User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 118
  2. Negative: 10 out of 118

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    No rules here, you are free to do whatever you want, however you want, with the strength of ten mans, and your own growing gang, you are pretty much unstoppable. The single player story proves to be hilarious yet entertaining, and the Co-op for is amazing, as it allows you to do everything from the single player game, with a buddy (Activities and Missions), or just mess around and doNo rules here, you are free to do whatever you want, however you want, with the strength of ten mans, and your own growing gang, you are pretty much unstoppable. The single player story proves to be hilarious yet entertaining, and the Co-op for is amazing, as it allows you to do everything from the single player game, with a buddy (Activities and Missions), or just mess around and do insane stunts. The multi-player requires skills, you'll mostly need a good team to survive too,but the terrible matchmaking system will tear you up, as you are even allowed to bring your own friends to ranked matches, often results it getting banged up by the bests players all together, and finding a match usually takes a while to work. The great customization the game offers is also remarkable. You are free to modify the attributes from the body; gender, muscularity, fatness, age, skin tone. Deep customization options for your character's face, many hairstyles and make-ups, and lastly, the personality; the way he or she walks, talks, compliments and taunts. Then you can go up with many layers of clothing, for tops, undershirt, shirts, coats and bras, and for bottoms pants, belt, undies and socks. You can even buy rings for each finger, or get your whole body tattooed, each and every piece of clothing is tint-able for your own tastes. As much as I enjoy the game and find it extremely hilarious when playing with buddies, I'm unable to give it a higher score since there are way too many frustrating bugs that will get in your way, but this is definitely a fun game that will get you the experience you missed from GTA: San Andreas. Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    As with the rest of the reviews it is kind of like GTA, The main difference is the graphics are brighter, language is 10 times more vulgar, and some of the missions are more brutal... that being said this was an excellent game that i would recommend......
  3. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    Best game in the worlddddddddd... WIckedly hilarious and deeply engaging storyline. Charismatic and badass characters. Good ol graphics and quite a massive city to explore. Tons and tons of hours of fun. I paid $13 for this and i dare to say one of the best bargain in my life!
  4. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    If your inserted a blank Blu-Ray disc into a PlayStation 3 and your PlayStation 3 started to tell jokes and start rampaging around the room putting on random clothes and then spits the Blu-Ray disc out again, Saints Row 2 is probably what you would end up with. This game is a silly version of Grand Theft Auto and because of this, the game is so much fun to play. The game is set in theIf your inserted a blank Blu-Ray disc into a PlayStation 3 and your PlayStation 3 started to tell jokes and start rampaging around the room putting on random clothes and then spits the Blu-Ray disc out again, Saints Row 2 is probably what you would end up with. This game is a silly version of Grand Theft Auto and because of this, the game is so much fun to play. The game is set in the fictional city of Stillwater and the game basically plays like any sandbox game you've played with a huge city to explore and find hidden areas. There's the main campaign in which the story centers around your character and your gang known as the Saints, try to bring down 5 rival gangs and reclaim Stillwater through a variety of missions which include shooting, driving and the odd protecting and destroy mission. The game play is your standard Third Person Shooter and at times it really works well: Take out enemies using a selection of weapons or take them on with hand to hand combat. The driving stages feel great and instead of being limited to firing your gun out the side of the car while your driving (Like in the PlayStation 2 stages) you can now aim and shoot through 360 degrees and with a handy cruise control feature in each vehicle you drive, you don't have to keep the car moving and concentrate on shooting your enemies. The graphics are great but lack detail and it can be glitchy sometimes. The story mode is fast-paced and full of comical cutscenes and great voice acting. An addition to the story mode, there are activities to take part in which add to the crazy factor of the game. There's Fuzz, where you play as an undercover cop and try to capture footage for the TV Show known as Fuzz by apprehending your suspects with different weapons. Then there's Trail Blazer where your on a quad bike covered in flames and have to race through checkpoints smashing into cars and barrels and setting pedestrians on fire to gain time and money. There's even more ridiculous activities to try and you earn respect from them so you can move on to the next mission in the story mode. The brilliant thing about this game is the customisation options. Unlike Grand Theft Auto 4, you aren't limited to playing one pre designed character. Before you start the campaign, you can choose what your character looks like. You can choose if the character is male or female, their build their facial features, their voice (a selection of 3 voices for male or female), hair style and colour, their taunt and normal facial expression. The wealth of customisation options is staggering and you can really put your creation skills to the test with this game. Create the most sensible character or create the most outrageous character ever. You can even customise your vehicles though not to the degree of Need for Speed: Underground. The shops throughout Stillwater provide even more ways to customise your character with clothes shops and Jewelery shops. There are a healthy amount of vehicles to choose from and unlike Grand Theft Auto 4, you can pilot a jet! Feel bored and want someone to play with? Get connected to PlayStation Network and double the amount of fun you'll be having by playing with a friend on online co-op which allows you to complete the campaign or activities together. Or you could just mess around a bit, causing destruction or telling people to f*** off with your taunt (or what ever your taunt is). The online multiplayer is basic team-deathmatch and can provide you with some entertainment or a mode called "strong arm" in which two teams fight for control over a neighbourhood. Saints Row 2 is a lighter, more hilarious game than Grand Theft Auto 4 which doesn't take itself too seriously and is a game that nails the definition of a video game due to guaranteed entertainment and limitless customisation. Expand
  5. May 9, 2011
    9
    Living in the shadow of GTA isn't easy and Saints Row 2 has been finding that out but make no mistake Saints Row 2 is not a GTA imposter as suggested, it deserves to be treated on its own. And on its own its a damn fine game! Yes, its insane and outrageous but that means only one outcome... an all round fun experience. In order to fully appreciate SR2 you have to let all serious things goLiving in the shadow of GTA isn't easy and Saints Row 2 has been finding that out but make no mistake Saints Row 2 is not a GTA imposter as suggested, it deserves to be treated on its own. And on its own its a damn fine game! Yes, its insane and outrageous but that means only one outcome... an all round fun experience. In order to fully appreciate SR2 you have to let all serious things go and just embrace whats on offer. The story of SR2 picks up from where the original left off, you have been in jail in a coma. After a jailbreak you realise that The Saints are no longer the dominating force in Stilwater. A new group Ultor now leads the way. It isn't the strongest of storylines but the missions are a combination of madness and brilliance as you take down three rival groups in any which shape or form you choose. Visually its safe to say that SR2 is a million miles away from the likes of God of War or Uncharted but don't let that hinder you, although you way wtiness a few bizarre glitches even now and then! Gameplay is just awesome! Really, GTA may win in terms of graphics and looks but the gamplay is quite repititive but Saints Row is enticing and always offers something different from blowing people into smithereens from a step away, to protecting or gaining strongholds. If the single player mode doesn't occupy you (really?) then their is plenty of DLC available to be played as well as online co-op amongst things to enjoy! In all honesty Saints Row 2 is one of the most underated games and for that fact you don't really know what your missing out on. And based on the price that SR2 is selling at right now I couldn't recommendit more! Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    Games don't need to innovate. Thats only a bonus. This game does what open world gang shooters should do. With nice looking graphics, an open world with a ton to do, and nearly maximum customization, its one of the most fun games of its entire genre.
  7. Dec 24, 2011
    9
    Saints Row 2 is a hilarious and unique experience that is a MUST play. It's an action packed, testosterone filled, journey that pits you, the leader of a gang known as the Third Street Saints, against three other gangs, a massive corporation rife with corruption, and Stilwater's finest. Graphically, it isn't the greatest, but what it lacks in graphics it makes up for in gameplay. You canSaints Row 2 is a hilarious and unique experience that is a MUST play. It's an action packed, testosterone filled, journey that pits you, the leader of a gang known as the Third Street Saints, against three other gangs, a massive corporation rife with corruption, and Stilwater's finest. Graphically, it isn't the greatest, but what it lacks in graphics it makes up for in gameplay. You can clock in MANY hours in Saints Row 2. The main story line only took me around 10 hours to complete, but you can play for many more, mainly because of the diverse array of activities. Whilst GTA IV had bowling, darts, and races, Saints Row 2 has you commit insurance fraud, snatch prostitutes from abusive pimps, and spew septic waste all over people's houses. Need I mention that there is a wide variety of customization? (I made Edgar Allen Poe) The glitches only make the absurd nature of the game even funnier, so you don't need to worry about it when your motorcycle gets stuck in a wall. It also has much more freedom than in GTA IV. In GTA IV, should you get in a scuffle, a cop will immediately come to get you. In SR2, should you get in a scuffle, cops will take no notice of it UNTIL it reaches a maximum level. And while in GTA IV you needed to have the skill, reflexes, and instinct of an angel to finish most missions, here you can tear apart everything rather quickly and it'll still be satisfying. Make no joke about it, Saints Row 2 is one of the finest open world experiences you can play. Expand
  8. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    This was one of those games i had never heard of, or the first one, for that matter. A forgotten, de-valued game that i passed by many times in the gamestop or best buy. When i first got my ps3 i wanted GTA4 and that was the end of it. I didn't think or even consider any other modern sandbox game at the time. Later on, when i had less money and had beaten GTA4, i grabbed a copy of saintsThis was one of those games i had never heard of, or the first one, for that matter. A forgotten, de-valued game that i passed by many times in the gamestop or best buy. When i first got my ps3 i wanted GTA4 and that was the end of it. I didn't think or even consider any other modern sandbox game at the time. Later on, when i had less money and had beaten GTA4, i grabbed a copy of saints row 2 for cheap and took it back to play it. Immediately and in my ignorance, i scorned it in comparison to GTA4. It didn't have the enhanced graphics, the gritty realism, or darker tone. I had to play it for a few hours to find out how wrong i was. It was everything fun that i did in GTA3 and 4, but all the crap i did that wasn't supposed to, saints row 2 actually rewarded the crazyness, and made it part of the game. Sure saints row 2 has its gritty crime drama theme, but also so much is dedicated to humor, fun, and carefree mayhem. There is so much to do, so much to discover and customize. Most of it is totally over the top, and that's the point, the game wants you to have some crazy fun with it. Anyone who's weary from the hardcore realism or overly dramatic games, need to get saints row 2, and have some real fun. Expand
  9. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    amazing game for 2008

    good customization great cars yo can customzie cars aswell fun cheats great city and decent city

    graphhics are a bit cartoonish but they r very soilid

    major replay value memorable missions

    and a whole lot of fun def get cuz its really cheap now
  10. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    Remember Grand Theft Auto San Andreas on the Playstation 2 (or Xbox)? This is that, but it's on the Xbox 360 PS3 and PC, and hilarious quirkyness thrown in. That's a good thing. A REALLY good thing. It doesn't throw in to much humour either so it doesn't feel like one big joke (unlike one of the later games in the series) if you don't have this game, you need it, get it. Get it. GET IT.Remember Grand Theft Auto San Andreas on the Playstation 2 (or Xbox)? This is that, but it's on the Xbox 360 PS3 and PC, and hilarious quirkyness thrown in. That's a good thing. A REALLY good thing. It doesn't throw in to much humour either so it doesn't feel like one big joke (unlike one of the later games in the series) if you don't have this game, you need it, get it. Get it. GET IT. GEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEET IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIITT. Expand
  11. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best co-op game to ever happen to me. No joke, better than Gta IV/V. While GTA is not lacking in the realism department, Saints Row II makes up for what is lost in a highly realistic "omg dats amaze" environment with pure entertainment and bliss. Highly recommend. Expand
  12. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    This is a VERY enjoyable title with barely any flaws at all! It has ridiculously funny humor, and you can drive drunk and lots of things you could NEVER do in real life. Great title: highly recommend.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. 82
    Players who enjoyed the action-packed moments in GTA will have an absolute blast with Saints Row 2. It's tough not to hate on the slightly lacking production values, but when you see the rest of the game it actually makes a bit more sense. The technical shortcomings are the only truly bad part of Saints Row 2, but the core gameplay experience is extremely enjoyable.
  2. 80
    On the surface, Saints Row is an easy game to hate. Actually, I have a feeling that a lot of players and reviewers will write this game off for the sheer stupidity at play at all times. But to do so would be a big disservice to a game that tries hard to do a lot of things and show you a good time. Did we have a good time? Definitely.
  3. Packed full of rewarding and entertaining features, Saints Row 2 is an unadulterated videogame that makes no attempt to rival GTA4. Instead, it's quite content to offer plenty of fun and set itself as a worthy alternative to Rockstar's opus.