Shadows of the Damned PlayStation 3

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 124
  2. Negative: 9 out of 124
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 12, 2011
    7
    Shadows of the Damned is a **** of cool ideas inspired by grindhouse cinema. The influence of blood and gore, the dark horror elements and its emphasis on nudity really shows a twisted but inspired world. The problems start to escalate once you find yourself doing the same objectives again and again. I like the Alan Wake-ish use of lightsources as a weapon to blind enemies, and its senseShadows of the Damned is a **** of cool ideas inspired by grindhouse cinema. The influence of blood and gore, the dark horror elements and its emphasis on nudity really shows a twisted but inspired world. The problems start to escalate once you find yourself doing the same objectives again and again. I like the Alan Wake-ish use of lightsources as a weapon to blind enemies, and its sense of humour is very distinguishable, but how many times do you have to clear out enemies by shooting a damn goathead? the boss fights aren't really that challenging, though some provide a sense of scale, you have to use darkpools effectively to rid of these bosses, which amounts to simplicity more than challenge. I'm also not fond of the protagonist spouting Spanish idiolect phrases and other than the merchant that sells you demonic goods, there are no memorable characters. The humour itself dries up fairly quickly, when I first heard that the boner was the name given to a weapon I chuckled but soon it became dull and incessant. Generally Shadows of the Damned is more than worth a kick, but it's over rather quickly and the mechanics and narrative are sub par. Definately want to see a sequel down the road though. Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2016
    7
    It's a cult classic for a reason. Personally I find the humour to be somewhat childish though I did laugh at times. Graphic wise, this game may not stand the test of time as well as others but I believe it will still be loved for years to come.
  3. Dec 29, 2011
    7
    Shadows of the damned is a decent action game that lacks a few things from becoming great. The gameplay is fun and entertaining, but it lacks variety. You will notice that the game repeats itself with its enemies and puzzles and eventually stops producing original ideas. The gameplay is similar to what which can be found in games like Dead space and Resident evil 4. It's fun, but at timesShadows of the damned is a decent action game that lacks a few things from becoming great. The gameplay is fun and entertaining, but it lacks variety. You will notice that the game repeats itself with its enemies and puzzles and eventually stops producing original ideas. The gameplay is similar to what which can be found in games like Dead space and Resident evil 4. It's fun, but at times lacks polish and refinment,. The story isn't as captivating as you might like, and the progression is rather slow. The dialog between Garcia and Johnson, the two main characters, is probably the highlight of the game, considering the weak story. The game just feels padded, like it tries very hard to artificially increase it's own life span with uninteresting sections and long boring boss fights. Mostly,you can say the game is still enjoyable, but it doesn't have anything special to brag about, besides the lunatic humor and dick jokes which are, and let's face it, not even that funny anyway. Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2016
    6
    Sorry but this game is neither “underrated” nor “overlooked” as some have tried to suggest all over the internet. I’m with the critics again. While its 3rd person RE4-like gameplay is solid, the other parts of the game are not. They contain infuriating 2D sections and other mini-games that drag the experience horribly down. It even has a 2D boss. Bosses in general are so-so. The game seemsSorry but this game is neither “underrated” nor “overlooked” as some have tried to suggest all over the internet. I’m with the critics again. While its 3rd person RE4-like gameplay is solid, the other parts of the game are not. They contain infuriating 2D sections and other mini-games that drag the experience horribly down. It even has a 2D boss. Bosses in general are so-so. The game seems to overuse a mechanic when the hero’s health depletes over time. That adds too much pressure and urgency preventing to take the game more slowly which would benefit it in my opinion. The story is simple and absurd but ok. I liked the gory-but-not-too-serious graphic style. The game also tries to be funny but I laughed maybe once. I know it didn’t sell. There probably won't be a sequel and I’m ok with it. Expand
  5. Jan 12, 2012
    6
    Shadows of the Damned is a mostly robust 3rd person shooter with a number of glaring flaws that prevent it from being as great as it should be. The soundtrack is incredible and the actual shooting is competent, cribbing from RE4 and mixing up that basic formula in new ways. The use of light is better than its nearest comparator (Alan Wake), though less visually impressive; Shadows alsoShadows of the Damned is a mostly robust 3rd person shooter with a number of glaring flaws that prevent it from being as great as it should be. The soundtrack is incredible and the actual shooting is competent, cribbing from RE4 and mixing up that basic formula in new ways. The use of light is better than its nearest comparator (Alan Wake), though less visually impressive; Shadows also easily outdoes Wake's writing, being charming and crass with characters that you can actually root for. Unfortunately, several mini-game sections in the game overstay their welcome and lack the polish and depth of the shooting, making the game a slog at times. Worth playing once! Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2011
    7
    This is a game that earned a lot of hype before it's release thanks to its development team, and quite a bit of outrage due to its incredibly weak sales. And while I wish I could support it for its cool ideas and unique setting, I can't because this is quite simply not the incredible masterpiece it was said to be. The story is simple but typical (with literally TWO truly memorableThis is a game that earned a lot of hype before it's release thanks to its development team, and quite a bit of outrage due to its incredibly weak sales. And while I wish I could support it for its cool ideas and unique setting, I can't because this is quite simply not the incredible masterpiece it was said to be. The story is simple but typical (with literally TWO truly memorable characters(Johnson, your demon sidekick and Christopher, a demonic shopkeeper with a western accent and addiction to white gems), and takes you to some interesting places, which is fine for a game that focuses mostly on action and gameplay. The controls feel kinda stiff for a third person shooter, and for anyone who is used to aiming with a reticle, the laser site targeting will take getting used to. The boss battles throughout the game range from kinda fun to bad, mostly due to the stiffness in movement and control. The graphics are pretty good, with a nice sense of style and color, but they are ruined somewhat by the frequent texture pop in and aliasing problems. The soundtrack by Akira Yamaoka is pretty darn good but it feels a bit underused throughout the game. The voice-acting is alright, but while there are enough vulgar jokes in this game to go head to head with Bulletstorm (the other dick-joke simulator), unlike Bulletstorm, none of the jokes here are particularly funny , and some of the puns and one-liners are downright terrible. Overall, this is a game that I was never quite bored with but I never really warmed up to it either. The controls are clunky, the unique ideas half-baked and despite the original setting the story is pretty simple. Also, the game is about 9 hours long with zero replay incentive and no extra modes, no new game+ and no collectibles, so I can't recommend anyone to buy it unless they are dead set on it already. It is however a good rental if you're in the mood for some gory fun action. Expand
  7. Apr 21, 2013
    7
    Not perfect but definitely a must-play for anyone with taste. A variety of gameplay styles are used throughout the game, all of which are base don the same basic rules.
  8. Dec 25, 2011
    6
    I wanted to like this game. I'm always interested when gamers love a game that doesn't do well with critics. In this case, I have to agree with the critics. On the score at least. That said, you may very well enjoy Shadows of the Damned. There are plenty of visually arresting images combined with seemingly innocent ones. Plenty to shake your head at while being slightly creeped out. But inI wanted to like this game. I'm always interested when gamers love a game that doesn't do well with critics. In this case, I have to agree with the critics. On the score at least. That said, you may very well enjoy Shadows of the Damned. There are plenty of visually arresting images combined with seemingly innocent ones. Plenty to shake your head at while being slightly creeped out. But in the big picture, this is a sloppy third person shooter, with a horrible camera, repetitive enemies, environments and worst of all, it's an Unreal 3 game. As a PS3 owner, I have come to expect quite a bit more out of my games and Shadows doesn't nearly cut it. When an established studio like Grasshopper decides to use middleware, you can rest assured they are compromising on quality. That about sums up this offering. Low quality, low polish, low scores. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Oct 6, 2011
    70
    We're not entirely sure who's going to play this game, or even who it's ultimately suited for. People who are fans of Mikami and Suda will no doubt snap it up without a thought, and so will those who are tired of the 'usual' slew of action games. Sure, Shadows of the Damned has character and shows of incredible, grotesque and inventive beats, but as a game it's left lacking. [August 2011 p70]
  2. Sep 4, 2011
    70
    The game delivers what you might expect from two iconic developers. Unique story, plenty of grindhouse-style visuals and slightly lackluster gameplay. Fans of these auteurs will be pleased. Parents of impressionable youths will not.
  3. Aug 18, 2011
    79
    If it wasn't for the not-for-everyone grind house aesthetic of the game and the short play length, Shadows of the Damned would be a slam dunk recommendation. If you want some grindhouse and road movie in your game, this is the experience just for you. Even if you're a horror fan who's looking for something a little less serious than Dead Space of the latest F.E.A.R. title, you may just find what you're looking for here as well.