Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Apr 23, 2012
    91
    Really, with as solid as the fighting engine is, I'd say it's an absolute steal at $15. I'm looking forward to seeing it on the fighting game tournament circuit this year.
  2. Apr 18, 2012
    100
    It is hard to believe that this game is produced by a small developer, only costs $15, and is downloadable. Not only does it contain almost all the features of a full retail fighting game, but it does almost all of them better. Most critically, the online is perfect and the tutorial actually teaches you how to play fighting games.
  3. Apr 16, 2012
    90
    Skullgirls is proof of what an independent developer with an ear to the people can produce. It was simply engineered in a superior manner, by a team with more freedom than those from larger companies enjoy.
  4. Apr 13, 2012
    92
    I have literally never had this much fun with a fighting game before.
  5. May 13, 2012
    88
    Special moves are easier to do and the tutorial is pleasingly in-depth. [Issue#218, p.81]
  6. Consider a Skullgirls purchase as an investment to preserve the 2D fighting game genre. [June 2012, p.79]
  7. Apr 27, 2012
    88
    It's imaginative and fun thanks to a wide range of combo possibilities. [June 2012, p.81]
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Jun 5, 2012
    4
    Personally i found Skullgirls disappointing. I had high hopes for this game after reading/watching reviews and playing the demo myself but now i regret spending my money on this game. I'm no expert when it comes to fighting games but personally i found the game a little difficult (especially the last boss) when i'm not spamming the same moves which obviously makes the game tedious. Another major problem for me was the fact that there are only 8 characters available!, I understand that the developers wanted to make 8 characters so that they could focus more time on developing the roster but only 8 characters is a joke and again makes the game boring really fast. However i have to admit the characters do look pretty awesome Also combos are nowhere to be seen in the menus and instead they are on the website of the game, i don't have fricking time to check them out. Skulgirls isn't a bad game but it seems that the game is directed at hardcore fighting gamers and isn't accessible for anyone else Full Review »
  2. Apr 12, 2012
    5
    I've been playing fighting games since the first Street Fighter game in the arcades during the 80's. That being said, this game, at times can be enjoyable. However, for me, a huge part of a game's goodness is its aesthetics. I am in my 30's and have a family; this game has a too much T&A for my liking and seems like a cheap tactic to get hormonal challenged little boys interested in the game. It doesn't help that every character in the game is a female, so every character is over sexualized. This is disappointing for those of us who play fighting games for the competition not to get some cheap tawdry thrills off of some weirdly drawn cartoon character.

    That brings me to the art design. It is clear and crisp, as are the animations, which is good. The bad is that the art design looks like it is something out of some cheap Nickelodeon or Cartoon Network anime show. Certainly not the most appealing art design for a game. I know they are trying to standout from other 2d fighters, like KoFXIII and BlazBlue, but, as a result, they end up with a bizarre art style that certainly will not appeal to all.

    People try to defend this game's very small roster with the idea that more characters will come if it is successful. Notice the conditional clause. No one should EVER make a purchase based on a conditional promise, you should buy the game based on what you get out-of-the-box. That being said, in this day and age, 8 characters is just way too few. With other high quality titles available on the PSN & Live, like Street Fighter III: Third Strike OE, Skullgirls doesn't seem like a good value. Anyway, I admit this game isn't for me, and I have given some of the reasons. Its up to you though to decide by trying out the demo. Enjoy.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    I have never really been able to get into a fighting game before. From the Hadokens of street fighter to Blaz Blue's ridiculousness I never felt truly immersed. Then I played Skullgirls. This game is so beautiful and so much fun that I can not stop thinking about it. The game play has so much depth to it that I am thinking about new strategies to use on my opponents as I write this. The art is beautiful and the animation is also spectacular. The lack of a move list is NOT that big of a deal because you can find it online AND each move has simple inputs to where you can figure out each move easily if you are too lazy to go online. Each character is balanced and not one is too powerful or too weak. This game is amazing and with a promise of about 40 characters and a bunch of DLC it is certainly worth the 15$ entry price. Buy this game, because this is the new standard of fighting games and will be a major staple for years to come. Full Review »