Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: No More Heroes creator Goichi Suda and Resident Evil 4 director Shinji Mikami are hard at work on a new horror action game to be published by EA.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    93
    Its freshness shows just how stale a lot of the industry is and it's what's needed in an era of grey, modern shooters.
  2. Jun 27, 2011
    84
    Shadows of the Damned doesn't quite hit the heights of either Suda51 or Mikami's history, but as long as you're willing to accept the sometimes vulgar humour there's an experience well worth its weight, and comes to a clever climax finale around the 10-12hour mark that leaves me hoping there's enough demand to warrant a sequel.
  3. Jun 21, 2011
    80
    I'd recommend it in an instant to fans of the developer's past works, and just as fast to those looking for a fresh, fun shooter with a penchant for the eccentric.
  4. Jul 21, 2011
    80
    A truly unique, absurd action game that no one should miss. With the help of Shinji Mikami, Suda 51 has delivered his most palatable experience to date.
  5. 75
    Shadows of the Damned plays homage to its film inspirations through an obscure and mature presentation, but the actual game mechanics lack the same sharp punch as the artistic direction.
  6. Sep 4, 2011
    70
    The game delivers what you might expect from two iconic developers. Unique story, plenty of grindhouse-style visuals and slightly lackluster gameplay. Fans of these auteurs will be pleased. Parents of impressionable youths will not.
  7. Jun 21, 2011
    58
    Although Shadows of the Damned has fun and interesting moments, the end product turns out to be a decent to slightly above average shooter that, at times, feels a little bland.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    I'm currently on Act 3-2 (about 5 hours in). If you have any interest in Suda 51's dark humour & art style as a developer, then this game will not disappoint you. Shadows of the Damned is a perfect combination of eerie & hilarious, and while graphically the game doesn't break any new ground, the game more than makes up for it with it's stylistic visuals and unorthodox gameplay elements. Not to mention, the musical score is a unique achievement all its own; which can only be described as Silent Hill meets Planet Terror.

    The combat, more often than not, is intense and enjoyable; and the boss battles are fun & challenging without being frustrating. My only gripe is that the controls can feel a bit clunky & sluggish at times, but not any more so than say Resident Evil 4. The one-button 180 degree turn mechanic helps remedy this to some degree, but on occasion the sprint button does feel unresponsive (and it really should have been mapped to L3 instead of R1). Again, this is a minor gripe, and it doesn't occur frequently enough to hurt the gameplay. Aside from that, the game does feel like it will probably clock in at around 10 hours. However, I'm playing on the hardest difficulty, so I'm probably looking at about 12 hours. Personally I'm okay with this.

    The light & dark gameplay mechanic is somewhat similar to what is found in Alan Wake (and is executed just as well), but it definitely has the Suda 51 trademark -- shooting munching goat heads as light sources, and igniting fireworks machines instead of boring flood lights. Goat heads you say? Yes... absolutely. And even the game's main character is as baffled as you. Upon discovering this, he aptly replies: "What do I have to do to unlock a door? F##K a horse?"


    Buy this game now. Support creative game development.
    Expand
  2. May 30, 2014
    10
    A fantastic and rich shooter just brimming with ideas, there isn't a dull moment in this game. It plays very fluidly with solid controls reminiscent of Resident Evil 4, polished and revamped for convenience and efficiency. While it's not the most challenging shooter out there, the witty comedy, beautifully designed environments, and immersive gameplay make it clear that the game knows you're here to have fun, and if there's anything that this game delivers on in great excess, it's fun. Shadows of the Damned is one of those games that doesn't come around often, and we'd expect no less from the great minds Suda51 and Shinji Mikami working together on this beautifully designed, amazingly well-executed piece (and let's not forget Akira Yamaoka for his great work on the soundtrack). Expand
  3. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    Excellent Game. What should I say? Controls similar to Resident Evil 4 (YES you can actually walk and aim), a lot of barrels to smash and collect ammo, enhance your health and weapons. The sound design is really top notch. Sometimes it reminds you a bit of silent hill, but it still has enough personality of its own. The charakters are so over the top and full of charisma. The level of style within the storytelling reminds me a lot of quentin tarantino movies. Also the dialogs are hilarious (especially the "fairy tales").

    If you are looking for a creative and different game, give it a try and rent it first if you are not sure about a purchase, but this game really rocks!

    The achievements are fun and challenging but not to hard to acquire.
    Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When a company like EA releases a game like this with absolutely no marketing and no Japanese release its bound to fail financially. It was also doomed to fail with critics because most reviewers are up tight fanboys who didn't learn there lesson with killer7. If you dont have a stick up your ass then you will probably enjoy the comedy and writing. voice acting is spot on, some of the best this gen. The music is fantastic as it should be with Akira Yamaoka composing. The gameplay is alright and focuses on weapon upgrades and puzzles, The boss fights are enjoyable and the shooting aspect makes it feel like resident evil 4 but faster. play it on hard your fist go because its not really that hard of a game to begin with. Anyway the game is pretty much at bargin bin prices now so you have no reason to not buy it anymotr Expand
  5. Jul 2, 2011
    8
    You've probably heard that your friend/weapon in this game is named Johnson, and that the main, pistol-like weapon is dubbed the "Boner". Maybe you also know that weapon eventually morphs into the "Hot Boner" and, when Johnson is particularly aroused, the "Big Boner". All this could mean that the game relies too heavily on high school humor, but despite these things (and the banter between Garcia, the protagonist, and Johnson is often bad enough to roll your eyes), the game truly shines as a worthwhile addition to your collection. Despite creative names, the weapons you possess are variations on the pistol, machine gun, and shotgun present in any shooter, all equipped with an alternate "Light Shot" used to shoot goat heads and smash the armor (made of darkness) on enemies so you can kill them. Fighting in this game is hectic and mesmerizing...and fun. While there are times you'll feel like you're in the middle of another samey fight sequence, the game is smart enough to mix it up so you're never bored. Late in the game, you'll even be thrown into truly original situations that have the Suda 51 feel to them, creating a feeling of a game that is part Killer 7 and part Resident Evil 4. Beyond the gameplay, the story here really shines as well. Story books let you in on the back stories of the bosses you'll fight, and Garcia's motives are never really understood until the end. Yes, it's a bit derivative, but who cares when you're having this much fun? Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2011
    7
    This is a game that earned a lot of hype before it's release thanks to its development team, and quite a bit of outrage due to its incredibly weak sales. And while I wish I could support it for its cool ideas and unique setting, I can't because this is quite simply not the incredible masterpiece it was said to be. The story is simple but typical (with literally TWO truly memorable characters(Johnson, your demon sidekick and Christopher, a demonic shopkeeper with a western accent and addiction to white gems), and takes you to some interesting places, which is fine for a game that focuses mostly on action and gameplay. The controls feel kinda stiff for a third person shooter, and for anyone who is used to aiming with a reticle, the laser site targeting will take getting used to. The boss battles throughout the game range from kinda fun to bad, mostly due to the stiffness in movement and control. The graphics are pretty good, with a nice sense of style and color, but they are ruined somewhat by the frequent texture pop in and aliasing problems. The soundtrack by Akira Yamaoka is pretty darn good but it feels a bit underused throughout the game. The voice-acting is alright, but while there are enough vulgar jokes in this game to go head to head with Bulletstorm (the other dick-joke simulator), unlike Bulletstorm, none of the jokes here are particularly funny , and some of the puns and one-liners are downright terrible. Overall, this is a game that I was never quite bored with but I never really warmed up to it either. The controls are clunky, the unique ideas half-baked and despite the original setting the story is pretty simple. Also, the game is about 9 hours long with zero replay incentive and no extra modes, no new game+ and no collectibles, so I can't recommend anyone to buy it unless they are dead set on it already. It is however a good rental if you're in the mood for some gory fun action. Expand
  7. May 9, 2012
    1
    I fell for EA's marketing trick again. This is the worst game that I've played in 2012, worse than FF13-2 by a mile. The boss fights are the most outdated, cheap and frustrating fights that I've played in a long time. I don't think I played a game that has this badly designed bosses since the PS2 days. The controls are cluncky, the hitboxes on the enemies are way to small. I stopped playing at 5-2 because I simply don't want to continue torturing myself. Don't bother playing this game. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews