Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. 80
    By any measure, it has solid racing mechanics. But then, variety is the spice of life and this title could use a bit more.
  2. The technology behind Sega Rally Revo is undeniably impressive and the driving is a good bit of arcade fun, but the game's staying power is highly questionable.
  3. Sega Rally Revo isn’t a fresh turn around every corner, but it’s still one of the best racing games released for the PS3 and Xbox 360 platforms. Fans of the original (and/or its sequels) shouldn’t hesitate to pick up Revo.
  4. Even though most of the modes are all very similar, you'll have a blast rally racing every time you pick this one up!
  5. While some may argue that Sega Rally fits their bill for arcade racing, I don’t think there’s any forgiving this game for how shallow it is. Apart from unlocking tracks, cars, and paint schemes, it simply offers very little else.
  6. 80
    It has enough to keep any committed racing fan coming back for a good couple of months. Some may argue that the gameplay is dated and the lack of options is overly restrictive. Fair enough, stick to Gran Turismo. Everyone else should race, have fun, and enjoy the rally.
  7. 80
    Rally looks amazing. Courses look sharp and consist of intricate details. But what really looks the best are the things thrown in to slow you down: ice, water, mud and dirt are all present, and you'll have to learn how to interact with each.
  8. Sega Rally Revo is a great addition to a fun arcade racing series, and is a fantastic entry point for new fans. However, if you prefer your console racing experience to a bit more sim based, this isn't the title for you.
  9. Without all of the environmental additions, Sega Rally Revo is an average racer at best.
  10. 75
    The big problem is durability. With a fun but shallow physics model, a dearth of tracks, no vehicular upgradeability/downgradeability, and so few options, Revo simply isn't set up for a long run. But it's a hell of a good arcade ride in the meantime.
  11. I had to race Revo in small doses. I could only play for a limited time every time I picked up the controller. I would get the sensation to throw my controller at my PS3 after about two hours of racing, so I would stop and pick it back up later.
  12. Sega succeeds in revving up its old arcade rally series with this phenomenal racer that infuses off-road with a dash of drift.
  13. The PS3 version of Sega Rally has managed to stay true to its roots without seeming too dated or ruining the formula completely, and also sports huge graphical improvements since its last outing, but it isn't quite as exciting as some of the competition and doesn't quite capture the essence of rallying.
  14. Online races with six players were smooth and relatively lag-free, and the downloadable time trial ghost cars come in very handy when trying to better your previous lap records. It's the kind of feature set that hardcore SEGA Rally fans will appreciate, but casuals might be left wondering why more isn't on offer.
  15. Sega Rally Revo, like its predecessors, is all about the thrill of flying around a track. [Nov 2007, p.73]
  16. No, Revo's not bursting with originality or play options, but it's a solid racer that feels completely different from the competition. [Dec 2007, p.104]
  17. All in all Sega Rally Revo is a good arcade racer. The learning curve was a little steep and the single player mode was not as robust as I would have liked, but the fast arcade action kept me coming back for more.
  18. 80
    The game just feels so incredibly polished and even though the single player championship mode is a little bit bare you will keep returning to the game just for a quick race, the online play could be a drawcard for several people as well.
  19. It's not that deep, and it lacks the furious, deranged pack-racing of "Motorstorm," but it is very fast, looks gorgeous and handles ever so sweetly. [Nov 2007, p.92]
  20. For me I really enjoyed Sega Rally Revo, but it was one of those games that would be great as a rental but in terms of seeing this as a game I would come back to in a long time and want to get back into it.
  21. Frankly its just another ‘they shouldn’t have bothered’ renamination from Sega, when the fans deserve much more.
  22. 92
    It's just such a wonderful game that as long as you can get over the fact that the cars behave in quite a strange way, and the control is incredibly loose, you're guaranteed to enjoy it. [Issue#158, p.74]
  23. Very rarely does a developer remake an iconic classic as well as Sega Racing Studio has Sega Rally. With the finest eye for detail, they've managed to remember everything that made the series great and translate it onto today's next gen machines perfectly. Not only that, but they've put their own unique stamp on the Sega Rally family with great aplomb.
  24. Still, it's lovely, good fun, quite challenging, and offers plenty of unlockable incentives and solid online play to keep your foot on the gas. [Dec 2007, p.88]
  25. With crisp visuals that feed your eyes nothing but visual sugary sweets, and gameplay that engrosses you from the start to finish[line], Sega Rally Revo really does have everything rally fans, racing fans, and fans of the arcade franchise will love. Best of all, with multiplayer, and a solid number of things to unlock (such as cars and tracks), you're certainly getting your money worth.
  26. With Sega Rally Revo, Sega nailed the series' arcade feel. The game controls just like the original, right down to the muddy power slides and pure sensation of speed.
  27. Sega Rally Revo has its market and it knows it. You probably won't change your mind about arcade or rally racing games because of this game, but if this is your genre already, or you've just liked the past Sega Rally titles, feel free to jump straight in behind the wheel.
  28. Too simplistic to compete with "DiRT," but this is still an enjoyable, pure arcade racer. [Nov 2007, p.66]
  29. It’s a solid arcade racer that is fun to play. It feels shallow compared to other recent racers, but it's still appealing.
  30. While we certainly wouldn't mind seeing a Super GT update in the near future (mmmmm... airport track...), we'll gladly take a Revo sequel too. Next time, though, the game absolutely must pack in a little more in the way of extras and a deeper online mode.
  31. SEGA Rally Revo might not have every angle fully developed, but with the GeoDeformation and bright graphics all the flaws simply fade into the background as you rip up a few laps in your favourite Rally car. If you’re a fan of racing games SEGA Rally Revo is worth a look as SEGA returns to its arcade racing roots.
  32. A classic-style Sega arcade racer - no complications, just the open road and a fast car. The AI can be a bit too tough, but master the handling and there's loads of fun to be had with Sega Rally.
  33. 70
    If you can get past the limited modes, non-descript tracks, and overly simple menu the gameplay is a blast.
  34. Sega Rally Revo is a throwback game, before the modern day racing games that have to be loaded with stuff to do. That lack of variety does hurt it, but it's covered by the very solid gameplay that is both accessible and challenging, fun and at times, frustrating.
  35. If you have a PS3 and want this kind of experience, get "Motorstorm."
  36. It's not very deep, but it's very fast, looks gorgeous and handles ever so sweetly. [Nov 2007, p.119]
  37. It's a visceral racing title that takes the genre back to its roots but it in no way pushes the envelope.
  38. The reinvention of Sega Rally hardly could have been better succeeded. It’s a genuine racing game, without any obvious flaws.
  39. 60
    Revo is moderately fun at best. The sense of speed is decent. The sense of control, power, and precision per car is hard to distinguish for the majority of vehicles, and there is nothing wacky, silly, or distinct about the game that provides that creative hook that other racing games such as Daytona USA, Colin McRae Racing, or Gran Turismo provide. In short, Sega Rally Revo is disappointing.
  40. 90
    Even with its lack of car tweaking, painting, and/or upgrading features that are by now de rigeur in modern racing games, Sega Rally Revo remains a rollicking good time, sticking firmly to its arcade-style roots.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Aug 6, 2013
    6
    Sega Rally is initially fun but after only a couple of hours you feel like you've seen everything that's worth seeing and all that's left isSega Rally is initially fun but after only a couple of hours you feel like you've seen everything that's worth seeing and all that's left is the long grind to unlock everything which I didn't really want to do. It can be fun with friends but even then it gets boring after a few races. The mechanics of the game work really well though its just not that fun. Full Review »
  2. A.Taylor
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    I do think people are expecting some kind of WRC simulator in this game and, in that, they'll be sorely disappointed. What this i's I do think people are expecting some kind of WRC simulator in this game and, in that, they'll be sorely disappointed. What this i's a pure arcade driving game that happens to be set on rally stages with licensed cars. It's not realistic because it's not supposed to be. What it also is, is the most successful reinvention in this generation of an age old franchise that delivers the most important ingredient of it's predecessors...pure, undiluted FUN. It's Sega Rally through and through with all the joy that will bring to its fans. I love this game so much that, on switching from the 360 to the PS3, I immediately went out and bought it again. It's not for everyone, but if you loved the originals this will exceed all expectations and also deliver one of the most enjoyable online experiences for years. Is it comparable with Motorstorm? Not in the slightest. They both have mud, and that's where the parallels end. Buy both. Full Review »
  3. GiorgosD.
    Oct 16, 2007
    3
    Very Dissapointing at PS3. Having problems with steering with sisaxis and there's no wheel availiable right now. The car steers like a Very Dissapointing at PS3. Having problems with steering with sisaxis and there's no wheel availiable right now. The car steers like a boat. The cpu's drivers have no problem with it so they go like demons. Catch them if you can. I'd rather wait for next gen sega rally 2012. Full Review »