Silent Hill HD Collection Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 142 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Silent Hill HD Collection bundles Silent Hill 2 and 3 together enhanced with HD upgrades.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Silent Hill HD Collection Teaser Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Apr 30, 2012
    90
    Brings back two of the very best horror games that have ever been published. The oppressive atmosphere of the games is as terrifying as ever and sadly so are the controls. James and Heather controls are just too clumsy. The graphics are much sharper and clearer now, though Silent Hill 3 looks much better than its predecessor. The fact that there are new voice recordings is awesome, because the synchronizations of the originals were pretty impersonal and static. All in all the collection is worth every cent, though it is strange that Silent Hill and Silent Hill 4: The Room are missing.
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    80
    It has several negatives but without any doubt this collection is a good way to play again (or for the first time) the best titles of this brand. After ten years both the games are still in good shape!
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Apr 25, 2012
    80
    Even when nothing happens at all, you're still on the edge of your seat. And that's what makes Silent Hill brilliant. The game pushes you towards the edge, never giving you a moment of peace. It drags you up slowly like a rollercoaster, dropping you when you're never really ready for it. [May 2012, p.82]
  4. Mar 5, 2012
    70
    The spooky sights of Silent Hill 2 and Silent Hill 3 look better than ever in Silent Hill HD Collection.
  5. Apr 12, 2012
    70
    The collection is also rounded out by the option provided in the collectors edition of Silent Hill 2 that allows you to play the storyline from the viewpoint of Maria, also from the game. It's a good edition and one that adds a lot more value to your purchase.
  6. Apr 13, 2012
    60
    Silent Hill HD Collection is a good deal only for the new gaming generation that had no chance to play both games in the past. Few extras and frame rates issues make it a bad deal for veteran players.
  7. Apr 5, 2012
    30
    After the excellent Metal Gear Solid HD Collection, Silent Hill fans definitely deserved a much better adaptation of some of their favorite games. With embarrassing glitches, problems that should have never made their way into the games, and a disappointing lack of content, it's hard for me to recommend this release.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 42
  2. Negative: 21 out of 42
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Konami invites us to relive the two best horror games of all time. With a strong graphics facelift, what better opportunity than this toKonami invites us to relive the two best horror games of all time. With a strong graphics facelift, what better opportunity than this to re-feel the fear in our bodies. I do not understand and never understand the people who put 1 and 0 to remastering it in HD. There should vote only with the intent to harm and lower the note. These people already got enough with the note of SH Downpour, doing great harm to exit the game, and not so funny to see they want to do the same with this. In any case, I thank Konami for taking the top two installments of the saga, and turn them into HD. Thank you for this opportunity to feel the fear again, thanks for letting us go back to the streets of Silent Hill again. Who will be the first James or Heather? Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    it's ridiculous how little time i spend on my new PS4 after buying this game. It is addicting as hell and with no doubt one of the mostit's ridiculous how little time i spend on my new PS4 after buying this game. It is addicting as hell and with no doubt one of the most exiting series out there Expand
  3. Jul 9, 2016
    9
    Silent Hill 2 Review:

    Intro: Silent Hill 2 is a difficult game to write a review on. Silent Hill 2 might be mediocre in the gameplay
    Silent Hill 2 Review:

    Intro:
    Silent Hill 2 is a difficult game to write a review on. Silent Hill 2 might be mediocre in the gameplay department yet it has one of the greatest narratives in gaming history. Silent Hill 2 is a survival horror game developed by Team Silent and published by Konami. When Silent Hill 2 came out back in 2001 it was lauded by critics as one of the greatest video games of all time. The question today is whether this game still holds up. I am going to try and answer that question for you.

    Presentation:
    Overall Silent Hill 2’s graphics mostly hold up today. The CG in the game especially in the intro cutscene is expertly done and even looks photo-realistic even today. Some things in the game did not hold up as well such as the water effects and the look of some in game cutscenes. Silent Hill 2 focuses on a more dark rusty dilapidated scenes compared to Resident Evil’s original cartoony campy style. The game looks absolutely amazing especially in the original PS2 version. The game also features an amazing soundtrack that compliments the excellent visuals. The game features great ambient music that will bring a chill to your spine and sound effects that will make you uncomfortable. The only problem that I have with the presentation is the fact that if you are playing the HD version the game is far darker and harder to see compared to the PS2 version. In order to complete the HD version I had to turn up the brightness on my TV to a higher level which allowed me to see better but made the game look washed out. Silent Hill 2 by far has some the best atmospheric design I have ever seen in a video game. Overall Silent Hill 2 has excellent presentation excusing the HD collection.

    Story:
    Silent Hill 2 has one of the best narratives in gaming history. I will not spoil the story because the game is worth playing to experience this narrative alone. The story follows the main character James Sunderland who receives a mysterious letter sent by his dead wife beckoning him to the town of Silent Hill. The story does start out slow which is standard in the genre of psychological horror but picks up fast after the slow start. The game also features some of the best characters I have seen in a video game. The game also features multiple endings including two joke endings. I will not spoil the endings but it is by far one of the most emotional game endings in gaming history excusing the joke endings.

    Gameplay:
    Silent Hill 2 uses the traditional classic survival horror gameplay style. It uses clunky tank controls and simply combat. Unlike Resident Evil’s combat Silent Hill 2 features more melee weapons than long distance guns. The gameplay also features many puzzles. Many fans of the series enjoy the puzzles and gameplay but I feel that it is inadequate compared to the brilliant story and absorbing atmosphere. The gameplay gets very tiring and repetitive by the end of the game. Luckily, the game is not too long or short. Silent Hill 2 gameplay is just decent enough to make it pass this category.

    Technical:
    Silent Hill 2 suffers from extreme problems in the HD port the version I played. After checking videos on youtube comparing the footage from the original and HD the original is by far the better port which I would recommend. The HD port is marred by the lack of fog at key moments and off lighting which makes the game look too dark which made have to turn up the brightness on my TV. The HD port also suffers from extreme audio problems including missing sound effects sometimes distorted audio during CG cutscenes and and audio syncing problems which I experienced during a crucial moment of the game. The original port does not suffer from next to none technical problems but the HD port is another story.

    Overall:
    Silent Hill 2 would traditionally be considered a bad game but its story and presentation put it in a league of its own. I will giving the HD version and the PS2 version two different scores because I feel the technical problems with the HD port are too glaring. Silent 2 is worth more than the sum of its parts and Yes Silent Hill 2 stands the test of time.

    Original: 10 HD: 9
    Expand
  4. Oct 4, 2013
    4
    Silent Hill 2 and 3 are THE BEST horror games but this"HD" version is awful. What went wrong? The collection includes a lot of issues like badSilent Hill 2 and 3 are THE BEST horror games but this"HD" version is awful. What went wrong? The collection includes a lot of issues like bad textures, changed graphics, new voice acting, a lot of bugs... The original SH games are pure gold but this is abomination. Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2012
    2
    Alright, I originally defended this game, I actually love the new voice acting, but having played it for a while now, there are just too manyAlright, I originally defended this game, I actually love the new voice acting, but having played it for a while now, there are just too many bugs, framerate issues, and things actually missing that were in the original games. I can no longer recommend it. Expand
  6. Mar 29, 2012
    1
    I really enjoyed the PS2 version of both Shs... and I was really looking forward to this collection. But when I saw with my own eyes what theyI really enjoyed the PS2 version of both Shs... and I was really looking forward to this collection. But when I saw with my own eyes what they did to it (still after all the waiting and delays!) I just canceled my pre-order. Comparing to old Silent Hills, "HD" collection is just a piece of crap :-/. I'll be more then happy to buy it when they fix it....but till then...1 Expand
  7. Mar 29, 2012
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS.To keep it short: No fog, no rust, very bright, well lit, worse voice acting, numerous graphical, audio, and gameplayDO NOT BUY THIS.To keep it short: No fog, no rust, very bright, well lit, worse voice acting, numerous graphical, audio, and gameplay glitches.
    Worst port I've seen in years, even worse than that RE4 PC port that didn't support keyboard and mouse.
    Expand

See all 42 User Reviews