User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 52
  2. Negative: 9 out of 52

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    To start off when this game was announced i had no intention of getting it. I later downloaded it again and had no intention of getting it. I felt that there was just not enough upgrades for me to fork out 60 bones for. Well, good news i was wrong. Sure, the only board control changings arent many. You now have the ability to do darkslides. No biggie, but damn im sucking so much time into it. Skate 3 focuses a lot on team play. You can play pretty much all the single player missions online. Which is not a very big deal, but it is very nice to be able to play through this game with a friend online, which is new to skateboarding games. But have no fear, if your friends arent intrested in the game you can use ai teammates. Which to be honest kind of sucks but it is better than nothing. (most of the time) Another improvment isi the ability to creeate custom parks. For me, i dont use the creator much. Which leads me to my favorite edition to skate 3, downloading custom made parks online. THis feature throws so much replay value into the game its not funny. i can't tell you how much time i have spent playing other people's parks. It is truely a blast. Now the negatives. Skate 3 is very similar to skate 2, which is not all a good thing. Sure it keeps the classic gameplay we know and love, but cosmetically they look exactly alike. It is truely dissapointing to see this and really upsets me that blackbox didn't upgrade the engine. Another thing is that walking is still very clunky and ugly looking. I really wish they would have worked on that a little more. Another thing is the new city. Yes, i said new city. It is very fun to skate but extremly unrealistic. I love having a lot of places to skate, but i also enjoy a little realism. Skate fans will have a blast roaming through the new city and downloading new parks, as will newbies alike. It deffenitly is worth a rent and even a buy, that is your call. Im glad this game was given to me and i truely had a blast paying through it. Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2010
    8
    this game is indeed very good, the controls are great and the world around the player is very polished. there is a good set of missions but unlike the first and second game you have a map where you can quick travel between missions meaning there is less need to explore the world around you. the game comes into its own online where you can go head to head in games of s.k.a.t.e, 1up and many more modes. and then there's team play where you create an online team where you can invite your friends. it is a good feature and when you have a team full of friends in real life playing the game with you its one of its stand out moments. but the single player does get boring once you've completed everything to do, and there is a long list of challenges which will last you a very long time. this is definitely worth the score i have given Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2010
    9
    I picked this game up for $40 used at a local game shop and was pissed when I saw it is $40 new at gamestop this week. Never the less this is a very enjoyable game. The story missions are fun, and the hall of meat kept me entertained for hours. Once you beat all the missions this game becomes very stale. The online is the only thing that gives this game any replay value after beating the main missions. Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    As a fan of the Skate series since the first one, I bought this game on release day. And I never looked back. It fixed all the problems of the first and second. Steering was hard, and adjusting the wheels did not help. Now, it's easy to maneuver. The Hall of Meat in Skate 2 was a bit stiff. Now, the player has more control, and the possibility of head-on incidents with saloon cars grows higher every time I play it. The story is a great idea. Legendary skater starts company and sells a million boards? EPIC. And in multi-player, its fun to just whack them with your board, or judo kick them in the face. I see no faults in this perfect installment. Skate 3 defines skateboarding video games. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    I love skating and such and i had just bought a ps3 so i wanted skate 3 and i got it
    when i first started it up in the intro of the game i noticed that the gameplay was very fluid and movement was great.
    The hall of meat challenges were simply cool and challenging sometimes and you could teleport to those locations and play around for a bit there.
    There is a huge world where you skate
    around in so that is a plus
    And the coolest in m opinion is the skate park editor.
    You can make enormous parks in this.

    Despite all those good things there are a few flaws.
    Like you can randomly fall to the ground or your board will glitch in your body but
    overall it is a really awesome game with good gameplay,graphics for it's time
    it's kinda buggy but i don't care about that
    Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2010
    7
    LACK OF STORY! This is an awesome game but i didn't feel like this was me growing into something big like the other games. The controls are great i love how they did the flick it controls. The online multi player playlists are also great it fun for me and my brother to play online together on free skate. The have much more creative spots on this but its just the story which ruins the game I didn't like this as much as i did when my brother got skate 2. Collapse
  7. Mar 28, 2011
    4
    I want to love Skate 3, and heck it has everything it should need to be a great game. The first time I played this game I absolutely loved it, I thought it was an solid all around improvement over Skate 1 and 2 due to the new "hardcore" physics. However, any fun that is to be had is quickly lost once you are required to perform multiple tricks in one location in order to pass a challenge. This is when the fun killing NPC's walk in and destroy the game like a wrecking ball. No joke, the NPC's will crowd around any object you need to trick off of, or grind on once you start doing a challenge. At one point in time, I literally had every single NPC in an entire vicinity for where I was at in the game crowding around a rail I had to do multiple grinds on in order to beat a challenge, and their crowding made me continuously fail due to the fact that I kept smacking into the NPC's. By the way, when you accidentally run into an NPC in this game, they will sometimes chase after you, prevent you from respawning, and knock you down yet again afterwards. Worse yet, they all seem to wander around the object you need to trick on aimlessly, even after you restart the challenge. So thanks to the god awful AI, you wind up losing challenges. This becomes frustrating all too quickly due to the fact that getting around the NPC's quickly becomes the greatest challenge in the game. So there. This game might be fantastic if you unlock everything right away and simply play in free skate the entire time. However, if you are looking for a changing and/or fun game to play outside of free skate, look elsewhere. Pros: - Fantastic graphics. No joke, they're top notch, big improvement over the original skate and skate 2. - Improved physics, you can now chose 3 difficulty settings for the physics, the "hardcore" setting makes the game noticeably more realistic - Generally good level design, an improvement over Skate 2. - Good single player... if only you could enjoy it. Cons: - The fact that the NPC's (non-playable characters) are able to destroy the fun factor of the single player portion of the game. - The fact that EA clearly enjoys nickel and diming you for every single piece of online related content they can. Expand
  8. Feb 24, 2011
    7
    Atech66 Feb 24, 201110 If you liked 1 loved 2 then 3 is more of 2 with a few additions. and thats not a bad thing. Excellent controls and graphics. My son wanted it and its a game i can actually enjoy watching him play. But they really screwed the pooch removing coop Hall of meat.. why o why.
    7 for leaving some of the best of skate 2 out..
  9. Nov 28, 2013
    9
    This game is incredibly fun, Especially with friends. It may not have splitscreen but it's so much fun to challenge your friend to a challenge. The storyline is pretty weak but what do you expect from a sports game. The "missions" can be very difficult at times but offer a lot of replay value. There is a massive open world map waiting to be explored! !!9/10!!
  10. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    The game costed thirty bucks for me, and it lasted me over 3 years (no joke). This game could easily be worth 100 dollars and I'd still buy it. A must-buy
  11. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    IsisiisisisisisisiisisisisjgkjkgkgjkugkgugkjjkgkjggkjkjgkufkugkugukggkukguukgkgujggkuukffkukufkufugjkjgkkjggjkjgkjgkgkjkgjjgMelhor jogo de skate muito legal jogabilidade boa na minha opinião melhor que tony hawk
  12. Jul 9, 2014
    8
    its a good game. it needs to upgrade maps once in a while its the best skate game around as a semi realistic skateing game. you can pull off some amazing tricks. as a personal skate boarding fa its a must buy.
  13. Aug 1, 2014
    8
    I don't think this game is meant to play for the actual story or game itself... I mean, I guess doing the actual skateboarding stuff is cool and all but the real fun is doing "Hall of Meat" and jumping off cliffs and buildings trying to break EVERYTHING and doing the helicopter....or some ridiculous motion while spinning until you hit the ground. It's really fun, especially if you switch off with multiple people so you can all have a good laugh. Expand
  14. Nov 3, 2010
    0
    LACK OF STORY! This is an awesome game but i didn't feel like this was me growing into something big like the other games. The controls are great i love how they did the flick it controls. The online multi player playlists are also great it fun for me and my brother to play online together on free skate. The have much more creative spots on this but its just the story which ruins the game I didn't like this as much as i did when my brother got skate 2. Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. 100
    Between the consistent improvement of the game's core concepts, and the Black Box's encouraged experimentation, Skate remains in a genre all on its own, but only time will tell if continued re-iteration will cause this still fresh series to stagnate.
  2. And custom content is really where Skate 3 shines. EA has provided a massive toolbox for creating and sharing elaborate skate parks using the title’s new skate.Park feature.
  3. While this latest title doesn’t take any huge risks, I would argue that’s a good thing. Skate has always been one of those rare games where you can just aimlessly play with no goals or objectives.