User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 399 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 399
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    awesome game. better than san andreas. wy do the critics score this so low? not as good as skyrim but way more fun than mw3. mw3 is garbage and it gets critical acclaim. hurrah fanboys yoru driving good developers into unprofitability because youd rather fork over the cash to a company who cares only abotu seliing you the same crap year after year cough infinity ward activision cough cough
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    8
    THQ and Volition won't be winning any awards for their deep story-line or the engaging multi-sided characters but its clear these aspects weren't even considered. The vulgarity of the developers vision for Saints Row 3 this games shines through to create a game which is at the very least a fun alternative to the juggernaut Rockstar series. What other game allows you to beat a old lady toTHQ and Volition won't be winning any awards for their deep story-line or the engaging multi-sided characters but its clear these aspects weren't even considered. The vulgarity of the developers vision for Saints Row 3 this games shines through to create a game which is at the very least a fun alternative to the juggernaut Rockstar series. What other game allows you to beat a old lady to death with a huge purple bat while dressed as Hulk in a gimp suit? Expand
  3. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    wow..
    this game is totally insane,,
    we can do anything in city..
    like mods car and playing as a gangster to gain a turf from the other game..

    although this game has a less story but the game play is so fun..
    yap recomended for playing this game..
  4. Oct 7, 2012
    8
    Positives: Very fun, loads of customisation options for characters, gang members and vehicles, very funny dialogue between characters, the city (Steelport) is fun to explore, loads of side missions (although there could be more variety between them) and excellent main story.
    Negatives: The main story finishes too soon, DLC is a bit overpriced for the content in it and the endings could
    Positives: Very fun, loads of customisation options for characters, gang members and vehicles, very funny dialogue between characters, the city (Steelport) is fun to explore, loads of side missions (although there could be more variety between them) and excellent main story.
    Negatives: The main story finishes too soon, DLC is a bit overpriced for the content in it and the endings could have been better.
    Overall: Very fun game with a good storyline, but some aspects of it could be better (such as the endings and the length of the main story)
    Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    Saints Row the Third is the first game I have played in years where when it ended I was actually sad that the game was over. It was not only the most fun I have had playing a game in a forever, it was also the first game I have played in years on the PS3 that did not lock-up, hang indefinitely on a loading screen, turn into a choppy slideshow because the save file got too big, or any otherSaints Row the Third is the first game I have played in years where when it ended I was actually sad that the game was over. It was not only the most fun I have had playing a game in a forever, it was also the first game I have played in years on the PS3 that did not lock-up, hang indefinitely on a loading screen, turn into a choppy slideshow because the save file got too big, or any other **** It is a game that is a joy to play, and my mind is totally blown that there are people who are mad about this game and can't just enjoy it for being the most perfect game released to date on the PS3. If you enjoy things that are fun, or things that are rad, you should buy this game immediately. Expand
  6. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    I can't say enough about how fun this game is. This is what a video game is all about. The gameplay is entertaining, the plot is good, the mini games are fun, plenty of time to put into the game and there are plenty of laugh out loud moments. Do yourself a favor and go give it a try.
  7. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    I've never been a fan of sandbox games until this game. Pure escapist fun. This is one of the most ridiculously over the top fun games you will ever play. It has everything in it. You'll know what I mean once you play it. It feels like you are playing in a crazy over the top action movie like Crank. The gameplay, controls, graphics, game design, etc. are all flawless. Very easy game toI've never been a fan of sandbox games until this game. Pure escapist fun. This is one of the most ridiculously over the top fun games you will ever play. It has everything in it. You'll know what I mean once you play it. It feels like you are playing in a crazy over the top action movie like Crank. The gameplay, controls, graphics, game design, etc. are all flawless. Very easy game to just jump into which is a huge achievement considering the amount of content in these kind of sandbox style games. This game outdoes itself. Expand
  8. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    They've added a lot more and taken some of the good out but it rounds out to be a awesome game. I had Saints Row 2 in my console like 50% of the time. You can always get into this game and do something crazy and stupid that it boggles the mind. Even after beating SR2 I spent hundreds of hours just zooming and running around town and misbehaving. The day one DLC is disheartening andThey've added a lot more and taken some of the good out but it rounds out to be a awesome game. I had Saints Row 2 in my console like 50% of the time. You can always get into this game and do something crazy and stupid that it boggles the mind. Even after beating SR2 I spent hundreds of hours just zooming and running around town and misbehaving. The day one DLC is disheartening and honestly that should be the preorder bonus. I will eventually get the DLC of course but it isn't nice when these game companies try every effort to drain our wallets because they understand our addiction. My excitement for this new installation washes out the disappointment in the DLC issue though. Take the good with the bad. ....and it's very good. Expand
  9. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Mind blowing game with amazing fun.Thats my first saints game and i am really loving it.At least the game is better than GTA 4 in terms of fun.I bought saints 3 & assassins creed revelations together which is my most favorite game i tried first saints 3 to check out the game play and really the game is not allowing my single minute to chk out assassins creed.I will finish it first and thenMind blowing game with amazing fun.Thats my first saints game and i am really loving it.At least the game is better than GTA 4 in terms of fun.I bought saints 3 & assassins creed revelations together which is my most favorite game i tried first saints 3 to check out the game play and really the game is not allowing my single minute to chk out assassins creed.I will finish it first and then i l play Assassins creed. Expand
  10. Nov 18, 2011
    9
    Fun, entertaining, addictive and hilarious. Haven't had so much fun with a game in so long. I got the Pre Order Professor Genki with the Manapult and still laugh hard every time I fire pedestrians/gang memebers/cops across the city. Love the diversity in the game. I have been looking forward to this game for months and was not disappointed. The cars handle way better than SR2 and theFun, entertaining, addictive and hilarious. Haven't had so much fun with a game in so long. I got the Pre Order Professor Genki with the Manapult and still laugh hard every time I fire pedestrians/gang memebers/cops across the city. Love the diversity in the game. I have been looking forward to this game for months and was not disappointed. The cars handle way better than SR2 and the weapons and upgrades are awesome. Love the way the respect system works and the amount of upgrades you can do to both yourself and the gang. Another thing that has impressed me is that the profanity seems to have been cut down a bit from SR2 and that's great as it did get a bit much for me in SR2. Cannot wait to see what DLC's they bring out for this game either. Has a good size map for you to run around and cause mayhem and loving the activities. Ok so some of the missions are tedious and boring but on the whole once you get past that small handful of missions it is a lot of fun to play and can be at times quite challenging. It's a lot of fun to just sit there running around doing all the different moves bashing the pedestrians. It can be a bit frustrating at time like when you call homies or ask for vehicle delivery and they don't turn up or some of the recovery times from the moves you pull. Overall tho I fully enjoyed this game and hope that if you are a fan of GTA that you will pick this game up and give it a go! So worth it. Expand
  11. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Crazy fun game, offers an experience I haven't had for a while with a GTA style Sandbox game......FUN!
    Mature topics, adult theme, crazy fun. I appreciate the wide variety of character customization, it's discouraging to see day 1 DLC.
  12. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    The controls are much tighter/better now. Not only is it an outrageous and humorous game, now it is spot on with much better controls! Loving it and will keep me busy over the next few months at a minimum. Will be entertaining to see friends reactions when they come over and check it out....it may alone get them to buy a PS3/Xbox.
  13. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Game of the Year, GTA on steroids. This game is explosive, fun, and takes gaming to a level we have never seen before. This game is the bad boy of the gaming industry.
  14. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Finally i played this game and fulfilled my expectations more than i thought. SR The third isn´t probably the best game i played this year but it´s the funniest. With cool and hilarious dialogs and innovated facts that makes my dreams come true. btw.. i played like 4 hours yesterday doing 3 missions and crazy **** and i got like 5% of the game. So i hope it keepsFinally i played this game and fulfilled my expectations more than i thought. SR The third isn´t probably the best game i played this year but it´s the funniest. With cool and hilarious dialogs and innovated facts that makes my dreams come true. btw.. i played like 4 hours yesterday doing 3 missions and crazy **** and i got like 5% of the game. So i hope it keeps taking this longer. Thanks! Expand
  15. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This game is simply AWESOME!! First and foremost it's exactly what a game should be: FUN!!! Everything about this game is so over-the-top inappropriate that you just can't help but laugh, even if you are the most up tight f*&#er ever! The gameplay mechanics are rock solid and GTA is nothing more than a faint memory from a past life. GOTY for me personally! MUST BUY!
  16. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Wow... just wow. THE most fun i have EVER had in a LONG time! I cannot stress this enough.
    Despite some visual flaws, the overall package is one which you cannot miss.
    Lets start by outlining some of its flaw. (Dont worry wont take long) Well, the city looks amazing at night time, but at day it seems lifeless and you zoom through a emty street. (Dont expect Liberty City). Anddd thats all
    Wow... just wow. THE most fun i have EVER had in a LONG time! I cannot stress this enough.
    Despite some visual flaws, the overall package is one which you cannot miss.

    Lets start by outlining some of its flaw. (Dont worry wont take long)
    Well, the city looks amazing at night time, but at day it seems lifeless and you zoom through a emty street. (Dont expect Liberty City). Anddd thats all i can think of.

    The game starts with an AMAZING introduction i wont spoil it, but the first few hours have quite a few **** moments. Trust me. The mission design is EXTREMELY varied from taking out gangs to assaulting a pixilated world. (Tanks anyone?)

    Character customization is top notch. While having less options than Saints row 2, i felt that it was more streamlined, where it was easier to make decisions.

    The overall package is extremely well done. Minigames are waiting to suck up your time when your done with the missions. And I wont say anymore. This game, is a MUST HAVE if you want a fun time.

    You cant compare the game's polish to games like GTA, but it stands out among the crowd as the king of the Purple ****
    Expand
  17. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    It's been a long time since i have had so much fun. Saint row the third is the sandbox game i was waiting for since GTA san Andreas, all the fun is back !
  18. hii
    Nov 15, 2011
    9
    This game is a major stress buster really enjoyable :)
  19. Dec 27, 2011
    8
    this was more important to me than uncharted 3, and i will say that despite some bugs and quirks, this game is an amazing and immersing experience. the trophies are easy to get if you're looking for trophies, but the game is a great open world experience with plenty of nods to the previous entries in the series. don't let this one slip through your fingers.
  20. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Saints row is amazing. The customization is top notch. This is the best SR yet. The fourth will even better. This is a must buy for hours of fun. The game has 47 story based missions plus another 40+ side missions. The dlc is extra fun for a low price. $20 for three mission pack and nyte blade inspired car motorcycle and outfits. The nyte blade pack comes as soon as you purchase the dlc.Saints row is amazing. The customization is top notch. This is the best SR yet. The fourth will even better. This is a must buy for hours of fun. The game has 47 story based missions plus another 40+ side missions. The dlc is extra fun for a low price. $20 for three mission pack and nyte blade inspired car motorcycle and outfits. The nyte blade pack comes as soon as you purchase the dlc. The others come during the 2012 year. You also save over 15% percent buying the season pass. 9/10 at least reviewers and gamers giving any less are mistaken. Expand
  21. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Worthy upgrade frm sr2. Its only gta fanboys who are going to dislike this game. It the best open world experience for me at the moment. Gonna have loads of fun towards 100% completion.
  22. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    Firstly what ill say is i really enjoyed this game. Its no work of art but if you like goofy fun and bizarre characters in a loopy storey this may appeal to you. The main storey itself is decently lengthed, but completing all the activities and extras in Steelport will take some time. The graphics in it are average but i did like the colourful designs of menu's, vehicles and gear for yourFirstly what ill say is i really enjoyed this game. Its no work of art but if you like goofy fun and bizarre characters in a loopy storey this may appeal to you. The main storey itself is decently lengthed, but completing all the activities and extras in Steelport will take some time. The graphics in it are average but i did like the colourful designs of menu's, vehicles and gear for your character. Lots of customisation and dumb fun to be had here. Expand
  23. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This game is serious F.U.N! If it's the mascot-killing mayhem of the Super Ethical Reality Climax to the zany situation of Tiger Escort. Even after completing the missions, it leaves you wanting more and they deliver with more activities to keep you hooked.
  24. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    I hadn't been getting into BF3 and needed a break from the serious shooters, and decided to get this game over skyrim. This game has given me the best experience i have experienced in a LONG time. It was such a great relief to stop playing games where I had to take everything serious for a bit and play a game with mindless fun. Laughs are surprisingly abundant in this game as well. I don'tI hadn't been getting into BF3 and needed a break from the serious shooters, and decided to get this game over skyrim. This game has given me the best experience i have experienced in a LONG time. It was such a great relief to stop playing games where I had to take everything serious for a bit and play a game with mindless fun. Laughs are surprisingly abundant in this game as well. I don't know how many times I couldn't stop laughing. the gameplay feels good, the sound is not important, visuals are very decent. there have been a few glitches here and there, but nothing game breaking. I would highly recommend this game to anyone wanting to escape the monotony of this shooter season. Expand
  25. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    I have been waiting for this game a long time and finally here it is. It runs on a different engine to the previous two and is mostly an improvement over the previous instalment. However there are some things which are absent that really annoy me. For a start, crib customisation has been removed completely and that is a shame as I liked customising it to make it look how I wanted. Also,I have been waiting for this game a long time and finally here it is. It runs on a different engine to the previous two and is mostly an improvement over the previous instalment. However there are some things which are absent that really annoy me. For a start, crib customisation has been removed completely and that is a shame as I liked customising it to make it look how I wanted. Also, the icon for gang notoriety is the same for all gangs now; it was different in Saints Row 2. You can no longer phone random numbers, such as the police taxis and fire service. There are also numerous glitches and bugs, none of which have been patched as of yet. These include getting in cars and sinking through the floor resulting in your death and textures on the characters clothing merging with his skin. Apart from these bad things, the game is great fun. It is a lot more fun than the last game, with mad weapons such as Fart in a Jar, a type of stun grenade and the Octopus Cannon, which turns the enemy onto your side. The control scheme is different and better in my opinion. The driving physics are improved and you can now drift around corner a lot easier. Sprinting towards a vehicle and pressing triangle to get in now makes you jump through the window, kicking the occupant out, and there are also many sprint+combat moves. You no longer need respect to play missions as well, which is a big improvement as it could take quite a while to get enough respect in the previous two games. You can now upgrade weapons, for example I have just got incendiary ammo for my dual pistols. You can level up yourself in the phone(which has also undergone a big change) giving you perks such as faster reloading. You get cash from owning businesses which you collect hourly via your phone.Here comes the worst bit about the game: The missions. There are hardly any of them. The game can be completed in less than four hours probably, and most of the missions do not have cutscenes. Some missions aren't even missions at all, just introductions to certain activities. Also, as a previous reviewer has already said, DLC is already available for purchase, showing Volition Inc. to be one of the bad developers or THQ as a bad publisher who deliberately hold back content from the game to sell for more money. There is also a subscription programme, which allows you to buy all of the future DLC now to save money and download it when it releases. They are even selling the cheat codes! There is also an online pass, another of the evils of the gaming world. Overall, the game is really fun but is spoiled by it's occasional glitches, short length and online pass. 8/10 for the game, 3/10 for the developer/publishers attitude towards fans. Expand
  26. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    The game doesn't get boring at all. Tons of fun to play. Reminds me of back when the GTA series weren't so serious. The character customization is cool. It could have a few more voice choices, but you could easily spend hours just customizing cars or doing side missions for respect or cash.
  27. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    This game is so much fun! I just can't get enough of it, i love the humor and i love the gameplay! only driving is pretty much crap but thats it! this is definitly one of my favorite games.
  28. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This game is mind blowing! I was on the fence for a very long time with this game but I gave I and now I'm so hooked and living it. I can honestly I haven't had such a fun time in a very long time. This one can't be missed!
  29. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First of all let me say that it really annoys me that there are intentionally misleading reviews on this site. This game is not "really short" or even moderately short for that matter. My girlfriend has about 30 hours into this game so far an is about 50 percent complete, I am at about 15 hours and I haven't even gotten to the third mission, out of 40, because I've been playing in the sandbox. The claim that there is "day one DLC" is also and out and out lie. THQ is simply allowing fans of the game to save ten dollars by prepurchasing all the DLC now, as opposed to paying ten dollars each time new DLC is released next year. THQ is simply giving gamers the option to purchase up front at a discount. You are perfectly welcome to purchase the DLC al la carte as it is released in the future.

    As far as the game itself, it is very engaging and fun to play. There is absolutely no level of realism involved with this title, it is 100 percent over the top 100 percent of the time. From the mollusk launcher to the women in fishnet and g-strings constantly wandering the streets SR3 revels in its absurdity. The game is about being able to do things that we are prevented from in the real world thanks to the laws of physics, the state, and our consciences.

    I do have a few problems with the game, I'm not a fan of the new vehicle theft side missions. In previous Saints games you were able to access wish lists at various chop shops located throughout the world. The wish list would give you hints where the vehicles could be found, but you were free to randomly jack a car at any point in the game and deliver it to the chop shop for fun and profit. In SR3 vehicle theft is set up more like the hitman missions in the previous games, where the player is more locked into the side quest.

    The final problem I have with SR3 is the character development. I am not happy at all that Gat is dead. I would think that kicking you out of your hometown and stealing all your assets would provide enough impetus to seek revenge on the Morningstar without killing your best friend and second in command. In addition to that what the hell did Volition do to Shaundi? She went from being the adorable, yet promiscuous stoner chick with dreads to some uber bimbo with giant bouncy hair and breast implants. Not cool Volition, not cool at all.

    At the end of the day SR3 is well worth playing, despite that they either killed or ruined my two favorite characters. It's fun, engrossing and over the top just like I suspected.
    Expand
  30. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Stupendous. A triumph. First off, gameplay. A man cartwheels down a street, urinating as he proceeds. A blimp crushes a crowd of innocent children. Hyenas tear the flesh from expensive prostitutes. Like any fine wine, it only improves with time. The carnage, limited at first, starts off bitter, but becomes (I recommend Hennigan's brand wine, by the way), succulent... still a tad bitterStupendous. A triumph. First off, gameplay. A man cartwheels down a street, urinating as he proceeds. A blimp crushes a crowd of innocent children. Hyenas tear the flesh from expensive prostitutes. Like any fine wine, it only improves with time. The carnage, limited at first, starts off bitter, but becomes (I recommend Hennigan's brand wine, by the way), succulent... still a tad bitter but... succulent. It must be experienced to truly understand.

    Onto graphics. The level of detail is staggering. For, example while driving my BMW, I couldn't help but notice a scratch on the paint (probably from a resentful peasant). The game has drivable BMWs as well, but unlike my real life vehicle, they lack any scratches (detailed though they are).

    The characters are as interesting as they are varied. A young couple struggles to make ends meet for their autistic child. A portly fellow conceals his kindliness underneath a mask of hatred. A vacationing bear surprises us with a heartrending tale of lost love. They all add up to make the somber world feel lived in, much as an Armani suit expands (ever so slightly) to fit the wearer; a comforting vacancy, as it were.

    However, as the story reaches its end, there are gut-wrenching moments. Children should not be allowed to see some of the later scenes of the game, and neither should dogs. I say this only because my poodle urinated spontaneously after watching a scene involving a jackhammer and several rats (there is also a stick of deodorant involved but, alas, I cannot discuss why). All of these elements blend together to make something tasteful- exquisite even. It should not be overlooked, but savored. And enjoyed. Thank you.
    Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 6, 2012
    90
    So over the top it makes Jerry Bruckheimer and Michael Bay look restrained. This is an absolute laugh riot throughout. [Dec 2011, p66]
  2. Jan 18, 2012
    90
    Saints Row: The Third is a video game, and it revels in that fact. Along with providing one of the best story modes of this hardware generation (complete with co-op), it comes with near-limitless ways for players to make their own fun when that story is exhausted, or when they want a break from the rollercoaster. These days, most video games do not live up to their original asking price. Saints Row: The Third does, and then some.
  3. Jan 10, 2012
    80
    Saints Row is a playground for adults, a not so subtle satire of modern culture and entertainment. It's also the opposite of Grand Theft Auto. It's very rough around the edges, unfortunately, and isn't that much different from its predecessor. Still, it's proper fun.