Singularity PlayStation 3

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 100
  2. Negative: 8 out of 100
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    It was awhile ago I played this game, but remember it being surprisingly good as I wasn't expecting much from the mediocre reviews. It definitely took some notes from the Bioshock playbook especially with the audio logs randomly strewn out. It is basically a time-traveling Bioshock and it is definitely good enough to be in the same discussion as Bioshock. The biggest thing I remember isIt was awhile ago I played this game, but remember it being surprisingly good as I wasn't expecting much from the mediocre reviews. It definitely took some notes from the Bioshock playbook especially with the audio logs randomly strewn out. It is basically a time-traveling Bioshock and it is definitely good enough to be in the same discussion as Bioshock. The biggest thing I remember is the story. It was one of the better ones this gen. You would enjoy this as well if you liked the Dead Space series. Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2012
    9
    Bought this game for £5 & thoroughly enjoyed it! It is similar to Bioshock, Wolfenstein & FEAR, & is a lot of fun. On the multiplayer side, there are better shooters, but If you enjoy single player story mode then it's definitely worth a shot. Considering the price you can get it for now, it is a must buy in my opinion
  3. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have always been a huge fan of time travel in sci-fi, and when I heard about this game I had to get it. I spent days playing this game while eating cookie dough ice cream, and I have to say it was well worth it.

    For starters the graphics are outstanding, when I play the game I feel like I am inside a messed up world, and the graphics alone will drag you in.

    The time travel mechanics work well here, and the game forces you to think about fighting in two different time lines, and it's a very enjoyable feature, and it keeps the game from becoming boring. For example you could be walking though an abandoned warehouse, when suddenly your transported to the 1950's warehouse full of enemy soliders. I also like the idea of what happens in the past effects the future, so when you are teleported to the 50's you can destroy something and then you can go back to the future and you'll find it open. You can also use time travel mechanics to repair things such as stairs and doors. The game also gives you a choice, and the ending is epic.

    It shocked me that the player character was responsible for the entire singularity event.


    Overall the game is amazing, if you liked bioshock and timespltters this game is a must.
    Expand
  4. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    As much as I hate to admit it, this game really does imitate several great games. Bioshock is definitely the most obvious one, although Portal and a few others may have had some influence. This keeps the game from being very unique, to state the obvious.

    As far as the game itself- it plays rather well. There are some neat mechanics that are implemented throughout the game, and the TMD
    As much as I hate to admit it, this game really does imitate several great games. Bioshock is definitely the most obvious one, although Portal and a few others may have had some influence. This keeps the game from being very unique, to state the obvious.

    As far as the game itself- it plays rather well. There are some neat mechanics that are implemented throughout the game, and the TMD proves to be an interesting gameplay feature. The enemies are either gross and frightening or fairly generic soldiers. But a few things really stand out-- shoot an enemy with the shotgun to see the character model actually become damaged. You can blow a hole through some enemies! Also, there a few experimental weapons that are a blast (was that pun intended or not? i'll never tell). The upgrading is pretty nice, although it's been done (better) before. The graphics are...on the upper side of average. It looks okay, and the framerate is pretty stable and smooth. As for the story...it seems to try for a Bioshock-style story arc. Is it effective? Not for me. The story is solid and the timelines make sense, but it didn't make me gasp.

    So yeah...it's a pretty good game, but nothing spectacular, really. Time manipulation is used primarily as a weapon, and you've seen many of the guns and enemies etc. already. I wanted to like this game more, but I'd have to give it a 7.5. My math teacher would tell me to round it up, so...8. I recommend a rental.
    Expand
  5. Jul 19, 2011
    8
    Singularity is atmospheric and cool, while is not a big FPS breakdown , its decent. The control layout is similar to other FPS. The graphics are passable, but very crude. Still , Raven needed to work more harder if they wanted to stay ( not in top) but in the level of renown franchise if they wanted to triumph more.
  6. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    To say this game reminds one of Bioshock is an understatement. This game is the true defenition of "Short and sweet". I went through this beauty in roughly 8-9 hours and I loved every minute of it. There was never a dull moment. In the generation of tired FPS this crawls in the door wet and needing a good scrub. If one can let their imagination take them from the blood soaked shooter inTo say this game reminds one of Bioshock is an understatement. This game is the true defenition of "Short and sweet". I went through this beauty in roughly 8-9 hours and I loved every minute of it. There was never a dull moment. In the generation of tired FPS this crawls in the door wet and needing a good scrub. If one can let their imagination take them from the blood soaked shooter in everyday "6 days in Falujah" you might actually enjoy yourself. The game handles like a dream. The visuals are saturated in "Rapturesque" decor while layer after layer of environmental sugar daddy runs through you like a drunk hillbilly on gin and juice. Let go. Feel the energy this game delivers. Follow the bullet in and out of as much head as one can fathom.
    I dare you to have fun within this colorful metaphor gameland. Forget what you know, or think you know about what games are supposed to be and take it from someone that has been playing for 21 years now. Enjoy and then enjoy again. Use the powers bestowed upon you as much as you can and then up the difficulty.
    Expand
  7. May 26, 2013
    9
    At first I was sceptical about buying this game 'cause I'm not really into Raven Software's games, but I bought the title anyway and was surprised by how good it is! The game looks and feels like a Bioshock title that has better weapons and cool powers. It just needed more "imagination" to make it perfect.
  8. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    this game was kind of one of thoose suprise games . i saw activision and FPS and figured oh great another POS COD clone , just what i dont want or need. saw it was down to only $15 new and read some reviews and decided to give it a try and you know it s pretty good game. the graphics arn't to bad nothing steller the gun play is about the same but where the game kicks it up in its game playthis game was kind of one of thoose suprise games . i saw activision and FPS and figured oh great another POS COD clone , just what i dont want or need. saw it was down to only $15 new and read some reviews and decided to give it a try and you know it s pretty good game. the graphics arn't to bad nothing steller the gun play is about the same but where the game kicks it up in its game play is the use of the powers you get and it makes the game feel abit differnt . the story is not half bad it was just intresting enough to make me want to know what was going to happen next. the gun selection is nothing special and its all pretty much the same stuff we've seen before . some of the creatures are pretty cool and the game is about 8 hours long and for $15 i thought it was worth it. it's atleast worth that or a rental. Expand
  9. Aug 17, 2010
    9
    I just got this game last week and I'm having a blast playing it. It doesn't get repetitive at any point at all. While playing it, you can't help but feel it has a little Dead Space vibe going, which is great. Granted the bosses and their minions could be a little tougher, and the puzzles could be a little more puzzling, but it that doesn't detract from the great plot and twists. TheI just got this game last week and I'm having a blast playing it. It doesn't get repetitive at any point at all. While playing it, you can't help but feel it has a little Dead Space vibe going, which is great. Granted the bosses and their minions could be a little tougher, and the puzzles could be a little more puzzling, but it that doesn't detract from the great plot and twists. The time-travel idea is novel. Can't wait for a sequel. Expand
  10. Aug 23, 2010
    8
    Singularity, is a title that if you have exhausted many FPS' you may want to get. It is not very original, but it does give some solid shooter action. I know the game is advertised for having the TMD and that it is riveting to use. I don't see it as a very different and new thing. It is practically the only element of this game that makes it different from Bioshock. (which I loved) ItSingularity, is a title that if you have exhausted many FPS' you may want to get. It is not very original, but it does give some solid shooter action. I know the game is advertised for having the TMD and that it is riveting to use. I don't see it as a very different and new thing. It is practically the only element of this game that makes it different from Bioshock. (which I loved) It actually does somewhat remind me of a perk. So don't get me wrong I very much did like playing the campaign. The only thing is the factor of originality. Which is becoming a struggle in many games. But if you want a good solid first person shooter and don't care about originality, this is a decent game. Also, the online is a replica of Left 4 Dead, but it is somewhat bland. Expand
  11. Oct 15, 2010
    9
    Singularity is one of the best games of 2010. Gameplay is a not a very original mix between Bioshock and Resistance, but the story, execution, and visuals are solid making this game a great experience. Some environments look amazing (moments from the last level in particular), and several others are pretty weak with splotchy vertex lighting, piles of repetitive props, and visible seams.Singularity is one of the best games of 2010. Gameplay is a not a very original mix between Bioshock and Resistance, but the story, execution, and visuals are solid making this game a great experience. Some environments look amazing (moments from the last level in particular), and several others are pretty weak with splotchy vertex lighting, piles of repetitive props, and visible seams. Powers are weapons are fun to use, and great looking, especially the time reversal visuals. This game would have been a hit if Activision had put some marketing behind it. Raven did a great job and was rewarded with layoffs. Expand
  12. Dec 30, 2010
    9
    Singularity is a first-person shooter that draws inspiration from games like BioShock or System Shock 2. There are lots of meat-monsters and Russian soldiers to blast, plenty of weapons to do so with, and along the way you'll upgrade Renko with new powers and tools to make him even more super. Interspersed with the shooting are some simple puzzles, heavy doses of storytelling and plenty ofSingularity is a first-person shooter that draws inspiration from games like BioShock or System Shock 2. There are lots of meat-monsters and Russian soldiers to blast, plenty of weapons to do so with, and along the way you'll upgrade Renko with new powers and tools to make him even more super. Interspersed with the shooting are some simple puzzles, heavy doses of storytelling and plenty of blatant clues to let you know that things are perhaps not the way they appear. The production levels are pretty high here for the most part, so most enemies and creatures move pretty well and look decent enough. Expand
  13. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    Singularity is a breath of fresh of breath air for the FPS genre. It takes what sub-par FPS games like Resistance 2 and BioShock did wrong, and not only corrects them, but vastly improves them. I loved running around Katorga-12 with my TMD and Shotgun, killing soldiers and mutants alike. Singularity also nails the creepy '50s Soviet feel, and the environments and enemies are perfectlySingularity is a breath of fresh of breath air for the FPS genre. It takes what sub-par FPS games like Resistance 2 and BioShock did wrong, and not only corrects them, but vastly improves them. I loved running around Katorga-12 with my TMD and Shotgun, killing soldiers and mutants alike. Singularity also nails the creepy '50s Soviet feel, and the environments and enemies are perfectly rendered. A co-op survival mode or something like that would be nice, but even so the campaign itself is really fun. Expand
  14. Apr 3, 2015
    9
    Criminally underrated game!! I can't believe this game has only had 90 reviews and it has been out for five years...the game is just very well done with solid mechanics and a great atmosphere that almost matches the likes of bioshock! It had a few technical issues at launch but they were quickly resolved. It has a interesting premise that really intrigues you, It can also be very emotionalCriminally underrated game!! I can't believe this game has only had 90 reviews and it has been out for five years...the game is just very well done with solid mechanics and a great atmosphere that almost matches the likes of bioshock! It had a few technical issues at launch but they were quickly resolved. It has a interesting premise that really intrigues you, It can also be very emotional at times. The upgrade system and overall progression is perfect, it is unbelievably satisfying trying to max out your character. The enemies you'll encounter can be challenging and very effective. The guns are all very well done and are satisfying to use, the negatives of this game would be the graphics and the sometimes familiar feel but that isn't necassirily a bad thing when it takes things from such great games such as bioshock! As for the graphics they aren't bad but they aren't great either, I think the game can look excellant at times but mediocre at others. Overall just please buy this game you will not regret it especially if you are a bioshock fan! Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Enemies are practically defenseless in the face of your super-powers, and the puzzles never advance beyond the basics.
  2. With a bit more ingenuity in the puzzles, more made of the time travel and a little more graphical "oomph", Raven and Activision could have had a real gem on their hands. It's still well worth a look though.
  3. In the end Singularity is a decidedly average shooter with a pretty novel storyline.