Silent Hill: Downpour Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 264 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The survival horror experience begins after a prison transport vehicle careens off the road, leaving lone inmate Murphy Pendleton stranded in Silent Hill. Gamers will encounter mind-bending puzzles, as well as horrific creatures and other world terrors using everyday objects from woodenThe survival horror experience begins after a prison transport vehicle careens off the road, leaving lone inmate Murphy Pendleton stranded in Silent Hill. Gamers will encounter mind-bending puzzles, as well as horrific creatures and other world terrors using everyday objects from wooden chairs to glass bottles to fend off their enemies. The natural response, fight or flight is left to the player as they unravel a dark, thought-provoking storyline which will appeal to fans of the early, classic Silent Hill series, as well as anyone who enjoys a deep, psychological horror experience. In addition to the main storyline, players will also be presented with variable side quests along the way that can change depending on their play style, revealing unknown evils within the town. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
E3 2011: Konami Pre E3 Press Conference Silent Hill: Downpour Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    90
    Silent Hill Downpour may not be the most technically advanced game, nor boast the best polished gameplay, but it succeeds in what we were expecting from it : to be able to restore this icy, sweaty fear the series was known for.
  2. Mar 28, 2012
    75
    The surprisingly high share of puzzles and the appeal of exploring the open city and unlocking its' secrets gives you 20+ hours of entertaining horror. And even though the combat system is superficial and the engine shows some frustrating framerate issues this playable nightmare shows a lot of facets between creepy moments and pure terror.
  3. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Apr 9, 2012
    70
    Sometimes superb to look at but always unremarkable to play, Downpour lacks the nerve to be either great or terrible. It need reinventing - fast. [May 2012, p.104]
  4. Mar 19, 2012
    67
    Downpour isn't quite an evolutionary leap, but it demonstrates that Konami's thinking isn't entirely constrained by the past.
  5. Mar 16, 2012
    62
    I enjoyed Silent Hill: Downpour, but with one nagging thought always tugging at my brain - it just didn't feel like a Silent Hill game.
  6. Apr 4, 2012
    60
    Vatra Games made decent efforts to deliver a unique experience that would be faithful to the Silent Hill games of old. The Chechs failed, but that doesn't mean their game is not capable of delivering some enjoyable survival horror gaming hours.
  7. Mar 27, 2012
    40
    Silent Hill: Downpour upsets me not because it's a bad game (it is), but becaue there's the kernel of a good game in it, with some excellent set pieces that are undone by its muddy, bloated open world, technical glitches, and last-gen presentation. It's a game that I desperately want to like for what it does well, but I can't responsibly overlook its failings, which makes it all the more frustrating.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 87
  2. Negative: 14 out of 87
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    From the impressions and reviews I've read so far (aside from ign's farcical attempt) it's almost unanimous that this is the best Silent HillFrom the impressions and reviews I've read so far (aside from ign's farcical attempt) it's almost unanimous that this is the best Silent Hill game in years. Incredible atmosphere, heavy focus on original and creative puzzles, unique and interesting otherworld environments and a captivating and original story. Combat and monster designs have been noted as mediocre for the most part but overall this is a game for Silent Hill fans, but the average gamer who needs everything spoon fed to them might not get that into it. It's been getting good to average reviews so far with the exception of one overtly negative review that failed to provide any info on anything in the game other than technical issues like freezing when autosaving etc. so I would advise people to try and think for themselves where this game is concerned as nothing is more pathetic than blindly following what a review on a site like ign (which has become something of a laughingstock over the past decade) has to say. Having a mind of your own is like totez cool. Honest rating: 8.5/10, rating it higher to counter the little kids giving it a much lower score than it deserves. People who like the old Silent Hill games and psychological horror should love this! Expand
  2. May 9, 2012
    10
    Silent Hill Downpour is a good game, though the glitches like framerate and save-stops hurt the mood they will be adressed so it is probably aSilent Hill Downpour is a good game, though the glitches like framerate and save-stops hurt the mood they will be adressed so it is probably a good option to buy in the next months, while some of the pro-reviews are hard to the game I think they are losing the point, this is a survival horror, so combat is hard, control does not allow for combos, monsters can overpower you easily, itis not Dead Space but I think the story and mood are actually better.There are some good scares in the game, the developers found creative ways to plug you inside the tale. The sidequest are an awesome thing, at least two of them able to freak you out and make you feel incredibly sad at the same time. I have found so far references to SH0, SH2, SH3, the biggest one is of SH4 and cool details for SH 5 HC, no clue if I lost a SH1 and SHSM. For old school survival horror this is as good as it gets, I do not know if it is the best game since SH3 but it is the best survival horror since the Siren remake. Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    "Silent Hill is back with Downpour. All those things that we missed in previous games are here again. The characters, the fog, the story, the"Silent Hill is back with Downpour. All those things that we missed in previous games are here again. The characters, the fog, the story, the gore, everything is back. This is what all SH fans have been waiting for."
    Yes! This is the best Silent Hill since SH2!!! Can't wait next Silent Hill game from VATRA!
    Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    Its the best looking Silent Hill thus far, but its not without some issues. This game is by no means perfect. At times, its far from it.Its the best looking Silent Hill thus far, but its not without some issues. This game is by no means perfect. At times, its far from it. However with a strang and engaging story to follow, with the good ole Silent Hill twists, this game manages to deliver.

    Pros:
    Great Visuals. The best this series has had.
    Also showcase of the world changing to the other form, similar to the movies. A solid combat system with a large variety of weapons.
    A new flashlight system that is vary adaptable.
    Great use of sound to add to the fear.
    Nods to past games. Always a plus in my book.
    A great use of main narrative and side characters to help the story along.

    Cons:
    Glitches, Bugs, Lags. The game can get a little jumpy at times and feel like a lag for a single player game.
    Enemy designs arnt the best for some.
    Item management. Why do you need 2 pistols? why not just be able to take the ammo from one so you can keep a weapon slot ready.

    Over all, I am liking this game alot, even with its issues. It may not be perfect, but for any Silent Hill fan, its worth a play. Buy it or dont buy it. I know where I stand.
    Expand
  5. Apr 1, 2012
    8
    I'll been a fan of Silent Hill since the first game came out and I found this rather enjoyable. The game take the series back to the classicI'll been a fan of Silent Hill since the first game came out and I found this rather enjoyable. The game take the series back to the classic roots, creepy atmosphere, fixed camera angles and a trilling storyline. Although I did felt the there were some issues with bugs, dull animation and combat. I felt that Vatra Games should have improve these things in the final release of the game. I did like how Murphy will give hints by talking to himself, I felt that it was a good way to help people. I also liked the music by Daniel Licht, I think he does a great job after taking over from Akira Yamaoka. I wouldn't say this is the best Silent Hill ever yet a good one, I hope that the next Silent Hill will be an improvement from Downpour. Expand
  6. May 9, 2012
    7
    I must say I'm not a connoisseur of the series. I've played a couple of games and know, at least, what this franchise is supposed to beI must say I'm not a connoisseur of the series. I've played a couple of games and know, at least, what this franchise is supposed to be regarding gameplay, story, sound effects and overall atmosphere. With this in mind, I'm pretty sure SH Downpour delivers it. It's a solid game, with occasional mistakes, and totally worth playing. Expand
  7. Mar 13, 2012
    0
    In my opinion this game is was a huge let down for franchise of Silent Hill.From a psychologically heavy survival horror with good dashes ofIn my opinion this game is was a huge let down for franchise of Silent Hill.From a psychologically heavy survival horror with good dashes of symbolism and all things good - SH has now reverted to the mediocre " jason voorhes stily" horror game.. SHM,If you want to be scared, play Dead Space or replay one of the other Silent Hill games ( old Silent Hill). Do NOT buy Silent Hill "Donwpoor". It is a MEDIOCRE game, It is a waste of $50.â Expand

See all 87 User Reviews