Silent Hill HD Collection PlayStation 3

Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
Buy On
  1. Apr 30, 2012
    90
    Brings back two of the very best horror games that have ever been published. The oppressive atmosphere of the games is as terrifying as ever and sadly so are the controls. James and Heather controls are just too clumsy. The graphics are much sharper and clearer now, though Silent Hill 3 looks much better than its predecessor. The fact that there are new voice recordings is awesome, because the synchronizations of the originals were pretty impersonal and static. All in all the collection is worth every cent, though it is strange that Silent Hill and Silent Hill 4: The Room are missing.
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    90
    I'm confident that Silent Hill 2 will be held up as one of the greatest games of all time in years to come, and you owe it to yourself to (re)visit those deserted streets.
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    90
    Little of what makes Silent Hill HD Collection excellent has anything to do with its enhancements. Slight improvements certainly help refresh Silent Hill 2 and Silent Hill 3 visually, and the new voice recordings sound far more human than the laughable original acting. Really, the best thing about this re-release is what hasn't changed.
  4. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Apr 30, 2012
    80
    As an exercise in Playstation fear, it doesn't come any purer than this. [May 2012, p.104]
  5. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Apr 25, 2012
    80
    Even when nothing happens at all, you're still on the edge of your seat. And that's what makes Silent Hill brilliant. The game pushes you towards the edge, never giving you a moment of peace. It drags you up slowly like a rollercoaster, dropping you when you're never really ready for it. [May 2012, p.82]
  6. Apr 13, 2012
    80
    Playing Silent Hill HD Collection reassured me that once it had been a fantastic series that has aged well. I can recommend this collection to all of you, especially if you haven't played Silent Hill 2 or 3 before.
  7. Apr 7, 2012
    80
    Objectives are sometimes unclear and the PS3 version chugs like no one's business in the larger environments. But these are classic games that are at the apex of the survival horror genre, now playable on current-gen platforms. Great games, warts and all.
  8. Mar 29, 2012
    80
    This package is incomplete and visually isn't smooth, but includes two awesome videogames. If you haven't played Silent Hill, HD Collection offers an amazing value for your money with two amazing examples of the survival horror genre.
  9. Mar 26, 2012
    80
    It has several negatives but without any doubt this collection is a good way to play again (or for the first time) the best titles of this brand. After ten years both the games are still in good shape!
  10. Mar 20, 2012
    80
    Unlike the God of War and Team Ico collections, the Silent Hill games have a more polarizing legacy, meaning the series may not be for everyone. Hardcore survival horror fans itching to return to the corrupt town of Silent Hill in the second and third games will enjoy the enhanced graphics and new and improved voice acting. Gamers unfamiliar with the era's clunky controls are better off hunting for more modern thrills.
  11. PSM3 Magazine UK
    May 16, 2012
    78
    Combat is still a swingfest and puzzles can be frustrating. [June 2012, p.108]
  12. Play UK
    Apr 17, 2012
    76
    Technically the collection is lacking, but there's no denying the quality of the games. [Issue#217, p.72]
User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 141 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 42
  2. Negative: 21 out of 42
  1. Apr 3, 2012
    3
    for those of you who don't get the negative scores like bigdaddyd0m, there probably isn't much we can do to help you understand, but i'll try.for those of you who don't get the negative scores like bigdaddyd0m, there probably isn't much we can do to help you understand, but i'll try. how would you like it if star wars was re-released and it had new voices dubbed in that no one bothered to sync up, pivotal scenes were edited out because they were too violent or disturbing, the dvd lagged or stopped playing spontaneously, and the appearance of the film was digitally altered and it somehow managed to make everything look WORSE? that is pretty much what has happened here. remember, these reviews are for the HD collection (which apparently can consist of as few as two games out of eight) not the original titles. if we were simply reviewing silent hill 2 and 3 you would see a lot of nines and tens. this, however, is an HD collection that removes content, diminishes impact, and makes the design decision to scale back fog without bothering to fill out parts of the environment that were never even rendered because they were hidden by the fog. it is lazy (silent hill wasn't even included in this "collection" because they would have had to recreate it entirely since it was a psone game) and the funny thing is, that since money without much effort appears to be the primary motivating force, it would have actually been easier to port the original games and make no changes. then, you wouldn't have the problems like bad lip syncing, wrong subtitles, glitches, bugs, game crashes, and environments that just stop and become grey blocks. giving this game a decent score would encourage people to buy it. the only way that developers will learn not to churn out crappy remakes is to hit them in their wallet, and encourage people not to buy their product. Full Review »
  2. Mar 22, 2012
    0
    I've been thrilled to get my hands of Silent Hill HD Collection for PS3. These atmospheric, creepy, disturbing, and well told games are onesI've been thrilled to get my hands of Silent Hill HD Collection for PS3. These atmospheric, creepy, disturbing, and well told games are ones that show what survival horror can be at its best. Unfortunately, these versions of SH2 and SH3 are very broken. Both games are full of bugs. Audio cuts in and cut randomly, cutscenes have delayed lip syncing and sound effects, and the frame rate is disgustingly unstable. SH3 is far worse than 2. You'll find it hard to find an area that doesn't look like everything is in slow motion due to things like running water, dense fog, monsters, or any slightly large environment causes massive slow down. I was hopeful when the 1.1 patch was released, but it didn't fix anything. These are PS2 games for crying out loud! And censoring a scene is SH2 is ridiculous. These games are about all the horrible, dark things inside of people. Censoring it is an insult. Two of the greatest survival horror games ever deserved much better than this. The developers should be ashamed of themselves. Full Review »
  3. Mar 25, 2012
    0
    I'm not going to engage in hyperbolic trash-talking. But I was a day-one purchaser of this collection, and I'm very disheartened by these HDI'm not going to engage in hyperbolic trash-talking. But I was a day-one purchaser of this collection, and I'm very disheartened by these HD ports. They are still great games, and these are better than nothing if you have no other way to play them, but the PS2 versions are very much preferable - and I'm not referring to the new voice cast. Nostalgia aside, the new voice casts are in all unbiased ways better actors, but I understand why players of the original release would want the old voice cast.

    *Constant audio and visual bugs that the 297mb patch has not fixed

    *Worst of all - for me: I don't know who's idea it was to put the draw distance of the fog farther away, but I'm definitely not a fan of that.

    I would not complain much if this was just a matter of stylistic and aesthetic choices I didn't like, but the fact that a couple of PS2 games simple do not work properly on a succeeding platform is pretty bad, and I have a hard time believing it could be explained away except for lack of effort.

    Konami was under no obligation to give its consumer base a re-release of these two great games, this must be acknowledged. However, if they didn't want to do it right, they should not have committed to it.
    Full Review »