Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time PlayStation 3

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 311 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sly Cooper Thieves in Time continues to chronicle the adventures of the Sly Cooper gang from where Sly 3: Honor Among Thieves concluded.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    90
    After playing so many shooters in recent years, Thieves in Time’s old-school platforming is a breath of fresh air. While it doesn’t innovate, its subtle craftsmanship and varied gameplay reasserts what we’ve always known: This genre still has something important to add to the game industry. I hope this game meets with the success it deserves.
  2. Feb 11, 2013
    85
    Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is an excellent platformer/stealth hybrid, just like its predecessors, and something long-time fans of the series will love, but newcomers may be better off picking up the HD trilogy since it doesn’t do all that much new and gives you far more value for your money.
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    81
    Sly Cooper's last is a solid adventure. Thieves in Time is a finely crafted game and a funny one to play.
  4. Feb 5, 2013
    80
    It does so many things right and harkens back to a different time in gaming while modernizing the experience for a new generation. It may not wow you like some of the best PlayStation exclusives have in the past, but needless to say, the wait for a continuation of the Sly saga was officially worth it.
  5. Feb 5, 2013
    75
    There are occasional stumbles, but Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is another good entry in the platforming series.
  6. Feb 11, 2013
    70
    Despite the constant feeling of déjà vu, there’s a lot of gameplay here. The entire adventure will take around 10-15 hours to finish, never mind hunting down all of the hidden secrets and trying to chase after that ever-elusive Platinum trophy. And its hard not to fall back into Sly’s world – it’s familiar, safe, like an old blanket.
  7. Feb 5, 2013
    60
    When it comes right down to it, Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is a competent platformer that rests on the laurels its namesake and plays it far too safe. That said, hardcore fans will find plenty to love solely because it's more Sly. So if pretty art and average platforming sounds worth the price of admission, who am I to stop you?

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 71
  2. Negative: 7 out of 71
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    At its core, the Sly Cooper games are platformers, but the last few installments have strayed towards action-adventure. And Sky Cooper:At its core, the Sly Cooper games are platformers, but the last few installments have strayed towards action-adventure. And Sky Cooper: Thieves in Time captures that perfectly. Developer Sanzaru Games didn't develop the original three PS2 Sly games, but they definitely know what they are doing. From the beautiful cel shaded graphics to the fluid animations, Sly Cooper is a PS3/Vita title that deserves more credit than it receives. Along with Jak and Ratchet, Sly was part of Sony's "Big 3" of gaming during the PS2 days. Of those three, Sly was probably the most deservent of a sequel, and now after his eight year absence from the gaming scene, he is getting one that is worthy of Sucker Punch's originals. And with a cliffhanging ending, this may not be the last time we see Sly Cooper, the master thief, in action. Expand
  2. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is a long awaited entry to the Sly Cooper series. It is a very unique title in today's gaming market. Most of theSly Cooper: Thieves in Time is a long awaited entry to the Sly Cooper series. It is a very unique title in today's gaming market. Most of the "hot titles" are First Person Shooters, but this is far from it. That is a very good thing. Video games are viewed negatively in the media, and the only reason for that is the recent downpour of violent First Person Shooters. Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is technically violent, the ESRB describes it well as cartoon violence, but it shows that you don't need any blood or gore to make a great game. The graphics are simple yet elegant. They are detailed and colorful, but they are wonderfully cartoony. It is an excellent representative of what the PS3 is capable of. The 2-D cut scenes are very detailed and help explain the story nicely. The soundtrack adds emotion to the game as well, making it even more enjoyable. Now to the actual game-play. The controls of Sly, Bentley, and Murray are true to the original series, and to those who haven't played the original trilogy, the controls are simple and easy to pick up and play. The included ancestors of Sly and costumes that Sly wears add variation to the game-play and they don't change things too much to need long tutorials for the new control schemes. Along with witty dialogue, great voice acting, and multiple pop culture references, the story, continuing from Sly 3, is interesting, and it has many twists and turns and unexpected surprises. The boss fights are simple, but fun turn based fights. The whole game, boss fights included, is not very difficult. I've seen games so difficult that they make you want to give up playing, and I've seen games so easy that they bore you. this game is neither of those games. The game's lack of difficulty is made up for by it's varied game-play. There are Bentley's hacking mini-games, many different characters, and many collectibles. The collectibles alone take time and dedication to get, especially if you don't use the Vita version of the game, which is included with the PS3 game, with it's AR Treasures mode which helps you detect collectibles, and the collectibles add re-playability. If you are a trophy hunter, this game delivers, with its interesting and some difficult trophies that also add to re-playability. Overall, this game is a diamond in the rough. If you stumbled upon this review and you don't know whether or not to buy this game, do it. You won't regret it, especially since the price is only $40.00 compared to many other games priced at $60.00, and this game even includes the Vita version which is priced at $30.00! Expand
  3. Feb 15, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is a very welcome addition to the Sly Cooper franchise. As Sanzaru pushed for when it was first announced, "it looks like Sly, it feels like Sly." From the ancestors each of whom have a different personality to the story itself which takes twists at every corner Thieves in Time is a game that every fan of Sly Cooper needs to play. There's just no other way to put it.

    This, of course, is not a perfect game; while it comes very close, there were a couple of things it could have done without. Spark Runner (the motion-controlled hacking) does not belong here. It's extremely clunky and can really aggravate players. Also, QTEs (press X when it says to press X) should not have been in this game. They were overused, especially when the final boss was almost nothing except QTEs. Finally and this is just a personal gripe, I suppose I don't like how they made Penelope a traitor.

    Now, all of that said, there was WAAAYYYYYY more good in this game than bad, and I will be playing Thieves in Time for a long time afterward. I, for one, welcome our new Sly Cooper developer. Well played, Sanzaru, well played.
    Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Sly series is one of my faves, and probably the most underrated Playstation franchise. The characters are as charming as ever, with numerous hilarious lines and moments. But now there are ancestors to change up the gameplay even more. Don't worry; these aren't just reskins of Sly, they all play differently with unique moves and awesome special moves/stealth takedowns. The game boasts the best soundtrack of the 4 entries, the hub world themes are particularly good this time. The graphics are beautiful, sporting great particle effects and a cel-shaded style that'll look amazing for years and years.Unfortunately, they may be too beautiful, as drops in framerate happen way too often, and the loading times are ridiculous. In addition, the story could've been a lot stronger, especially the main villain. He isn't a terrible villain, but we know little about him 'til the end, and his final fight sucks in comparison to the rest in the game. Lastly, Carmelita doesn't look the way I think she should and Penelope's storyline is disappointing for many reasons. However, like I've shown with my score, the game's goodness far outweighs the flaws and is an incredible deal at $40. Expand
  5. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    Sly is back and better then ever. The best one yet and the vita version is nearly identical to the ps3 version. Reviewers hating on this gameSly is back and better then ever. The best one yet and the vita version is nearly identical to the ps3 version. Reviewers hating on this game saying its not innovative.You don't need to change what is fun, because most of the time you when you try to change a game you screw it up. I applaud you Sanzaru you definitely know how to make a good game. Collapse
  6. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    Its great, Its another sly game and it takes me back to a simpler, more fun time in gaming. but ultimately this game is even better on theIts great, Its another sly game and it takes me back to a simpler, more fun time in gaming. but ultimately this game is even better on the vita. You see, i found that the ps3 game, while great, i would only spend a couple hours in it and then forget about it for weeks... but the vita version i play every day and cannot stop playing. the vita version runs at half the fps and has some milling effects but i just find it so much more engaging... so for ps3 8/10 for vita 10/10 Expand
  7. Jan 23, 2014
    0
    What do you get when Duke Nukum Forever and Banjo Kazooie Nuts and Bolts have a baby together? You get Sly 4: Thieves in Time (A.K.A) THEWhat do you get when Duke Nukum Forever and Banjo Kazooie Nuts and Bolts have a baby together? You get Sly 4: Thieves in Time (A.K.A) THE WORST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED IN MY LIFE!! I was a fool for ever thinking that this was going to be a great game from the start, I absolutely hate it! This abomination of a game has horrible loading screens, horrible writing, completely out of characters that CONSTANTLY told jokes to no end, had relentless hacking missions, the game was too easy, the game felt rushed, the plot twist was like a middle finger to the face, the final boss was a joke, and it overall completely ruined the entire Sly Cooper franchise for me! Sure the graphics were nicely detailed, it was fun playing as Sly's ancestors, and the costumes were okay...but that still does not save the game from its obvious flaws because in order to have a great game you need BOTH good gameplay and writing!!! How could you Sanzaru??? You single handedly ruined my favorite series of all time and my life!! I hate this game soooo much!!! If I must....I recommend this game to little kids who have no idea what Sly Cooper is about and as for anyone who has grown up with the series...... stay away as far as possible from this game and anyone who has this game should immediately burn it so it will never see the light of day!!!!! Expand

See all 71 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.