Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time PlayStation 3

Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 353 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sly Cooper Thieves in Time continues to chronicle the adventures of the Sly Cooper gang from where Sly 3: Honor Among Thieves concluded.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    90
    After playing so many shooters in recent years, Thieves in Time’s old-school platforming is a breath of fresh air. While it doesn’t innovate, its subtle craftsmanship and varied gameplay reasserts what we’ve always known: This genre still has something important to add to the game industry. I hope this game meets with the success it deserves.
  2. Feb 11, 2013
    85
    Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is an excellent platformer/stealth hybrid, just like its predecessors, and something long-time fans of the series will love, but newcomers may be better off picking up the HD trilogy since it doesn’t do all that much new and gives you far more value for your money.
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    81
    Sly Cooper's last is a solid adventure. Thieves in Time is a finely crafted game and a funny one to play.
  4. Feb 5, 2013
    80
    It does so many things right and harkens back to a different time in gaming while modernizing the experience for a new generation. It may not wow you like some of the best PlayStation exclusives have in the past, but needless to say, the wait for a continuation of the Sly saga was officially worth it.
  5. Feb 5, 2013
    75
    There are occasional stumbles, but Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is another good entry in the platforming series.
  6. Feb 11, 2013
    70
    Despite the constant feeling of déjà vu, there’s a lot of gameplay here. The entire adventure will take around 10-15 hours to finish, never mind hunting down all of the hidden secrets and trying to chase after that ever-elusive Platinum trophy. And its hard not to fall back into Sly’s world – it’s familiar, safe, like an old blanket.
  7. Feb 5, 2013
    60
    When it comes right down to it, Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is a competent platformer that rests on the laurels its namesake and plays it far too safe. That said, hardcore fans will find plenty to love solely because it's more Sly. So if pretty art and average platforming sounds worth the price of admission, who am I to stop you?

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 78
  2. Negative: 6 out of 78
  1. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    You know, I've waited 7 years for Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time, and all I can say, is that I now know that every minute was worth the wait.You know, I've waited 7 years for Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time, and all I can say, is that I now know that every minute was worth the wait. Thank you Sanzaru Games for picking up a series that was thought to be abandoned, but was brought back to life, bigger and better than ever. I am speechless with how amazing this game has turned out and I am so happy, for a lack of a better word, with what I just experienced. I would've never dreamed that it could be possible but guys have proven yourselves beyond belief. Bravo! Thank you for making this 7 dream come true and exceeding my expectations. Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    At its core, the Sly Cooper games are platformers, but the last few installments have strayed towards action-adventure. And Sky Cooper:At its core, the Sly Cooper games are platformers, but the last few installments have strayed towards action-adventure. And Sky Cooper: Thieves in Time captures that perfectly. Developer Sanzaru Games didn't develop the original three PS2 Sly games, but they definitely know what they are doing. From the beautiful cel shaded graphics to the fluid animations, Sly Cooper is a PS3/Vita title that deserves more credit than it receives. Along with Jak and Ratchet, Sly was part of Sony's "Big 3" of gaming during the PS2 days. Of those three, Sly was probably the most deservent of a sequel, and now after his eight year absence from the gaming scene, he is getting one that is worthy of Sucker Punch's originals. And with a cliffhanging ending, this may not be the last time we see Sly Cooper, the master thief, in action. Collapse
  3. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    As a huge fan of the series' previous instalments I have been eagerly awaiting this game's release. Its justified too, because Sly's PS3 debutAs a huge fan of the series' previous instalments I have been eagerly awaiting this game's release. Its justified too, because Sly's PS3 debut is as beautifully designed and giddyingly fun to play as the PS2 games, now sporting brilliant life-like textures and some seriously fun game play. This game won't be to all tastes but yet I am out of this game' target audience and I LOVE it regardless. Every ancestor and villain has a solid personality and is well designed. The only thing I can say I HATED was the boss battles, and its the only obstacle in the way of this scoring a perfect 10. They are annoyingly repetitive, and are a great shame as on PS2 the boss fights were one of the best bits. But Thieves in Time is enough to convince me that Sanzaru can do now wrong with the license, and if Sucker Punch doesn't want to return to this series (really looking unlikely) then, with a few tweaks to the gaming mechanics, this game is a great reason why we need even more Sly, possibly next-gen. Roll on Sly 5. Expand
  4. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    Sly is back and better then ever. The best one yet and the vita version is nearly identical to the ps3 version. Reviewers hating on this gameSly is back and better then ever. The best one yet and the vita version is nearly identical to the ps3 version. Reviewers hating on this game saying its not innovative.You don't need to change what is fun, because most of the time you when you try to change a game you screw it up. I applaud you Sanzaru you definitely know how to make a good game. Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    The raccoon is back! New developer but the game is faithful to the original Sly games. Sly thieves in time is a safe buy if you liked the oldThe raccoon is back! New developer but the game is faithful to the original Sly games. Sly thieves in time is a safe buy if you liked the old sly games. The biggest flaw is the load times. Sly's load times are very very very long. But overall Thieves in Time has proved that Sly is still one of the best plat former games. Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    Honestly i never understood why critics always gave the sly games low scores like 7s or low 8s compare to jak or ratchet and clank the sameHonestly i never understood why critics always gave the sly games low scores like 7s or low 8s compare to jak or ratchet and clank the same thing goes with the new entry thieves in time. Its honestly a outstanding game with tons of stuff to do and really brings me back to the old sly 2 days. Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    This game sucks. I missed old sly games. They were better. This one so childish. Waist of money. Hope I did not get it. It is so over rated.This game sucks. I missed old sly games. They were better. This one so childish. Waist of money. Hope I did not get it. It is so over rated. Old school Sly was the best. I prefer Sly Cooper 2 over this. Expand

See all 78 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.