Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 228 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The survival horror experience begins after a prison transport vehicle careens off the road, leaving lone inmate Murphy Pendleton stranded in Silent Hill. Gamers will encounter mind-bending puzzles, as well as horrific creatures and other world terrors using everyday objects from woodenThe survival horror experience begins after a prison transport vehicle careens off the road, leaving lone inmate Murphy Pendleton stranded in Silent Hill. Gamers will encounter mind-bending puzzles, as well as horrific creatures and other world terrors using everyday objects from wooden chairs to glass bottles to fend off their enemies. The natural response, fight or flight is left to the player as they unravel a dark, thought-provoking storyline which will appeal to fans of the early, classic Silent Hill series, as well as anyone who enjoys a deep, psychological horror experience. In addition to the main storyline, players will also be presented with variable side quests along the way that can change depending on their play style, revealing unknown evils within the town. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    90
    Silent Hill Downpour may not be the most technically advanced game, nor boast the best polished gameplay, but it succeeds in what we were expecting from it : to be able to restore this icy, sweaty fear the series was known for.
  2. Mar 28, 2012
    75
    The surprisingly high share of puzzles and the appeal of exploring the open city and unlocking its' secrets gives you 20+ hours of entertaining horror. And even though the combat system is superficial and the engine shows some frustrating framerate issues this playable nightmare shows a lot of facets between creepy moments and pure terror.
  3. Apr 9, 2012
    70
    Sometimes superb to look at but always unremarkable to play, Downpour lacks the nerve to be either great or terrible. It need reinventing - fast. [May 2012, p.104]
  4. Mar 19, 2012
    67
    Downpour isn't quite an evolutionary leap, but it demonstrates that Konami's thinking isn't entirely constrained by the past.
  5. Mar 16, 2012
    62
    I enjoyed Silent Hill: Downpour, but with one nagging thought always tugging at my brain - it just didn't feel like a Silent Hill game.
  6. Apr 4, 2012
    60
    Vatra Games made decent efforts to deliver a unique experience that would be faithful to the Silent Hill games of old. The Chechs failed, but that doesn't mean their game is not capable of delivering some enjoyable survival horror gaming hours.
  7. Mar 27, 2012
    40
    Silent Hill: Downpour upsets me not because it's a bad game (it is), but becaue there's the kernel of a good game in it, with some excellent set pieces that are undone by its muddy, bloated open world, technical glitches, and last-gen presentation. It's a game that I desperately want to like for what it does well, but I can't responsibly overlook its failings, which makes it all the more frustrating.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 85
  2. Negative: 16 out of 85
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    From the impressions and reviews I've read so far (aside from ign's farcical attempt) it's almost unanimous that this is the best Silent HillFrom the impressions and reviews I've read so far (aside from ign's farcical attempt) it's almost unanimous that this is the best Silent Hill game in years. Incredible atmosphere, heavy focus on original and creative puzzles, unique and interesting otherworld environments and a captivating and original story. Combat and monster designs have been noted as mediocre for the most part but overall this is a game for Silent Hill fans, but the average gamer who needs everything spoon fed to them might not get that into it. It's been getting good to average reviews so far with the exception of one overtly negative review that failed to provide any info on anything in the game other than technical issues like freezing when autosaving etc. so I would advise people to try and think for themselves where this game is concerned as nothing is more pathetic than blindly following what a review on a site like ign (which has become something of a laughingstock over the past decade) has to say. Having a mind of your own is like totez cool. Honest rating: 8.5/10, rating it higher to counter the little kids giving it a much lower score than it deserves. People who like the old Silent Hill games and psychological horror should love this! Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Why all the negative reviews? I don't see what they are talking about. This game is fantastic. It's atmosphere is great. It's like anWhy all the negative reviews? I don't see what they are talking about. This game is fantastic. It's atmosphere is great. It's like an alternate version of Alan Wake. It is not perfect with its frame rate dips every now and then, and the fog can't seem to make up its mind weather it wants to fade closer or farther away, but this is a good game. The graphics are great! They are far from lousy. It looks like any other recent console game. It is very scenic! Calming and creepy at the same time. There are fixed camera areas which I don't like, but its fine. My only complaint is you can't save whenever you want. Only at checkpoints. The game deserves a higher score from all the well known review sites. The combat is fine. Quit nit picking. How is it dull or boring? I love walking around and exploring. It's got a lot more going for it than most games lately. 10/10 Expand
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    People who bash this game are idiots and only do it cause they claim to be OG Silent Hill fans. We don't need SH 1, 2, 3, or 4. We need a gamePeople who bash this game are idiots and only do it cause they claim to be OG Silent Hill fans. We don't need SH 1, 2, 3, or 4. We need a game that doesn't stutter every time you walk in new room. Downpour is great aside from the tech. problems. The combat is good comparing it to the older games. The shooting is great if you aren't autistic. The soundtrack and story are all good. Get over yourselves people, minus the bugs in this game, it could be the greatest thing to touch this series since SH: 3. Expand
  4. Apr 15, 2012
    8
    Don't listen to game reviews who are stuck in the past. They hold this game to a ridicoulously higgh standard that almost no game now canDon't listen to game reviews who are stuck in the past. They hold this game to a ridicoulously higgh standard that almost no game now can achieve (Silent Hill 2). this game is good in its own right with a great story and interesting enviroments to explore. Quit crying and saying the series sucks now cause it dosn't by far. It just changed slightly Expand
  5. Apr 13, 2012
    7
    I've already reviewed this game, but I forgot to mention how as you progress futher into the game, the game starts getting buggy as hell. AlsoI've already reviewed this game, but I forgot to mention how as you progress futher into the game, the game starts getting buggy as hell. Also when fighting enemies sometime the game lags and then when the game stops laggin Murphy is looking up at the sky all turned around while the enemies attack. Fighting enemies in this game is awful. Everytime you see an enemy you are scared, but not for the right reason. Another annoying thing about this game is the void. I don't know why they put that in this game, no one that I know likes it. The enemies are also unpredictable, which CAN be a good thing, but the fighting in this game is awful enough as it is, the enemies can do combos and sometimes they will punch 1,2 or 3 times in a row, so by the time you let your guard down to attack, the enemy can hit you, you have to guess when to attack, and even if you dont block, and instead move around to hit them that way instead, the enemies move/walk/run faster than Murphy, so if you try and invade by moving around the enemy will run up at you and attack.It's not fun. Hit detection is really bad too. I don' know if you have noticed but sometimes when you hit an enemy directly it wont register.. Shooting in this game is also horrible, the controls don't feel right, and as scarce as ammo is in this game, you'd think that it would do more damage than it does. Side quests are cool, some of the side quests really captured the silent hill feeling. HOWEVER, most of the side quests you do are pointless other than for trophy hunting. You spend 2+ hours on a side quest findind all the things you need, then back track all over the place, and then finish the puzzle at the end, you usually get garbage items fo all that hard work you do. One side quest i did took along time to finish, and the treasure is an axe......You find axes all over the place. If it's not that, then it could be items like a health. I finished all the side quests and on everyside quest I did they gave me something useless in the end. The only side quest worth it was the Homeless one. If you are a trophy hunter than it till isn't worth the time and effort. The side quests are longer than the main story. The shadow trinket sidequest was cool but B.S at the same time. I spent hours looking all over for these trinkets, and 1 or 2 of these trinkets were in weird places. The game also Froze on me 1 time, where I had to restart the console. The autosaves are crap too. Only 2 boss fights, and they weren't special. The loading screen says that the lighter isn't the best source of light, but I find the lighter to be better than the flashlight. Another thing that annoys me about this game, is that when you pick up items , you never know what you are picking up half the time, so you don't know if you are picking up a weapon or an item. This gets annoying when there are enemies attacking you, you see the word "pick up" and you broke your melee weapon so you run and pick up a brick or a stone, and by the time you pick it up you say **** and then the enemy hits you so you run around looking for something better.It's retarded.
    Picking up chairs is stupid too, i's more of a last resort. The only melee weapon that I thought was effective was the red axes. I don't hate this game, I find it t be in the right direction for the silent hill series, however these annoyincess do not do this title any justice. I give this a 7 because this time around I actually felt like it was kind of silent hilly.lol. Although still lacking the creepy Japanese horror, ths title still has some spooky times. The side quest where you have to put the crank and record on the player then turn time backwards while watching the events happen that really felt like Silent Hill. Silent Hill 1,2 and 3 are still my favorites, a lot of people didn't like Silent Hill 4, but I actually liked it.
    For the next Silent Hill ( if there is one) get rid of the void, more enemies,more bosses, better gameplay, put the inventory screen back the way it was. Make it more darker/eerie. The otherworld really needs to be changed, as it is one of the main components of SIlent Hill, All we do in this game in the otherworld is run away from the void, besides that there my as well not be an otherworld because you are hardly in it anyway. There are a lot of bad things about this game, but I still can't give it lower than a 7, you can tell that they actually DID try to bring back Silent Hill with this game, If I was to judge this game on gameplay, then the game would get a 4. The foundation is there, but a house don't sit too well on a broken one. Fix the flaws so the house wont cave into the ground..
    Expand
  6. dz9
    Mar 20, 2012
    6
    The Good: Incredibly spooky and moving story, perfect atmospheres, and good challenging puzzles. The Bad: Frame rates and glitches,The Good: Incredibly spooky and moving story, perfect atmospheres, and good challenging puzzles. The Bad: Frame rates and glitches, guidance issues, and gameplay. From a lot of mainstream reviews, I heard a lot of complaints about the fighting mechanics. Don't get me misunderstood, the gameplay is not great, but they seem to not understand that this game is not God of War, the game is not suppose to be action oriented, and they do seem to capture the feeling of Silent Hill with it. However, not the best, you are expected to run some and fight, but when fighting comes into play, when there are more than one enemy to fight, the gameplay shows its staleness. What also brings it down, is the fact when you do have to run, the frame rate is absolutely atrocious. The fighting mechanics is rather lack luster but not as bad as some reviewers say, but the frame rate issues are an absolute deal breaker. I've never seen a mainstream high publicized game have such frame rate issues. It gets so bad that you feel like your playing in a badly connected Halo online match. However though, the perfectly fleshed out protagonist, and the overall atmosphere and story will keep you playing despite the issues the game presents. In the End: This is just a decent game that provides quite a few scares. For Silent Hill fans... it does not bring the franchise back to its former glory but it is an excellent treat, but it just won't bring any newcomers along to the series. Expand
  7. Mar 13, 2012
    0
    In my opinion this game is was a huge let down for franchise of Silent Hill.From a psychologically heavy survival horror with good dashes ofIn my opinion this game is was a huge let down for franchise of Silent Hill.From a psychologically heavy survival horror with good dashes of symbolism and all things good - SH has now reverted to the mediocre " jason voorhes stily" horror game.. SHM,If you want to be scared, play Dead Space or replay one of the other Silent Hill games ( old Silent Hill). Do NOT buy Silent Hill "Donwpoor". It is a MEDIOCRE game, It is a waste of $50.â Expand

See all 85 User Reviews