User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 115
  2. Negative: 9 out of 115

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 11, 2010
    9
    It's obvious that Scott Pilgrim is the game that the developers intended to create. The love for the source material shows. My only complaint about the game is that there is no online co-op, which is very unfortunate.
  2. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Oh man, I don't think I've done anything but play this game since it came out. I even postponed my reading of Haruki Murakami's 'Kafka on the Shore' (which is a FANTASTIC book, at least from what I've read so far.) to unlock Negascott and make sure my characters have maxed stats. The game's soundtrack alone, designed by genius chiptune artist Anamanaguchi, is easily worth the ten dollarsOh man, I don't think I've done anything but play this game since it came out. I even postponed my reading of Haruki Murakami's 'Kafka on the Shore' (which is a FANTASTIC book, at least from what I've read so far.) to unlock Negascott and make sure my characters have maxed stats. The game's soundtrack alone, designed by genius chiptune artist Anamanaguchi, is easily worth the ten dollars you pay for this gem of a game. I can see why others may gripe about the lack of online play, but this has not proven to be an issue for me since I have more than enough friends to play with who live nearby. In fact, at least 8 of them have come to play this awesome game with me in the past two days. It really is loads of fun when playing with friends.. if you're looking for some classic brawling fun, be sure to check this one out! Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    I'd rate it higher if I could. While the game is not without fault and a lot could be fixed, this does not change the fact that this is the most fun I've had with a game in YEARS. I've loved playing many games, but I haven't been this in love with a game, it's characters and it's universe since perhaps Psychonauts. This game is proof that gaming isn't all about tech-specs, graphicalI'd rate it higher if I could. While the game is not without fault and a lot could be fixed, this does not change the fact that this is the most fun I've had with a game in YEARS. I've loved playing many games, but I haven't been this in love with a game, it's characters and it's universe since perhaps Psychonauts. This game is proof that gaming isn't all about tech-specs, graphical horsepower or even just gameplay - it's about having a soul to give it life. Unless you flat-out despise pixel-graphics, beat 'em ups or Scott Pilgrim, you owe it to yourself to spend $10 on something that should have been a full priced retail game.

    (I have a more detailed review here: http://www.destructoid.com/blogs/the7k/retrograde-scott-pilgrim-vs-the-world-psn--181485.phtml
    Expand
  4. Sep 18, 2010
    10
    JUST Classic...any real old school gamer can enjoy this game is a time machine to the golden years. For me this game is alot of fun the music, characters, design and anyway everything is incredible with the game.
  5. Sep 9, 2010
    8
    It's an awesome game to play for those who crave nostalgia and every aspect of it. The 8 bit music, visuals, sounds, and simple controls. I think the only way to really enjoy it is to play multiplayer with a close friend or relative much like you would with Streets of Rage or Final Fight, this game is very similar. Even better is to watch the movie in the same day. PS3 side scrollers areIt's an awesome game to play for those who crave nostalgia and every aspect of it. The 8 bit music, visuals, sounds, and simple controls. I think the only way to really enjoy it is to play multiplayer with a close friend or relative much like you would with Streets of Rage or Final Fight, this game is very similar. Even better is to watch the movie in the same day. PS3 side scrollers are gradually becoming a big favourite of mine and are awesome developments that make me enjoy the vintage style of games that I feel are neglected nowadays. This is one that deserves a lot of credit and was certainly worth the time and little bit of money. Expand
  6. Jan 7, 2011
    7
    Amusing mechanics make for some good laughs. Both in solo and cooperative play. Anamanaguchi's superb music does nothing but accentuate this rarely seen, piquant movie-game. While the lack of online co-op is veritably inexcusable, I found myself an imperceptible incentive to go back to the game after my initial play-through and obtain all of its trophies.
  7. Aug 17, 2010
    9
    For once a licensed game that is not a bunch of crap !
    Maybe the best 10 bucks I've spent on PSN.
    Really true to the source material (more the Comics than the Movie by the way...) Great retro action, great fun (the gameplay keeps getting better as you play). A lot of references to the comics and old games. And OH MY GOD the soundtrack is so amazing ! I give it a 9 because this game is
    For once a licensed game that is not a bunch of crap !
    Maybe the best 10 bucks I've spent on PSN.

    Really true to the source material (more the Comics than the Movie by the way...)
    Great retro action, great fun (the gameplay keeps getting better as you play).
    A lot of references to the comics and old games.
    And OH MY GOD the soundtrack is so amazing !

    I give it a 9 because this game is screaming for an on-line Co-Op...
    Expand
  8. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    My brother and I would stay up till who knows when playing the NES classic River City Ransom. This definitely stole some ideas from it lol. From the throwing tires and running on them to beating the enemy with your teammates. Only thing missing is the free smile from the stores lol
  9. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    Is it safe to say this is a game based on a movie? Apparently, it's more based on the comics...but still, its very very rare that I could safely say a game based on a movie is actually top-notch. This clearly wasn't some hodgepodge last-minute, "let's get it out because the movie is coming out" kind of game. It offers a wonderfully HD old-school beat-em-up that is best played with friendsIs it safe to say this is a game based on a movie? Apparently, it's more based on the comics...but still, its very very rare that I could safely say a game based on a movie is actually top-notch. This clearly wasn't some hodgepodge last-minute, "let's get it out because the movie is coming out" kind of game. It offers a wonderfully HD old-school beat-em-up that is best played with friends and family. Which brings me to one of the only reasons I am giving this game a 9, lack of online. In a way, this provides a more genuine old-school game feel. However, it would have been a nice addition. On the bright side, when you start a multiplayer game, you can set players 2 3 and 4 to connect to other accounts you have on PS3, so friends are able to get trophies as well (and considering PS3 accounts are FREE, this is fantastic). This game is incredibly addicting and will lead to a lot of replay. Highly recommended for anyone who grew up with games like these, and newcomers who weren't lucky enough to be one of those people. Expand
  10. Aug 26, 2010
    8
    This game is an amazing game. I love the 8bit style and the music is totally awesome. There are only a few things i do not like: 1. Playing it 1-player is nearly impossible, because of the amount of enemies and how much damage they do, while playing it with friends is an awesome and fun experience. which leads me to what i don't like point 2. there is no online co-op. I don't hate thisThis game is an amazing game. I love the 8bit style and the music is totally awesome. There are only a few things i do not like: 1. Playing it 1-player is nearly impossible, because of the amount of enemies and how much damage they do, while playing it with friends is an awesome and fun experience. which leads me to what i don't like point 2. there is no online co-op. I don't hate this game because of the lack of online, but as a game that is the most fun played with friends, i would love to see co-op. Expand
  11. Aug 23, 2010
    9
    Playfully reminiscent of the old days of gaming's great franchises on the Nintendo and Sega consoles of the 80s and 90s. While some outside observers will cry "fan service" and dismiss the game as being pandering, I'd encourage those in that camp to try the game with their friends and see if that changes their enjoyment. The only reason I can't give this a 10 is the complete lack of anPlayfully reminiscent of the old days of gaming's great franchises on the Nintendo and Sega consoles of the 80s and 90s. While some outside observers will cry "fan service" and dismiss the game as being pandering, I'd encourage those in that camp to try the game with their friends and see if that changes their enjoyment. The only reason I can't give this a 10 is the complete lack of an online cooperative play mode. Castle Crashers and Final Fight Double Impact are two side-scrolling beat ups that incorporate Xbox Live and PSN online play, so the reason that Scott Pilgrim can't offer this is a complete mystery. Expand
  12. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    real good, big time brotha. real much recommend big time, fun time brotha.
  13. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    I experimented with game demos and then, I bought it because it deserves to play
    There is the development of arms and personalities in strength and muscle and there is diversity in personalities and different skills in the figures
    Frankly, frankly we need a new part, but we need Reality [HD] NEXT TIME !!!
    BY ADIL KHOJAH - SAUDI ARABIA JEDDAH CITY
  14. Sep 7, 2010
    9
    Scott Pilgrim vs. The World: The Game is a fun game alone, and becomes an even more fun game to play as the number of players increase. Even with the minor problems that can occur, everything seems to just sync and give any hardcore gamer a sense of nostalgia while keeping the casuals cheering with its style. For $10, cheap buy that will give you hours of play, and more if you plan toScott Pilgrim vs. The World: The Game is a fun game alone, and becomes an even more fun game to play as the number of players increase. Even with the minor problems that can occur, everything seems to just sync and give any hardcore gamer a sense of nostalgia while keeping the casuals cheering with its style. For $10, cheap buy that will give you hours of play, and more if you plan to grind the entire "Sex Bob-omb" team. (For the full review, go see my blog! http://undethronedking.blogspot.com/2010/09/scott-pilgrim-vs-world-game-review.html ) Expand
  15. Sep 9, 2010
    8
    The retro visuals,fun story and characters and gameplay sell the game but the lack of online multiplayer is simply unforgivable. Lets hope to see more games like this in the future.
  16. Oct 12, 2010
    8
    Scott Pilgrim is a beautiful looking, beautiful sounding game that ends up a little flat at the end, although having a friend to duke it out with together makes the game the true homage to multi-player beat-em ups it was designed to be. The game starts strong, with 4 playable characters, a fast and fun basic set of combos which grow as you do, and colorful and fitting background to drawScott Pilgrim is a beautiful looking, beautiful sounding game that ends up a little flat at the end, although having a friend to duke it out with together makes the game the true homage to multi-player beat-em ups it was designed to be. The game starts strong, with 4 playable characters, a fast and fun basic set of combos which grow as you do, and colorful and fitting background to draw from (the game has oodles of throwbacks to all sorts of older Nintendo games alongside the Scott Pilgrim story and characters itself). Combat is fast and fun, at its best when introducing new enemies and goofy one-off parodies (Snowball Fight!). While all the levels look and sound great, the game thins once you hit midgame and need to either buy some beefy stat-increasing items to beat the shorter end levels or grind up your levels (which is how you get the stat-ups anyway). Even grinding isn't so bad, though, as the game's music is both perfect for the game's levels and the retro style. Each character has their own moves and ability to revive teammates, which can allow all sorts of amazing last second saves as well as making the multi-player also complement each players's character choices. All of it is a great package at its price, although a friend or two really lets the game show you its best . Expand
  17. Dec 18, 2013
    0
    This game is completely unplayable: corrupt savegames, lost progress, not knowing when the game saves, technical flaws all around. Do not buy this game, you'll regret it.
  18. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    This game is the rebirth of side scrolling beat em ups. If your a fan of the movie its a must buy! has fun references to classic games, and the trophy list will have you busy for a good amount of time. At least give the demo a shot, even if your unsure if youll like it.
  19. Sep 9, 2016
    8
    It's obvious that Scott Pilgrim is the game that the developers intended to create. The love for the source material shows. My only complaint about the game is that there is no online co-op, which is very unfortunate.
  20. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    i dont know what to say about this game other than I signed up just to review it. I grew up on these games but it isnt so must of a nostalgia pull but rather just a simple and perfectly made GAME. And boy is it fun. At ten bucks, its a steal. I really just want everyone to know how great it is. get the demo and youll see!
  21. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    It's Castle Crashers with a Scott Pilgrim theme, complete with awesome retro graphics, amazing retro music and enough fast-paced solo and co-op fun to warrant it a place on store shelves. Enough said.
  22. May 22, 2012
    3
    DO NOT TRY THIS GAME BY YOURSELF. If you are like me, and you enjoy single player games, then you will find this game insanely, utterly infuriating. Perhaps I just never got used to the game difficulty, or I just simply don't care for this style of game anymore (I loved Streets of Rage and the Double Dragon games as a kid). Either way, this game annoyed the ever-loving piss out of me.DO NOT TRY THIS GAME BY YOURSELF. If you are like me, and you enjoy single player games, then you will find this game insanely, utterly infuriating. Perhaps I just never got used to the game difficulty, or I just simply don't care for this style of game anymore (I loved Streets of Rage and the Double Dragon games as a kid). Either way, this game annoyed the ever-loving piss out of me. Scott can run side-to-side, but his vertical movement is REDONKULOUSLY slow (the jump thing is hard to control), and the game likes spawning multiple enemies at once who stun you for 3 seconds at a time. Let's not forget the random scripted moments (such as a bus passing through the screen) that are nearly impossible to dodge unless you already know where they are (ie your first play through, you're boned). Everything added up to a game with great music and cool moves (and based off an awesome series) that pissed me off so bad I couldn't play it for more than 15 minutes at a time. After roughly the 10th attempt, I finally gave up for good. None of my friends are even remotely interested in playing this game, so single player is the only way I can ever play. Since single player absolutely blows, this game is worthless to me. I completely 110% regret this purchase, and wouldn't have paid $0.99 for it, had I known what it was. I vehemently suggest you try the demo first!! Expand
  23. Aug 31, 2010
    5
    Admitedly I only played the demo, but this game is so retro I found myself thinking why bother when I could just be playing Streets of Rage. I get what they've tried to do and they've succeeded, it just does it so well it carries along all the annoying aspects those games had and doesn't seem to improve the concept in anyway.

    I've never read the comics (and haven't seen the movie) but I
    Admitedly I only played the demo, but this game is so retro I found myself thinking why bother when I could just be playing Streets of Rage. I get what they've tried to do and they've succeeded, it just does it so well it carries along all the annoying aspects those games had and doesn't seem to improve the concept in anyway.

    I've never read the comics (and haven't seen the movie) but I am an old gamer and I did used to love the Streets of Rage series, but I couldn't quite figure out what this game did better than a game made back in the 90's did. I'm mentioning Streets of Rage so much because this game felt just too similar, everything from the art, level design and annoying problems.

    Definitely try before buying, as I think quite a lot of the reviews are looking at these sort of games with rose-tinted nostalgia glasses. Some things are best left as happy memories.
    Expand
  24. Sep 5, 2010
    0
    Basically made to cater for fans who speach is like "OMG THIS GEAMS IS SOOOO COOOL LULLLLZZZ"

    It's a very bad attempt to cash in on the whole Geek Chic Thing going around. Any fan of this should be shot, also if you wear a nintendo belt buckle you should die too. It's a side scrolling beat em up that lacks either depth or originallity.
  25. Oct 19, 2010
    3
    This game is a very repetitive brawler and an campaign for the failed movie. Watching children beat each other up was unsatisfying. Enemies include dogs which I find immoral. Go play Streets of Rage instead.
  26. Apr 15, 2011
    6
    I'll defend my rating of "6" by saying that it is an objective score and please read the rest of the review before casting judgment. Ignore any other reviews that refer to this game as a knock-off. Especially any user reviews by someone that calls themselves an "old gamer" and then says the game is ripping off the graphics and gameplay of Streets of Rage. First off, this is not aI'll defend my rating of "6" by saying that it is an objective score and please read the rest of the review before casting judgment. Ignore any other reviews that refer to this game as a knock-off. Especially any user reviews by someone that calls themselves an "old gamer" and then says the game is ripping off the graphics and gameplay of Streets of Rage. First off, this is not a rip-off. It's an "homage". It is intentionally trying to be a beat-em-up in the same fashion of the 8/16-bit gaming era. Second, don't say "it's just a beat-em-up". That is what this game is. That would be like picking up Call of Duty and saying, "it's just a first person shooter!". Well, yes! What were you expecting? Tetris? Lastly, if you can look at this game for more than 15 seconds and think of any game other than River City Ransom, then you are not an "old gamer". Pilgrim mimics the classic RCR right down to eating food to level up your character. Also, any negative reviews that say it is trying to cash in on people that are in to gamer speak miss the point. The game and book are both satarizing that culture and doing a wonderful job. So, if you like River City Ransom and are familiar with the Scott Pilgrim lore, then you will love this game! But that does not make this review cater to every reader. The game by itself does not do a very good job of introducing characters or trying in the slightest to explain the many references made to the book (i.e. the "Mithryl Skateboard" unlock). People not "in the know" could spend time trying to find out how to use the skateboard that the game just told them they had in their inventory. I laughed because I'm well aware that Scott did not choose skateboarding proficiency at birth and was unable to use said skateboard, but there is no reference to that in the game. Some other gripes that I have applying to the game in general is it's length (not too bad, but it could have used another couple levels). There is a lack of balance with regard to over-powering characters and the difficulty curve. Without taking time to focus only on leveling, a friend and I had leveled enough naturally to defeat one boss without the boss attacking once. The fight was over in literally five seconds. The game should be balanced better. The last gripe is the lack of online co-op. I know the designers wanted people to sit in a room together and play like we did when we were kids, but my job keeps me 3 hours away from a good friend and due to that, we were never able to play together. Sad, ain't it? Online co-op should just be a standard feature at this point. If this game was not an awesome homage to River City Ransom as well as a wonderful companion to the Scott Pilgrim books, these flaws would actually make my review score a bit lower. I like to end on a bright note, so I will say that whether you read the books or played RCR, you will LOVE the soundtrack. The addition of Anamanaguchi to write the entire score for the game was a brilliant move. Their wonderful tunes will make any gamer swoon. So if you love Scott Pilgrim and RCR, you will love this game. Probably more of an "8/10" for you. But if you don't have a particular affinity for either, then this game on it's own merits may not appeal to you. Expand
  27. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    Greatness is a dish best served RETRO!! If you liked any side-scrolling/fighting game between 1980 and 2010 this is for you. Combining the best of old-school button mashing and leveling up your character to gain new moves and combos, this is the ultimate mesh of both worlds.
  28. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    Easily one of the best 8-bit styled albums ever. Anamanaguchi is unrivaled in their genre, and hearing such a retro sound makes me wish they could rerecord all the music for classic Nintendo games.
  29. Dec 5, 2013
    9
    This game is an amazing beat 'em up. It's a great game. It has a incredible little story. It's an enjoyable game with tons of remainder of 90's video games. If you are a child of the 80's or you have played a lot of SNES games, you will be remained of TMNT: Turtles in Time, Super Mario Bros, and Simpsons: the Video Game. Thank you Ubisoft for your efforts.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Jan 13, 2011
    82
    Scott Pilgrim vs. The World lends itself to different interpretations: if you're a novice gamer, forget this title since it's way too hard and frustrating for actual standards; but if you're thirty years old or more, you'll enjoy Scott's battle though its failures (the lack of an online multiplayer mode) and weaknesses.
  2. 80
    If you don't enjoy old-school looks, repetitive gaming and blips for music, then you obviously aren't the one this game is aimed at. However, if those things give you goose bumps and memories of beating up the same enemy over and over then Scott Pilgrim is your game.
  3. Winners Don´t Eat Meat - and they don´t pass a chance to waste some hours with retro loving friends on this charming pixel brawler. This is a trip down memory lane, with lots of great references to the games of the past. If you are looking for a new Castle Crashers then this might be it.