User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 83
  2. Negative: 13 out of 83

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AitorE.
    Aug 26, 2008
    10
    On the game: A great game. It is fun, fast, and challenging. I agree with Sid's comment. While I have loved every single release of the game over the years, this is the one I play once and again. Who has time to play a game for a week? With Revolution you can get through a satisfying game in an evening. I can see the place for Civ4, but I dare you to try your chances to lure your On the game: A great game. It is fun, fast, and challenging. I agree with Sid's comment. While I have loved every single release of the game over the years, this is the one I play once and again. Who has time to play a game for a week? With Revolution you can get through a satisfying game in an evening. I can see the place for Civ4, but I dare you to try your chances to lure your mates to play a game at it, unless they are total Civ addicts like ourselves. Could have been better: OMG let me put production into money, science, culture or even down the drain at the end. Waiting for a technological victory (SpaceShip) for 14 turns is a torture when I have 25 cities producing 3 battleships per turn. No zoom? Navigating the globe is sometimes cumbersome. Ok, you get a Blue Ray disc to fill and you put stick figure animations?? When you score a Great Wall wonder in hard you DESERVE propper animation and music. One of my pet peeves with this game, how do pikemen take down bombers? On the critics: Shame on some of you for grading this game on how good of a port it is. Brilliant catch on the "one more turn..." lack. On the score: Absolute fun, then again, this is no button masher. Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    I don't give out 10's lightly. This is the most re-playable game I have ever played for any platform. If you're a fan of this genre, you likely already know that this version is the light version of Civilization for the PC. A typical Civilization game can take weeks. The typical Civilization Revolution game takes 3 to 6 hours. Sure it's not nearly as deep as the PC versions, but youI don't give out 10's lightly. This is the most re-playable game I have ever played for any platform. If you're a fan of this genre, you likely already know that this version is the light version of Civilization for the PC. A typical Civilization game can take weeks. The typical Civilization Revolution game takes 3 to 6 hours. Sure it's not nearly as deep as the PC versions, but you can't expect PC depth with a platform game. The game has very few bugs and all of the DLC that is available just make the game that much better. I wish they would sell these mini-civ games for platforms regularly. I don't know how you could create a better express version of a Civilization game. My only complaint is that the toughest of the difficulty options could be tougher. Expand
  3. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome. It gets more play in our house than any other PS3 game by far. It has all of the fun of Civilization, but you can finish a game in just a few hours. We love playing, but my wife and I also like to watch the other person play their Civ game. I wish I could find more games that were this fun.
  4. noncivfan
    Jun 25, 2008
    9
    Dont fell into someones foolishness, when she/he trys to explain that Civilization Revolution is only for kids. its clear that so said human being, havent even played the demo of this game!! So, Europeans already have this game, US gamers have to wait july 8. Civ Rev. is well done strategy game, i love this turn based methode, and i suggest u to turn off those help windows to feel the Dont fell into someones foolishness, when she/he trys to explain that Civilization Revolution is only for kids. its clear that so said human being, havent even played the demo of this game!! So, Europeans already have this game, US gamers have to wait july 8. Civ Rev. is well done strategy game, i love this turn based methode, and i suggest u to turn off those help windows to feel the true joy of this wonderful gameplay. Choose ur leader and defeat your rivals. combat units are great, theres knights, archers, riflemen, tanks, bombers, and submarines. theres also "great People", like artists, scientists, merchants, generals and spiritual leaders that inspire a civilization to greatness, they provide a steady bonus of some kind to the city, or they can be expanded to get an immediate and powerful bonus, they all have special ability and settlement ability, forexample great artists/thinkers special ability is to convert a nearby city to your civilization. or settlement ability when u settle this artist in a city to increase that citys cultural output by 50 %. Theres also great builder, great explorer, great general, humanitarian, leader and great scientist (my favourite one!) You are also able to research technology. Theres various government forms: communism, democracy, despotism, fundamentalism,. monarchy, republic. theres even spies, caravans etc. U can start war, whenever u feel to do some noise. And theres no point to rush to the war, u have to be clever, and develope some powerful army. The enemy when is pushed to its limits also, begs for mercy, then its totally up to u wether u listen this sorry ass, and let him/her live his pathetic life, as u already unterstood I recommend u to crush your opponent. Anyway, u have to be enough patience to get your hands on nukes : ). Because as I said before it`s turn based game, and with this u also get to 19th or 20th century to show whos the most powerfull ruler in the world!! And its so enjoyable, and addictive gameplay, whenever u discover something u feel it to be well rewarded, u will be happy. Theres also multiplayer option, but l wasnt very interested in it. Graphics are great, theres nothing shiny about it, but still keeps u interested. i like this game and i havent played anyother civ game before. Highly recommend u to buy Civilization revolution!! Expand
  5. TomB.
    Aug 19, 2008
    9
    Here we have an example of how to transition a quite complex PC strategy game over to consoles without sacrificing any of the fun and engaging gameplay mechanics. From the day I downloaded the demo I was hooked on civ rev's accessability and trademark only-one-more-turn addiction. I pretty much completely agree with the popular reviews (gamespot, ign, 1up, gametrailers) and I really Here we have an example of how to transition a quite complex PC strategy game over to consoles without sacrificing any of the fun and engaging gameplay mechanics. From the day I downloaded the demo I was hooked on civ rev's accessability and trademark only-one-more-turn addiction. I pretty much completely agree with the popular reviews (gamespot, ign, 1up, gametrailers) and I really recommend watching/ reading those. Though the arguable broken-ness of some civilizations, which makes certain kinds of victory a HELL of a lot easier compared to other civilizations (Greeks --> Scientific victory, French --> Cultural, etc.), in my opinion this is a minor critical point. I even think that if all civilizations in the game were extremely balanced, they would feel generic and boring, thus making the game far worse than it is today. In conclusion, this is one of the greatest non-shooter and non-action games for both platforms and definitely worth the download of the (free) demo! Expand
  6. Daniel
    Jun 26, 2008
    9
    All the best bits out of the PC version were taken and molded into a faster and more dynamic console game. Amazingly the developers have been able to keep the key concepts of the game while creating a much more accesible multiplayer game. I was impressed that the game was not "dumbed down" to much and that it still remains true o the civilisation brand.
  7. ShaunC
    Jul 22, 2008
    8
    The gameplay has been dramtically simplified from the PC Civ games (there is much less micro-management involved) which is kind of a mixed blessing...While Revolution is quite fun, a lot of the animation can get quite repetitive, the graphics are a lackluste and the dramatic lack of music can actually get annoying...All in all it is still the best turn-based strategy game on console, bar The gameplay has been dramtically simplified from the PC Civ games (there is much less micro-management involved) which is kind of a mixed blessing...While Revolution is quite fun, a lot of the animation can get quite repetitive, the graphics are a lackluste and the dramatic lack of music can actually get annoying...All in all it is still the best turn-based strategy game on console, bar none...but...it's not as good as it could have been. Expand
  8. Nov 28, 2010
    8
    Civilisation is a very fun strategy game. Granted it's dumbed down from the PC version, granted it doesn't have the plethora of options that a heavy menu'd PC strategy game would have....but let's get this straight people , we are ps3 owners and in general dont demand RTS games that take 4 days to complete. One solid game can take anywhere from 2 to 4 hours which is a fair amount of time.Civilisation is a very fun strategy game. Granted it's dumbed down from the PC version, granted it doesn't have the plethora of options that a heavy menu'd PC strategy game would have....but let's get this straight people , we are ps3 owners and in general dont demand RTS games that take 4 days to complete. One solid game can take anywhere from 2 to 4 hours which is a fair amount of time. My one gripe is the multiple methods of victory , I think the idea is fantastic and works very well. I would however like to see some reward for alternate strategies. I find that some of the routes to victory are just not practical. A technoligical or cultural victory are infinately easier than a domination victory. Why the game makers didnt put in the multiple method and have domination only game modes only is a mystery. Indeed it would be a hark back to the old days of red alert in which kicking some ass was the only way to win. Overall a solid game which casual RTS players should embrace. Expand
  9. Oct 1, 2013
    7
    Going from the PC versions of Sid Meier's Civilizations games to this game is not a good idea. Civ Revolution was an OK game, but it fell short in almost every aspect. The menus felt nice and easy to navigate through. There is a nice variety of countries to play as, which is expected out of a Civilization game. The game tends to lag a lot when loading about half way through games. TheGoing from the PC versions of Sid Meier's Civilizations games to this game is not a good idea. Civ Revolution was an OK game, but it fell short in almost every aspect. The menus felt nice and easy to navigate through. There is a nice variety of countries to play as, which is expected out of a Civilization game. The game tends to lag a lot when loading about half way through games. The world is very small. This game is a very dummed down version of the PC versions of the game. You can't adjust any setting for anything, like making the game last past what it is originally set too. For those looking for a true console adaptation of a Civilization game, you won't find it here, but you will find a highly dummed down version that is entertaining in short sessions. Expand
  10. Jun 5, 2014
    7
    Quick paced and enjoyable PS3 fun!
    The problem with bringing games like Civilization to PS3 or Xbox is that you get something that's nothing like the original. The game is so streamlined I feel as if it should have been called something other than Civilization. I guess that's why that tacked on the "Revolution" bit =p
  11. Sep 26, 2011
    6
    I found this version of Civilization surprisingly entertaining and simple in short sessions, for better or for worse. I eventually traded it in because it just felt like a 'lite' version of any other Civ game, but if you're a person with not a lot of time or interest in all the depth of the main titles, this is the perfect alternative. My favorites were Civ IV & V on the PC so they are theI found this version of Civilization surprisingly entertaining and simple in short sessions, for better or for worse. I eventually traded it in because it just felt like a 'lite' version of any other Civ game, but if you're a person with not a lot of time or interest in all the depth of the main titles, this is the perfect alternative. My favorites were Civ IV & V on the PC so they are the basis of my comparison. I've been able to play both of those versions for hours and hours in a single sitting. Weeks have flown by playing huge maps against computer or player opponents. With Civ:Revolution, that would never happen. The depth just isn't in this version to sustain long sessions, but the classic fun of Sid Meier and the Civ series is still well-represented and executed here in a much smaller dose if that is what you are looking for. Expand
  12. JasonR
    Jul 13, 2008
    3
    Words cannot describe how disappointed I am in this game or how relieved I feel that I rented it instead of bought it. What I liked about it--it's fast paced. Also, navigating through the different menus I found quick and easy. That's about it! The rest of this game can be summed up by taking every aspect of previous civilizations games and dumbing it down to where it's Words cannot describe how disappointed I am in this game or how relieved I feel that I rented it instead of bought it. What I liked about it--it's fast paced. Also, navigating through the different menus I found quick and easy. That's about it! The rest of this game can be summed up by taking every aspect of previous civilizations games and dumbing it down to where it's either automatic, not customizable, or completely removed. Before the game there's no more setting map size, terrain, amount of cultures, conditions of victory, how quickly time passes, etc... Although this expedites the process to start a game, you find similar sacrifices throughout the gameplay as well. What do you mean I can't rename my @#$%ing capital? Although I would have grudgingly accepted the removal of some of the game's more intricate parts for getting the benefits of playing on a console, this game goes too far and offers little in return. The graphics to me look just like Civ 4, with some really really disappointing fight scenes thrown in when you attack. Also, features of the landscape are like caricatures, i.e., a single impassible, isolated mountain surrounded by plains. The rest of the geography is just spatters of green and brown on land masses that resemble a game of dominos. This is one of the most useless games I've ever played. They tried to dumb it down to bring new users in, but by my calculations it's still too complicated and light on graphics for the average console cretin. For the hardcore civ player, it's like bowling with bumpers in the alley. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Whatever the notable flaws in the PS3 version, they obviously weren’t enough to keep us from playing several times on each of the difficulty levels (although some of those brutal ‘Deity’-level solo games ended pretty damned quickly).
  2. Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution is the most immersive strategy game on the consoles to-date that can offer up this much fun, offline or online and for multiple skill levels.
  3. While Sid Meier has been quoted as saying that this is the Civilization game he always wanted to make, Revolution's got plenty of shortcomings, and the scope of its vision can sometimes outstrip its mechanics. That said, this is a really satisfying strategy game, and though it might be old hat for PC players, there are few experiences quite like it on consoles.