Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure PlayStation 3

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    70
    For the children, Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure is like a dream, but is also far too simple.
  2. Nov 29, 2011
    60
    But if you want to play with your children, and they have a few friends whose parents were willing to buy them some additional figurines, then you might be able to get some decent fun out of it. For everyone else, though, Skylanders is a pass.
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    70
    As a game designed to appeal to young boys and sell more merchandise, Skylanders achieves its goals. In the annals of games as marketing tools though, it isn't as compelling as classics like Cool Spot or Chex Quest.
  4. Nov 23, 2011
    70
    Skylanders a charming game with a fascinating toy tie-in, but there isn't much here to offer to older gamers.
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    73
    Long, unskippable cutscenes, an irritating camera and overall easiness keep an otherwise great co-op experience from reaching the top.
  6. 70
    Without plastic figures, Skylanders would have been a lot less interesting. But the way the developers have managed to include them in every aspect of the game makes it a surprisingly positive experience.
  7. Oct 24, 2011
    60
    The 8 to 12 years old kids can easily add 10 points to our review score, which reflects the less transgenerational qualities of Skylanders when compared to Pokémon. But the concept alone, with its little monster toys, works perfectly well, and even on a 34 years old like me... I'm going to keep playing with my kids. Their eyes simply spark when I put a toy on the portal and it materializes in the game!
User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 18
  2. Negative: 8 out of 18
  1. Oct 16, 2011
    10
    Although geared for a younger crowd, very enjoyable. Nice idea for expanding and continuing game.. Simple and just plain fun. I wish more thanAlthough geared for a younger crowd, very enjoyable. Nice idea for expanding and continuing game.. Simple and just plain fun. I wish more than 2 could play and sad you have to buy new characters but my sons and I thoroughly enjoy the game and look forward to more characters and more adventures Full Review »
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    A friend of mine but the $70 game for his kids. Within a week they were begging for more characters. Those characters (the little guys youA friend of mine but the $70 game for his kids. Within a week they were begging for more characters. Those characters (the little guys you place on the base pad) cost $15-$50 depending on which character it is are and where you get them.

    Think of this as Pokemon at $20 a card.

    Your kids are going to want to collect them so every time you go into a store, they are going to be asking for new ones. Different stores carry different versions. There are some versions that are exclusive to Target, GameStop, Toys R Us and so on.

    If you look on the gaming sights you will see most rank the gameplay around as mediocre and nothing new. So you are paying $70 for an average game that you will later pay $100s to add on to.


    This game is more expensive than most games and a lower quality product as far as the gameplay itself goes. You are paying more and getting less. If you want to add to the gameplay you have to pay more money to add more characters. Which increases the cost.

    Lets make a comparison a bit more clear.

    Skylander - $70 with an average user rating of 6.4/10 on Metacritic.

    Lego Batman - $18 with an average user rating of 8.4/10 on Metacritic.

    LEGO Star Wars III: The Clone Wars - $20 with an average user rating of 7.3/10 on Metacritic.

    LittleBigPlanet Game of the Year Edition (my son's personal favorite) - $21 with an average user rating of 8.7/10 on Metacritic

    Three games that are $50 less and have much better ratings

    All the reviews talk about buying the extra characters to make the game fun. So lets say you spend $30 on characters. You know have a game you paid $70 for and then another $30 to upgrade totalling $100 to make it almost as fun as a game you could have bought for $20 that doesn't need upgrades to be good.


    My advice, don't let your kids near this thing and don't waste your money.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    This is a really fun game. Gave it as a gift to my nephews and played for a while them. Great to see how much they liked the toys and beingThis is a really fun game. Gave it as a gift to my nephews and played for a while them. Great to see how much they liked the toys and being able to play with them both in the game and out. For me, being a fan of dungeon crawlers, I was happily surprised by how satisfying the game was and how enjoyable it was to level up my little toys. Best gift ever for kids. Full Review »