User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 93
  2. Negative: 27 out of 93

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 13, 2011
    4
    This game has several awesome features like helmet cam, night driving and autolog, they are really nice. But the core feature is totally broken, the driving experience that was hyped so much is a lie and the physics are just another lie. You can't play on hard and elite with a car fully upgraded and a controller without tuning the entire car and game settings. I hope this game was made toThis game has several awesome features like helmet cam, night driving and autolog, they are really nice. But the core feature is totally broken, the driving experience that was hyped so much is a lie and the physics are just another lie. You can't play on hard and elite with a car fully upgraded and a controller without tuning the entire car and game settings. I hope this game was made to be played with a driving wheel because it's impossible to play with the controller. I regret so much that I bought this game, perhaps if Slightly Mad fixes the handling and the physics this game will be almost perfect. Expand
  2. May 19, 2011
    0
    well where to start, when i first heard about this game i was very excited, that changed when i played this game, graphics i would give maybe a 6.5 or 7 out of 10, but the rest is really terrible, the handling of the game is awful, you cant tough the control and your in the wall or off of the track, then you are out of the race, i don't know what else to say but stay clear of this garbage.
  3. May 28, 2011
    0
    This game is terrible. They are a lot of good idea's but all poorly executed. The AI is frustratingly aggressive and can spin you out with one tap, the handling is terrible, the look of the game is okay. But what makes this game the worse racing in existence is the online community. If you're trying to go for the win an online driver duel championship good luck because the amount ofThis game is terrible. They are a lot of good idea's but all poorly executed. The AI is frustratingly aggressive and can spin you out with one tap, the handling is terrible, the look of the game is okay. But what makes this game the worse racing in existence is the online community. If you're trying to go for the win an online driver duel championship good luck because the amount of cheaters out there who'll run you up the ass in the first corner completely ruins this gaming experience. DON'T BUY THIS GAME Expand
  4. Apr 2, 2011
    3
    1st off, im 18 and own forza3 and gran-turismo5, and shift 2. i registered to this review site just for this game. i just want to say, dont let them lie to you, this is no driving simulator. i pride myself on driving skill, and have driven fast for real (in one of the actual cars i used in game too XD) and this is more of a "boat" simulator. the handling is all wrong, and youl find1st off, im 18 and own forza3 and gran-turismo5, and shift 2. i registered to this review site just for this game. i just want to say, dont let them lie to you, this is no driving simulator. i pride myself on driving skill, and have driven fast for real (in one of the actual cars i used in game too XD) and this is more of a "boat" simulator. the handling is all wrong, and youl find yourself struggling to simply drive in a straight line at times. drifting is robbed too of course. its the same arcade style its always been. 2nd. tuning upgrades- tuning is extremely unrealistic, too. the values you use to tune dont represent anything in real life (i.e. springs:- 1- 2 - or 3, dampening: - 1 2 3 4 ect.) and upgrades, are well, kinda the same as NFS has always done.. but no individual tire width or things like that. so its not realistic, nearly in anyway.. 3rd. painting a car with vinyls like in forza is imposable. it took me an hour to do simple stripes for a charger, and the stripes arnt perfectly even at that. but enough bad, i dont want to ramble. some good, 1st. its pretty, and night driving, and the helmet cam are great, i dare say, perfect?. 2nd. NOS! i love that incorporated into it, i wish forza had it, its an amazing feature. and it doesnt replenish magically during a race either. i like that alot. (forza you paying attention? get NOS!) and thats about all worth mentioning to mind. i give it a 3 out of 10, and i really dont recommend buying it. i wish i hadn't. EA 'hyped' it up soo much, and its (im not exaggerating) mostly, a big LIE. im finding that out about alot of new games. rent them first, proceed carefully. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2012
    1
    ive tried forcing myself to like this game, but its just not possible. the in-car helmet cam is the only good thing going for it. just being able to drive the car straight is a force to be reckoned with. imagine sitting in a swivel office chair spinning as you roll down the street, thats what this game is like. i only gave it a higher than zero score because the helmet cam is such aive tried forcing myself to like this game, but its just not possible. the in-car helmet cam is the only good thing going for it. just being able to drive the car straight is a force to be reckoned with. imagine sitting in a swivel office chair spinning as you roll down the street, thats what this game is like. i only gave it a higher than zero score because the helmet cam is such a great idea. Expand
  6. Apr 8, 2012
    3
    I did not enjoy Shift Unleashed 2 at all. I just recieved it as a FREE game from Playstation Plus and I am upset that it currently occupies 6GB of hard drive space. Actually, I am surprised that games like this are accepted by any portion of the market. The graphics and physics are not up to snuff. If Gran Turismo can nail the aforementioned features, then clog it all up with a ton ofI did not enjoy Shift Unleashed 2 at all. I just recieved it as a FREE game from Playstation Plus and I am upset that it currently occupies 6GB of hard drive space. Actually, I am surprised that games like this are accepted by any portion of the market. The graphics and physics are not up to snuff. If Gran Turismo can nail the aforementioned features, then clog it all up with a ton of useless cars and other features, someone should be able to release a straight forward racer that includes those quality visuals and physics without all the extra fodder. This game is not the one. Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2011
    3
    This isn't a car porn product like it's two main platform exclusive competitors Forza and GT, with that out of the way this could be a pretty decent fun focused circuit racer. I can forgive the abominable default sterring wheel set-up as it can be tweaked out to a reasonable and fun setting. Like most others I find Autolog to be an interesting features and the modern day online system isThis isn't a car porn product like it's two main platform exclusive competitors Forza and GT, with that out of the way this could be a pretty decent fun focused circuit racer. I can forgive the abominable default sterring wheel set-up as it can be tweaked out to a reasonable and fun setting. Like most others I find Autolog to be an interesting features and the modern day online system is refreshing after GT5's 1997 set up. As far os overall presentation style goes Shift 2 is to Shift 1 what Dirt was to Colin McRae Rally. You get 'gnarly' drivers from 'hip' racing disciplines with little to no actual pedigree telling you about types of racing they never took any part in like they're the bl**dy world champions and I really don't care much for this type of fake 'extremeing-up' of motorsports. It's like making a MotoGP game and instead of Rossi or Stoner, hiring Travis Pastrana to be the face of it. I much prefferred the british bloke in Shift 1 telling you to 'Have fun' over the radio who actually sounded like a human being, instead of Vaughn Gittin Jr's crap you will get in Shift 2, thankfully he can be muted, you still have to watch his mug in unskippable videos though *grinds teeth* But none of that is really game braking. The killing blow is the graphics and all you need to know is that the game only looks good during night races when the objects in the distance are obscured with darkness, during the day the amount of aliasing otherwise known as jagged edges makes it impossible to see where you are going. In a racing game... You can't see where you're going... It really is this bad. The only way I could hit the apex properly was to enable the driving line. Yup... I had to race by looking at a coloroued line artificially drawn on asphalt to race successfully because the graphics are, pardon the caps, UNREADABLE. Expand
  8. Apr 3, 2011
    1
    I own Forza 3, Shift, Dirt 2, GT5, and now Shift 2. Outside of what is the exceptional Autolog feature, this game is average across the board. There is nothing here that warrants a purchase if you already own Forza3 or GT5. Actually, I don't recommend purchasing this game. The Autolog is the only reason why I'm still playing it. When I ask people online what they think
  9. Apr 2, 2011
    4
    really never been a big need for speed fan.
    i liked hot persuit and would you believe i traded it in for shift 2
    man what a mistake.
    this game is frustratingly hard even on easy with all assists on.
    the ai is ferocious and one slight slip and its game over.
    doesn't even look pretty either.
  10. Nov 17, 2012
    2
    Shift 2 is not a good game, its not a good racer, its not pretty, its not genre defining, and it is not fun. I struggled to simply finish a race, hell I struggled just trying to stay on the track. I unfortunately paid cash for this crap but even if you get the free download on PSN plus it is not worth the time it will take you to download it. Do yourself a favor and play any other raceShift 2 is not a good game, its not a good racer, its not pretty, its not genre defining, and it is not fun. I struggled to simply finish a race, hell I struggled just trying to stay on the track. I unfortunately paid cash for this crap but even if you get the free download on PSN plus it is not worth the time it will take you to download it. Do yourself a favor and play any other race game instead of this. I give it a 2 out of 10 simply for the helmet cam but even that gets old after two laps. Expand
  11. Feb 28, 2014
    0
    Well, to me Need for speed Shift II is one of the worst racing games. Yes it's that bad !
    At the beginning I was thinking, maybe it will get better .... but it didn't.
    Now after the 5th race I just give it up, I just don't like it and I will not play the game anymore.
    I'm a BIG racing game die hard, but this is a game for the blacklist.
    It SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS BIGTIME.
  12. Jul 26, 2011
    4
    First of all the menu... fancy but unneeded... i have to wait for a few seconds for the animation to reach the options or the tunning... after the first time i was annoyed. The tunning was a good thing but as with most games... it's generic... all the cars have the same generic settings... i could live without it... this means that you can tune your car to suit your driving style but...First of all the menu... fancy but unneeded... i have to wait for a few seconds for the animation to reach the options or the tunning... after the first time i was annoyed. The tunning was a good thing but as with most games... it's generic... all the cars have the same generic settings... i could live without it... this means that you can tune your car to suit your driving style but... guess what... when you're racing there's not much room for driving style... you just have to be perfect... so it's a lot of guess work to find the perfect setting... it's kind of fun and reminds me of F1 but not the thing i would expect from this kind of game. The collisions were fixed a bit after the patch so one thing is less annoying. What annoys me most with this game is that even on easy difficulty... it's still hard... i'm playing with a controller and i find it very difficult to finish at least 3rd. Mind you that i've finished dirt 1,2 and 3... shift1... gt5... and as you know getting first in these games is not easy. For me it broke the game... i had to play the same race again and again... tune the car... and again... just to be able to finish 3rd? Excuse me but this frustrates me... i want to enjoy myself and feel like i'm the champion of the world... not struggle and enrage myself. One of the most enraging things is the kind of cheating the game does even in the easy difficulty setting... your opponents magically appear right behind you no matter how fast you're going... i get the feeling that there's a cable connecting me to them... i go fast... they go fast... i go slow... they go as slow as me... my thought is when i'm driving my best i should leave them 10m behind... like in every racing game (all except need for speed games). To sum up... this game isn't for me... i want to enjoy myself, not feel like i'm working... i wouldn't recommend this game to anyone, even if they liked racing games. I would suggest to everyone interested to first try it and if you like it then buy it. This game made lose all faith for the nfs franchise... next time i'll make sure i want to buy a nfs game! Expand
  13. Sep 27, 2011
    4
    This game has nothing to do with competitive driving skill. It's about using luck to get in front and then hoping you can manage to stay there. If you get stuck in the pack then say good bye to any chance of winning. The AI is OVERLY aggressive, they will run you off the road, and push you into walls. A lot of the time there is no point in upgrading your cars as the opposition is scaled toThis game has nothing to do with competitive driving skill. It's about using luck to get in front and then hoping you can manage to stay there. If you get stuck in the pack then say good bye to any chance of winning. The AI is OVERLY aggressive, they will run you off the road, and push you into walls. A lot of the time there is no point in upgrading your cars as the opposition is scaled to your cars performance. While I like this in theory, in practice it doesn't work as the cars are easier to handle when unmodified, and it is far easier to win races in poorer cars. Ultimately, there are features of this game that I like; customising appearance of cars, some great cars and interesting tracks. However these are all ruined by the poor physics and terrible AI. Expand
  14. Feb 14, 2012
    4
    Lots of resources spent on presentation, twists and bells and the core game play is broken. There is no way you can play this game on Hard Difficulty not even with a high quality steering wheel. There is a very pronounced input lag that make driving impossible. Of course if you play on easy mode and with all assist set to high you can have fun if you are into that type of thing but racingLots of resources spent on presentation, twists and bells and the core game play is broken. There is no way you can play this game on Hard Difficulty not even with a high quality steering wheel. There is a very pronounced input lag that make driving impossible. Of course if you play on easy mode and with all assist set to high you can have fun if you are into that type of thing but racing games are all about beating track times and you cannot do this when you have no audio or visual clue for when your car starts to loose grip. I cannot believe how most of the reviewers came up with these high scores. I suppose they storm through the game on easiest difficulty. This just show how little trust one should put into game reviews. Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Jun 9, 2011
    85
    Overall Shift 2 is an excellent racing game that really tries to throw you behind the wheel of a professional driver. With great graphics minus a few debris issues and impressive car mechanics, Shift 2 will challenge the best of drivers during the single player campaign and online. Fans of Forza Motorsport 2 and Gran Turismo 5, or just racing games in general, should definitely think about getting Shift 2 to keep you busy.
  2. It's official: Gran Turismo 5 is on notice. Like V8 Supercars 3 [Pro Race Driver 3] wooed us from GT4 back in the halcyon days of PS2, SHIFT 2 Unleashed is currently busy courting us with its incredible sense of speed, well-rounded garage, long list of tracks and impressive attention to detail... Forget what you think you know about where Need for Speed games stand in the racing sim landscape because the crew at Slightly Mad Studios has just taken a bulldozer to it. [May 2011 p.72]
  3. May 24, 2011
    87
    Shift 2 Unleashed is a wonderful racing game. Only the agressive AI and the sensitive drifts are a little annoying.