User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 13, 2011
    7
    Brick-stacking puzzler with a competitive twist. As you build, squares turn into weapons like rockets and screws which you can use to attack you opponent's tower. And to get the jigsaw pieces, you have to fight monsters and (bear with me) ninjas, which leave behind special power-ups. It takes a short time to get to grips with everything that's going on, but then it's a frantic, often stressful, but also mega satisfying building battle. It's also at its absolute best in multiplayer, where you can gang up on mates for maximum shouty outrage. Low on longevity, but Slam Bolt Scrappers is loud, brash and brilliantly blocky. Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2011
    8
    I reviewed it on PSNStores.com. Until we get off of our asses and transfer our old reviews to our revamped site, our review scores won't count on Metacritic. So here's a user review, the least I could do. Great game, especially for couch multiplayer. Unique, fun, and sounds great. http://www.psnstores.com/review/review-slam-bolt-scrappers/
  3. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    I'm giving SBS a 10 and I totally worked on this game at Fire Hose. My lone datapoint for giving this game a ten is simple: We've been playing SBS every day since we started working on it. To this day, we still play it constantly in the office. I'm not aware of any other developers that play their own games for fun as much as we do. So I'm giving SBS a 10. I hope you all have as much fun playing it as we do! Collapse
  4. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    I have to say picked this up earlier in the week and it's a fantastic game. I'm having a lot of fun playing couch multi-player with my brother. There's no online multiplayer, but this is the kind of game you want to sit beside your opponent so you can smack talk!
  5. Mar 24, 2011
    0
    I'm giving SBS a 10 and I totally worked on this game at Fire Hose. My lone datapoint for giving this game a ten is simple: We've been playing SBS every day since we started working on it. To this day, we still play it constantly in the office. I'm not aware of any other developers that play their own games for fun as much as we do. So I'm giving SBS a 10. I hope you all have as much fun playing it as we do! Collapse
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Creativity shines through the chaos even when the on-screen actions hits a dizzying crescendo. [June 2011, p.80]
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    73
    With four-player support, you could do a lot worse than Slam Bolt Scrappers. [Issue#204, p.97]
  3. Low on longevity, but Slam Bolt Scrappers is loud, brash and brilliantly blocky. [May 2011, p.118]