9
    Saints Row 2 is a hilarious and unique experience that is a MUST play. It's an action packed, testosterone filled, journey that pits you, the leader of a gang known as the Third Street Saints, against three other gangs, a massive corporation rife with corruption, and Stilwater's finest. Graphically, it isn't the greatest, but what it lacks in graphics it makes up for in gameplay. You can clock in MANY hours in Saints Row 2. The main story line only took me around 10 hours to complete, but you can play for many more, mainly because of the diverse array of activities. Whilst GTA IV had bowling, darts, and races, Saints Row 2 has you commit insurance fraud, snatch prostitutes from abusive pimps, and spew septic waste all over people's houses. Need I mention that there is a wide variety of customization? (I made Edgar Allen Poe) The glitches only make the absurd nature of the game even funnier, so you don't need to worry about it when your motorcycle gets stuck in a wall. It also has much more freedom than in GTA IV. In GTA IV, should you get in a scuffle, a cop will immediately come to get you. In SR2, should you get in a scuffle, cops will take no notice of it UNTIL it reaches a maximum level. And while in GTA IV you needed to have the skill, reflexes, and instinct of an angel to finish most missions, here you can tear apart everything rather quickly and it'll still be satisfying. Make no joke about it, Saints Row 2 is one of the finest open world experiences you can play. Expand
  11. Feb 10, 2012
    8
    Saints Row 2 is an insane amount of fun! The story is actually decent considering what the game is about, the graphics look dated now though (2012) but they're still playable. You can spend hours just messing around on the islands its great fun and easily worth buying as it's cheap now :)
  12. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    This was one of those games i had never heard of, or the first one, for that matter. A forgotten, de-valued game that i passed by many times in the gamestop or best buy. When i first got my ps3 i wanted GTA4 and that was the end of it. I didn't think or even consider any other modern sandbox game at the time. Later on, when i had less money and had beaten GTA4, i grabbed a copy of saints row 2 for cheap and took it back to play it. Immediately and in my ignorance, i scorned it in comparison to GTA4. It didn't have the enhanced graphics, the gritty realism, or darker tone. I had to play it for a few hours to find out how wrong i was. It was everything fun that i did in GTA3 and 4, but all the crap i did that wasn't supposed to, saints row 2 actually rewarded the crazyness, and made it part of the game. Sure saints row 2 has its gritty crime drama theme, but also so much is dedicated to humor, fun, and carefree mayhem. There is so much to do, so much to discover and customize. Most of it is totally over the top, and that's the point, the game wants you to have some crazy fun with it. Anyone who's weary from the hardcore realism or overly dramatic games, need to get saints row 2, and have some real fun. Expand
  13. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    amazing game for 2008

    good customization great cars yo can customzie cars aswell fun cheats great city and decent city

    graphhics are a bit cartoonish but they r very soilid


    major replay value memorable missions

    and a whole lot of fun def get cuz its really cheap now
  14. Jul 6, 2011
    5
    I can't, for the life of me, see how the hell anyone can give this game anything higher than a 5. the gameplay is horrible. there is no lock on, which bugs the crap out of me since aiming is annoying at times, more likely than not, although the game tends to be fair most of the time so I'll give it that much. the bad bugs here are REALLY bad sometimes. you try to beat up someone and they fall into the floor?? I run into a biker and their body literally becomes part of the hood of the car, flailing around as if they've become a cylinder of the engine?? when you do the mission for the Ronin gang area, when you're protecting the car being driven by the game, there is SERIOUS issues as I had to restart this level more than twice since the car was driven off the bridge??? too many ultimately retarded things that go on with this UGLY as hell game to be tolerated. it's not "mesmerizing", it's not "better than GTA4", it's a flawed attempt at a great game, and it really could have been if it wasn't so damn stupid all over the place. oh, and the fact that on the back of the box it mentions trophies? THERE ARE NONE!! pathetic. Expand
  15. Dec 18, 2013
    5
    Like all Saint's row games this one begins really funny and entertaining. After a while though it get's really frustrating because of too much chaos and technical flaws. Sidenote: one of the rare games were the sidemissions are actually fun.
  16. Sep 6, 2013
    8
    Summary +Great creativity combined with tonnes of content (about 25 hours) +High quality balance between clever writing and comedy elements. +The use of activities helps set the game apart from its competition (GTA 4) +Great customization options that occur throughout the game +The three different gangs (Ronin, Sons of Samedi, and the Brotherhood) all feel unique and each has interesting story lines
    -The game is a bit too easy particularly after completing some of the activities unlocking unlimited ammo etc.
    -The game has many annoyances like the occasional bug, characters that never shut up during activities etc.
    In short in my opinion this game is far superior to GTA 4 (I’ve written a review on that if you want to have a look) and I urge you to give it a go.

    Full Review
    Possible the best thing about Saints Row 2 (SR2) and something you will notice very quickly is the fact that the game doesn’t take itself too seriously. This is particularly noticeable in divisions like Ho-ing etc. and taunts like tea bagging etc. However unlike other goofy games, SR2 is combined with great writing and creativity to help prevent to the game from getting to ridiculous. An example of this is how in one mission you steal nuclear waste from a nuclear power plant, which you them deliver to tattoo pallor, causing serious burning to the leader of the Brotherhood when he is getting tattooed. Such creativity is further seen by how each gang as its own unique story line, and you can pick and choice to follow each of these story lines in any order you wish, as you can choice who to do mission for which each mission feeling unique while at the same time maintaining the feeling of being an ultimate badass gang lord.

    The second great thing about Saints Row is the sheer of variety of everything in terrain, characters (my favourite being Shaundi), customization on cars, bikes clothes and character creation (which can be altered at any time due to plastic surgeon shops); therefore allowing you to actually spend some of the money you earn in the game. This level of variety is a huge punch in the face to GTA 4 where the only customization options are a limited number of clothes. Such variety in SR2 is most noticeable in the missions because although stronghold missions are repetitive each missions for the gangs feel unique and interesting. An example of this is that clashing with the Ronin, leads to a serious death which is surprisingly impactful in a game that isn’t that serious.

    What really makes SR2 stand out from other sandbox games are the activities, which help to add to the sheer content in the game, while not feeling like padding. An example of one the more noticeable activities for me is Heli Attack which requires you to protect your homie while they make drug deals while using an attack chopper. This is great because while it is your standard blow everything up, as you go through each level the difficultly increases requiring more skill than you would except. Another of the activities worth mentioning is hitman where you essential kill key targets for money, but you often have to participate in certain behaviour in order to lure the target out e.g. drink 2 40oz. However possible the greatest stand out activity is Septic Avenger, which literally involves spraying crap everywhere, is a further reminder that this game is comical. These activities combined with standard activities in such games like racing, collecting car help to provide originality while maintaining core elements of sandbox games that are appreciated.

    Unfortunately the main issue with the game is that it is too easy offering little challenge. Such ease is enhanced by the activities because they lead you to unlock certain abilities e.g. completing all of the Hitman tasks leads you to unlock unlimited rifle ammo. Other activities unlock quicker health regeneration, reduced damage from bullets etc. All that said though such lack of difficultly doesn’t make the game a bore as some of the activities do provide some challenge, e.g. trial blazing which requires you to drive around under time pressure while on a quad (which is a piece of s**t).

    However they are little annoyances in the game that prevent it from being legendary. One of the most noticeable ones is how in some of the activities (in particularly Septic Avenger) your partner never shuts up, and while the lines they pull out are funny they quickly wear off after hearing them 20 times. Other annoyances include how the driving can feel clunky as it is not as refined as it should be. Likewise the game does have the occasional bug, a particular one of annoyance was how once or twice it would crash after completing a mission but before the game had AutoSaved, meaning you had to play the entire mission over again.

    Nevertheless the game is such a laugh and it is certainly worth a play.
    Expand
  17. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    Remember Grand Theft Auto San Andreas on the Playstation 2 (or Xbox)? This is that, but it's on the Xbox 360 PS3 and PC, and hilarious quirkyness thrown in. That's a good thing. A REALLY good thing. It doesn't throw in to much humour either so it doesn't feel like one big joke (unlike one of the later games in the series) if you don't have this game, you need it, get it. Get it. GET IT. GEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEET IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIITT. Expand
  18. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best co-op game to ever happen to me. No joke, better than Gta IV/V. While GTA is not lacking in the realism department, Saints Row II makes up for what is lost in a highly realistic "omg dats amaze" environment with pure entertainment and bliss. Highly recommend. Expand
  19. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    This is a VERY enjoyable title with barely any flaws at all! It has ridiculously funny humor, and you can drive drunk and lots of things you could NEVER do in real life. Great title: highly recommend.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. 82
    Players who enjoyed the action-packed moments in GTA will have an absolute blast with Saints Row 2. It's tough not to hate on the slightly lacking production values, but when you see the rest of the game it actually makes a bit more sense. The technical shortcomings are the only truly bad part of Saints Row 2, but the core gameplay experience is extremely enjoyable.
  2. 80
    On the surface, Saints Row is an easy game to hate. Actually, I have a feeling that a lot of players and reviewers will write this game off for the sheer stupidity at play at all times. But to do so would be a big disservice to a game that tries hard to do a lot of things and show you a good time. Did we have a good time? Definitely.
  3. Packed full of rewarding and entertaining features, Saints Row 2 is an unadulterated videogame that makes no attempt to rival GTA4. Instead, it's quite content to offer plenty of fun and set itself as a worthy alternative to Rockstar's opus.