Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Silent Hill HD Collection bundles Silent Hill 2 and 3 together enhanced with HD upgrades.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Apr 30, 2012
    90
    Brings back two of the very best horror games that have ever been published. The oppressive atmosphere of the games is as terrifying as ever and sadly so are the controls. James and Heather controls are just too clumsy. The graphics are much sharper and clearer now, though Silent Hill 3 looks much better than its predecessor. The fact that there are new voice recordings is awesome, because the synchronizations of the originals were pretty impersonal and static. All in all the collection is worth every cent, though it is strange that Silent Hill and Silent Hill 4: The Room are missing.
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    80
    It has several negatives but without any doubt this collection is a good way to play again (or for the first time) the best titles of this brand. After ten years both the games are still in good shape!
  3. Even when nothing happens at all, you're still on the edge of your seat. And that's what makes Silent Hill brilliant. The game pushes you towards the edge, never giving you a moment of peace. It drags you up slowly like a rollercoaster, dropping you when you're never really ready for it. [May 2012, p.82]
  4. Mar 5, 2012
    70
    The spooky sights of Silent Hill 2 and Silent Hill 3 look better than ever in Silent Hill HD Collection.
  5. Apr 12, 2012
    70
    The collection is also rounded out by the option provided in the collectors edition of Silent Hill 2 that allows you to play the storyline from the viewpoint of Maria, also from the game. It's a good edition and one that adds a lot more value to your purchase.
  6. Apr 13, 2012
    60
    Silent Hill HD Collection is a good deal only for the new gaming generation that had no chance to play both games in the past. Few extras and frame rates issues make it a bad deal for veteran players.
  7. Apr 5, 2012
    30
    After the excellent Metal Gear Solid HD Collection, Silent Hill fans definitely deserved a much better adaptation of some of their favorite games. With embarrassing glitches, problems that should have never made their way into the games, and a disappointing lack of content, it's hard for me to recommend this release.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 20 out of 33
  1. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    Got to step in and up the review score, I would rather buy amazing classic games that are worthy for my money and full of enjoyment over Friday releases that are now days a four hour exact same action packed dog turd for full retail price. If the HD post is soo noticeable to people then you need to wake up as I can't remember the last time I played a shooter that was enjoyable and not a title rip-off from a rival game. The whole point I'm trying to make is I would rather play games like MGS HD/ Silent Hill HD etc etc over the hype train AAA let-downs. Might also add that the new silent hill downpour is next on my list. I used to buy anything on a Friday but now I stick to game series that I know I like. Eg. Resident evil (1,2&3) MGS (all) zelda (all) silent hill (all) final fantasy (8.9&10). Sorry to sidetrack but if it was out of buying endless DLC that should come with your game or a shooter that has nothing improved from its predecessor then please hand me the last-gen console anyday of the week! Let this be a lesson to 9/10 developers being lazy nowadays. The only true ones that try to bring new ideas to the table are Konami and Nintendo, if you disagree then please say with honesty that developers like capcom don't rip you off with games where you can't re-save, a ultra edition with an extra character, paying for a game ending, map packs, extra missions etc etc. I see this as a cash cow as if you take pride in your work then there should be nothing to add until the sequel. Preach over :) Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    I'm going to tell any readers out there who are genuinely interested in buying this HD Collection to NOT read the numbers for the user reviews on this sight. I have never seen a more concentrated mass of whimpering fan-boys since Micheal Bay said he was going to change the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles into Aliens (Except with that it is understandable). Throughout my play through of both games, I ran into no game breaking bugs. The frame rate issues are mild and do not effect gameplay, and the lack of fog is unnoticeable unless you're looking at both versions at the same time. The lip syncing is the only real issue I had, but that is understandable since they had to rerecord for the new voices. Speaking of new voices, thie new cast in Silent Hill 3 does a fantastic job. Heather Morris's portrayal of Heather will be missed, but Douglas, Claudia, and even Vincent (who is one of my favorite characters in the series). Silent Hill 2 on the other hand is a bit more hit and miss. As far as normal conversations and the more straightforward scenes are concerned, the new voices are more natural sounding. But once the more intense scenes come along, the more natural sounding voices come across less threatening. The only exception to this is Angela's voice actress (whose name I can't remember), who started out a bit younger sounding, managed to get the unstable aspects of Angela's personality down. The biggest mess up is with Eddie, whose sudden snap is less drastic and less scary on the whole (that and he ruined one of my favorite lines in the game). I can't recommend one over the other, so go with what you prefer. As far as visuals are concerned, Silent Hill 2 was an early PS2 game, but is sure doesn't look like it now. The character models are still a bit weird looking(Seriously, am I the only one who thinks that Jame's in game model looks nothing like the one for the pre-rendered cutscenes?), but the environments, specifically wall textures in the various indoor levels look amazing for a port. Silent Hill 3 flat out looks like an early PS3 game at times, and the sharper textures make the otherworld more freakishly nasty than it has ever been before. This was obviously a labor of love for Konami, and I get the feeling that more money went into this HD Collection than Downpour. I love these games, and I'm glad I get to play them again, all shiny and **** Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Konami invites us to relive the two best horror games of all time. With a strong graphics facelift, what better opportunity than this to re-feel the fear in our bodies. I do not understand and never understand the people who put 1 and 0 to remastering it in HD. There should vote only with the intent to harm and lower the note. These people already got enough with the note of SH Downpour, doing great harm to exit the game, and not so funny to see they want to do the same with this. In any case, I thank Konami for taking the top two installments of the saga, and turn them into HD. Thank you for this opportunity to feel the fear again, thanks for letting us go back to the streets of Silent Hill again. Who will be the first James or Heather? Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2012
    2
    Alright, I originally defended this game, I actually love the new voice acting, but having played it for a while now, there are just too many bugs, framerate issues, and things actually missing that were in the original games. I can no longer recommend it. Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2012
    1
    I really enjoyed the PS2 version of both Shs... and I was really looking forward to this collection. But when I saw with my own eyes what they did to it (still after all the waiting and delays!) I just canceled my pre-order. Comparing to old Silent Hills, "HD" collection is just a piece of crap :-/. I'll be more then happy to buy it when they fix it....but till then...1 Expand
  6. Sep 6, 2012
    1
    Gameplay is the same as the original games, with very very minor tweaks. The game is set in third person in both titles. These 2 titles, both suffer from severe gamebreaking bugs. The graphics in SH2 are a little better then the original versions, but not much. And the graphics in SH3 changed only a little. But still, its got some great graphics for its time, and its still a classic. However, the several bugs and glitches cause very many problems in the graphics, and in SH2, the fog is to the point you can see things you should not, such as the edge of the map. The sounds were slightly redone in the collection in both games, like item pickup sounds,gunshots, and all voices. In SH2 you can use the original or new acting for voices, but in SH3 you must use the voice acting thats been redone. The new acting in SH2 is actually ok, but the new acting in SH3 is terribly done actually, several actors mix up lines such as claudia says something she should not, lol, and the emotion in acting is like reading a book to 1st graders... Both games suffer from several horrifying bugs, that truly call this game a HORRORible game. I was gonna get Resident Evil Operation Raccoon City, but i seen it got panned so i picked this up instead, not a good idea. At first,i had no issues, but later on it got so buggy with time, and its just not scary with the glitches, crappy sounds, etc. My recommendation? Dont buy a konami brand game ever again. This does NOT deserve the name silent hill. Its more like a shadow of its former self. Ugh... NEVER buy konami games again! Expand
  7. Apr 8, 2012
    0
    Last time I ever blindly buy a newly released game...shake my fing head. Silent Hill 3's framerate and out of sync voice over will distract you from any enjoyment out of this game, same with SH2. I can't believe Konami!!, a company I truly admired, would release such a broken a55 game uggghhhhhhhh. Do not support this garbage by buying it, don't even rent it ffs! Expand

See all 33 User Reviews