User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 200 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 200

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    Silent Hill has been one of my favorite game series since I was young, and I can honestly say that this is true to the games original routes. With the occasional fixed camera angles, the revealing yet un-revealing story and the characters are so original and great, just as the originals were. I love Murphy, as it is hard to tell if he is good or evil at this point, a neutral hero that you craft with the choices you make in the game. The graphics and color scheme, in my opinion, are also very good. Though it does not look as good as games like Dead Space, it is still a very high caliber game in the graphics department. The color scheme is also very dark and horrifying, I think that its easy on the eyes but not only that, the dark tones make moving into new areas a harrowing experience. When I move into a new area thats dark in tones I don't feel happy or energetic I know that its dark and it helps me to set my tone appropriately. The combat system is great in my opinion. It moves back to the old Silent Hill combat systems. Its wonky, but its survival horror so what do you expect? It's supposed to be difficult. The blocking and swinging and the breaking of weapons makes the combat feel frantic, hurried and horrified. I've also heard complaints that there isn't enough ammo for guns.... REALLY? In a survival horror game, not enough ammo?! OOHHHH **** PLEASE! Anyway, the game is great. There aren't many enemies but the current enemies are horrifying and scary looking, the originals didn't have much variety either, they usually reskinned enemies later with similar AI. All in all, besides some technical glitches and framerate issues, this is one of the best Silent Hill games i've played. Expand
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    From the impressions and reviews I've read so far (aside from ign's farcical attempt) it's almost unanimous that this is the best Silent Hill game in years. Incredible atmosphere, heavy focus on original and creative puzzles, unique and interesting otherworld environments and a captivating and original story. Combat and monster designs have been noted as mediocre for the most part but overall this is a game for Silent Hill fans, but the average gamer who needs everything spoon fed to them might not get that into it. It's been getting good to average reviews so far with the exception of one overtly negative review that failed to provide any info on anything in the game other than technical issues like freezing when autosaving etc. so I would advise people to try and think for themselves where this game is concerned as nothing is more pathetic than blindly following what a review on a site like ign (which has become something of a laughingstock over the past decade) has to say. Having a mind of your own is like totez cool. Honest rating: 8.5/10, rating it higher to counter the little kids giving it a much lower score than it deserves. People who like the old Silent Hill games and psychological horror should love this! Expand
  3. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Some gameplay elements are taken from the previous few instalments. Most notably is from Silent Hill Homecoming, and a few things from Silent Hill Shattered Memories, such as the over the shoulder chase scenes that were common in memories. It also brings back a few cool things, like the loved classic fixed camera angle. The graphics are by far the best in the series at this time. Sure, visual effects suck big ones, but still, its got some great graphics...The sounds are sometimes creepy, voice acting is very well done, and gunshots sound realistic. But monster sounds and the soundtrack is horrible. Kinda sad that akira could not provide his music this time... and they only allowed mary to do 1 track... hmm... and korn sucks big ones... i did not like the soundtrack.Some of the story is boring at first, but really, starts getting interesting later. Its also kinda sad when you uncover things about murphys deceased little boy... And depending on the end, its nice to see Anne and Murphy become friends.This is a very good change from the previous disappointing titles we got in the series, (Origins, Shattered Memories and Homecoming...), and the story is by far on par with Silent Hill 2 and 3. Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Silent Hill is back with Downpour. All those things that we missed in previous games are here again. The characters, the fog, the story, the gore, everything is back. This is what all SH fans have been waiting for. It may have some bug or a bit of lag, but it can be repared witch an update of the game. Silent Hill is not about gameplay...is about story and ambience. And this one has everything it needs to become the best Silent Hill since the first games of the saga (because SH2 or SH1 are so good that any other SH will be better than them). Expand
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    I don't know why everyone is bashing this game it's amazing and the best silent hill since the room. Visuals are outstanding and the creepy silent hill atmosphere is finally revived and the game play is amazing although the combat system is a bit clunky but the silent hill series has always been bad in this regard since the first entry in the series. As for the story it's really interesting and i love the decision making system where your action decides the outcome if the story. Finally the replay value of this game is also great as there many side quests you can find in this game so you can play 2-3 times easily to try different decisions and find new side quests you might have missed. Silent hill fans please buy this game or rent it at least it deserves it. Expand
  6. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    I think IGN was not too successful in the review of Silent Hill Downpour, as I find it unacceptable to put on a note of 4.5 ... It's a Silent Hill, it may not be as the masterpieces of past generations, but it is a Silent Hill. And mediocre games that do not deserve a pass have fared better this Downpour. I think the work of several years, I think, a good job in a game, should be better rewarded. Konami have been no changes from the direction of play, to the same soundtrack. It's not easy to replace Akira Yamaoka. It is not easy to make a new game with all the weight that the series and the previous chapters.It's not all that easy to adapt to a new game, and I think that some people do not take it into account. They just want to sink the franchise and the game. For everything else, I'm Spanish, and Europe does not leave the game until March 29, but I am quite sure it's not a game of note 4.5, and 6.5 either. Sorry if I made â Expand
  7. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Silent hill downpour is the best SH game in a long time
    The game meets all my expectations of a true silent hill game with a modern day approach.
    The story and atmosphere are suburb. voice acting is also really strong.
    I haven't been scared of a silent hill game since part 4,and I was worried Downpour was gonna be tame, and not scary, but I'm constantly on the edge of my seat, and is a lot
    scarier than I thought it would be.
    The controls are easy to get a hang of, and the puzzles are original, and fun
    The only complaints I have are some of the character designs are a little bland, and rough looking, and the games frame-rate lags, but these issues are small, and don't take away from the great experience.

    if your a true silent hill fan you'll love this game
    Expand
  8. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    People who bash this game are idiots and only do it cause they claim to be OG Silent Hill fans. We don't need SH 1, 2, 3, or 4. We need a game that doesn't stutter every time you walk in new room. Downpour is great aside from the tech. problems. The combat is good comparing it to the older games. The shooting is great if you aren't autistic. The soundtrack and story are all good. Get over yourselves people, minus the bugs in this game, it could be the greatest thing to touch this series since SH: 3. Expand
  9. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Great game.. I think its the best one in the series since Silent hill 2,3 , the graphics are kinda good, combat is OK , and the game is scaries than Dead Space. and while the game have some technial issues/bug, i still think its an amazing game.

    PS: i had to give this game a perfect 10 to counter all those trolls one the forums that said they will rate this game 0 , my real score is 8/10
  10. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Thanks konami for making this awesome game!!!!!!!!!! One of the best game ever!! Konami is the best publisher ever, i love japan and i love konami and i love konami game like silent hill, pes
  11. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    It's safe to go back silent hill! Downpour feels very similar to the original silent hill games in that the creepy atmosphere is very terrifying, the puzzles are actually challenging, exploration is more prominent, etc. This game is so good I'm actually going to go so far as to say it rivals the third game in my opinion. Get it now!
  12. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Why all the negative reviews? I don't see what they are talking about. This game is fantastic. It's atmosphere is great. It's like an alternate version of Alan Wake. It is not perfect with its frame rate dips every now and then, and the fog can't seem to make up its mind weather it wants to fade closer or farther away, but this is a good game. The graphics are great! They are far from lousy. It looks like any other recent console game. It is very scenic! Calming and creepy at the same time. There are fixed camera areas which I don't like, but its fine. My only complaint is you can't save whenever you want. Only at checkpoints. The game deserves a higher score from all the well known review sites. The combat is fine. Quit nit picking. How is it dull or boring? I love walking around and exploring. It's got a lot more going for it than most games lately. 10/10 Expand
  13. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    "Silent Hill is back with Downpour. All those things that we missed in previous games are here again. The characters, the fog, the story, the gore, everything is back. This is what all SH fans have been waiting for."
    Yes! This is the best Silent Hill since SH2!!! Can't wait next Silent Hill game from VATRA!
  14. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Silent hill Downpour still a good game. Not the best in the series, but still a game to pick up and play all the way through. story is good, get a few scares here and there. the Voice acting is really good and prob the best in the series, it don't seem cheesy and everyone's voice seems to match up just right, Monsters are on the lame side a little bit, but i am happy they didn't Reuse all the monsters from Silent hill 2 and 3 got tired of seeing EVERY monster in the same game. Story is good and i liked this one better then Homecoming. Controls suck BUT its silent hill ALL silent hill games controls suck. Combat is the same way but this is not a Combat game, i see your suppose to RUN from the monsters not stand there and take on 3 at a time. dont come into this game thinking your guy is a MMA fighter or was in the marines or something that is what i see all the bad reviews are for is the bad combat your guy is not a fighter as in all silent hills your just a avg joe reason why i gave it a 8 is because of the monsters (could of been cooler buy hey this is vatra first game so i cut them some slack) Expand
  15. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    silent hill downpour is an incredible game thats capture the old school spirit of the silent hill series good grafics creepy atmosphere and really scare moments. ignore ign score , the game is exellent
  16. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Awesome game.. While its not as good as old Silent hill games its a step in the right direction, and btw that is not my real score i only give it 10 because some people on the forums are saying they will rate this game 0 to lower its user score, i gave it a 8.5/10
  17. Mar 15, 2012
    9
    I have never fet foot in Silent Hill. But this game. I am really loving it! Only for fans who aren't ashamed to be freaky, geeky and creepy! :P
    ps: Combat is not that bad on easy settings.
  18. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    Grabbing your attention from the start we find Murphy Pendleton, a prisoner, to be morally ambiguous. Is Murphy a good guy in a bad situation...a good guy who got off track or a bad guy from the start? These are the questions that follow you throughout the game as even the loading screen seems to taunt you with accusations of "Why are you lying?" and "Was it worth it?".

    What and who
    Murphy is will be determined by you...by the choices you make and in how you play the game. With quite a few sidequests in a free roam environment and several different endings the game warrants more than one playthrough. While the puzzles and chase scenes can sometimes seem daunting, completing these challenges (which sometimes takes patience) will leave you with a feeling of great accomplishment. Nothing less than a pleasant surprise and a pure pleasure. Expand
  19. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    Not much to say. Team Silent couldn't have made it any better! Likable protagonist, nice story, good music, creepy atmosphere, stressful other-world. Silent Hill: Downpour made a great step forward!
  20. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    So I have played a few good hours of this game... not complete yet. I just have to say though, this game has two very different sides to it. the art style, graphics visuals and sound are all on par... the story is intriguing and the environments make you want to return. I had a few hair raising moments in the game already... which i never had in a game for while (dead spaces included).... the problem comes in the gameplay... i wouldn't even call it bad... the fighting system is putrid and you better off running away from enemies than even attempting to challenge them... moving around the streets of silent hill could make you want to pull your hair out from constant frame rate issues and lags.... it is like nothing I have experienced before. movements are also clunky.... getting stuck between walls etc. nothing in this game is fluid... and that is the annoying bit.... if I have to sum it up... playing Silent Hill Downpour is like reading an amazing book... with words and letters that are difficult to distinguish and pages that stuck together or torn... not cool... and a waste of the poor artists and writers effort... test games before you dish the junk to us... you suck Konami Expand
  21. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    Stop listening to the critics!This is one of the best games I have played.And I have played a lot.The developers have put a lot of love in this game.They can be proud of their Silent Hill.Go buy this!You will not regret it!Thank you Vatra and Konami for this great game!
  22. Apr 9, 2012
    9
    Silent hill downpour is game truly based on the roots of survival horror.it has it's issues as little framerate slowdowns and a clunky combat system but into it's heart lives the town of silent hill.Great story and a very good sound score makes it unique and special.Reviewers are based on its combat system.i loved it and i hope Vatra games to be the company that will continue the saga...
  23. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Silent hill is my favorite video game series.I consider most of the games excellent with the best being 1,2,3 and Homecoming.So i am not new to the series,since I have been playing these games since the release of the original Silent Hill and have not missed a game since.Now let's start with Downpour.I have been playing like crazy since the release and I can say I am hooked.It is the scariest,creepiest and most 'deep' SH since SH2-3.The environments are really well-designed and evoke feelings of fear and anxiety.If you play the game by yourself in total darkness you will know what I mean.The immersion is really great here.Some jump scares really made me jump too!The music and overall sound is excellent (and that comes from someone who LOVES Yamaoka's work). No one will be disappointed. The game provides the best plot and main character since SH2.Murphy is maybe the most interesting main character of the series and is by far the most expressive.The monsters are not THAT great but are decent and quite scary/disturbing and provide some nasty surprises.Combat is a bit 'weak' at times but not as bad as they say.Fans of real survival horror will not have any problem,it just isn't like a modern action game's combat.The other-world is really well designed and creepy/confusing and will play with your mind a lot.The chase sequences are much better than Shattered memories and are a nice touch to the experience rather than a pain in the butt.The bad thing with the game is the frame rate drop but I hope they will fix it soon ( it is not TOO bad btw,just annoying).The city itself is carefully designed and really atmospheric and creepy (as most places you will explore).The side quests are a nice surprise too,with some of them being quite puzzling or frightening.The game also has a lot of cool moments to spare ( like the 'train' sequence and many more).In conclusion if you want a game with great story,excellent main character ( and character development),creepy atmosphere,cool soundtrack and nice exploration and don't mind some technical issues you will love Downpour.In my opinion it is the best SH since SH2.Just have some patience and don't dwell in the past and you will have a really great experience. Expand
  24. Apr 20, 2012
    9
    O jogo está bom justamente porque manteve-se fiel às raízes da série. O problema é que muitas vezes os jogadores esperam que a evolução do jogo traga uma mudança drástica na mecânica do jogo. Silent Hill é isso aí que vocês estão vendo, simples desse jeito. Graças a Deus que não se transformou em um jogo cheio de pancadaria ou tiros. Na boa quem estiver procurando mais combate, mais tiro e pancadaria, melhor procurar por Resident Evil, porque aqui o que temos é o bom e velho estilo Silent Hill de fazer terror, e que bom!
    --------------------------------------------
    Google translate:
    --------------------------------------------
    The game is good precisely because they stayed true to the roots of the series. The problem is that often the players expect the evolution of the game bring a drastic change in game mechanics. Silent Hill that's it you are seeing, simple like that. Thank God that did not turn into a game full of beatings or gunfire. In the good who are looking for more fighting, more shooting and beating, look for best Resident Evil, because here we have is the good old style of Silent Hill to terror, and that good!
    Expand
  25. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    Despite some technical problems, Silent Hill Downpour is one of my favorite western developed Silent Hill games. Memorable characters, beautiful music, eerie atmosphere and thought provoking symbolism. If you are looking for a true survival horror game then get this.
  26. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    Silent Hill has never been about advanced combat mechanics, stylish gameplay or flashy graphics. It's always been about story, characters, art direction and the dark atmosphere. This game is what a Silent Hill is supposed to be and it delivers in all the elements that make this series so unforgettable. It's quite puzzling how Homecoming was butchered for not sticking with the Silent Hill classic gameplay yet those same professional sites trash this game to death for not "evolving" to the standards they are now used to. Trust me on this one, if you have followed this series for a long time, or you value an adult, dark and well told story, you won't be disappointed. My advice: do not take game reviews from sites like IGN as absolute, indisputable and correct in every way, reviews provide a single opinion or perspective (this review does it as well), so I prefer to try things myself to make up my mind. Expand
  27. May 4, 2012
    9
    Downpour is very good and rare game, surely the best SH game made on playstation 3 and the best SH since SH2 and 3. Really i enjoy this game. This game got sOme glitches, but for me it's solid 9/10
  28. May 9, 2012
    10
    Silent Hill Downpour is a good game, though the glitches like framerate and save-stops hurt the mood they will be adressed so it is probably a good option to buy in the next months, while some of the pro-reviews are hard to the game I think they are losing the point, this is a survival horror, so combat is hard, control does not allow for combos, monsters can overpower you easily, itis not Dead Space but I think the story and mood are actually better.There are some good scares in the game, the developers found creative ways to plug you inside the tale. The sidequest are an awesome thing, at least two of them able to freak you out and make you feel incredibly sad at the same time. I have found so far references to SH0, SH2, SH3, the biggest one is of SH4 and cool details for SH 5 HC, no clue if I lost a SH1 and SHSM. For old school survival horror this is as good as it gets, I do not know if it is the best game since SH3 but it is the best survival horror since the Siren remake. Expand
  29. May 17, 2013
    9
    IN DEPTH, LONG REVIEW:

    In Silent Hill Downpour, you play as convict Murphy Pendleton. Though you don't know why he's in prison, you do see that he deserves to be there. After a particularly brutal scene in a shower that serves as the game's combat tutorial, Murphy is being transferred to another prison when the bus transporting him and a half dozen or so other inmates crashes and
    tumbles down the side of a hill. Unfortunately for Murphy, this takes him into the dreary monster infested town of Silent Hill.

    It may sound like a simple start to a story, and that's because it is. The beauty of this opening is that, much like Silent Hill 1 & 2, you don't have to know the lore of Silent Hill. You don't have to know its tropes, its back story, or anything about it at all, really. All you have to know is that you're Murphy Pendleton, and strange things are afoot in the quaint titular town.

    This is all the exposition needed, and it lets itself be known from the beginning. The way this story is told is absolutely excellent. Instead of having cutscene after cutscene after cutscene, you piece most of it together yourself through different newspaper articles, in-game storytelling and your own wit. It's quite simply one of the best executions of storytelling I've seen in any video game ever. Period.

    Story isn't all that's here, though. While it may be one of the huge draws to the game for me, personally, the gameplay here is just as good as any Silent Hill deemed a classic. You wander through the beautifully rendered yet unnerving town with one simple objective; Escape from Silent Hill. Things aren't so simple, though. Most roads are closed off, or worse, simply missing; leaving nothing but an impossible chasm in the distance. As Murphy, you have to traverse your way through this meticulously detailed town to escape. That's your motivation, and with monsters, black hole entities wanting to swallow you, and characters that would seem "off" to any sane person, it's quite a good goal for Murphy and in turn, the player, to have.

    Thankfully since this town, while not exactly huge, is extensively detailed, you'll have a blast exploring, solving puzzles, collecting items and searching for that perfect weapon to take down the, admittedly, terribly designed monsters with.

    Even with poor monster design, the game is absolutely filled to the brim with frightening moments. From monsters jump scares to the eerie sounds of cries in sparsely lit apartment buildings, there are a lot of moments packed in that either made my skin crawl or jump out of my seat. This used to be a normal occurrence in the PS1 days, but the reason it's so noteworthy here is because horror games simply aren't made like this anymore. The atmosphere is downright creepy, and sometimes you really will feel unnerved. This is what survival horror is supposed to feel like, and I applaud Konami for taking this direction with the series again.

    Downpour feels like, if anything, a modernized version of the first 3 Silent Hill games with a much more realistic behaving protagonist. Through playing, Murphy will say things that you, the player, are probably thinking yourself. He gets frustrated when the oddball cast of characters aren't being straight with him, curious when it comes to puzzles, or absolutely frightened when a monster jumps out at him. This is extremely effective, since I felt I haven't empathized with a character in a Silent Hill game this much, ever. I felt bad for Harry in the first game. I thought James, in the end, was a bad person in the second game. Murphy Pendleton ended up being one of my favorite Silent Hill protagonists of all time due to this reason, and VATRA games deserves to be credited for all of their amazing work on this guy.

    The game, as a whole, looks great. The lighting effects are gorgeous, as are the main character models. Murphy himself moves realistically, and even the way his clothes move (particularly his prison outfit in the beginning of the game) looks absolutely wonderful. It's a very realistic look that payed off.
    However, in taking that realistic design choice, parts of the game get the short end of the stick. The framerate for instance, in particular areas can literally stutter along. Texture pop in is commonplace. The former can become quite a problem, even leading to some freezes, but the latter, not so much. Much like the bad monster design, these are terrible blemishes on an otherwise near-perfect survival horror outing.

    Silent Hill Downpour is a game that deserves to be played. It quickly seems to be fading into obscurity, and it seems people are willing to dismiss it based on the merit that it's a newer Silent Hill game, but even with its problems and bad reputation, Silent Hill downpour is the only new classic feeling survival horror game I've played within at least 5 or more years.

    With outright amazing storytelling and a dauntingly detailed world, Downpour is going to live on as an underrated cult classic.
    Expand
  30. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Amazing game! Great atmosphere, creepy and funny, wonderful plot, no more framerate problems (patch), so, what I gotta say, WALCOME TO SILENT HILL!!!!
  31. Mar 16, 2012
    0
    If you're here looking for a review of this game by a member of the Silent Hill fan-base that you can count on, please bear with the length of this review and I'll make it worth your time. Ignore the fake tens, ignore the forever vengeful - I know what you're here for, to find out the answer to the question, "Is it safe to go back to Silent Hill?" and I'm here to tell you, that while I will pull NO punches in my critique, the answer is a fairly solid "Yes!" Seeing as how the franchise has been sliding downhill for years longer than it stood proud, I'm not even sure how to handle praising it anymore - every flaw in Downpour makes me want to tear it down but one must keep in mind, the originals had their flaws as well. But let's start with the good, shall we? GRAPHICAL QUALITY won't win any awards, but it's up with the times. The worst aspect is the shadow effects of light on water or through trees, but if you can forgive that, the visuals will do just fine for your stay. THE SOUNDTRACK is phenomenal. Licht deviates from Yamaoka only in two ways - first, he takes Yamaoka's style and bends it to the will of music composition. The industrial sounds are here, the mandolin is here, the guitar is here - but you could lay it out as sheet music if you needed to, and it's masterfully done to the degree that this formulaic approach does not detract from even the chase scenes. Also, a bit of realism is mixed in as, throughout the entire game, radios within Silent Hill will play you real world music spanning from modern indie performers all the way back to Louis Armstrong and Frank Sinatra. Cast your doubts aside, Licht deserves praise for this job. PERFORMANCE is iffy (-1 point). The game tries to load in real time, but can't keep up - this will often cause the game to stutter and jump. There's no way around it - this is a problem you will either come to terms with or not. GAMEPLAY stays about 90% true to the Silent Hill formula. The interaction options have been expanded to make use of the Dualshock 3, so that's nice, but the two main differences are as follows: (1) The long-winded puzzles and sidequests that make the old Silent Hill games are now completely optional. I think this is GREAT. The game may feel more shallow when speed running it, but I'm thankful for the option. (2) The Otherworld doesn't make you repeat the same area with different skin; and it's not slow terror. The Otherworld makes you run - makes you keep up. It's linear suspense in a dissolving landscape. I can't say whether this is good or bad, it's just a total departure from the series roots. Hey, if that's how Murphy sees it, that's how he sees it. I just hope this isn't all it has to offer from here on - I'd like to see some variety in the future. COMBAT is clumsy but responsive and fast paced. It's not going to win any programming awards, but it keeps that "average Joe" feel to it that feels right at home in Silent Hill. Finally, what you're probably here for. MONSTER DESIGN is my main area of complaint; I'm docking a whole point for it. It completely does away with SH's "vaguely human / disturbing" forms and goes straight for "mutilated human / badass" forms, starting with basic enemies right out of The Suffering and all comes down to THE BIG BAD basically being the Tyrant-103 (Mr. X) from Resident Evil in a gas mask. This game could gain 10% of my love back with a mob-mod. (Sorry, creature guy. You just missed the point. They're good, they're just not Silent Hill.) THE STORYLINE is a welcome addition to the canon (Is it snowing on the hills of hell? I never thought I'd say that about Silent Hill again.) Cast aside your expectations to find out WHAT the protagonist has done - this time we're here to explore HOW AND WHY they did what we already know has been done - and the journey is satisfying; it's not "I'm going to cry, that was wonderful" levels of amazing, but it's worth your time n' dime. Also, and this is a HUGE bonus, there's a book hidden in the library that satisfyingly explains why THE ORDER of SH1 ~ 3 was only one chapter of Silent Hill, only one incarnation of it's power, only one group of people involved in a rotating door of the terrors of the realm. REPLAY VALUE is average, it'll take 3 playthroughs to see all endings, but with speed run being an option, just picking it up to blow through the story would be satisfying any time! ALL IN ALL, Downpour is a damn solid release - don't let anyone tell you it's perfect, but don't let anyone tell you it's terrible, either. All that remains is to see if KONAMI has finally pulled their head out of their ass and given Silent Hill a new beginning (and Downpour is a GREAT Chapter 1 of a new Saga), or of VATRA just got lucky. For now, Downpour is a solid 8/10 - here's hoping for a bright future. Collapse
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. May 14, 2012
    60
    A remarkably ugly game. [June 2012, p.60]
  2. 60
    Silent Hill Downpourit's a good game, despite all of its flaws, but desperately needs new mechanics.
  3. Apr 29, 2012
    60
    It may be a visually sound package that throws a few unique spins on the Silent Hill template, though the sometimes awkward puzzles and irredeemably abysmal combat are enough to drag Downpour down the gutter and towards mediocrity.