Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 252 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sly Cooper Thieves in Time continues to chronicle the adventures of the Sly Cooper gang from where Sly 3: Honor Among Thieves concluded.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    90
    After playing so many shooters in recent years, Thieves in Time’s old-school platforming is a breath of fresh air. While it doesn’t innovate, its subtle craftsmanship and varied gameplay reasserts what we’ve always known: This genre still has something important to add to the game industry. I hope this game meets with the success it deserves.
  2. Feb 11, 2013
    85
    Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is an excellent platformer/stealth hybrid, just like its predecessors, and something long-time fans of the series will love, but newcomers may be better off picking up the HD trilogy since it doesn’t do all that much new and gives you far more value for your money.
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    81
    Sly Cooper's last is a solid adventure. Thieves in Time is a finely crafted game and a funny one to play.
  4. Feb 5, 2013
    80
    It does so many things right and harkens back to a different time in gaming while modernizing the experience for a new generation. It may not wow you like some of the best PlayStation exclusives have in the past, but needless to say, the wait for a continuation of the Sly saga was officially worth it.
  5. Feb 5, 2013
    75
    There are occasional stumbles, but Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is another good entry in the platforming series.
  6. Feb 11, 2013
    70
    Despite the constant feeling of déjà vu, there’s a lot of gameplay here. The entire adventure will take around 10-15 hours to finish, never mind hunting down all of the hidden secrets and trying to chase after that ever-elusive Platinum trophy. And its hard not to fall back into Sly’s world – it’s familiar, safe, like an old blanket.
  7. Feb 5, 2013
    60
    When it comes right down to it, Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is a competent platformer that rests on the laurels its namesake and plays it far too safe. That said, hardcore fans will find plenty to love solely because it's more Sly. So if pretty art and average platforming sounds worth the price of admission, who am I to stop you?

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 64
  2. Negative: 6 out of 64
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    At its core, the Sly Cooper games are platformers, but the last few installments have strayed towards action-adventure. And Sky Cooper: Thieves in Time captures that perfectly. Developer Sanzaru Games didn't develop the original three PS2 Sly games, but they definitely know what they are doing. From the beautiful cel shaded graphics to the fluid animations, Sly Cooper is a PS3/Vita title that deserves more credit than it receives. Along with Jak and Ratchet, Sly was part of Sony's "Big 3" of gaming during the PS2 days. Of those three, Sly was probably the most deservent of a sequel, and now after his eight year absence from the gaming scene, he is getting one that is worthy of Sucker Punch's originals. And with a cliffhanging ending, this may not be the last time we see Sly Cooper, the master thief, in action. Collapse
  2. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    Wonderful game for fans of the series (who will appreciate the plethora of nods and callbacks to the originals), and newcomers who enjoy platforming. Sanzaru Games, a relatively unknown developer, managed to make a better Sly game than the studio that created it. Expand
  3. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    If you liked the old games, you will love the game. The game is true to the series in all aspects. The charm of the characters carry this game. The gameplay is fun and really brings back old-school sly. The ancestors and costumes bring some new things and its great. Expand
  4. Mar 7, 2013
    9
    I love the series and this was an excellent addition to it as well, it was fun and full of surprises. The only thing that I didn't like is that the loading screens taking up to 30 seconds between missions making the game less tolerable. Other than that I love the game Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Story has some issues, but with overwhelming characters, awesome gameplay and top notch voice acting, Makes the game awesome. Not online it has a lot of content but is a pretty lengthy campaign. Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2013
    8
    Sly Cooper games have always been masterpiece. And this one is good, but not that as others. There are new fresh things, like playing ancestors and that's awesome but game's main issue is it's difficult been so easy. All boss fights are easy and missions weren't that hard neither, compared to Sly Trilogy. It's story wasn't that long neither, compared to others.

    But that's only issue. Ancestors, time-travelling, new costumes, unlockables, and bottles being back and new treasures, this game has lot to give. Buy it, if you're Sly Cooper fan or new to the series, since you will get your money's worth but it will be easy, if you've played Sly trilogy.
    Expand
  7. Jan 23, 2014
    0
    What do you get when Duke Nukum Forever and Banjo Kazooie Nuts and Bolts have a baby together? You get Sly 4: Thieves in Time (A.K.A) THE WORST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED IN MY LIFE!! I was a fool for ever thinking that this was going to be a great game from the start, I absolutely hate it! This abomination of a game has horrible loading screens, horrible writing, completely out of characters that CONSTANTLY told jokes to no end, had relentless hacking missions, the game was too easy, the game felt rushed, the plot twist was like a middle finger to the face, the final boss was a joke, and it overall completely ruined the entire Sly Cooper franchise for me! Sure the graphics were nicely detailed, it was fun playing as Sly's ancestors, and the costumes were okay...but that still does not save the game from its obvious flaws because in order to have a great game you need BOTH good gameplay and writing!!! How could you Sanzaru??? You single handedly ruined my favorite series of all time and my life!! I hate this game soooo much!!! If I must....I recommend this game to little kids who have no idea what Sly Cooper is about and as for anyone who has grown up with the series...... stay away as far as possible from this game and anyone who has this game should immediately burn it so it will never see the light of day!!!!! Expand

See all 64 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.