Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on the covert, shadowy world of the military sniper, Sniper: Ghost Warrior throws players into the chaos of a military coup, as they aid the rebels in restoring the rightful government to the embattled country of Isla Trueno. When the democratic government of Isla Trueno isBased on the covert, shadowy world of the military sniper, Sniper: Ghost Warrior throws players into the chaos of a military coup, as they aid the rebels in restoring the rightful government to the embattled country of Isla Trueno. When the democratic government of Isla Trueno is overthrown, an aggressive and hostile military command rises to power. A highly trained special ops unit is sent in to help the rebels accomplish objectives that only a sniper can handle. In addition to intense sniper missions, players will also take part in a variety of assault scenarios where their prowess with weapons will be a huge help to the undermanned rebels. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 17
  2. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. May 15, 2011
    75
    The PS3 version of Sniper: Ghost Warrior has received some improvements which are pretty useful. You get some extra content, better opponent AI and more, but there are still some bugs, concerning the graphics, a terribly told story and some weaknesses concerning the gameplay (e.g. reloading time or disappearing enemies after reaching checkpoints).
  2. Dec 14, 2011
    69
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior is a game suitable only for fans of the genre. It's a perfect product for people who love calm and strategic shooter, but it is tedious and frustrating for those who do not love him.
  3. May 16, 2011
    65
    This is a more than decent game, with great ideas and concepts, which are not executed that well. It has an attractive scheme, more than decent visuals and interesting concepts which would have turned it into a great game, if only it had been put together better.
  4. Jul 12, 2011
    59
    This version has some improvements compared with the Xbox 360 version, but it isn't really a great game. The sniping part of the game is perfect, but the AI, the graphics, the audio and movement aren't really good. The game can be fun to play, but that's only because of the sniper rifles.
  5. Jun 15, 2011
    50
    The PlayStation 3-version of Sniper: Ghost Warrior should've been in stores the day the Xbox 360- and PC-versions were released. A lot of points that were criticized have been adjusted and this edition also contains more content. This doesn't make it a good product, however. It's still a shallow game that'll give you a few hours of fun, tops.
  6. Jun 26, 2011
    45
    It's glitchy. [Issue#206, p.94]
  7. Jun 4, 2011
    31
    A truly wretched game. [July 2011, p.94]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 5 out of 5
  1. Aug 11, 2011
    4
    The game is graphically quite bad but the "sniping" physics are impressive. The game ceases to impress me and has a lack of action. Some ofThe game is graphically quite bad but the "sniping" physics are impressive. The game ceases to impress me and has a lack of action. Some of the missions are nigh impossible on "Hard" but it is a lot of fun until you notice you can't do something. After your 4th-5th attempt you get bored and turn the PlayStation off.

    A problem I noticed when playing the game was that you could never see your enemies, even when they can see you! Like a few times, I was hiding behind a near opaque bush, and an enemy started firing at me, whom I didn't even see. The game is very realistic, (you have low health, the enemies die in one shot etc) but the game creators did over-do it with the gun kickback. fire more than 2 bullets out of an assault rifle and it becomes incredibly hard to aim, to much so. I noticed this when doing the first tutorial. The game is rather misleading as on the back cover you see an action packed game with amazing graphics. but all those images on the back are just loading screen backgrounds or intro film screen shots. As I said, the actual game has quite poor graphics, that of an early PS3 game.

    If I were to describe the quality of the graphics in detail I would say that the plants look very fuzzy and when you lie down it still feels like you're crouching. Most of the plants seem to be able to move through objects as they sway into an out-of buildings and other scenery.

    Overall, this is worth a play but wait until it goes down in price to around £15.99 because only then will it be good value for money
    Expand
  2. Jul 27, 2012
    4
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior is a game plagued by faults, some small and relatively forgettable, and others much larger which seriously interfereSniper: Ghost Warrior is a game plagued by faults, some small and relatively forgettable, and others much larger which seriously interfere with gameplay. Probably the biggest, not to mention most annoying, fault is the Save Checkpoints. These appear very frequently. While some may think that this is a good feature, I do not, for this reason- every single time you reach a new Checkpoint the game freezes for about 3-5 seconds. This really interferes with your fun, as it drags you out of the game and interrupts what can, occasionally, be a gripping sequence of events. Next, is the barrage of invisible barriers/walls that you will find within the game. These appear in what seem to be random locations and often stop you from reaching that perfect sniping spot that you can see. I find it hard to believe that this highly trained Sniper cannot somehow climb over a small rock. When you hear the word 'sniper', what words come to mind? Covert, silent, stealthy? No, according to this game, words and phrases like 'all guns blazing' and 'open fire' are what sniping is all about. You can definitely see that the Devs behind SGW have taken a page out of Infinity Wards books. The hectic mix and sudden change between silent and stealthy to loud and action filled works for the CoD franchise but not for Sniper Ghost Warrior. Lastly, one of the most minor, yet still irritating, faults is the amount of bad spelling and grammar and subtitles not matching with the actual dialogue. For example, during the first section of the game, the words 'don't let your target see you' or spoken but 'don't let your pray see you' is shown on subtitles. Yes, this is a very small issue and easily ignorable, but I thought it warranted a mention. All in all, Sniper Ghost Warrior had it in it to be a fantastic, stealthy game, but it falls short in so many areas. The constant interruptions from Checkpoint freezes to the disappointing, 2006 graphics make this game a chore to play, or as I should say, work through. Expand
  3. Jun 30, 2011
    3
    Let me preface this short opinion-piece on SNIPER: Ghost Warrior with an observation after having played the XBOX 360 version last year, atLet me preface this short opinion-piece on SNIPER: Ghost Warrior with an observation after having played the XBOX 360 version last year, at least 'til I encountered a gamestopper prior to the patch: yes, it's better; but, not by much. SNIPER is still bogged down by the leash of mediocrity and missed opportunities.

    Muddy textures, pop-in and other odd visual quirks are accentuated by often poor FPS. While the AI has been modified, op-for still perform like clowns at the circus, they either can target and hit your toon from across the map with an assault rifle or they stand mute, ignorant and complacent while you pop a melon right in front of 'em. Stiff and jerky animations prevail with your sniper getting stuck on environmental objects frequently. Op-for spawn into the level from out-of-bounds areas based upon trigger points and checkpoints can be triggered when your sniper is low on health or surrounded for a sharp lesson in "die and retry" savegame mechanics. What is odd, is that the rope and climbing bugs from the first version have been ironed-out and almost work, in a clunky, undesirable manner. And, while your sniper might rappel down the side of cliff overhangs, he simply canNOT mantle over small objects such as waist-high fences or foliage. Sometimes, a ladder might be climb-able and other times, not. Ladder climbing is a Half-Life affair as your sniper magically floats up the rungs of any ladder. Crawling is equally underdeveloped with your sniper's rifle floating, nearly stationary, while your toon fumbles about. However, the devs DID make it possible to crawl on top of a roof system and fire downward at odd angles for easier targeting. BUT, the most annoying idiosyncratic oddity with SNIPER (for me) will be your toon's incessant snorting, huffing and puffing while in scopeview. In addition to severe asthma, your sniper will wobble the scope to and fro, up and down without respite until you push the requisite button. More "game-y" and annoying, this minigame reminded me of a 4 year old waving about their first camera phone. Add to this frustration, the lensview of the scope suffers from major pop-in and muddy textures so that when sighting, you will have to wait while the textures resolve into something intelligible. Often, I would target some op-for and by the time he was redrawn for scope view, he'd changed position so I wasn't able to take the shot. The overall stealth mechanics of SNIPER are fiddly and unconvincing. Enemies do not seemingly patrol routes, they stand and wait. They never group their forces to hunt you down, either. One HUGE complaint is the many clipping issues that you will likely encounter. Targeting is hit or miss, pardon the pun, but while your sniper can occasionally target and hit through semi-hard surfaces, FORGET about tagging an op-for hiding behind a fern. Bullet trajectories, seemingly, cannot traverse environmental areas with a high density of foliage. No, not trees, -ferns and bushes. Correct, you cannot shoot through a fern. Op-for, in fact, will hide behind bushes and fern-like plants. So, for all the devs bravado over "realism" SNIPER cannot shoot through many of the plants on display. :(

    Sniper Elite for the first XBOX and later, PS2, WAS a very good sniper game with many similar mechanics. It's unfortunate that the devs of this new franchise cannot seem to meld CQB stealth mechanics with long distance sniping.
    Expand
  4. Jun 10, 2012
    2
    To start off I can't see the people I'm supposed to shoot during
    Every single mission accept there guns on most enemies. It seems like they
    To start off I can't see the people I'm supposed to shoot during
    Every single mission accept there guns on most enemies. It seems like they have some crazy cloaking device which is not true and don't get me started with the checkpoints every time u get to a meter marker. I honestly think the people that made this game should go shoot them selves for making such a **** gay that is 3 hours long which blows. The feel of the guns are good and the environments are nice at some points but overall I gave this game a 2 and I suggest you should NOT PLAY THIS GAME!!!
    Collapse
  5. Oct 20, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sniper Ghost warrior is just Atrocious! The story revolves around Sergeant Tyler, Private Cole Anderson and El Tejon. The whole story is based around a general named General Vasquez, who overthrows some fictional Democratic country and these men i mentioned above, pretty much have to go in and Assasinate him. The Characters in the game got no personality and are very genertic! The story is pretty poor and generic as well. Now what about the gameplay, graphics, etc? Well the graphics are very bad and the texures are very blury. This game has some of the worst screen tearing that i have seen in a video game, if not the worst. The sniping in this game is pretty sub par and comepletely unrealistic. Sometimes its hard to see because of the bluryness and texures pop ups. Enemy AI is some of the worst this generation. They run into walls, they walk around in a jerkey, scripted fashion. They sometimes continue to talk, even when their dead. If you try to sneak up on one of them, they pretty much know automaticaly your there and you die very easily, so the knife is absolutely useless. They run around in circles at times and when alerted, they mindless look around in the open in a crouch position, waiting to get shot by your sniper bullet. Oh, they can also see you from a couple of miles away, as if their eyes have binoculars or something. And last but not the least is the ending, lets just say, worst ending ever in a video game! Zero effort was placed into the ending, of a very bad video game. Multiplayer is pretty bad and is not very enjoyable. It's lacking in modes and depth.

    You must have extreame patience to play this garbage! Stay away!
    Expand