User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 592 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 80 out of 592

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    The game is amazing!!! great hand-to-hand combat, driving is pretty good, and the gunplay is good. I don't know how they did it but they have amazing actors from both Hong Kong cinema and hollywood.(Emma Stone, Edison Chen, Lucy Liu and many more).Overall i would say go get this game now!!!
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    this game is great, the fighting is top notch, driving top notch, graphics better eway better than gta or saint's, great sound track, this game is the best open world game yet, esp combat, its like batman but more violent , graphics superb, almost as good as max 3, guess rockstar pays for reviews if reviewers give this less than a 8.5
  3. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    The fighting is awesome driving is a blast and everything about this game is just Brilliant! GET THIS GAME IF YOU HAVENT ALREADY! Its worth every penny and second of your time!
  4. Sep 12, 2012
    9
    Sleeping Dogs is an amazing game, very polished graphics, and fun varied missions. The story really draws you in, and the side missions are great fun.....if you like open world games in the mold of GTA then
    get this game
  5. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Exceptionally good voice acting.The Hong Kong is really well designed.Driving is not that exciting but not bad either.Melee system is just brilliant.A must have if you like open world games.
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    Let me preface by saying that my actual score is 9.5. For the people who don't like to read, I can summarize my review by saying that Sleeping Dogs is an incredibly fun game with a gripping story, arkham city style combat, nfs style driving and gta style open world-ness (but better) - if you haven't bought it yet, then you should go do so NOW! Sleeping Dog's story revolves aroundLet me preface by saying that my actual score is 9.5. For the people who don't like to read, I can summarize my review by saying that Sleeping Dogs is an incredibly fun game with a gripping story, arkham city style combat, nfs style driving and gta style open world-ness (but better) - if you haven't bought it yet, then you should go do so NOW! Sleeping Dog's story revolves around Wei Shen, who is an undercover Hong Kong cop trying to infiltrate the fictional Sun-on-Yee - I'm not going to go further into detail, but suffice to say that it's a story that pays tribute to the classic Hong Kong flicks of yore, and has plenty of, "what a twist!", moments... The recreated Hong Kong feels bustling and alive - there's street vendors and whole bazaars, all of which you can interact with. I feel as though I should mention that as I looked at some of the stores near one of my apartments, they were literally cardboard cutouts, so while this is still one of the most interactive sandboxes out there, if United Front was given more time, they could have made the city even more alive. Even the side missions are, for the most part, awesome - the racing is expectedly great given that a lot of these guys used to work for Black box - you can bet on **** (get your mind out of the gutter), be IN fights, and clear out gangs (thought that does get repetitive). All of which fuels an upgrade system that has three branches; triad, cop and super awesome ninja stuff. That's not even mentioning the glorious amount of costumes! I also love the fact that they actually speak Chinese half the time (there's subtitles), and it further lends to the game's authenticity. The actors do an amazing job at portraying the characters as well. I have seen other reviews complaining about the graphics - I really don't understand that - to me, the graphics looked great, the animations where smooth as butter, the draw distance was good (little to no pop in), and the frame-rate was consistent. To me, this game is on par, graphically to red dead redemption, and certainly looks better than games like grand theft auto 4 and saints row 3. Maybe reviewers only care about particle effects and lighting... Also, I have to mention that the soundtrack is sublime; ninja tune and warp radio actually features some real dub-step and break-beat (not the skrillex style stuff) - here's a link to one of the songs - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gpgHyCNCDO4&feature=BFa&list=FLNJ6aRWikauOTEZlQZLNKUw Overall, this game is a true underrated gem, it should be experienced by anyone who owns a gaming system or PC - I have not had this much fun with a game in a long time! Stop reading stuff on meta-critic and go buy this game now, you won't regret it! Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    Really want to give the game an 8.5 to be realistic. Its nothing new or ground breaking but it is a great story, great voice acting. You can unlock everything on one playthru if you want. The hand to hand is excellent, absolutely fabulous. It didn't need a lot of gun play since it was based in Martial Arts, which as I say was done very well. If you like open world games and you areReally want to give the game an 8.5 to be realistic. Its nothing new or ground breaking but it is a great story, great voice acting. You can unlock everything on one playthru if you want. The hand to hand is excellent, absolutely fabulous. It didn't need a lot of gun play since it was based in Martial Arts, which as I say was done very well. If you like open world games and you are looking for something a little different pick up Sleeping Dogs. The last third of the game is pretty buggy and there are problems with missions and cut scenes here and there but I could forgive that since the over all game itself really kept me involved. Expand
  8. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    This game is an absolute blast! I love the fighting and driving. Normally I skip cinematics in games, but I'm getting sucked into the story. I want a pork bun now!
  9. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    It's just amazing. Stunning almost next-gen graphic, fun gameplay, cool story, eastern mood, authenticity. It is much better than GTA4. Watch out, Rockstar.
  10. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    AWESOME! The only thing that lets me down is DRIVING. Physics is awful, but all the other things like FIGHTS, story, rainy Hong Kong, variety of missions, great design, where all skills ore useful and really make you walk through mission, and clothing not only looks good but raises your stats.. All those things are truly awesomely made! Great job guys!
  11. Sep 7, 2012
    9
    Great game for sure. I really have nothing to complain about with this game at all. The driving is excellent as is the hand to hand combat. The hand to hand combat is actually fantastic, as good or better than the batman games IMO. Plenty to do and see all throughout Hong Kong. The story is typical gangster stuff but who cares when everything else is so good. Just the fact that it isGreat game for sure. I really have nothing to complain about with this game at all. The driving is excellent as is the hand to hand combat. The hand to hand combat is actually fantastic, as good or better than the batman games IMO. Plenty to do and see all throughout Hong Kong. The story is typical gangster stuff but who cares when everything else is so good. Just the fact that it is set in Hong Kong is a nice change of pace from some faux NYC setting. The gunplay is great as well...going on head shot rampages is great fun. Overall I highly recommend Sleeping Dogs, especially if you are a fan of GTA style games! Expand
  12. Aug 24, 2012
    9
    Great game! Has lots of depth, a gripping story and plenty of side missions and tasks to keep this neat package very entertaining through out. The GTA comparisons will be a given, but the hand to hand combat and shooting are far superior in Sleeping Dogs. The only downside is the driving which feels very ropey and can be a chore at times. But that being said I really can't recommend thisGreat game! Has lots of depth, a gripping story and plenty of side missions and tasks to keep this neat package very entertaining through out. The GTA comparisons will be a given, but the hand to hand combat and shooting are far superior in Sleeping Dogs. The only downside is the driving which feels very ropey and can be a chore at times. But that being said I really can't recommend this highly enough. Expand
  13. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    the best hand-to-hand combat you'll ever see on a open world game, gunfights are amazing and this game makes you feel human and not some rambo wich never can die. this game makes you feel on the skin of the character, story and all and not another game wich have shallow generic story but lives for the franchise name. tired of the same western car stealing cliché game? try this one,the best hand-to-hand combat you'll ever see on a open world game, gunfights are amazing and this game makes you feel human and not some rambo wich never can die. this game makes you feel on the skin of the character, story and all and not another game wich have shallow generic story but lives for the franchise name. tired of the same western car stealing cliché game? try this one, fresh and fun with the good old orient touch! if you don't buy, then you're missing a great game. word of advince don't miss a great game because of the trolls wich gives a 0 rating !! Expand
  14. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    not as polished as GTA (newer ones). but does a lot of things better. hand to hand is better x100. context kills. slo mo. disarms. environment traversal. action hijack. weapons are infrequent and feel deadly. 2 chops from a cleaver and your dead. Hong Kong done well (not in america, yay!). particularly novel if you understand cantonese. you feel like your in a HK movie with all the kung funot as polished as GTA (newer ones). but does a lot of things better. hand to hand is better x100. context kills. slo mo. disarms. environment traversal. action hijack. weapons are infrequent and feel deadly. 2 chops from a cleaver and your dead. Hong Kong done well (not in america, yay!). particularly novel if you understand cantonese. you feel like your in a HK movie with all the kung fu counters, sliding across stuff into dudes and weapon disarms and kills. Expand
  15. Aug 27, 2012
    9
    Sleeping Dogs after over five years in production and changing publishers a few times finally arrives. and turns out to be pretty damn good. Great that square enix saw the games potential and decided to take a chance the programming team have done a great job on the mission structure and ingame graphics that it still looks good on a par graphically with gta4 for the main part. TheSleeping Dogs after over five years in production and changing publishers a few times finally arrives. and turns out to be pretty damn good. Great that square enix saw the games potential and decided to take a chance the programming team have done a great job on the mission structure and ingame graphics that it still looks good on a par graphically with gta4 for the main part. The combat is mainly unarmed close quarters with an array of martial arts moves to unlock as you progress by completing the cop/gangster missions and the side missions that give you a face bonus. face is a Japanese-Chinese for respect and it is very important in their societies that they must never lose face and strive to gain and keep face. the main story progresses thru completing the cop/gangster missions as you play officer shen wei who is an undercover cop entrenched in the triad gangs. you start out as a foot soldier and work youre way up the ranks. there are loads of mini sub challenges ie how many parking meters can you ram thru and collect cash from in arow, hijacking and robbing armored trucks for extra money,how many triads you can beat down with less than 5 seconds between the next one. car races in each area. some of these need unlocking by completing certain side missions. there are leader boards for the main game missions and side missions and you can replay them all simply by using your ingame phone to select a mission. there are also loads of collectables all over Hongkong to collect for the 100%achievement trophy. i completed the game in 35hrs main and sub missions but have still to collect all items and random face missions are still appearing. Sleeping dogs is one of the surprises of the year . yes you will have played similar missions before if you like open world games but sleeping dogs hong kong holds up well and its world is believable. Well worth buying if you love playing open world games at youre own pace. 8.5 but 9 for re-playability. Expand
  16. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    SD is the only crime open world game were the shooting, driving and melee combat are done near perfection. The story is good and so is the voice acting but the story feels too short because I'm having too much fun with it. But don't think the game is short because it isn't, I just wish it was longer. The game includes some bugs some of which are actually funny and also the game looks goodSD is the only crime open world game were the shooting, driving and melee combat are done near perfection. The story is good and so is the voice acting but the story feels too short because I'm having too much fun with it. But don't think the game is short because it isn't, I just wish it was longer. The game includes some bugs some of which are actually funny and also the game looks good but it won't blow you away and it doesn't have to. This is a really, really good piece of entertainment. Sleeping Dogs is on par or even better than GTA IV in the gameplay department. Expand
  17. Aug 27, 2012
    9
    For a game that is unoriginal insofar as it borrows its elements from existing games, Sleeping Dogs has actually broken all my once immutable and sacred rules for what makes a 'good' game. For one, Sleeping Dogs lacks polish. If you've played Arkham City, Sleeping Dog's combat can seem clunky and at times unresponsive. Admittedly, most games' combat would pale in comparison to Arkham butFor a game that is unoriginal insofar as it borrows its elements from existing games, Sleeping Dogs has actually broken all my once immutable and sacred rules for what makes a 'good' game. For one, Sleeping Dogs lacks polish. If you've played Arkham City, Sleeping Dog's combat can seem clunky and at times unresponsive. Admittedly, most games' combat would pale in comparison to Arkham but nonetheless, that bar has been set and SD falls short. Secondly, wonky camera angles. This used to be a deal-breaker, more for me than for most I've been told but nonetheless, prior to SD, I would never have praised a game with wonky camera angles. Thirdly, egregiously outdated graphics. I understand that SD has been in development for a long time but it looks almost last gen. All in all, SD seems like a game for which I would wait for a huge price drop before buying (19.99 - 29.99 tops). But strangely this is not the case. In word, SD is just plain FUN. And in the end, that's why I play games. Every moment I spent playing SD was a moment spent having so much fun. I was immersed in the story and didn't feel side-tracked by the extra missions, mini-games, and side-quests. I almost never enjoy mini-games and here I was, hoping I was going to have to hack a camera, plant a bug, crack a safe, etc. I'm not the biggest fan of open world games but I loved exploring Hong Kong, which was not an accurate recreation but still far from a simulacrum. I had more fun fighting in SD than I did in Arkham City, I had as much and at some points even more fun exploring and playing mini-games as I did in Red Dead, and I was almost as engrossed in the story as I was in Uncharted 2 and 3. I really don't know how to score this game. From a "fun-factor" perspective, buy this game now; it's worth every penny. I suppose if I were a critic, I would have to point out its flaws and give it a satisfactory score (7ish out of 10, perhaps) but that score does not illustrate the enjoyment you'll experience playing this game. So I guess I'll just recommend that you buy it and buy it today. Other good points: If you're busy and are forced to shun long, expansive, open-world games, SD is strangely a game you can play--the way the missions are broken down, the way the side quests don't distract from the main story, you'll be able to play this game in 45-60min chunks instead of the marathon sessions usually warranted by games in this genre. Worth the 59.99 US price. Highly recommend, flaws and all. Expand
  18. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    Too bad a couple of trolls who are taking issue with one of the voice actors, are ruining the user score here.

    It is an exciting game with lots of depth, great hand-fights (the best in an open world) and better graphics than GTA. You reaally feel like the star in an exciting movie. Everything works well together, even the driving. You have to make moral choices, the characters are
    Too bad a couple of trolls who are taking issue with one of the voice actors, are ruining the user score here.

    It is an exciting game with lots of depth, great hand-fights (the best in an open world) and better graphics than GTA. You reaally feel like the star in an exciting movie. Everything works well together, even the driving. You have to make moral choices, the characters are believable and everything is cool!
    Expand
  19. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    I haven't had as much fun with an open world game since GTA 3. Sleeping dogs had me invested from the first moment to the last. Everything about the game is well executed, from the fighting, to the driving, to the cover based shooting, it's all very well executed. The thing that really got me though is the characters, from the main character, Wei, to any of the other various characters II haven't had as much fun with an open world game since GTA 3. Sleeping dogs had me invested from the first moment to the last. Everything about the game is well executed, from the fighting, to the driving, to the cover based shooting, it's all very well executed. The thing that really got me though is the characters, from the main character, Wei, to any of the other various characters I was impressed. The story is very well told and helps add depth to, Wei, as he goes deeper undercover. I came in alittle late on getting it, but I'm so glad I got this game! To sum it up, it's nothing short of amazing and deserves to be in everyone's library. It also had a butt load of DLC, all worth the investment. So of you haven't played sleeping dogs, go do so now! Expand
  20. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    Well I wrote my PC review under the PS3 version and I have no idea how to delete a review. Great going, me! Regardless, the graphics may be poorer on the console w/o the high-res pack, but many of the bugs plaguing the port should not be there. A great game all-in-all.
  21. Sep 4, 2012
    9
    This is a wonderful game! It is much more realistic compared to GTA IV! The storyline is fabulous and this time the characters are credible. The atmosphere is awesome, Hong Kong looks amazing and the missions are alternately. Driving is very smooth and shooting has a great, raw sound. There are different side characters who have a credible personality. A bad thing about it is the fact itThis is a wonderful game! It is much more realistic compared to GTA IV! The storyline is fabulous and this time the characters are credible. The atmosphere is awesome, Hong Kong looks amazing and the missions are alternately. Driving is very smooth and shooting has a great, raw sound. There are different side characters who have a credible personality. A bad thing about it is the fact it is at some points an exact copy of GTA, sometimes i got the feeling the were too lazy to make some small changes. Like when you drive someone to somewhere. At one moment they say: ''OMG WHAT ARE YOU DOING'' and the other moment they continue their scripted conversation, even if the car is spinning a 100 times around They were also too lazy to make a slightly different health bar, other place to put the mini map and so on. Other very good things are the ability to hijack cars when driving, to ram other vehicles, to shoot in slow motion while driving and not to mention the extensive combat system with a lot of upgrade possibilities. It is also great you gain more respect when the story goes on, which is a great role play element, just like the police upgradeds.
    The chases are also very spectacular and overall the missions are really originally and all have a connectedness, which all makes Sleeping Dogs an adventure to never forget.
    Expand
  22. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Biboran xyecoc! And Pidoras ebanniy маму его в рот ебал!Адепты пидарасы,мэддисон намба ван.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  23. Sep 7, 2012
    9
    There should be a rewind option during the credits, the people who made this are amazing. A good reason to buy or own a ps3. If you liked Grand Theft Auto IV and are waiting for V check this game out and be on the side of the law for a change. Ground combat system like Arkham games, solid vehicle mechanics too.
  24. Sep 8, 2012
    10
    Is it really possible that someone made an open world game better than GTA?! YES!!! Thank you UFG! One of the best games I have ever played. Great plot, missions, soundtrack, cars etc. Must buy and play for everyone. GOTY 2012!
  25. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When will the next generation console? Can no longer play this **** that is one-third the cost of the console itself! Enough to cheat on dollars people! Nice clean mushrooms machete than play this game. Expand
  26. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    It finally happened! They put Hong Kong in one of greatest open-world games of all time! They put so much work in to Sleeping Dogs. The focus on the Kung Fu was so crazy sick. Let me just say there's so much to do with this game and I should know cause I have 100% game completion & 20 DLC packs. From a great storyline to an amazing world where you can break Chinese bones. Honestly this isIt finally happened! They put Hong Kong in one of greatest open-world games of all time! They put so much work in to Sleeping Dogs. The focus on the Kung Fu was so crazy sick. Let me just say there's so much to do with this game and I should know cause I have 100% game completion & 20 DLC packs. From a great storyline to an amazing world where you can break Chinese bones. Honestly this is a pure masterpiece. Expand
  27. Sep 14, 2012
    9
    I would give 10 out of 10 but there's no such a thing as a flawless game. That being said, Sleeping Dogs is nearly there. It drinks from the GTA fountain, obviously, but it takes the original concept further. We all know what's there, we've all seen everything here, but it never gets old somehow. Better, it feels fresh. It has personality, soul, charm. The Hong Kong setting fits this gameI would give 10 out of 10 but there's no such a thing as a flawless game. That being said, Sleeping Dogs is nearly there. It drinks from the GTA fountain, obviously, but it takes the original concept further. We all know what's there, we've all seen everything here, but it never gets old somehow. Better, it feels fresh. It has personality, soul, charm. The Hong Kong setting fits this game well and the [although a bit linear] story is interesting and engaging. There's a lot of violence, humour and fun to be had here. For many, many hours. This is a game no one was giving much credit and turns out it's simply one of the best games of 2012 and one that owns a solid ground on this generation's best titles. MUST NOT BE MISSED, even if you are not a sandbox fan. Expand
  28. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    When True Crime: Hong Kong was cancelled, I was really sad. When Square
    Enix picked it back up, I was jumping for joy. When I got the game (Now
    named Sleeping Dogs), I can't say I'm not impressed. From jumping to moving cars, to fighting in street brawls, Sleeping Dogs works. You play as an under cover cop named Wei Shen. Your objective is to explore the criminal underworld in hopes of
    When True Crime: Hong Kong was cancelled, I was really sad. When Square
    Enix picked it back up, I was jumping for joy. When I got the game (Now
    named Sleeping Dogs), I can't say I'm not impressed. From jumping to
    moving cars, to fighting in street brawls, Sleeping Dogs works. You play as an under cover cop named Wei Shen. Your objective is to explore
    the criminal underworld in hopes of creating a better tomorrow. Most
    people will have bought this game for the fighting. Easy enough,
    because it's really fun. It takes the fighting system from the Batman:
    Arkham games. Countering and combining moves is satisfying. I randomly
    join one of the various fight clubs when I think I have had enough time
    racing, doing errands, or busting bad guys for selling drugs. There are
    plenty of chases, fights and tension to go around in Sleeping Dogs. The
    game is open world, and features side quests and lots of activities.
    The game has also been said to be around 20 hours long without
    collecting the many collectibles, which is long for this type of game.

    As with every game, It has a few weak spots. One of the things that
    stand out is the shooting. It's a little easy and stale, and some of
    the controls are slow to respond. The driving camera has become a
    bother because it wants to be behind you at all times despite your own
    wishes. But even with these things, Sleeping Dogs remains a blast to play.
    Anyone that is a fan of movies like The Raid: Redemption will want to
    play this game to get a small feel of what it's like to be the bad butt
    fighter that can't be hit.
    Expand
  29. Sep 3, 2012
    9
    i love this game so good action voice actor of emma stone which provided to be cool the car super fast which everything nice crime open world only thing is wrong bout it that i did not give it a 10 is fighting part is bit dodge in a meaning where i bout to fight another Ai Enemy wei stop and get into attack pose and he get hit before i can react
  30. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    biggest sleeper and my personal favorite overall game of 2012. Think of a cross between gta and saints row, more gta-style gameplay, and the arcade style feel of saints row. I love the physical combat and interactive sets where you can drop a bad guy in. The story was pretty good and addicting although doesn't really bring anything new to the genre; but were anyone expecting anything elsebiggest sleeper and my personal favorite overall game of 2012. Think of a cross between gta and saints row, more gta-style gameplay, and the arcade style feel of saints row. I love the physical combat and interactive sets where you can drop a bad guy in. The story was pretty good and addicting although doesn't really bring anything new to the genre; but were anyone expecting anything else in this style of game? Expand
  31. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    This game is so ridiculously fun....which is what most games are lacking nowadays. Its funny when I saw trailers of this game, it made me sick, I was just like o god, they are taking gta design and combining with hong kong, this is going to be atrocious, but this game is a definitely a sleeper hit...better than most of the hyped games this year. This game has top notch everything,This game is so ridiculously fun....which is what most games are lacking nowadays. Its funny when I saw trailers of this game, it made me sick, I was just like o god, they are taking gta design and combining with hong kong, this is going to be atrocious, but this game is a definitely a sleeper hit...better than most of the hyped games this year. This game has top notch everything, controls, scenery, graphics, color, lighting, detail, design, hong kong vibe, music, dialogue, story, characters, voice acting. I've already played halo 4 and assassins creed 3, but this game is so much more fun and all around better game. I love when a developer just blows all of my expectations away. This is one of those games. This is what an open world game should be like. Most open world games have the graphics and real life feeling but the game is not fun to play and more like a chore. Which kind of defeats the purpose of a game eh? This is the best open world game I've played. Not a chorefest like Red Dead or GTA, or Assassins Creed. Expand
  32. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    Easily one of the best games on the ps3 and Xbox 360.
    A living breathing open world of crime, street racing and martial arts, what more could you want?
    From the seamless combat to the fast pace racing, united front games knew exactly what they were doing, and pulled it all off amazingly.
    If your a fan of open world sandbox games this is a must buy!
  33. Aug 27, 2012
    9
    Me ha sorprendido este juego, no tendra lo ultimo en graficos como he podido ver en witcher 2 o skyrim pero si tiene una historia muy interesante, un modo de combate mejorado del visto en batman, con interaccion con escenarios y una jugabilidad que engancha desde el principio. Le ha faltado marketing o publicidad pero si le dais una oportunidad puede ser de lo mejor del año
  34. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    I can't believe this, but Sleeping Dogs is my game of the year so far and one of my favorite of the decade. It as one thing that most game lack and it's an amazing story. The action is great, you never know what is going to happen next and it keeps your adrenalin pumping. For me it's perfection!
  35. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Sleeping Dogs is a game that almost never saw the light of day, which is shocking considering how good this game turned out. The core gameplay in Sleeping Dogs offers a lot of variety. The driving is fun and arcade-like, so the handling is simple and intuitive, but it offers depth, like ramming your enemies off of the road or jumping from your car to another car and jacking it. TheSleeping Dogs is a game that almost never saw the light of day, which is shocking considering how good this game turned out. The core gameplay in Sleeping Dogs offers a lot of variety. The driving is fun and arcade-like, so the handling is simple and intuitive, but it offers depth, like ramming your enemies off of the road or jumping from your car to another car and jacking it. The shooting is basic, so it doesn't offer much depth, but there is a bullet-time feature, a la Max Payne, which makes gun combat really fun, though it must be noted that gun combat is not the focus of the game. Now onto melee, which is the focus of the game, is similar to the combat in Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, meaning it's a ton of fun and pretty stylish. In addition, you can use context-sensitive environmental attacks, allowing you to shove an enemy's head in a fan, throw him in a dumpster, impale him on swordfish, etc. It's all handled pretty gracefully and flows together nicely. Now onto the parkour, which is a real blast. Your character can climb, jump, leap, etc., so your character has real agility and makes you feel like you can get away from any bad situation or chase after those who are trying to escape you. Sleeping Dogs has a lot of talent, all lending to the story, voice acting, and the cast of characters. In many pre-release trailers and previews, they pointed out Hollywood talent like Emma Stone, but just about everyone here contributes their voice talents to make the story and characters interesting and fully realized. While the story isn't original, it's done so well that originality isn't necessary. This is a game that knows what it wants to be and completely succeeds at it. This is a top notch production from beginning to end. Without a doubt, Sleeping Dogs is my favorite looking game of this kind. To compare, you have Grand Theft Auto IV and the Saints Row games, and I believe Sleeping Dogs is the most impressive looking of the bunch. While the map is smaller and surely allows for more details, it's those details that make the world feel like it's living and breathing, which adds to the overall atmosphere of this beautiful world that is yours to explore and discover all of the little secrets it has packed within it. Expand
  36. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    I just finished this game and loved every minute of it! This game is my "sleeper retail game of the year" (no pun intended). This is obviously a GTA make-off, but it is done so well! I enjoyed this game more than the GTA and Saints Row series. If you are looking for an open world GTA, Saints Row, Red Dead, Max Payne type game... you have to give this a try. Here is what I liked mostI just finished this game and loved every minute of it! This game is my "sleeper retail game of the year" (no pun intended). This is obviously a GTA make-off, but it is done so well! I enjoyed this game more than the GTA and Saints Row series. If you are looking for an open world GTA, Saints Row, Red Dead, Max Payne type game... you have to give this a try. Here is what I liked most about the game:
    1. Fluid Combat - best open world combat system yet. 2. Engaging Story - This game is very story driven. I really got into the story and really enjoyed playing as an undercover cop. Great characters in the game as well as great voice acting.
    3. Great Pacing - This game has excellent pacing. In an open world, this is usually the struggle. Provide the ability to do anything, but still maintain direction for game/storyline progression. 4. RPG elements - I love that you level up your character! There are four categories to level up your character. Dojo Training, Triad skills, Police skills and building your "Health". Dojo training help you learn more combos and powerful moves in combat. The Triad and Police skills help you become deal more damage, take more damage, react quicker, help you shot better, slow down time while shooting, etc.
    5. High Replay - Even though I finished the main story line, I don't feel finished with the game. I am excited each time I re-enter the world of Hong Kong. There are still many things to achieve past the main story line. If you like to fight, there are always people to fight. If you like to race cars, there are always people to race. If you like to date, offer help to people in need (usually a chase involved), investigate murders or even gamble on **** fights... It's all there waiting for you!

    I especially loved heading into a group of 10-20 people knowing that I could most likely take them via "Kung Fu" and not guns. The combat in this game is the best I have played in an open world. I agree that the combat is very similar to Batman's combat system (Arkham games), but this combat system is even more fluid, faster and easier. Countering is brilliant in this game. The enemy will turn red when you need to counter. I loved how obvious they make it. When you have 15 people you are fighting, you will be glad the counter system is there to assist you!

    The only issues I had with the game were minimal:
    1. Depending on car placement, sometimes the door gets in the way. You can always climb on the car and usually overcome this.
    2. Main storyline was a bit short. I really liked the story and wanted more. As I understand there will be DLC to provide more story.
    3. When fighting "brawlers" there are often QTE (Quick Time Events). After awhile you realize it's always the same buttons based on a bear hug or a floor stomp.
    Expand
  37. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Great story, the best combat in any open world game, rpg style combat system, amazing graphics, and Hong Kong, A great new IP. Interact with the environment, grappling npc and smashing them into a car door or put them in a trunk. Shooting is very fluid also and driving is top notch. Way better than GTA IV buy this game, it really is a sleeper.
  38. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    i re-write this review because i noctise that i rated it 7.5 but really, Sleeping Dog is the game that i played the most, i have got MW3, Assassin's Creed III those kind of popular games. If u let me choose i will play Sleeping Dogs. Good quailty, fun places, fun controls, hot charecters, excited street fighting, BOOM!!!!!
  39. Jan 9, 2013
    9
    DEMO Review the game is like saints row meets batman arkham city the graphics are really nice and the setting is really cool i also like how you get rewarded for hitting evil people and the asian accents r spot on
  40. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing it has an awesome story that keeps you on the edge of your seat. The game play is great the fighting system is great, watching Wei Shen fight is crazy. The graphics are good but some textures look bad like the blood texture. Overall the game is great and fun you will love. I got it for 20 dollars on sale but it is worth the 59.99 dollars price tag
  41. Mar 2, 2013
    9
    This game has a fantastic open world with plenty to do in it, but at the same time has an involved, engrossing story and excellent characters. The driving, fighting and exploration are well done, and I felt a part of the Hong Kong scene while playing this game. I highly recommend Sleepy Dogs to anyone who likes open world games with mature and often hardcore themes, and wants toThis game has a fantastic open world with plenty to do in it, but at the same time has an involved, engrossing story and excellent characters. The driving, fighting and exploration are well done, and I felt a part of the Hong Kong scene while playing this game. I highly recommend Sleepy Dogs to anyone who likes open world games with mature and often hardcore themes, and wants to experience gang-style life in the safety of their own home, with some wacky humour and crazy thrown in for good measure. Expand
  42. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    great story ,,long ,great action,, nice visuals>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
  43. May 9, 2013
    9
    Really awesome game!! I loved the the undercover cop story, it played out in a way where no two missions were exactly the same; they were always mixing it up! On top of the that, the hand to hand combat is some of the best and most brutal i've seen in a game! Definitely go check this one out!
  44. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    Sleeping Dogs is a strange mix of Assassin's Creed, Arkham City, Max Payne, Grand Theft Auto and Yakuza. All this hodgepodge can be confusing reading it in a review, but trust me, this game is the surprise of the year. The parkour it's simple but fun, the combat is also simple, but can be complexed by improvements; the bullet time works great and the open-world gameplay is just really fun:Sleeping Dogs is a strange mix of Assassin's Creed, Arkham City, Max Payne, Grand Theft Auto and Yakuza. All this hodgepodge can be confusing reading it in a review, but trust me, this game is the surprise of the year. The parkour it's simple but fun, the combat is also simple, but can be complexed by improvements; the bullet time works great and the open-world gameplay is just really fun: you have tons of side missions and quests to do. The story is excellent, but the only problem I have with this is game is with the chinese that is spoken in the middle of an english conversation. What's up with that? It's just like the italian spoken in Assassin's Creed II! Why didn't they make the full game in Chinese? Is there a reason to put random sentences in another language? What's the point? Whatever, the game is great. Expand
  45. Mar 6, 2014
    9
    Really good open world game, take you to china and make you fell that is an authentic city, good story and a well made combat system, i prefer to fight people rather than use the weapons :D
  46. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    after a rocky launch squenix proved that they care about their customers and continue to patch the game (version 1.9 already!) its a great pc port with great performance, great voice acting, and good looking textures. and the melee fighting system is amazing.
  47. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    Terrific game and a pleasant surprise. I didn't think I would enjoy the Hong-Kong theme as much as I did.
    The biggest strengths about Sleeping dogs is the story and character development and the story missions are both entertaining and varied. If you have played GTA you know what to expect of this type of open world. You can steal cars, hire a cab, find easter eggs and so forth. Some
    Terrific game and a pleasant surprise. I didn't think I would enjoy the Hong-Kong theme as much as I did.
    The biggest strengths about Sleeping dogs is the story and character development and the story missions are both entertaining and varied. If you have played GTA you know what to expect of this type of open world. You can steal cars, hire a cab, find easter eggs and so forth. Some things are better than GTA, like the obvious fighting mechanic but also the shooting feels more responsive and fun because of bulletime and that it doesn't get as repetitive. Graphics and especially lightning is very well done. The reason Sleeping dogs gets a nine and not a ten is because of some bugs and glitches, like the terrific "trapped on a bus" bug, as well as a few random console freezes. Also if you stop playing for a second and start observing the world its pretty clear the world doesn't move by its own. Cars can appear behind you on a closed road and emergency personnel never leaves a crash site. Some proper ragdoll physics would be appreciated too. Despite these issues, its a great action game with a proper story and interesting characters. A good buy!
    Expand
  48. May 19, 2013
    9
    If you played GTA IV and enjoyed it. Then Sleeping Dogs is for you. It's almost the same as GTA IV in terms of experience and content. But different story and different region of the world. Also here you are a cop undercover.
    Car handling is was better and GTA so I'm enjoying racing much more. Character animation isn't as good as GTA but it's fine.
    You got similar content like GTA. e.g.
    If you played GTA IV and enjoyed it. Then Sleeping Dogs is for you. It's almost the same as GTA IV in terms of experience and content. But different story and different region of the world. Also here you are a cop undercover.
    Car handling is was better and GTA so I'm enjoying racing much more. Character animation isn't as good as GTA but it's fine.
    You got similar content like GTA. e.g. Stealing cars and deliver them, races, dating, favours etc....
    There is also new contents like fighting clubs.
    The story is cool. I liked it. And side missions is kind of connected to the story.
    Over all 9/10
    Expand
  49. Oct 15, 2012
    9
    First of all I would just like to point out that in my opinion Sleeping Dogs is not better than Red Dead Redemption or GTAIV from R*. However is does run both games (especially GTAIV) very close. Sleeping dogs has a multitude of different play styles included in the overall package such as hand to hand combat, slo mo over the top gun play, high speed driving and small mini games. EachFirst of all I would just like to point out that in my opinion Sleeping Dogs is not better than Red Dead Redemption or GTAIV from R*. However is does run both games (especially GTAIV) very close. Sleeping dogs has a multitude of different play styles included in the overall package such as hand to hand combat, slo mo over the top gun play, high speed driving and small mini games. Each element borrows from other games (Arkham City, Max Payne 3, Need for Speed and Yakuza). None of these styles is better than what was in the games that clearly influenced Sleeping Dogs but neither are any of them bad, trumping most if not all other open world games. The missions are varied and the voice acting is superb (for the record the fact that Edison Chen has real world troubles should really not be used to criticise a game, if you really need to criticise the producers/developers for using him), the game is of a good length at approximately 20 hours but does fall short of Bethesda and R*'s open worlds for longevity. Another area where Sleeping Dogs falls short to R*'s recent titles is in the area of storytelling. Sleeping Dogs story is in no way bad and is entertaining throughout, however at times the plot is hard to follows and I occasionally felt as if I had missed something during a mission as I couldn't figure out why events were playing out the way they were. This occurred mostly in the middle of the game as the beginning and especially the end (which is a rip-roaring thrill ride like no other I have played in recent years) were very well paced and easy to follow. Despite its few flaws Sleeping Dogs is greater that the sum of its parts, Melee combat is intuitive and visceral with some truly gruesome moves, Shooting is a minor weak point but when transitioning from Melee to Slo-mo shooting while jumping off a flaming roof it can be exhilarating, Driving is fast, aggressive and easy to manoeuvre. If you enjoy open world games and need a fix before GTAV arrives (most probably in 2013) you really can not go wrong with United Front Games' effort. It imitates and in many ways eclipses its rivals and we should all be thank full to Square Enix for not letting this Sleeping Dog lie. Expand
  50. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    This game was the biggest surprise of the year for me, I did not know it was coming out until a little bit before it released and picked it up shortly after and I can definitely say this is one of the best games of the year, The story is very interesting, the combat with both martial arts combat and shooting are both very fun to use, If you like games like Grand Theft Auto or Saints Row,This game was the biggest surprise of the year for me, I did not know it was coming out until a little bit before it released and picked it up shortly after and I can definitely say this is one of the best games of the year, The story is very interesting, the combat with both martial arts combat and shooting are both very fun to use, If you like games like Grand Theft Auto or Saints Row, or the combat from Batman: Arkham City/Asylum you will probably love this game, it is very polished, the missions are fun and varied, the side missions are not amazing, but they are fun distractions and there is other side content like racing missions and so on. Pick this game up if you have not already. Expand
  51. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. With great visuals, excellent voice work, an amazing story and the best combat in an open world game, Sleeping Dogs is a game that anyone that loves open world games should purchase. The story is about Wei Shen, an undercover cop that is assigned to take down the Triad (basically the Hong Kong mafia) They gang is suspicious at first but as Wei advances up the ladder, the gang begins to accept him. The story is well told with excellent voicework from such notables as Tom Wilkinson and Lucy Liu. Even Emma Stone makes a brief appearance. The driving has an arcadey style that works perfectly is this. Wei is very agile and skilled in combat with and without a gun. Most of the combat is hand to hand based and allows you to grab enemies and perform brutal environmental kills which range from tossing a guy in a dumpster to throwing thugs in ice chippers. Like many open world games, Sleeping Dogs contains minigames such as karaoke and majong but some feel a little underdeveloped such as the dating system. However, these are just minor gripes in an otherwise amazing game. Simply put, Sleeping Dogs should not be left to lie on the shelf. Expand
  52. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    Combat is excellent and entertaining with simple upgrading system, to add some combat progression as well. Graphics are excellent. Sound track/radio is excellent. Extra mission system is exactly what I want in these types of game, has a good amount of stuff to go do but not so much you lose sight of what the actual game is. Glad i finally picked it up!
  53. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    i played almost every GTA game and too many other sandbox games but sleeping dogs was different because the story was so damn good i even platinumed the game (which i dont do often)
  54. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    One of the best sandbox games I've played, Sleeping Dogs is actually very realistic. If you steal a car in front of the cops, they try to arrest you. If you kill someone and then go into a building, they don't give up searching; they weren't born yesterday. I actually like that aspect a lot. It makes the playing experience seem very real and authentic. Also, the story is very engrossing,One of the best sandbox games I've played, Sleeping Dogs is actually very realistic. If you steal a car in front of the cops, they try to arrest you. If you kill someone and then go into a building, they don't give up searching; they weren't born yesterday. I actually like that aspect a lot. It makes the playing experience seem very real and authentic. Also, the story is very engrossing, and there are a lot of options to do, such as change clothes. And best of all, it's FUN. Expand
  55. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    Para ser un Sand Box a la sombra de GTA no tiene nada que envidiarle, Sleeping Dogs es un juegazo distinto, una jugabilidad exquisita, unos graficos bastantes buenos, divertido, te enganchara de principio a final, las contras: no esta doblado al español...una lastima, pasandotelo al 100% dificilmente supera las 25 horas, pero en definitiva es un gran juego, de hecho para mi es el mejorPara ser un Sand Box a la sombra de GTA no tiene nada que envidiarle, Sleeping Dogs es un juegazo distinto, una jugabilidad exquisita, unos graficos bastantes buenos, divertido, te enganchara de principio a final, las contras: no esta doblado al español...una lastima, pasandotelo al 100% dificilmente supera las 25 horas, pero en definitiva es un gran juego, de hecho para mi es el mejor Sand Box de esta generación. Expand
  56. May 23, 2014
    10
    These type of games are the only games real gamers want! And the only type of game a real gamer needs! Glad this game came to PC since Rockstar decided to deny PC gamers GTA 5 , I suppose Rockstar no longer has the skill to bring a good PC game anymore! We know how bad GTA 4 ran on the PC, Another testament to how far behind Rockstar is compared to others. I congratulate United FrontThese type of games are the only games real gamers want! And the only type of game a real gamer needs! Glad this game came to PC since Rockstar decided to deny PC gamers GTA 5 , I suppose Rockstar no longer has the skill to bring a good PC game anymore! We know how bad GTA 4 ran on the PC, Another testament to how far behind Rockstar is compared to others. I congratulate United Front Games/Square Enix for their job on this, They also did the game right. It runs very smooth with no bugs. Expand
  57. Dec 18, 2014
    9
    Great open world game. The undercover-cop story is believeable and interesting. Graphics are good, shooting is solid, driving is good, fighting is absolutely awesome! Only the map is a little bit small for a gta-style game!
  58. Nov 27, 2014
    9
    Solid gameplay, solid combat, solid voice acting, solid story and beautiful art design make this game a 9.

    The DLC is all fantastic.

    The park-our is a blast.

    The puzzles are a little bit off but other then that it's amazing.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Oct 14, 2012
    88
    It's hard to imagine, that Activision let this one go. Sleeping Dogs is action packed sandbox shooter, which - in many ways - does things a lot better than GTA. Parkour, shooting and hand to hand combat are wrapped around a stunning virtual version of Hong Kong. The story isn't quite Rockstar, but it keeps the action going. The bar is set for the fifth Grand Theft Auto. [Sept 2012]
  2. Sep 17, 2012
    80
    Sleeping Dogs will quickly gain the attention of those who enjoy a good open world with infinity of missions to complete.
  3. The reason why we go into so much detail about the fighting system is because we've never seen such deep and expansive mechanics in an open world game. You will fight until your knuckles are covered in blood and still won't have had enough of it. [September 2012, p.72]