User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 95
  2. Negative: 54 out of 95

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2014
    7
    I had not experienced any bugs in my play through of either of the games and I think they must have fixed the fog in an update because I could not see anything far off in SH2. One complaint that really brought the experience down was that the voice acting in SH3 was not aligned with the subtitles/lips where there was a slight delay between the sound and the visual picture. Otherwise, I did not mind using this collection to experience these older games. Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    it's ridiculous how little time i spend on my new PS4 after buying this game. It is addicting as hell and with no doubt one of the most exiting series out there
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    1
    This Isn't and HD collection, they say enhanced graphics and didn't deliver the graphics are the same as the ps2 .With the game brightness and the tv's brightness up all the way up its still to dark to see anything in Silent Hill 3 just like the ps2 version i'm so disappointed
  4. Oct 4, 2013
    4
    Silent Hill 2 and 3 are THE BEST horror games but this"HD" version is awful. What went wrong? The collection includes a lot of issues like bad textures, changed graphics, new voice acting, a lot of bugs... The original SH games are pure gold but this is abomination.
  5. Jan 25, 2013
    8
    Remember, this is MY personal review, and playing as of January 2013 (post patch) . I honestly think that this game is not AS bad as people are making out. If you are a fan of the original, then play this, you wont be disappointed, if you are a die hard fan and have played SH2 on the PS2 to death, then yes, you may find several flaws/changes that you are not happy with. Play the game on original voices too, it makes the experience a lot better. Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    THIS REVIEW IS BASED ON THE PATCH AS I DID NOT BUY SILENT HILL HD COLLECTION DAY ONE!! That being said I didn't have many problems with this game like all the day one purchasers out there! So...first the good..the graphics:silent hill 2 graphics just plain sucks.it seems that hijinks skipped the work of making silent hill 2 look good!? Silent hill 3 on the other hand looks great better than when I first played it actually! Gameplay:as usual the gameplay(I.E. combat) is clumsy & frustrating but not in a bad way like downpour that forces you to turn into a total coward & run from basically ALL encounters.the clumsy combat represents how normal people would encounter horrible monsters so its not that bad once you figure that out. Story:silent hill 2 &3 are nearly unmatched when it comes to great story telling(including silent hill 1) as these games show how past developers actually went the extra mile to have players stay interested in the story! Its ESPECIALLY noticeable in silent hill 2 as James have the most engaging/enthralling story & unique experience while in silent hill(my opinion) as he suffers the most & unfortunately has a sad fate waiting in the end but heather's story is entertaining as well!! Characters:as stated previously these are two of the most interesting characters in the silent hill series(including Harry from silent hill 1) unlike Murphy in downpour who's an uninteresting douche bag devoid of any attention grabbing emotion or backstory!! Enemy design: as usual each protagonist has certain enemies that represents their fears in some way(James=pyramid head...heather=dark alessa) they are horribly disfigured & disgusting to look at unlike downpour who's enemy design look like humans in bad costumes...smh!! Fear factor: these classics remind me of the good old days of survival horror games that don't exist today. These games will scare you as you walk down music-less hallways only hearing the twisted howls & screams of unseen enemies! Once again this is something not seen or not done correctly by new generation games which is why these games are sorley needed today! Now for the bad:the controls are last gen(its fine with me) so new gen gamers might find it difficult to play. Combat: as stated earlier its clumsy but that's a good thing here it lets the players experience how normal people struggle againts demons from hell(purgatory?)frame rate/skips: while it isn't insanely constant like in downpour which happens every 7-12seconds in that steamy pile of a game it is present in this game but as stated its VERY playable.people complain about the fog effects/over all brightness but to be honest..its only possible to say that if you have two ps2's each playing sh 2-sh3 & a ps3 with sh2 hd-sh3hd playing side by side so I don't see the difference. All in all the good out weight the bad here & if your a true fan of silent hill 2 & 3 then you will pick up this priceless collection seeing how survival horror in this noob generation of gaming is all but dead!! 9/10 Expand
  7. Sep 6, 2012
    1
    Gameplay is the same as the original games, with very very minor tweaks. The game is set in third person in both titles. These 2 titles, both suffer from severe gamebreaking bugs. The graphics in SH2 are a little better then the original versions, but not much. And the graphics in SH3 changed only a little. But still, its got some great graphics for its time, and its still a classic. However, the several bugs and glitches cause very many problems in the graphics, and in SH2, the fog is to the point you can see things you should not, such as the edge of the map. The sounds were slightly redone in the collection in both games, like item pickup sounds,gunshots, and all voices. In SH2 you can use the original or new acting for voices, but in SH3 you must use the voice acting thats been redone. The new acting in SH2 is actually ok, but the new acting in SH3 is terribly done actually, several actors mix up lines such as claudia says something she should not, lol, and the emotion in acting is like reading a book to 1st graders... Both games suffer from several horrifying bugs, that truly call this game a HORRORible game. I was gonna get Resident Evil Operation Raccoon City, but i seen it got panned so i picked this up instead, not a good idea. At first,i had no issues, but later on it got so buggy with time, and its just not scary with the glitches, crappy sounds, etc. My recommendation? Dont buy a konami brand game ever again. This does NOT deserve the name silent hill. Its more like a shadow of its former self. Ugh... NEVER buy konami games again! Expand
  8. Aug 11, 2012
    6
    This remakes of amazing and unique games is a shame. On the one hand I finally got to play Silent Hill 2 and Silent Hill 3 but on the other hand Silent Hill 2 especially is a technical dump. The fog looks awful and the cutscenes aren't even worth watching cause of the poor quality. Silent Hill 3 looks quite good compared to the predecessor.

    I give the games together a total 10 out of
    10, but for THIS terrible remake there's not much more to give than a 6.0 out of 10 and only because I love the games so much. There isn't even Silent Hill 4 included or Silent Hill: Origins, which got release on the same platform. Have the guys of Hijinx gone lazy or what? Expand
  9. Apr 23, 2012
    1
    This is the absolute worst joke I've seen. Konami wanted to make profit off little to no effort. I hope it didn't succeed. This HD collection is buggy to the point of unplayable. Things like this make me hope developers like Konami (who has been putting out crap for awhile now) go bankrupt.
  10. Apr 13, 2012
    2
    An equal version of PS2 but in HD, it is acceptable, improvable if, but acceptable. A version worse than the PS2 in PS3, not. A real pity because I had a lot of interest and now I am not going to buy it.
  11. Apr 11, 2012
    2
    This was my first time playing a silent hill game and boy this one heck of a bad game. You cant control the camera, but im assuming thats how it was originally was. The sound effects are bad and louder than they should be. The editing was horrible, and this was just not the expierence i was looking for.
  12. Apr 8, 2012
    0
    Last time I ever blindly buy a newly released game...shake my fing head. Silent Hill 3's framerate and out of sync voice over will distract you from any enjoyment out of this game, same with SH2. I can't believe Konami!!, a company I truly admired, would release such a broken a55 game uggghhhhhhhh. Do not support this garbage by buying it, don't even rent it ffs!
  13. Apr 3, 2012
    1
    The Silent Hill HD collection was delayed alot, and several fans was looking foward to it. However it was released unfinished and the game contains several game breaking bugs, lockups, audio loops, audio cutouts, graphics glitches, missing graphics, etc. This is one of the worst releases of 2012, other then the video game AMY. This is a terrible port and every bad review on here is right, and every good review is wrong. Expand
  14. Apr 3, 2012
    3
    for those of you who don't get the negative scores like bigdaddyd0m, there probably isn't much we can do to help you understand, but i'll try. how would you like it if star wars was re-released and it had new voices dubbed in that no one bothered to sync up, pivotal scenes were edited out because they were too violent or disturbing, the dvd lagged or stopped playing spontaneously, and the appearance of the film was digitally altered and it somehow managed to make everything look WORSE? that is pretty much what has happened here. remember, these reviews are for the HD collection (which apparently can consist of as few as two games out of eight) not the original titles. if we were simply reviewing silent hill 2 and 3 you would see a lot of nines and tens. this, however, is an HD collection that removes content, diminishes impact, and makes the design decision to scale back fog without bothering to fill out parts of the environment that were never even rendered because they were hidden by the fog. it is lazy (silent hill wasn't even included in this "collection" because they would have had to recreate it entirely since it was a psone game) and the funny thing is, that since money without much effort appears to be the primary motivating force, it would have actually been easier to port the original games and make no changes. then, you wouldn't have the problems like bad lip syncing, wrong subtitles, glitches, bugs, game crashes, and environments that just stop and become grey blocks. giving this game a decent score would encourage people to buy it. the only way that developers will learn not to churn out crappy remakes is to hit them in their wallet, and encourage people not to buy their product. Expand
  15. Apr 2, 2012
    2
    First time poster here on Metacritic... And for the first time ever, I truly feel like voicing my opinion on this site in the hopes that NO ONE makes the mistake of purchasing this collection as I did. Silent Hill 1-3 are my favorite games of all time, and they've been a huge creative inspiration for me ever since I first played them... and to see Silent Hill 2 and 3 handled in this manner is not only shocking, but borderline criminal in my opinion. I won't go into too much detail with regards to the technical problems (other user reviewers in this section have explained them in great detail), but let's just say that they render the games virtually unplayable; audio bugs, glitches, shockingly bad framerate issues, constant freezing, bad lip-syncing, you name it... Yet the biggest slap in the face are the drastic aesthetical changes. Aside from the low saturation-, brightness- and contrast, the removal of 'thickness' in the fog and questionable texture "upgrades", I'm surprised that no one has mentioned the fact that the new versions run at 60 frames per second, instead of the old 30 frames per second - a HUGE aesthical change, which removes much of the cinematic flair of the originals. It is clear that no thought was put into how these changes would affect player experience and immersion... and it shows a saddeningly low respect for the source material. To be honest though, in the end, I shouldn't care too much about owning this collection... sure, I bought it because I respect these games to no end, and I was eager to see how they looked on a modern entertainment system; but I already own the PS2 versions, so why should I care? Well, I do f***ing care... I care because a new generation of gamers, who might be interested in trying something different and experiencing these inspirational masterpieces as I did back in the day, WON'T get the "true" Silent Hill experience on their new consoles... they will get these distractingly glitchy, buggy and aesthetically appalling versions, unworthy of the Silent Hill name. Such a sadness... Konami, if by any chance you are reading this - I've been a faithful customer of yours for many years, but I refuse to support your games until you fix this debacle. I know I'm not the only one who feels the same way... Expand
  16. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    Got to step in and up the review score, I would rather buy amazing classic games that are worthy for my money and full of enjoyment over Friday releases that are now days a four hour exact same action packed dog turd for full retail price. If the HD post is soo noticeable to people then you need to wake up as I can't remember the last time I played a shooter that was enjoyable and not a title rip-off from a rival game. The whole point I'm trying to make is I would rather play games like MGS HD/ Silent Hill HD etc etc over the hype train AAA let-downs. Might also add that the new silent hill downpour is next on my list. I used to buy anything on a Friday but now I stick to game series that I know I like. Eg. Resident evil (1,2&3) MGS (all) zelda (all) silent hill (all) final fantasy (8.9&10). Sorry to sidetrack but if it was out of buying endless DLC that should come with your game or a shooter that has nothing improved from its predecessor then please hand me the last-gen console anyday of the week! Let this be a lesson to 9/10 developers being lazy nowadays. The only true ones that try to bring new ideas to the table are Konami and Nintendo, if you disagree then please say with honesty that developers like capcom don't rip you off with games where you can't re-save, a ultra edition with an extra character, paying for a game ending, map packs, extra missions etc etc. I see this as a cash cow as if you take pride in your work then there should be nothing to add until the sequel. Preach over :) Expand
  17. Mar 29, 2012
    1
    If you played Silent Hill 2 and 3 in the original release, and liked them just stay away from this "collection". (wich is missing Silent Hill 4 and Silent HIll Origins that were previously released on the same platforms). This is just an awful experience, specially if you're a fan of the franchise. There's a lot of graphical failures, missing configurations from the menu, the cutscenes are stretched horizontally, the original voices has been changed... and Silent Hill 3 songs has been reworked or changed entirely. This "collection" needs to be remaked. Expand
  18. Mar 29, 2012
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS.To keep it short: No fog, no rust, very bright, well lit, worse voice acting, numerous graphical, audio, and gameplay glitches.
    Worst port I've seen in years, even worse than that RE4 PC port that didn't support keyboard and mouse.
  19. Mar 29, 2012
    1
    I really enjoyed the PS2 version of both Shs... and I was really looking forward to this collection. But when I saw with my own eyes what they did to it (still after all the waiting and delays!) I just canceled my pre-order. Comparing to old Silent Hills, "HD" collection is just a piece of crap :-/. I'll be more then happy to buy it when they fix it....but till then...1
  20. Mar 28, 2012
    3
    I am writing from the perspective of someone who started following this series after watching the Movie. I know this will discredit my opinion for the long-standing fans, but if you also are not a long-time fan than perhaps this review will be helpful for you if not others. After watching the movie, I bought Silent Hill 1, Homecoming, Downpour, and now the HD collection over the years.

    I was really excited for the HD Collection because I read the script of Silent Hill 2 and thought the concept behind the story is amazing. I also really like the voice actress for Mary/Maria, and also spoiled the game by watching the ending on YouTube which I thought was extremely well done. I also read pretty much everything on the Silent Hill Wiki about Silent Hill 2 and 3, and was excited to be able to experience these games.

    Playing them on the HD collection ended up being uninspiring. First, I LOVE the Silent Hill 2 intro movie. On the HD Collection, half of the voices are gone during the intro movie, resulting in nonsensible mouths moving along to music. Now that I am pampered by games like Mass Effect 3 and even Downpour, the graphics left a lot to be desired. The gameplay also felt jagged - the camera shifted too often resulting in my running back and forth too often. I thougth the controls were a bit off and even during my first monster fight, it took forever to get James to swing his weapon. I felt like I was spending a lot of time mindlessly running around the town, but it wasn't frightening - it was boring. It was not difficult to run around the boring monsters. The town itself didn't even look appealing after playing Downpour, which I think is superior in this regards. Finally, like many others, I experienced a lot of massive frame rate drops.

    I gave this game a 3.0 solely for the soundtrack and story. However, I think I am more content listening to the Soundtrack on MP3s and reading the script than I am playing this game. I'm going to return it. Again, if you are a long-time fan of Silent Hill and experienced Silent Hill 2 and 3 in their glory days, perhaps this is a great buy for you. As someone who was extremely interested in the games but not attached to them in any way, I think I just missed out on enjoying these. Games have progressed far too much in terms of graphcis and gameplay for this to hold my interest, despite the game's storyline and musical score. The game's technical problems certainly didn't help either.
    Expand
  21. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    I'm going to tell any readers out there who are genuinely interested in buying this HD Collection to NOT read the numbers for the user reviews on this sight. I have never seen a more concentrated mass of whimpering fan-boys since Micheal Bay said he was going to change the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles into Aliens (Except with that it is understandable). Throughout my play through of both games, I ran into no game breaking bugs. The frame rate issues are mild and do not effect gameplay, and the lack of fog is unnoticeable unless you're looking at both versions at the same time. The lip syncing is the only real issue I had, but that is understandable since they had to rerecord for the new voices. Speaking of new voices, thie new cast in Silent Hill 3 does a fantastic job. Heather Morris's portrayal of Heather will be missed, but Douglas, Claudia, and even Vincent (who is one of my favorite characters in the series). Silent Hill 2 on the other hand is a bit more hit and miss. As far as normal conversations and the more straightforward scenes are concerned, the new voices are more natural sounding. But once the more intense scenes come along, the more natural sounding voices come across less threatening. The only exception to this is Angela's voice actress (whose name I can't remember), who started out a bit younger sounding, managed to get the unstable aspects of Angela's personality down. The biggest mess up is with Eddie, whose sudden snap is less drastic and less scary on the whole (that and he ruined one of my favorite lines in the game). I can't recommend one over the other, so go with what you prefer. As far as visuals are concerned, Silent Hill 2 was an early PS2 game, but is sure doesn't look like it now. The character models are still a bit weird looking(Seriously, am I the only one who thinks that Jame's in game model looks nothing like the one for the pre-rendered cutscenes?), but the environments, specifically wall textures in the various indoor levels look amazing for a port. Silent Hill 3 flat out looks like an early PS3 game at times, and the sharper textures make the otherworld more freakishly nasty than it has ever been before. This was obviously a labor of love for Konami, and I get the feeling that more money went into this HD Collection than Downpour. I love these games, and I'm glad I get to play them again, all shiny and **** Expand
  22. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    There are too many cry babies reviewing this game, i mean its not a remake of the game. Im sorry you spent your money on a great game geared towards true fans of the series, i would say that both of these games were great when they came out, and as an older player you can now appreciate great story telling that seems to be disappearing from gaming now a days. The only complaint i have is that they did not include silent hill 1 in this collection. But alas it is a great throwback which many veteran players should enjoy...again and again and again. Expand
  23. Mar 26, 2012
    2
    Alright, I originally defended this game, I actually love the new voice acting, but having played it for a while now, there are just too many bugs, framerate issues, and things actually missing that were in the original games. I can no longer recommend it.
  24. Mar 26, 2012
    0
    I won´t even bother nitpicking the many things that are wrong with this "HD" collection, its here ( shshatteredmemories.com/blog/2012/03/25/hd-collection/#more-10572 )
    made by better people than me and with video comparison(just to bad to be true) What i truly am surprised is at the "professional" reviews this pile of junk is getting from the "pro" sites. I sincerely dont know
    which is worst. If the idea was of a rip off, at least try harder next time!â Expand
  25. Mar 25, 2012
    0
    I'm not going to engage in hyperbolic trash-talking. But I was a day-one purchaser of this collection, and I'm very disheartened by these HD ports. They are still great games, and these are better than nothing if you have no other way to play them, but the PS2 versions are very much preferable - and I'm not referring to the new voice cast. Nostalgia aside, the new voice casts are in all unbiased ways better actors, but I understand why players of the original release would want the old voice cast.

    *Constant audio and visual bugs that the 297mb patch has not fixed

    *Worst of all - for me: I don't know who's idea it was to put the draw distance of the fog farther away, but I'm definitely not a fan of that.

    I would not complain much if this was just a matter of stylistic and aesthetic choices I didn't like, but the fact that a couple of PS2 games simple do not work properly on a succeeding platform is pretty bad, and I have a hard time believing it could be explained away except for lack of effort.

    Konami was under no obligation to give its consumer base a re-release of these two great games, this must be acknowledged. However, if they didn't want to do it right, they should not have committed to it.
    Collapse
  26. Mar 23, 2012
    0
    The game has far too many bugs to recommend to first-timers or veterans alike. This is NOT the way to experience the games for the first time or for the thousandth time. It will destroy your sense of wonder or nostalgia. I will not list the game-breaking bugs (it's far too easy to look them up on the internet) but I will say that I've experienced all of the ones mentioned and a few MORE, including some that crashed my PS3 or spoiled the ending of one of the games! This is ridiculous, and we as gamers should not stand for this sort of misuse and abuse of OUR money or their source material. Expand
  27. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    The epitomy of excellence. This collection features 2 psychological horror classics from the pioneering Silent Hill series, particularly Silent Hill 2 which stands as the best survival horror game period. These games alone are worth the price but when u throw in additional content as well as trophies that require u to playthrough the games to achieve various skill requirements, then its an absolute steal. The games look beautiful in HD graphics and add to an extremely unnerving experience. Put down ur Call of duty & immerse urself in the disturbing town that is Silent Hill. Expand
  28. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    I dont understand why people are hating on this. lately, it seems like gamers are becoming whiny little *******. these games were , and still are, the greatest horror games of all time, specifically 2.
  29. Mar 22, 2012
    0
    I've been thrilled to get my hands of Silent Hill HD Collection for PS3. These atmospheric, creepy, disturbing, and well told games are ones that show what survival horror can be at its best. Unfortunately, these versions of SH2 and SH3 are very broken. Both games are full of bugs. Audio cuts in and cut randomly, cutscenes have delayed lip syncing and sound effects, and the frame rate is disgustingly unstable. SH3 is far worse than 2. You'll find it hard to find an area that doesn't look like everything is in slow motion due to things like running water, dense fog, monsters, or any slightly large environment causes massive slow down. I was hopeful when the 1.1 patch was released, but it didn't fix anything. These are PS2 games for crying out loud! And censoring a scene is SH2 is ridiculous. These games are about all the horrible, dark things inside of people. Censoring it is an insult. Two of the greatest survival horror games ever deserved much better than this. The developers should be ashamed of themselves. Expand
  30. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Konami invites us to relive the two best horror games of all time. With a strong graphics facelift, what better opportunity than this to re-feel the fear in our bodies. I do not understand and never understand the people who put 1 and 0 to remastering it in HD. There should vote only with the intent to harm and lower the note. These people already got enough with the note of SH Downpour, doing great harm to exit the game, and not so funny to see they want to do the same with this. In any case, I thank Konami for taking the top two installments of the saga, and turn them into HD. Thank you for this opportunity to feel the fear again, thanks for letting us go back to the streets of Silent Hill again. Who will be the first James or Heather? Expand
  31. Mar 25, 2012
    0
    I'm not going to engage in hyperbolic trash-talking. But I was a day-one purchaser of this collection, and I'm very disheartened by these HD ports. They are still great games, and these are better than nothing if you have no other way to play them, but the PS2 versions are very much preferable - and I'm not referring to the new voice cast. Nostalgia aside, the new voice casts are in all unbiased ways better actors, but I understand why players of the original release would want the old voice cast.

    *Constant audio and visual bugs that the 297mb patch has not fixed

    *Worst of all - for me: I don't know who's idea it was to put the draw distance of the fog farther away, but I'm definitely not a fan of that.

    I would not complain much if this was just a matter of stylistic and aesthetic choices I didn't like, but the fact that a couple of PS2 games simple do not work properly on a succeeding platform is pretty bad, and I have a hard time believing it could be explained away except for lack of effort.

    Konami was under no obligation to give its consumer base a re-release of these two great games, this must be acknowledged. However, if they didn't want to do it right, they should not have committed to it.
    Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Jun 1, 2012
    70
    Silent Hill HD Collection proves a good way to experience two great horror classics that embody psychic fear and buried emotional pain like no others, with gruesome settings, monstrously imaginative enemies and a thousand creepy, dark hallways.
  2. May 16, 2012
    78
    Combat is still a swingfest and puzzles can be frustrating. [June 2012, p.108]
  3. True evil never dies. It gets a decent facelift. [May 2012, p76]