Slam Bolt Scrappers PlayStation 3

Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Play UK
    Apr 21, 2011
    73
    With four-player support, you could do a lot worse than Slam Bolt Scrappers. [Issue#204, p.97]
  2. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    May 6, 2011
    70
    Creativity shines through the chaos even when the on-screen actions hits a dizzying crescendo. [June 2011, p.80]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Apr 20, 2011
    70
    Low on longevity, but Slam Bolt Scrappers is loud, brash and brilliantly blocky. [May 2011, p.118]
  4. Mar 18, 2011
    70
    Slam Bolt Scrapper's admirable ambition is also its greatest pitfall. In mashing genre-specific mechanics together, the game sacrifices expertise for breadth, becoming a generalist rather than a specialist. That being said, the freshness of the experience and solid foundation is entertaining and engaging, despite the occasional frustration.
  5. Mar 17, 2011
    70
    If you can make it past the color explosion, and aren't prone to ulcers in high-stress situations, then you'll be coming back for bite-size servings long after you've completed the campaign. If have four friends eager for some trash talk, it's a perfect way to burn through an evening (and inevitably lose some friends).
  6. Mar 24, 2011
    65
    A short campaign and the lack of online multiplayer hobble this ambitious puzzle adventure.
  7. Mar 20, 2011
    62
    Slam Bolt Scrappers is an interesting concept hampered by trying to do too many things without focusing on delivering a solid, overall experience.
  8. Mar 30, 2011
    61
    A lot of great concepts…too many great concepts, in fact, and the charming exterior and good control can't save it. And what's this about no online multiplayer? Really?
  9. Apr 7, 2011
    60
    It's sad you'll spend more of your time fighting to make sense of it rather than simply fighting with your friends.
  10. Apr 6, 2011
    60
    A mix of Tetris and Super Smash Brothers may sound strange but describes Slam Bolt Scrappers surprisingly well. Since it's frantic and surprisingly complex, this isn't a game for everyone, however multiplayer can be a brief but hectic delight.
  11. Apr 4, 2011
    60
    If you're in college or live near lots of friends who regularly visit your abode as a group to play games, Slam Bolt Scrappers is perfect for you. Unfortunately, I don't have either of those luxuries. If you're in the same boat, you may want to think twice before laying down your money.
  12. 60
    Slam Bolt Scrappers serves its course as a good multiplayer title but feels incomplete, especially at its current price of $15. At a little more than a dollar a level, there is tremendous opportunity for a complete world of creative level design that you'll feel cheated out of.
  13. Mar 27, 2011
    60
    Unfortunately, Slam Bolt Scrappers isn't the immediate arcade classic some will have been hoping for. The repetitive gameplay and lack of online multiplayer leaves the overall package feeling somewhat lacklustre. With that said, Scrappers' split-screen competitive play is almost second to none.
  14. Mar 25, 2011
    60
    Slam Bolt Scrappers certainly merits applause for managing to make the idea work at all. But the constant need to multitask makes it feel like you're being persistently harangued by a hyperactive four-year old. If that sounds like your idea of entertainment, be my guest.
  15. Mar 20, 2011
    60
    Though it's quite unique and does a good job of mixing different genres together into one game, Slam Bolt Scrappers is a ho-hum experience.
  16. Mar 16, 2011
    55
    I really dig the core concept for the game, and it's clear to me that developer Fire Hose Games threw its all into trying to make a compelling product for PlayStation 3 gamers. But Slam Bolt Scappers requires a lot of learning, and moreover, the lack of online play in a game that seems to be a no-brainer online offering is outright inexcusable.
  17. Mar 21, 2011
    50
    You may have a modicum of fun with Slam Bolt, but with its short length and unbalanced mechanics, you're mostly in for a bland experience.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    I'm giving SBS a 10 and I totally worked on this game at Fire Hose. My lone datapoint for giving this game a ten is simple: We've beenI'm giving SBS a 10 and I totally worked on this game at Fire Hose. My lone datapoint for giving this game a ten is simple: We've been playing SBS every day since we started working on it. To this day, we still play it constantly in the office. I'm not aware of any other developers that play their own games for fun as much as we do. So I'm giving SBS a 10. I hope you all have as much fun playing it as we do! Full Review »
  2. May 13, 2011
    7
    Brick-stacking puzzler with a competitive twist. As you build, squares turn into weapons like rockets and screws which you can use to attackBrick-stacking puzzler with a competitive twist. As you build, squares turn into weapons like rockets and screws which you can use to attack you opponent's tower. And to get the jigsaw pieces, you have to fight monsters and (bear with me) ninjas, which leave behind special power-ups. It takes a short time to get to grips with everything that's going on, but then it's a frantic, often stressful, but also mega satisfying building battle. It's also at its absolute best in multiplayer, where you can gang up on mates for maximum shouty outrage. Low on longevity, but Slam Bolt Scrappers is loud, brash and brilliantly blocky. Full Review »
  3. Mar 26, 2011
    8
    I reviewed it on PSNStores.com. Until we get off of our asses and transfer our old reviews to our revamped site, our review scores won'tI reviewed it on PSNStores.com. Until we get off of our asses and transfer our old reviews to our revamped site, our review scores won't count on Metacritic. So here's a user review, the least I could do. Great game, especially for couch multiplayer. Unique, fun, and sounds great. http://www.psnstores.com/review/review-slam-bolt-scrappers/ Full Review »