Scott Pilgrim vs. the World: The Game Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 113 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This will be a video game based on Universal Pictures' upcoming action-comedy, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. 100
    This is awesome stuff. I couldn't recommend it more highly, especially at 10 bucks, and I'm sure you'll be telling everyone you know the same after you clear the first stage (if not sooner).
  2. As a downloadable title Scott Pilgrim is almost what everyone could want. It does nothing but pay homage to the ghosts of gaming past while it improves a long forgotten genre of gaming.
  3. PSM3 Magazine UK
    84
    Great retro scrapper. Superb in co-op but can drag when playing solo. [Oct 2010, p.84]
  4. If you don't like classic beat 'em ups, I tentatively recommend this game with the qualifier that you need a few friends to play with. If you do enjoy classic beat 'em ups -- then why are you still sitting here reading this?
  5. Scott Pilgrim vs. the World is a great beat'em up for keep players engaged, nostalgic, and smiling.
  6. Just like Streets of Rage or Mutation Nation, this game is a simple and primitive 2D beat 'em all that manages to speak to nostalgic gamers with its pixilated graphics and great MIDI soundtrack... A very good recipe.
  7. This game is tough. Maybe I just suck at it but it seems unreasonably hard for what I expected to be a fun brawler. Then again, at least it didn't turn into licensed shovelware.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
  1. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    I'd rate it higher if I could. While the game is not without fault and a lot could be fixed, this does not change the fact that this is theI'd rate it higher if I could. While the game is not without fault and a lot could be fixed, this does not change the fact that this is the most fun I've had with a game in YEARS. I've loved playing many games, but I haven't been this in love with a game, it's characters and it's universe since perhaps Psychonauts. This game is proof that gaming isn't all about tech-specs, graphical horsepower or even just gameplay - it's about having a soul to give it life. Unless you flat-out despise pixel-graphics, beat 'em ups or Scott Pilgrim, you owe it to yourself to spend $10 on something that should have been a full priced retail game.

    (I have a more detailed review here: http://www.destructoid.com/blogs/the7k/retrograde-scott-pilgrim-vs-the-world-psn--181485.phtml
    Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2010
    10
    JUST Classic...any real old school gamer can enjoy this game is a time machine to the golden years. For me this game is alot of fun the music,JUST Classic...any real old school gamer can enjoy this game is a time machine to the golden years. For me this game is alot of fun the music, characters, design and anyway everything is incredible with the game. Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    i dont know what to say about this game other than I signed up just to review it. I grew up on these games but it isnt so must of a nostalgiai dont know what to say about this game other than I signed up just to review it. I grew up on these games but it isnt so must of a nostalgia pull but rather just a simple and perfectly made GAME. And boy is it fun. At ten bucks, its a steal. I really just want everyone to know how great it is. get the demo and youll see! Collapse
  4. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    This game is the rebirth of side scrolling beat em ups. If your a fan of the movie its a must buy! has fun references to classic games, andThis game is the rebirth of side scrolling beat em ups. If your a fan of the movie its a must buy! has fun references to classic games, and the trophy list will have you busy for a good amount of time. At least give the demo a shot, even if your unsure if youll like it. Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2010
    8
    It's an awesome game to play for those who crave nostalgia and every aspect of it. The 8 bit music, visuals, sounds, and simple controls. IIt's an awesome game to play for those who crave nostalgia and every aspect of it. The 8 bit music, visuals, sounds, and simple controls. I think the only way to really enjoy it is to play multiplayer with a close friend or relative much like you would with Streets of Rage or Final Fight, this game is very similar. Even better is to watch the movie in the same day. PS3 side scrollers are gradually becoming a big favourite of mine and are awesome developments that make me enjoy the vintage style of games that I feel are neglected nowadays. This is one that deserves a lot of credit and was certainly worth the time and little bit of money. Expand
  6. Sep 9, 2016
    8
    It's obvious that Scott Pilgrim is the game that the developers intended to create. The love for the source material shows. My only complaintIt's obvious that Scott Pilgrim is the game that the developers intended to create. The love for the source material shows. My only complaint about the game is that there is no online co-op, which is very unfortunate. Expand
  7. Dec 18, 2013
    0
    This game is completely unplayable: corrupt savegames, lost progress, not knowing when the game saves, technical flaws all around. Do not buyThis game is completely unplayable: corrupt savegames, lost progress, not knowing when the game saves, technical flaws all around. Do not buy this game, you'll regret it. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews