Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 250 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Saints Row IV is an open-world game that advances the story of the Third Street Saints by upping their status to the highest level - the leaders of the free world. After a catastrophic alien invasion occurs where the aliens transport the Saints to a bizarro-Steelport simulation, you've gotSaints Row IV is an open-world game that advances the story of the Third Street Saints by upping their status to the highest level - the leaders of the free world. After a catastrophic alien invasion occurs where the aliens transport the Saints to a bizarro-Steelport simulation, you've got to fight to free humanity from alien grandaddy Zinyak's mental grasp by utilizing gargantuan superpowers. Escape the simulation that's trapped the Saints crew, or die trying. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Aug 23, 2013
    90
    Saints Row IV is a must have title, it throws away the rule book and just wants you to have a great time. The Next Generation is upon us, but you might miss it as you get lost in the virtual world of a simulated Steelport with no rules to hold you back.
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    84
    Saints Row IV is a video game unlike any you've played before with a rich story, sharp sense of humor and unique mechanics. It's only held back by a lack of variety and the need for a bit more polish.
  3. 80
    An empowering, open game, with plenty for everyone to love, and perhaps most importantly, it’s just a ridiculous amount of fun. Unfortunately a number of small bugs and a short campaign length put the brakes on this fun experience a lot sooner than I would have liked.
  4. Sep 16, 2013
    80
    If you want good fun, Saints Row IV is the right choice.
  5. Aug 26, 2013
    75
    Supplementing the streets with glowing collectibles and earning the use of a weaponized dildo (yes, you read that right) can only take you so far before one begins to wonder why Bruce Campbell wasn’t hired to voice the main character.
  6. Aug 14, 2013
    73
    Just browsing the vast selection of characters other players have uploaded is at least an hour or two of good entertainment.
  7. Sep 19, 2013
    58
    If you believe that the world of Saints Row has been missing things like telekinesis, giant mechs, and cartoonish megalomaniacs, wait until this year’s Christmas sales. The discounted price will better reflect the cheap nature of this «sequel».

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 49
  2. Negative: 11 out of 49
  1. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    Soy español así que no entendreïs esta análisis, pero no me importa.

    Este juego es la ostia, el 3 fue muy bueno y si que se merecía el 9,
    Soy español así que no entendreïs esta análisis, pero no me importa.

    Este juego es la ostia, el 3 fue muy bueno y si que se merecía el 9, pero a este como mínimo darle una oportunidad y que llegue al 9,2.

    Buenísimas armas, buenos vehículos, superpoderes, y una buenísima historia.

    Que pides mas
    Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    If you like over the top violence and cheesy corny action style then this game is for you!! I loved Saints Row the Third and was unsure if IIf you like over the top violence and cheesy corny action style then this game is for you!! I loved Saints Row the Third and was unsure if I was going to enjoy this theme the 4th one had going but I was in for a treat. Many hours have been wasted just running up walls of buildings, killing aliens and blowing stuff up! Oh the soundtrack..I must not forget that amazing soundtrack!! She's Lump Shes Lump Shes in my head...best. But please do yourself a favour and play this game. It might not be serious or have mind blowing graphics but it sure is fuN! Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    9
    As i played SR4 I was enjoying myself, having fun and laughing at the humour the game has. The game starts as you, the leader of the Saints,As i played SR4 I was enjoying myself, having fun and laughing at the humour the game has. The game starts as you, the leader of the Saints, invading a bunker in the Middle-East and disarming a nuke in mid-flight, saving the US from possible nuke attack, earning you the love to the US citizens and being voted to become the President of the United States. You're reign as President wont last long as the world is invated by aliens called "The Zin" and eventually destroyed. After the massacre you find yourself saved by Kinzie Kensington from 1950's dream world and set in a space ship hidden from Zin and as the last remnants of the civilized world. From the space ship you invade the play world of Zin which modeled after SR3 version of Steelport, kinda like in the Matrix universe. Twist this time is that Kinzie has unlocked super abilities for the player to use in the Zin world of Steelport, coming in from of super jumping or running and you need to rescue back you're Saints partners and defeat the Zin.

    The graphics haven't changed much from the previous game. Little changes here and there are seen, Zin posters and markingson walls, glitches have been added as gameplay for example tiles of a wall move or citizens of the Zin world could change randomly their outlook. Most interesting is the aspects of missions in different computer worlds, at one mission to rescue Johnny Gat and bring him back alive you have to enter his mind in a 2D sidescrolling fightning game which is one my favourite parts of the game.

    So yes gameplay has you, instead of running and stealing cars, jumping on roof tops and speed running through traffic, being the little god of the Zin world and as the story moves on Kinzie unlocks abilities for you that enables you to throw objects with your mind, shoot ice/fireballs, stomp the ground creating quakes and turn you into fire/ice person that when you run by a enemy or person, he sets on fire. By the way speed running makes stealing cars pointless which Deep Silver noticed by giving you a way to listen to the game music at any point, unless you're back in the space ship aka real world.

    The soundtrack is excellent as usual and suits the game really well. Clearly Deep Silver wanted to make this game a homage to older SR games using Aerosmiths "I don't wanna miss a thing" song as a start and end song. Other tracks include classics form 1980's and 90's to new bass bumping Skillrex style tracks and each track has a reason to bring atmosphere to every mission.

    Hard for to join with the sayings that this is just DLC sold in full price, sure it's the same Stillwater but the game has content and a lot of it. With every mission giving different new places to visit in, basically meaning you dont spent much time in Stillwater other than joining mission or killing aliens. Story brings you back to earlier Saints Row days with sidemissions giving samples of history behind each Saints character upon to the end giving a plot twist that is a must see for each Saints Row familiar player.

    Personally I really enjoyed the game, it's an excellent combination of action and fun, comedy and satirical drama. Also it gave a feeling of a nice closure for Saints Row series, with missions going through the history of the Saints and showing the appreciation toward the fans of the series with the nice twist at the end of the game.
    Expand
  4. Sep 2, 2013
    7
    Don't believe the low reviewers, most are trolling so that every game they do not like falls into the depths of hell.
    But trust me when I say
    Don't believe the low reviewers, most are trolling so that every game they do not like falls into the depths of hell.
    But trust me when I say this game is a very good seven, it's definitely not much higher but isn't bad at all. The reason I can't give it higher is because they honestly copy and pasted a lot of stuff from Saints Row 3 without changing anything about it, hell the casino is the exactly same.
    It's a fun coop experience, i can't judge the single player experience but i assume it's about the same.
    Definitely worth checking out though!
    PS. do not get this if you expect a metal music station, there isn't one.. heck the stations suck this time around as well.
    Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2013
    6
    Don't get me wrong, i loved SR4, it was an extremely fun game, however it has faults tha can't be exused. First of all, the PS3 port isDon't get me wrong, i loved SR4, it was an extremely fun game, however it has faults tha can't be exused. First of all, the PS3 port is horrendus. Multiple times the game crashed, forcing me to start entire missions all over again. Then there is steelport, which hasn't changed one bit (apart from the graphical re-hash). Next we have the driver AI, which is worse than SR3's driver AI. The driver AI was so bad that i got run over even when i was standing in the road. Next we have the side-quests, which are all direct copies from eachother. Finally, we have the completely boring and unnecesary wardens. However i did enjoy the game's main campaign, as well as i enjoyed messing around with the many fun to use weapons in the game. No doubt it's a fun game, yet not worth your money until the prices go down, if you are playing PS3, that is. Expand
  6. May 3, 2014
    5
    This is a fun game and no doubt about it, but there is a big BUT. No cribs, limited choice of non-land vehicles (plus complete lack of boats),This is a fun game and no doubt about it, but there is a big BUT. No cribs, limited choice of non-land vehicles (plus complete lack of boats), superpowers and of course cherry on top of the cake - simulation. This is NOT what Saints Row is meant to be. I like good sense of humour but what it matter if the content is simply and directly irrelevant towards my expectations?

    Since SR4 is both fun and disappointing I have no other choice than give it 5/10, a median. Not good nor bad. Just median
    Expand
  7. Oct 15, 2013
    0
    this game is not good at all. saints row with super powers wreck the whole game. if u played saints row 1 and 2 you would agree that it is waythis game is not good at all. saints row with super powers wreck the whole game. if u played saints row 1 and 2 you would agree that it is way better than saints row iv Expand

See all 49 User Reviews