Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: On a clandestine mission deep into Russian territory, an American black ops team crash lands on an island research base that was mysteriously abandoned in the 1950’s. Cut off from the outside and under attack by an army of nightmarish creatures, Captain Nathaniel Renko is forced to battleOn a clandestine mission deep into Russian territory, an American black ops team crash lands on an island research base that was mysteriously abandoned in the 1950’s. Cut off from the outside and under attack by an army of nightmarish creatures, Captain Nathaniel Renko is forced to battle his way through the hostile territory armed with the TMD (Time Manipulation Device) – a time altering weapon created over 50 years ago. Who created the TMD and why is just one of the many Cold War secrets Renko must uncover as he is thrown back and forth across time, making choices that will alter the course of world history. [Raven Software] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Raven Software's deft handling of the oft-tricky notion of time travel disrupting the workings of the world is very clever. It's clever enough that, as you stand poised to make one of three ending-altering decisions at Singularity's calamitous finale, you're really not sure which choice to make. The question is, will you stick around that long? Most of you probably won't. [September 2010 p.74]
  2. 87
    Singularity is a solid FPS with a working gimmick and a solid narrative.
  3. Singularity is a pleasant surprise. It could have been an average first person shooter game, but it has turned out to be a great game, with gameplay and visuals that deserve praise.
  4. Singularity is a solid SP-Shooter with some technical issues and many good ideas that haven't been pushed to their limits. It's still worth your time if you're in search for a decent story and some nice new gameplay-elements, but definitely not something anyone HAS to own.
  5. 75
    Singularity is better then the average shooter and has a lot of fun to offer. Thanks to a decent singleplayer campaign and a fine multiplayer, you won't regret spending your time on this game.
  6. With a bit more ingenuity in the puzzles, more made of the time travel and a little more graphical "oomph", Raven and Activision could have had a real gem on their hands. It's still well worth a look though.
  7. While not exactly a title for the permanent collection, Singularity does deliver its fair share of fast-paced action and time-altering thrills. [Oct 2010, p.81]

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have always been a huge fan of time travel in sci-fi, and when I heard about this game I had to get it. I spent days playing this game while eating cookie dough ice cream, and I have to say it was well worth it.

    For starters the graphics are outstanding, when I play the game I feel like I am inside a messed up world, and the graphics alone will drag you in.

    The time travel mechanics work well here, and the game forces you to think about fighting in two different time lines, and it's a very enjoyable feature, and it keeps the game from becoming boring. For example you could be walking though an abandoned warehouse, when suddenly your transported to the 1950's warehouse full of enemy soliders. I also like the idea of what happens in the past effects the future, so when you are teleported to the 50's you can destroy something and then you can go back to the future and you'll find it open. You can also use time travel mechanics to repair things such as stairs and doors. The game also gives you a choice, and the ending is epic.

    It shocked me that the player character was responsible for the entire singularity event.


    Overall the game is amazing, if you liked bioshock and timespltters this game is a must.
    Expand
  2. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    To say this game reminds one of Bioshock is an understatement. This game is the true defenition of "Short and sweet". I went through thisTo say this game reminds one of Bioshock is an understatement. This game is the true defenition of "Short and sweet". I went through this beauty in roughly 8-9 hours and I loved every minute of it. There was never a dull moment. In the generation of tired FPS this crawls in the door wet and needing a good scrub. If one can let their imagination take them from the blood soaked shooter in everyday "6 days in Falujah" you might actually enjoy yourself. The game handles like a dream. The visuals are saturated in "Rapturesque" decor while layer after layer of environmental sugar daddy runs through you like a drunk hillbilly on gin and juice. Let go. Feel the energy this game delivers. Follow the bullet in and out of as much head as one can fathom.
    I dare you to have fun within this colorful metaphor gameland. Forget what you know, or think you know about what games are supposed to be and take it from someone that has been playing for 21 years now. Enjoy and then enjoy again. Use the powers bestowed upon you as much as you can and then up the difficulty.
    Expand
  3. May 26, 2013
    9
    At first I was sceptical about buying this game 'cause I'm not really into Raven Software's games, but I bought the title anyway and wasAt first I was sceptical about buying this game 'cause I'm not really into Raven Software's games, but I bought the title anyway and was surprised by how good it is! The game looks and feels like a Bioshock title that has better weapons and cool powers. It just needed more "imagination" to make it perfect. Expand
  4. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    As much as I hate to admit it, this game really does imitate several great games. Bioshock is definitely the most obvious one, although PortalAs much as I hate to admit it, this game really does imitate several great games. Bioshock is definitely the most obvious one, although Portal and a few others may have had some influence. This keeps the game from being very unique, to state the obvious.

    As far as the game itself- it plays rather well. There are some neat mechanics that are implemented throughout the game, and the TMD proves to be an interesting gameplay feature. The enemies are either gross and frightening or fairly generic soldiers. But a few things really stand out-- shoot an enemy with the shotgun to see the character model actually become damaged. You can blow a hole through some enemies! Also, there a few experimental weapons that are a blast (was that pun intended or not? i'll never tell). The upgrading is pretty nice, although it's been done (better) before. The graphics are...on the upper side of average. It looks okay, and the framerate is pretty stable and smooth. As for the story...it seems to try for a Bioshock-style story arc. Is it effective? Not for me. The story is solid and the timelines make sense, but it didn't make me gasp.

    So yeah...it's a pretty good game, but nothing spectacular, really. Time manipulation is used primarily as a weapon, and you've seen many of the guns and enemies etc. already. I wanted to like this game more, but I'd have to give it a 7.5. My math teacher would tell me to round it up, so...8. I recommend a rental.
    Collapse
  5. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    Singularity is a breath of fresh of breath air for the FPS genre. It takes what sub-par FPS games like Resistance 2 and BioShock did wrong,Singularity is a breath of fresh of breath air for the FPS genre. It takes what sub-par FPS games like Resistance 2 and BioShock did wrong, and not only corrects them, but vastly improves them. I loved running around Katorga-12 with my TMD and Shotgun, killing soldiers and mutants alike. Singularity also nails the creepy '50s Soviet feel, and the environments and enemies are perfectly rendered. A co-op survival mode or something like that would be nice, but even so the campaign itself is really fun. Expand
  6. Aug 28, 2010
    7
    While having very little new ideas it combines all the good parts of other shooters.
    1 multiple endings. (Adds last-ability.)
    2 The PDT. (A
    While having very little new ideas it combines all the good parts of other shooters.
    1 multiple endings. (Adds last-ability.)
    2 The PDT. (A grav gun. Puzzle solver. Weapon.)
    3 special weapons. (All those E99 weapons were pretty good.)
    4 An upgrade system.
    5 A really strange yet interesting multiplayer.
    With all this in mind Singularity is by no means new shooter or the best. But definitely still worth picking up.
    Expand
  7. Oct 16, 2011
    4
    This game has a lot of stuff, but is still basic FPS shooter. The enemies aren't interesting, weapons aren't anything special or feel neitherThis game has a lot of stuff, but is still basic FPS shooter. The enemies aren't interesting, weapons aren't anything special or feel neither powerful or weak. The game is also short. I recommend this game only for rent, because it has no replay value, if not counting three different endings. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews