Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 15
  2. Negative: 5 out of 15
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    70
    Satisfying stealth and shooting make Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 a notable improvement over its predecessor.
  2. The downside of this more deliberate pacing is that the lack of variation. Every mission goes as follows: take out a few guys or sneak past them if there are too many, get to a high vantage point, rain death from above. Not the worst design in the world, but pretty predictable. [April 2013, p.86]
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    67
    It’s better and more focused in the sniping core mechanics than its predecessor. If you can ignore the irrelevant story and the minimalistic multiplayer you might discover a decent shooting experience.
  4. Apr 3, 2013
    62
    Overall, Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 is better than its predecessor in just about every way possible. It’s just too bad that it needed to be a lot better in order to be considered “good.”
  5. Apr 23, 2013
    55
    A budget shooter in every sense. [Issue#230, p.72]
  6. Mar 18, 2013
    55
    Sniper 2: Ghost Warrior cannot get over its predecessor, despite a graphics engine with great potential and a better interpretation of the sniping dynamics.
  7. Apr 4, 2013
    53
    City Interactive appears to be incapable of learning from its past mistakes. Even the utilization of the CryEngine 3 is worthless in this rather weak title.
  8. Apr 21, 2013
    50
    Ghost Warrior will not stay in anyone's memory and probably is more worth playing the few sniper missions than other FPSs already have. It should be more fun.
  9. Think of every single sniping mission in Call of Duty all crammed together into four hours of nonsense terrorist stuff, but not nearly as good and you have Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2. It’s a beautiful display of third world foliage, but you won’t be exploring it in any detail, great or not. [May 2013, p74]
  10. Mar 22, 2013
    50
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 feels like a bad parody of military shooters, but with poorly textured environments and sub-par mechanics. I like being the lone-wolf sniper as much as the next shooter fan, but City Interactive fumbles the power-trip from start to finish.
  11. 45
    The entertainment of sniping in Sniper 2 is plagued by bouts of mediocrity between each shooting scenario, resulting in a rush to get to the next sniping roost. The multiplayer isn't even equivalent to a cut-and-paste of other shooters, and the narrative is something found in any military movie. $40 may be cheaper than most games, but so is the experience in Sniper 2.
  12. Mar 21, 2013
    40
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 is a mediocre shooter where the shooting actually isn’t all that bad. It’s just all the useless stuffing that comes with it that really makes it bad, like the clichéd story, the poor graphics, the linear fashion with which you take every single shot throughout the campaign and the complete lack of polish.
  13. If you’re looking for a satisfying sneaky experience, then last year’s Sniper Elite delivers far more than Ghost Warrior 2, which is already destined to be filler for the pre-owned shelves at your local retailer. The odd joyful kill can’t make up for its appalling visuals, and this frustratingly hollow experience misses its target entirely.
  14. Mar 25, 2013
    25
    When the original is so bad you would never even consider replaying it, you'd think the developers have learned their lesson. They didn't, however. Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 sucks. It has numerous bugs and glitches, the AI is embarrassing, the graphics are worthless... and so on. Leave this on the shelf of your local game store... or do everyone a favor and cover it with a different, better game.
  15. Apr 8, 2013
    20
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 is a broken, horrible game. It's so bad that I almost feel sorry for the developers, who tried to make a sequel that is bigger, better and prettier. Unfortunately they failed miserably and gave us a game that's inferior in every way.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 6 out of 14
  1. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    Great game. Just received the box. Starting second mission. A lot of fun and great graphics. Good value for money. I think it will be much bigger success than Sniper1. Full Review »
  2. Mar 12, 2013
    4
    There was a lot of hype about this game, and really excited to buy it.
    Well first thing when you turn on the game WTF are those awful
    graphics Should this be Cryengine 3 ?
    The first Ghost Warrior looked better, with much more vegetation e richer environments
    The only thing that looks really great is the bullet cam.
    Gameplay the ballistic are great, taking in consideration breath, heartbeat, wind distance ecc. It's satisfyng to make long distance kills.
    What i really dont understand is why are the so few bullet cams During 1 entire mission you maybe see max 1 or 2 bulletcams.
    Ai is decent and less bugs then the first game. The new thermal visor is a great addition and really big help.
    Campaign is quite short with about 5 hours on max difficulty. The story... is completely useless.

    Multiplayer ONLY 2 maps. No customization for the matches aim aid with red dot is always on... i at least want play hardcore with no aim aids )

    Conclusion Some few improvements over the first game, less bugs. On consoles the graphics are a complete joke.
    Better then the first game Not really.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 18, 2013
    0
    i never played the first game and i was really looking forward to this game especially after seeing the early footage. i also thought the extra time spent making the game would help. unfortunately it did not. the game is an absolute disgrace. the graphics, story, sound design and any thing else you care to think of....... an absolute disgrace, i thought i may be being harsh so i went and purchased the first game. it is superior in every way (even the multiplayer). what an idictment on a sequel when a 5 year old game has better gameplay, graphics etc!!!! so dont listen to the 10"s, dont waste your money with a lazy and disrespectful developer. keep it in your pocket or buy the first game, OH.... AND CRYENGINE 3 AT LEAST LIVED UP TO ITS NAME, IT LEFT ME CRYING AND USING MY CAR ENGINE TO RETURN THIS PITIFUL EXCUSE FOR A GAME!!!!!!!!!! Full Review »