Silent Hill: Homecoming PlayStation 3

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 152
  2. Negative: 28 out of 152
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 9, 2014
    5
    Even with a dramatically improved fighting system over the previous games in the series it keeps the fear up by making encounters more dangerous than ever. Unfortunately it feels more like a imitator than an actual Silent Hill game.
  2. Nov 30, 2010
    6
    This game by all means isn't horrible, but really Double Helix could have done better. The story seemed intriguing, but was pulled off in the worst manners (i.e.,the little homage to "Hostel" near the end of the game, etc...) and there were really stupid/uninteresting characters in the bunch with whom took away the Silent Hill experience (i.e., Elle, Wheeler, Curtis, and Josh). NoThis game by all means isn't horrible, but really Double Helix could have done better. The story seemed intriguing, but was pulled off in the worst manners (i.e.,the little homage to "Hostel" near the end of the game, etc...) and there were really stupid/uninteresting characters in the bunch with whom took away the Silent Hill experience (i.e., Elle, Wheeler, Curtis, and Josh). No complaints about combat, however the recycled "Bogeyman," Nurse, and "Smogs" make it feel like nothing but fan service. And another huge problem is how predictable the whole story is and how much unnecessary gore they actually put into this game (albeit some argue it expresses the symbolism when really it just seems there for the "spookyness") However there are good things that I'd like to express about the game, such some of the otherworld designs (I love me some steam punk!). Also Mayor Bartlet and Lillian Sheppard were mysterious characters that seemed to fit well with the plot, which is awesome. I could go on, but in short, a great survival/horror game, but a questionable Silent Hill title. Expand
  3. shawnwheeler
    Oct 11, 2008
    7
    I luv the silent hill series but this simply is not a true SH game.

    developer double helix tried but only delivered a mediocre horror game that taints the once revered silent hill series.

    heres hoping that team silent hill will return to give us all the true current gen silent hill game that we all want.
  4. SimG.
    Nov 27, 2008
    7
    I
  5. GrantZ
    Aug 22, 2009
    7
    Yes, this is better than SH4, but it's still dire. The characters were barren and boring, and weren't very well lip-synched. Enemies were good looking but too tough in the end. Ammo is more scarce than ever, and thanks, but no, i'd rather run from that boss rather than KNIFING it to death. Still with all these bad points. It returned to Silent Hill, and the story was the Yes, this is better than SH4, but it's still dire. The characters were barren and boring, and weren't very well lip-synched. Enemies were good looking but too tough in the end. Ammo is more scarce than ever, and thanks, but no, i'd rather run from that boss rather than KNIFING it to death. Still with all these bad points. It returned to Silent Hill, and the story was the second best, beaten by SH1 & 3. There stories link. Also the mannequin battle got this a mark, as did the parts in the Bunker, which reminded me of Hostel. A scene with a circular saw, and a power drill being lodged into some-ones mouth. Also introduced people as enemies which was interested. Sadly it was hampered by tiring combat, unoriginal enemies, and recycled levels. It's worth a try, and does let you decide dialogue. All-In-All. A return to form. But i really want Alessa back. Expand
  6. Apr 14, 2011
    7
    Game wasn't that bad, but I feel that they copied the movie which sucked big time. There were some decent scares, but it wasn't the best or worse silent hill.
    I still remember the 1st silent hill where you are in the school, and you here a cabinate opening and closing so you go and open the cabinate and a cat jumps out and runs out the room ,then you hear the cat get killed by those
    Game wasn't that bad, but I feel that they copied the movie which sucked big time. There were some decent scares, but it wasn't the best or worse silent hill.
    I still remember the 1st silent hill where you are in the school, and you here a cabinate opening and closing so you go and open the cabinate and a cat jumps out and runs out the room ,then you hear the cat get killed by those little dudes with the knives. If I can remember that from a long time ago there must have been some great momments in the 1st silent hill, I do not feel the same with homecomming. Still a fun experience.
    Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2012
    5
    BUGS! BUGS EVERYWHERE!!!!!!!!!!!1 I'm gonna say up front there are game breaking glitches all over this damn game, it should not have been released with so little QA testing. That aside it's a somewhat enjoyable experience, the story is decent, the combat is damn fun every encounter with a enemy gives me a sensation like I'm boxing it's hilarious. The visuals are the best in the seriesBUGS! BUGS EVERYWHERE!!!!!!!!!!!1 I'm gonna say up front there are game breaking glitches all over this damn game, it should not have been released with so little QA testing. That aside it's a somewhat enjoyable experience, the story is decent, the combat is damn fun every encounter with a enemy gives me a sensation like I'm boxing it's hilarious. The visuals are the best in the series rightfully so as the first title on 7th generation console, enemy's are fascinating oddities as well. Buy this for $20 and read up on game breaking bug sections(and save often in a couple slots) and you won't get hit with buyer's remorse. Expand
  8. Mar 28, 2012
    6
    I like the protagonist and thought the storyline was interesting and well done. Unfortunately, I couldn't complete this game. I would have appreciated an Easy Mode since I never really mastered dodging. I dont have much free time, so I really don't feel like starting this game all over until I can run through the game well enough to get past the sewers. Anyway I just watched the restI like the protagonist and thought the storyline was interesting and well done. Unfortunately, I couldn't complete this game. I would have appreciated an Easy Mode since I never really mastered dodging. I dont have much free time, so I really don't feel like starting this game all over until I can run through the game well enough to get past the sewers. Anyway I just watched the rest of the game on YouTube. Expand
  9. May 18, 2012
    7
    this was an alright game. I found myself at times getting dizzy running in circles, because you never knew 'which was the right direction to go, or trying to finding stuff. This game didn't really scare me, but I respect the spook feel to it. I wish there was more diverse monsters, but that's the only complaint I have. Game wasn't that entertaining, but it didn't' suck at all.
  10. Oct 17, 2012
    6
    "Silent Hill: Homecoming" is the least satisfying in the series. Developed by Double Helix Games (an American company), it lacks the unique and bizarre atmospheres of previous entries. As a result, this "Silent Hill" feels unimaginative and even flat at times. Yet, while it doesn't live up to the series' standards, the game still manages to deliver a few goose bumps. This is mainly due to"Silent Hill: Homecoming" is the least satisfying in the series. Developed by Double Helix Games (an American company), it lacks the unique and bizarre atmospheres of previous entries. As a result, this "Silent Hill" feels unimaginative and even flat at times. Yet, while it doesn't live up to the series' standards, the game still manages to deliver a few goose bumps. This is mainly due to the game's pacing and story elements. "Homecoming" has a strong premise and stays true to the original concept. That's why it ultimately works despite the clumsy combat and generic locations. The subtitle is a reference to the return of its protagonist, a war veteran named Alex Shephard. Alex has reoccuring nightmares of his younger brother in serious trouble. So he is absolutely horrified when he returns home only to discover that his brother is missing. Not only that, but the town itself (Shephard's Glen) seems to be plagued by a supernatural evil. As Alex searches for his missing sibling, the town around him changes in appearance much like it did in the 2006 "Silent Hill" movie. Pyramid Head from "Silent Hill 2" returns, but the rest of the creatures are rather tepid in appearance. This is an almost generic entry in terms of level and creature design. "Silent Hill: Homecoming" may not be a revolutionary title but I sort of liked it despite itself. Double Helix provides enough creepy stuff to satisfy horror fans. And Akira Yamaoka's haunting score enhances the tone brilliantly. Expand
  11. Aug 20, 2013
    6
    the game is not bad but it was not good as well the plot is not good and predictable and the graphics are not good game play at some times was really boring not bad and not good
  12. Jul 11, 2015
    7
    My favorite survival horror series. This may not live up to the previous installments' standards in terms of story depth, scary atmosphere and other story elements but the simplicity made the game enjoyable yet felt short. Lacking in Post-Game things. Yeah. Silent Hill Series needs new tricks beside the fog and music. It's getting way too old.
  13. Jul 18, 2016
    7
    No merece el 10 y está muy por debajo de Silent Hill 2, al cual en parte pretende emular. Su mayor problema es recurrir a iconos y aspectos del film. Graficamente muy justo, aunque no luce mal. Desarrollo excesivamente lineal. Pese a ello, un juego es una buena experiencia y divierte para terminarlo al menos una vez.
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 67
    A bit of a letdown. The gameplay has been reduced from a tense psychological experience fraught with spine tingling jumps and scares to a generic, predictable action title set in the location with good graphics and a great soundtrack.
  2. The folks at Double Helix gave me the Silent Hill I wanted: a nerve-racking, scary as hell experience to hold me over this Halloween season. Any fan of Silent Hill should be checking this out, and anyone just needing a good scare can join in the Homecoming.
  3. American developer Double Helix has managed to stick its landing—right in the uneasy, dark parts of the mind that define the Silent Hill experience.