Skate 3 PlayStation 3

Skate 3 Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: SKATE 3 features an all-new co-op mode where teammates can complete challenges together while advancing each other’s careers. From rewarding epic bails and fails with a beefed up Hall of Meat mode to honing your craft with the all-new skate.School, players of all skill levels have multipleSKATE 3 features an all-new co-op mode where teammates can complete challenges together while advancing each other’s careers. From rewarding epic bails and fails with a beefed up Hall of Meat mode to honing your craft with the all-new skate.School, players of all skill levels have multiple ways to “kill it” in the game. The franchise also continues to raise the bar for user created content with the skate.Create feature suite, an innovative toolset that empowers gamers to truly express their skate style by creating their own graphics, videos, and skate parks. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. 100
    Between the consistent improvement of the game's core concepts, and the Black Box's encouraged experimentation, Skate remains in a genre all on its own, but only time will tell if continued re-iteration will cause this still fresh series to stagnate.
  2. Play UK
    86
    Simply the best in the series and as such the best skateboarding game on PS3...Its sense of fun and superb control mechanics are still without equal. [Issue#192, p.82]
  3. Definitely the best Skate effort yet - but more of an update than a truly worthy sequel.
  4. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    80
    Virtual skate drive was never so much fun. Community elements enrich the game's experience and guarantee Skate 3 to be up to date long after its release. [Issue#192]
  5. 80
    Any gamer who is still searching for a worthy contender to the skateboarding game throne, look no further; your game has arrived.
  6. Skate 3 is the best skateboarding game out there. It’s certainly no revolution, but due to its strong gameplay and some great additions we will be impressed if Shaun White and Tony Hawk will reach this standard.
  7. With Skate 2 released just a little over a year ago, it’s clear that Skate 3 was pumped out too quickly. The ideas are great, but the lack of polish is evident with every flip, flop, and flub.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Oct 5, 2015
    10
    Needs to be more skateboarding games, everyone wants a Skate 4, and there is a reason why. This game I've owned for 5 years, I still keepNeeds to be more skateboarding games, everyone wants a Skate 4, and there is a reason why. This game I've owned for 5 years, I still keep playing it almost every day, it's just such a classic, the controls are smooth once you get used to them, the customization adds your unique style and creating and downloading parks creates infinite possibilities. Expand
  2. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    The game costed thirty bucks for me, and it lasted me over 3 years (no joke). This game could easily be worth 100 dollars and I'd still buyThe game costed thirty bucks for me, and it lasted me over 3 years (no joke). This game could easily be worth 100 dollars and I'd still buy it. A must-buy Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    As a fan of the Skate series since the first one, I bought this game on release day. And I never looked back. It fixed all the problems of theAs a fan of the Skate series since the first one, I bought this game on release day. And I never looked back. It fixed all the problems of the first and second. Steering was hard, and adjusting the wheels did not help. Now, it's easy to maneuver. The Hall of Meat in Skate 2 was a bit stiff. Now, the player has more control, and the possibility of head-on incidents with saloon cars grows higher every time I play it. The story is a great idea. Legendary skater starts company and sells a million boards? EPIC. And in multi-player, its fun to just whack them with your board, or judo kick them in the face. I see no faults in this perfect installment. Skate 3 defines skateboarding video games. Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2015
    9
    I recently rediscovered the Skate franchise with Skate 3 after finishing the original game many years ago. Skate 3 is a fantastic sandboxI recently rediscovered the Skate franchise with Skate 3 after finishing the original game many years ago. Skate 3 is a fantastic sandbox skating game with great and rewardingly laid out challenges in the single player campaign, it takes everything that made the original game so fantastic and builds upon it tenfold. Skate 3 is a game you can play for 10 minutes or 3 hours and have a blast every time. Expand
  5. Aug 20, 2010
    8
    this game is indeed very good, the controls are great and the world around the player is very polished. there is a good set of missions butthis game is indeed very good, the controls are great and the world around the player is very polished. there is a good set of missions but unlike the first and second game you have a map where you can quick travel between missions meaning there is less need to explore the world around you. the game comes into its own online where you can go head to head in games of s.k.a.t.e, 1up and many more modes. and then there's team play where you create an online team where you can invite your friends. it is a good feature and when you have a team full of friends in real life playing the game with you its one of its stand out moments. but the single player does get boring once you've completed everything to do, and there is a long list of challenges which will last you a very long time. this is definitely worth the score i have given Expand
  6. Aug 1, 2014
    8
    I don't think this game is meant to play for the actual story or game itself... I mean, I guess doing the actual skateboarding stuff is coolI don't think this game is meant to play for the actual story or game itself... I mean, I guess doing the actual skateboarding stuff is cool and all but the real fun is doing "Hall of Meat" and jumping off cliffs and buildings trying to break EVERYTHING and doing the helicopter....or some ridiculous motion while spinning until you hit the ground. It's really fun, especially if you switch off with multiple people so you can all have a good laugh. Expand
  7. May 11, 2017
    4
    I want to love Skate 3, and heck it has everything it should need to be a great game. The first time I played this game I absolutely loved it,I want to love Skate 3, and heck it has everything it should need to be a great game. The first time I played this game I absolutely loved it, I thought it was an solid all around improvement over Skate 1 and 2 due to the new "hardcore" physics. However, any fun that is to be had is quickly lost once you are required to perform multiple tricks in one location in order to pass a challenge. This is when the fun killing NPC's walk in and destroy the game like a wrecking ball. No joke, the NPC's will crowd around any object you need to trick off of, or grind on once you start doing a challenge. At one point in time, I literally had every single NPC in an entire vicinity for where I was at in the game crowding around a rail I had to do multiple grinds on in order to beat a challenge, and their crowding made me continuously fail due to the fact that I kept smacking into the NPC's. By the way, when you accidentally run into an NPC in this game, they will sometimes chase after you, prevent you from respawning, and knock you down yet again afterwards. Worse yet, they all seem to wander around the object you need to trick on aimlessly, even after you restart the challenge. So thanks to the god awful AI, you wind up losing challenges. This becomes frustrating all too quickly due to the fact that getting around the NPC's quickly becomes the greatest challenge in the game. So there. This game might be fantastic if you unlock everything right away and simply play in free skate the entire time. However, if you are looking for a changing and/or fun game to play outside of free skate, look elsewhere. Pros: - Fantastic graphics. No joke, they're top notch, big improvement over the original skate and skate 2. - Improved physics, you can now chose 3 difficulty settings for the physics, the "hardcore" setting makes the game noticeably more realistic - Generally good level design, an improvement over Skate 2. - Good single player... if only you could enjoy it. Cons: - The fact that the NPC's (non-playable characters) are able to destroy the fun factor of the single player portion of the game. - The fact that EA clearly enjoys nickel and diming you for every single piece of online related content they can. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews