User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 282 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 282

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    At its core, the Sly Cooper games are platformers, but the last few installments have strayed towards action-adventure. And Sky Cooper: Thieves in Time captures that perfectly. Developer Sanzaru Games didn't develop the original three PS2 Sly games, but they definitely know what they are doing. From the beautiful cel shaded graphics to the fluid animations, Sly Cooper is a PS3/Vita title that deserves more credit than it receives. Along with Jak and Ratchet, Sly was part of Sony's "Big 3" of gaming during the PS2 days. Of those three, Sly was probably the most deservent of a sequel, and now after his eight year absence from the gaming scene, he is getting one that is worthy of Sucker Punch's originals. And with a cliffhanging ending, this may not be the last time we see Sly Cooper, the master thief, in action. Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    7 years after Sly Cooper 3, the master thief is back again. This game is so awesome, just like the 3 others. Sanzaru Games has done a great job. Buy this game, and hopefully we'll have another Sly game
  3. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. It was worth waiting for sure. This game is a masterpiece. It was worth waiting for sure. This game is a masterpiece. It was worth waiting for sure.
  4. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    This is positively one of the top two Sly Cooper games EVER made. Though there are some things that may be bothersome at the beginning, you quickly get over them. The ancestors are all individual personalities, the story is, though slightly cliche, very well presented, and the writing makes you laugh (in a positive way) at every turn.

    This game is definitely a worthy successor of the
    original Sly Cooper series. Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2013
    8
    When i first heard that sanzaru games was developing this game and not suker punch i was a little worried that it wouldnt be that great, but i was proved wrong this is a great game but there is a few things that arent so great like how they walk around talking to them and the things that they say just doesnt sound like somthing they would say in the first 3 but that is somthing that can be ignored. but all in all sanzaru games did an asome job with this game. Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    Honestly i never understood why critics always gave the sly games low scores like 7s or low 8s compare to jak or ratchet and clank the same thing goes with the new entry thieves in time. Its honestly a outstanding game with tons of stuff to do and really brings me back to the old sly 2 days.
  7. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Sly and the gang is back! This has filled a hole in the genre left for over 5 years. It brings back the classic stealth game play and humor much loved by fans and absolutely blew the doors off the visuals. Sly has never looked or played so good. I hope that this is just the beginning of the franchise coming back to us gamers.
  8. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    Sly is back and better then ever. The best one yet and the vita version is nearly identical to the ps3 version. Reviewers hating on this game saying its not innovative.You don't need to change what is fun, because most of the time you when you try to change a game you screw it up. I applaud you Sanzaru you definitely know how to make a good game.
  9. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    First off, I made this account purely to review this amazing game. Now before I actually start the review I'd like to get this off my chest. Many "game journalists" have been complaining about the game stating that it's not innovative enough and it doesn't progress the franchise forward. That is complete bull. There hasn't been ANY games in the Sly Cooper Franchise for 8 years. When there hasn't been a new game for so long, all fans want is just another entry in the series. If this were a yearly or bi-yearly such as Call of Duty or Assassin's Creed then I would completely understand the criticism. A new developer gets the reins and crafts a game that completely captures the soul and essence of the original three. Literally everything that made the originals so great has returned. And I couldn't be happier as a long-time fan. It has the same core concepts, charming humor, tight controls, wonderful artstyle and fantastic stealth platforming you can expect. The combat is not very good, but this is a stealth game so you aren't supposed to be fighting anybody anyways. You're able to get out of alert very quickly and easily. The fact that this game cost 40$ is just the cherry on top. So many collectibles allows for hours upon hours of fun and enjoyment. Cartoonish animations and graphics will make this game age like fine wine. The long loading times and minor ticks prevent this game from being a 10 out of 10, though. I suggest this game to anyone that enjoys platformers, stealth games, or adventure games. Don't be put-off by this seemingly childish game. I haven't had this much fun with any videogame since Super Mario Galaxy. Expand
  10. Feb 20, 2013
    4
    What is with this installment of Sly Cooper? It's as if it's been made for a six year old child. I admit I'm only barely into it but I'm already considering trading it in because I can't see me spending too many more hours being held by the hand through a series of absurdly simplistic and boring missions only to end in a crazy, monotonous, suddenly completely difficult boss battle. It really shows that Sucker Punch was not involved this time around. There are way too many cut scenes and all the enemies are completely stupid with no AI whatsoever. If you aren't standing directly in the yellow circle caused by the lamp they are holding they don't know you're there even if you're jumping up and down smashing things making all sorts of noise. I hope this gets better and I can come back here and edit this review with some more favorable comments, but having played the previous three installments with much enjoyment, I'm really sensing a dud here. Expand
  11. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    The wonderful thieving raccoon is finally back after seven and a half years, and I think that it's almost as good as the originals despite it being developed by a different developer. If you're a fan of the previous games like me, you'll have no problems with any of the gameplay mechanics, everything is the same as Sly 2 and 3 with the exception of the abilities purchased from thiefnet. However, I didn't like a few of the small changes like the very small amount of hooks to swing from and not being able to map abilities to the L1, L2 and R2 buttons. Sly's gameplay is a little better because of the addition of the costumes that he gets in each era though. All minor flaws aside, the platforming gameplay is as great and fun as it was and still is. I liked pretty much everything else in the game too, especially the story. It's just a simple story that obviously continues from Sly 3. The only big problems I had with game at all were the load times and occasional framerate drops. The loading times are just ridiculous, sometimes I've had to wait thirty seconds or more for the game to load. The framerate drops are annoying as well, the framerate is usually fantastic, but every now and then it will just drop for a few seconds and it's just something that I found to be a little bit annoying. Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is a truly fantastic game and a game that's worthy of being in the Sly Cooper franchise. A few minor annoyances can't slow it down, it's still a great game, and any Sly Cooper fan must have it and any gamer would find it to be a great experience. Expand
  12. Feb 6, 2013
    9
    This is Gabe N

    Welcome to Sly Cooper Thieves In Time

    After years in development, hopefully it was worth the wait.

    And my favorites class is the Sly

    Thanks, and have fun!
  13. Feb 23, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I previously gave this game a 7/10 and here are my reasons for lowering it. I said I liked the mechanics of the game and it does have fun gameplay, but this game has some really annoying flaws, first off this game is too easy. I don't even have to sneak around due to the dumb AI who forget you existed after being out of their reach for 5 seconds. the enemies don't even alert other guards. so the roaming around isn't as fun as it could be. but the bottles and treasures are very fun to hunt for I enjoyed that. However here is another flaw that made the game worse than it could be. the textures and buildings are repeated so often it seems they just copied and pasted them, for example the Arabia level, please go play that and see what i mean. the levels don't have many landmarks so i often end up lost (the exception is the prehistoric level) basically the levels are dry and repetitive. here's another good thing. the missions are very well done, although very easy (the exception the archery challenge in medieval England). i find most of the missions fun but it can be repetitive. the black knight boss battle (Penelope)is very fun and had to retry it once. and that is another con the boss battles are a breeze the final boss battle is just hitting triangle square circle and X, the worst part of the final boss battle is you have too much time to hit the buttons, plus if you accidentally hit a wrong button it still lets you try to hit the correct one. just really disappointing how lame the combat is the enemies and bosses totally blow. this game is not all bad but it seemed lazy. i want a sequel that is not as easy please make another one and make it good. final verdict is a 4/10 but that does not mean you can't enjoy some of the fun missions, and cool cooper ancestors. so go ahead and get this game and make your own opinion. enjoy. Expand
  14. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Classic Sly. The gameplay, the characters, the charm-- nothing has changed. It's nice to see that Sony is keeping up with their best platformer franchise in a time when Crash, Jak, and Ratchet have been somewhat forgone. If you loved Sly 2 and 3 as I did, then this game is for you. Highly recommended for fans of platformer, stealth, and open-world gameplay.
  15. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    If you liked the old games, you will love the game. The game is true to the series in all aspects. The charm of the characters carry this game. The gameplay is fun and really brings back old-school sly. The ancestors and costumes bring some new things and its great.
  16. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    It's almost unnatural to have so much fun from a kids game. Reminds me so much about good old Playstation 1 days with Crash collecting apples and Spyro collecting diamonds)))
    The main goal of the game is to make you feel fun while playing it. You may criticize it for having a strange plot, not brilliant voice acting, but the gameplay is solid and, frankly, that's the only thing you'll
    want from a cartoonish stealth game) Expand
  17. Feb 10, 2013
    6
    The game is well made, perfect blend of all the great Cooper games, but it does get boring after a couple of hours and the childish tone doesn't allow me to take the game too seriously.
  18. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    This is an outstanding game! I really thought this game was going to be a horrible game because of Sanzaru taking charge ,but once I played the game it reassured me this was going to be a fun ride. The boss fights are fun and are different in many ways. The 3 hacking mini games will give some variety to the game and don't over welcome their stay. There is a lot of replay value with tons of collectables if that's what you're looking for. The cell-shaded graphics make the locations look absolutely beautiful. I highly recommend getting this game as it is a bang for your buck for $40.00 cash! Expand
  19. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    This review is from a guy who isn't a "hardcore" fan of the series, so to say. I have played Sly 2 and 3 and those two games were pretty good I must say. The voice acting is very good and the characters and their connections to other characters are very well done in those 2 games. Thieves in Time is no difference. The voice acting is marvelous and the characters look spectacular. The art style is different from the last 3 games, but it gives a nice new touch to the game. The fighting mechanics are pretty simple, but enjoyable. It's always fun engaging in combat when you play as Carmelita or Sly, for example. Althou, I think Sly has the most unique play style. Murray and Carmelita feel a bit genereic, but they're still pretty damn fun to play as. The ancestors of Sly are pretty much the same as Sly is, with a few extra moves and whatnot, but they are still funny to play as. The animations and graphics look good, and the cel shaded graphics really do their job. I actually think the cartoonish style fits these games a lot more than some crazy Call of Duty graphics. The music is also extremely good. The composer of this game is a "god", so to say. The music is outstanding! The story is well written and chronological. There aren't many loop holes or some bizarre things, which makes the story a solid package. There are a few rants too. The loading screens. They're pretty long and a bit frustrating. But, they load the whole world at one shot so I quess that's the price you have to pay. The camera is alright, but it can a bit annoying at times. All in all, this game is very solid and entertaining. A little break from those gory shooters doesn't hurt you. Give this game a shot. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  20. Feb 10, 2013
    9
    Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time mark the continuation of the Sly Cooper franchise, when we thought it had ended all the way back in 2005. Although the game has its notable flaws, Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is a worthy addition to the Sly Cooper franchise, even if it doesn’t hit the soaring high notes that Sly 2 managed to hit.
    The gameplay in Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is very standard for
    a Sly Cooper game. There’s your regular thieving, platforming, tailing, and recon missions scattered throughout the game at an insanely brisk pace. Playing the missions and levels in this game feels right at home, and the spot-on controls definitely helps this out. As the game progresses, the upgrades you get for each character make them much more fun to play as, as the gameplay becomes more “thiefy” and fast-paced. The biggest issue I had with the overall gameplay was the uselessness of certain characters. Although I’m not going to spoil how this happens, Carmelita joins the gang at some point in the game. However, her character is BARELY utilized outside of the first time you see her! Why go through the trouble of adding in her character if there’s no usefulness to her character? Costumes make an appearance again in Thieves in Time, and, most of them are very useful and fun, with the exception of one. But, doubling back to old levels to steal hidden treasures using your costumes is very rewarding and fun.
    The overarching story in Thieves in Time is great. The story feels like a more epic tale than previous adventures, with much more at stake than ever before. However, the story takes a while to build up to the rapidness of the finale. This is a common complaint among most Sly Cooper fans for all the games, that they start off slow, and then build up to the grand finale. I wouldn’t criticize Sanzaru for this, however, because this is a Sly Cooper staple. They didn’t fix it, but they didn’t make it worse. Moving on with the story, it becomes apparent that Sanzaru wanted certain gameplay elements thrown in the game, but then fit a story to work around these elements. Within each episode, missions are thrown at you which have no real direction. There’s barely a reasonable explanation for a lot of missions, and there isn’t that feeling of building up to a giant heist like there was in the previous games. The stories within each level get somewhat confusing, and only serves to have certain types of gameplay.
    Now, let’s talk about graphics. This game is truly a masterpiece in every single sensory way. The music is absolutely incredible, and the graphics are crisp, fluid, and downright amazing. The animations are also the best I’ve ever seen, almost rivaling Pixar’s fluidity in their animations. The way the characters express themselves is incredibly engaging, and SO much character and life is poured into each and every character. Truly, the best part about Thieves in Time is the way the characters act around each other. Although I thought it would be annoying, the characters frequently talk to each other throughout the game, similar to the way Drake and Elena banter back and forth in the Uncharted series. Like Uncharted, Thieves in Time’s characters feel completely natural. I genuinely feel like these characters live in their own world outside of the game. Everything about Theives in Time’s presentation is outstanding, and there’s absolutely nothing wrong with anything. Even the cutscenes, which have gotten a lot of criticism from the hardcore Sly Cooper fanbase, are impressive to say the least. There’s so much life injected into each character, and when they feel sad, you do too. A game hasn't had an impact on me emotionally since the last half of Uncharted 3.
    That’s truly a testament to the outstanding voicework and animations by Sanzaru and the entire cast. It’s truly magnificent.
    Lastly, let’s talk about the replay ability of Thieves in Time. It’s huge. I played the story of the game through its entirety in about four days, playing about four hours each night. That’s a total of a 16 hour campaign, and I had only unlocked under 40% of safes, treasures, bottles, trophies, and masks. Now, I’m going back and solving the costume puzzles Sanzaru has cleverly splattered through the game, and it’s incredibly rewarding.
    Overall, Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time isn’t perfect. And that’s okay. Sly’s back, he’s fun, and it’s a good game overall. While it didn’t manage to surpass the perfection that is Sly 2: Band of Thieves, Sanzaru managed to meet the standard of gameplay of Sly 3: Honor Among Thieves, without being better or worse. There’s much fun to be had here, but if you go into it thinking it will be perfection, you may feel disappointed.
    Expand
  21. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    I'll put it simply. If you enjoyed the other Sly Cooper games, you will really enjoy the new one. The graphics are great, the characters are funny as always and it feels just like the older games which is exactly how I wanted it to feel. My only complaint is the way the characters will interact with things in the environment, sometimes Sly won't go to the right place when you hit the circle button, but it never really punishes you. Expand
  22. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is a long awaited entry to the Sly Cooper series. It is a very unique title in today's gaming market. Most of the "hot titles" are First Person Shooters, but this is far from it. That is a very good thing. Video games are viewed negatively in the media, and the only reason for that is the recent downpour of violent First Person Shooters. Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is technically violent, the ESRB describes it well as cartoon violence, but it shows that you don't need any blood or gore to make a great game. The graphics are simple yet elegant. They are detailed and colorful, but they are wonderfully cartoony. It is an excellent representative of what the PS3 is capable of. The 2-D cut scenes are very detailed and help explain the story nicely. The soundtrack adds emotion to the game as well, making it even more enjoyable. Now to the actual game-play. The controls of Sly, Bentley, and Murray are true to the original series, and to those who haven't played the original trilogy, the controls are simple and easy to pick up and play. The included ancestors of Sly and costumes that Sly wears add variation to the game-play and they don't change things too much to need long tutorials for the new control schemes. Along with witty dialogue, great voice acting, and multiple pop culture references, the story, continuing from Sly 3, is interesting, and it has many twists and turns and unexpected surprises. The boss fights are simple, but fun turn based fights. The whole game, boss fights included, is not very difficult. I've seen games so difficult that they make you want to give up playing, and I've seen games so easy that they bore you. this game is neither of those games. The game's lack of difficulty is made up for by it's varied game-play. There are Bentley's hacking mini-games, many different characters, and many collectibles. The collectibles alone take time and dedication to get, especially if you don't use the Vita version of the game, which is included with the PS3 game, with it's AR Treasures mode which helps you detect collectibles, and the collectibles add re-playability. If you are a trophy hunter, this game delivers, with its interesting and some difficult trophies that also add to re-playability. Overall, this game is a diamond in the rough. If you stumbled upon this review and you don't know whether or not to buy this game, do it. You won't regret it, especially since the price is only $40.00 compared to many other games priced at $60.00, and this game even includes the Vita version which is priced at $30.00! Expand
  23. Feb 23, 2013
    1
    This game is complete garbage. and its getting 9's and 10's for no reason. most of the accounts that gave this game a review were all made on the same day and only reviewed this game. this game is crap. between broken AI and half asses levels i cant stand it. look i made this account just to point out the strange nature of the positive reviews but you know what? it. this game is not what the old sly game use to be. and by the way the worst final boss battle in history of gaming. so don't buy this if you are new to sly. if you loved sly like i did, you will most likely have to buy it, and be disappointed. YOU LOSE GOOD DAY SIR! Expand
  24. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    This game sucks. I missed old sly games. They were better. This one so childish. Waist of money. Hope I did not get it. It is so over rated. Old school Sly was the best. I prefer Sly Cooper 2 over this.
  25. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    You know, I've waited 7 years for Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time, and all I can say, is that I now know that every minute was worth the wait. Thank you Sanzaru Games for picking up a series that was thought to be abandoned, but was brought back to life, bigger and better than ever. I am speechless with how amazing this game has turned out and I am so happy, for a lack of a better word, with what I just experienced. I would've never dreamed that it could be possible but guys have proven yourselves beyond belief. Bravo! Thank you for making this 7 dream come true and exceeding my expectations. Expand
  26. Feb 10, 2013
    9
    I loved all of the sly cooper series and was looking forward to the next instalment. I was worried. I wanted something fresh, smooth, and yet still similar to the original series. The game delivered on every level. In all honesty this game is very much like the others, same basic premise. However, despite all of the similarities this game still feels fresh, new, and offers a great experience. During the gameplay i have also encountered some difficulties. When you find yourself being attacked by the enemies you do not have a great variety of attacks to chose from which makes the combat a bit stiff and unfulfilling. What it lacks in combat it makes up for in stealth takedowns, this component is both fun and rewarding. The other problems are small but they are distracting at times. Overall Sanzaru has done a great job bringing a fresh new game to an old series. I hope for another sly cooper but also think that the costume idea does not show very much potential to cross over to future games in the series. overall great game, would definitly recommend it. Expand
  27. Nov 24, 2013
    4
    The return of Sly Cooper was much anticipated by all fans, however, I feel that this game lack the liveliness of the previous games, Even though Thieves in Time presents some new concepts, such as the new costumes and playable ancestors, the cons outweigh the pros. The story is bland and repetitive, the graphics are too fancy, the hacking is strange and unlike the classic, the worlds have too many levels, the mission order is too straightforward, unlike the previous games, when you could choose what order you wanted to do the missions in; the binocucom controls are different, the game doesn't retain the comic book feel that Sly games are known for, the music is annoying, the menu themes are too uniform, and the game is overall too quirky rather than stealthlike and mysterious. Thieves in Time has lost the culture of Cooper thievery that was refined in Band of Thieves and instead left us with an empty shell of what used to be our favorite raccoon. Expand
  28. Nov 14, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's kinda lame as hell compared to the 2 previous games. The way you control your characters feels weird and different, and not in a good way. Guards now became a pain in the ass, and engaging in combat with them is useless. Sly is supposed to be swift, now you can't even do the stealth move properly and they kinda focused too much on Sly's costumes, you don't even feel like a thief anymore. The game was supposed to be comic styled, not cartoonish, yet another thing ruined. I only bought this game because it's Sly, the story isn't bad at all but I don't expect a new Sly game to be any better than this one. Expand
  29. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    Been playing this game with my kids, there are very few products that I can play with my children and we can both enjoy and feel challenged and have genuine fun playing. There are very few high quality products on the market like this. If you have kids and want something you can play and enjoy together, this might be one of the best games on the market.
  30. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    Its great, Its another sly game and it takes me back to a simpler, more fun time in gaming. but ultimately this game is even better on the vita. You see, i found that the ps3 game, while great, i would only spend a couple hours in it and then forget about it for weeks... but the vita version i play every day and cannot stop playing. the vita version runs at half the fps and has some milling effects but i just find it so much more engaging... so for ps3 8/10 for vita 10/10 Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    60
    Sly is back and we applaud that, kind of. The game is outdated, too simple and too childish. It’s a good deal that you can buy the PS3 and Vita version for the same price, so that offers twice the amount of fun.
  2. The return of Sly Cooper not only signals the return of a classic franchise, but also the return of a classic, almost forgotten genre: the 3D-platformer. Fans can rejoice, because it feels like Sly never truly left the building. [April 2013, p.71]
  3. Apr 13, 2013
    81
    Sly hits the current generation with charm, variety and humour in spades. An excellent return. [May 2013, p.80]