SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy SEALs PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Apr 19, 2011
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 123
  2. Negative: 34 out of 123
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2014
    6
    It's hard to understand what Zipper are targeting with this instalment, it feels somewhere between a typical first person shooter and something completely new. Graphically the game is uplifting, but the game modes are very limited and lag occurs frequently. It is not worth its full price tag, and will likely be disappointing for the fans of the series
  2. Apr 26, 2011
    5
    honestly i never really found this series appealing but i was told that this game was amazing by many of my friends so i borowed it from my friend who thought the exact oposite of most of my friends and boy am i glad i borrowed it instead of buying it. first off the camera i didnt like it and it would zoom in on my head so often i would sometimes get disoriented and die due to it and ihonestly i never really found this series appealing but i was told that this game was amazing by many of my friends so i borowed it from my friend who thought the exact oposite of most of my friends and boy am i glad i borrowed it instead of buying it. first off the camera i didnt like it and it would zoom in on my head so often i would sometimes get disoriented and die due to it and i never really got into it as i played about 1.5 hours of the story and just gave up on it. great graphics and solid controls and i can see why people fell in love with the series but this game is just not for me and was not my cup of tea so in my opinion rent it before buying to see if you will like it Expand
  3. Apr 27, 2011
    6
    Easily one of the easiest shooters I've ever played. This game and for now this series, has been 100% dumbed down for the casual audience. Graphically its ok. The Single Player lacks all sizzle, and is just wounded by awful team and enemy AI, not to mention a story that is so mundane and mediocre you cant wait for it to be over. The multiplayer is no where close to being finished andEasily one of the easiest shooters I've ever played. This game and for now this series, has been 100% dumbed down for the casual audience. Graphically its ok. The Single Player lacks all sizzle, and is just wounded by awful team and enemy AI, not to mention a story that is so mundane and mediocre you cant wait for it to be over. The multiplayer is no where close to being finished and requires at least 3 good patch jobs before anything starts to improve. The saving grace for Socom 4 is the Co-OP. You team up with 4 other buddies and run through custom missions. This is an awesome feature. Although i wouldve like to have seen the entire SP experience on Co-Op, the Co-Op experience is nothing but 100% pure fun. If it wasn't for the Co-op this game would be a debacle. Expand
  4. Apr 19, 2011
    7
    A lot of video game companies that are continuing a series title tend to try to make the title appeal to a very broad audience (Much like Bioware and Dragon Age II). Although it doesn't have the same feel as a typical SOCOM U.S. Navy Seals title, it still ends up being a pretty fun 3rd person shooter. (It looks a lot like Call of Duty if it were in third person) Like every war game nowA lot of video game companies that are continuing a series title tend to try to make the title appeal to a very broad audience (Much like Bioware and Dragon Age II). Although it doesn't have the same feel as a typical SOCOM U.S. Navy Seals title, it still ends up being a pretty fun 3rd person shooter. (It looks a lot like Call of Duty if it were in third person) Like every war game now you have the typical weapons that every game has and the cover system where you run behind something and can pop in and out to fire. Nothing really new or extremely exciting about but if your a big fan of 3rd person shooters, it may be worth your while. Expand
  5. May 5, 2011
    6
    Socom 4 is a game that actually grew on me from first starting it up. The game itself the black sheep of the Socom series, you aren't even SEALs during the Campaign. First and foremost my major complaint would be the camera. Why in god's name is it so damn close?! It feels so weird being right up in your face. It can be a little glitchy too. I've actually had a few occasions whereSocom 4 is a game that actually grew on me from first starting it up. The game itself the black sheep of the Socom series, you aren't even SEALs during the Campaign. First and foremost my major complaint would be the camera. Why in god's name is it so damn close?! It feels so weird being right up in your face. It can be a little glitchy too. I've actually had a few occasions where Forty-Five would start twitching and going insane on my screen and another occasion actually on mission 2 where several enemies were trying to walk into the same place and were just walking into each other for about 10 minutes. Secondly this might just be me but I feel like even the PSP Socom Fireteam Bravo's have more to offer when it comes to gameplay and things to do. With this you just pick up weapons, finish the level with them and then you can use them. I like the idea of the whole leveling weapons to unlock mods, I just wish there was more to it. You can get mod level 5 in 1 mission. It really doesn't add much but it seems pretty neat. Graphically wise it's not too bad either. For some reason I feel like Socom Confrontation looked much better, but that could just be me. Socom's have really never had great graphics when they've come out and this one at the very least follows that trend. I find myself having trouble giving this a 6 or a 7 I feel the game isn't that bad but I feel it really doesn't has as much depth as the other Socom's which is a definitive step back for the series, but there are aspects in the games campaign that I have enjoyed after completing it the first time. Over all this games alright, but at this point I believe fans of the series deserved something better. Expand
  6. May 19, 2011
    6
    After ignoring previous SOCOM installments I decided to give this one a bash in the hope SOCOM had rediscovered its form. Sadly, SOCOM is no longer the game it once was and this certainly won't live long in the memory. If SOCOM didn't have the multiplayer on offer this would be a very average shooter. Single Player is short, forgetable and largely uneventful. For me, it failed to reallyAfter ignoring previous SOCOM installments I decided to give this one a bash in the hope SOCOM had rediscovered its form. Sadly, SOCOM is no longer the game it once was and this certainly won't live long in the memory. If SOCOM didn't have the multiplayer on offer this would be a very average shooter. Single Player is short, forgetable and largely uneventful. For me, it failed to really focus on the tactical side of things which is something I seem to remember SOCOM done relatively well however I was disappointed as it seems as though they have put to much emphasis on the shooting side of things. Its as simple as getting weapons completing a level and carrying on there's no unlocks which is surprising and it doesn't leave you feeling rewarded. A frustration for me in particular was no grenade arc, why?! Besides that it doesn't last long and you won't take anything away from the experience. Visually the camera angle seems wretched, not anywhere near as bad as Kane and Lynch but it's certainly a big flaw in SOCOM4. The graphics on show aren't to bad but they aren't great but SOCOM never really relied on ground-breaking visuals to be a success. Fortunately SOCOM can take heart with the fact that the multiplayer is dependable and you will get a lot of enjoyment from the game if you have bought it solely for this. With a good variety of modes to choose from there's plenty to do. Some might be furstarted with the shortage of maps but the detail is great. SOCOM4 is not the worst game in the series but it's not anywhere the greatness we have seen in the past. A poor single player mode let down by a lack of depth and gametime is only bailed out by a solid multiplayer and with games like Operation Flashpoint impriving SOCOM has a lot of work to do to get itself back to anywhere near its former best. Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2011
    6
    SOCOM used to be awesome on the Ps2 but now it went downhill. Everything about this game just sucks and I returned this game to Gamestop and exchanged it for Ratchet and Clank All 4 One and even that game was better than this because it was actually fun.
  8. Nov 19, 2014
    6
    Being a big fan of Socom 1 - 3, I was very excited for this game. I even ordered the bundle pack that came with the PlayStation MOVE and gun. This game was pretty disappointing to me. The MOVE worked alright with the game, but it was too clunky and not user-friendly. The storyline was lackluster and the online play for the game was poorly done. I used to spend countless hours playing SOCOMBeing a big fan of Socom 1 - 3, I was very excited for this game. I even ordered the bundle pack that came with the PlayStation MOVE and gun. This game was pretty disappointing to me. The MOVE worked alright with the game, but it was too clunky and not user-friendly. The storyline was lackluster and the online play for the game was poorly done. I used to spend countless hours playing SOCOM II online for the PS2;This game totally killed the SOCOM franchise. Expand
  9. Sep 22, 2015
    7
    These games such as SOCOM and CONFLICT I love them all and I honestly afterpiece both the PS2 and PC and is usually evaluates 8/10 or more but unfortunately at this part I give 7/10 . The game fulfills all the previous parts (great mission , good graphics , great controls , tactical options ) but has two fundamental errors and they are short playing time and stealth missions that areThese games such as SOCOM and CONFLICT I love them all and I honestly afterpiece both the PS2 and PC and is usually evaluates 8/10 or more but unfortunately at this part I give 7/10 . The game fulfills all the previous parts (great mission , good graphics , great controls , tactical options ) but has two fundamental errors and they are short playing time and stealth missions that are incredibly inept frustrating . Expand
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 64
  2. Negative: 2 out of 64
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Oct 6, 2011
    80
    If you have all the accessories to play this game as it is meant to be digested (Move, Sharp Shooter, a decent online connection and four non-idiotic mates on standby for co-op) it's one heck of a good game. Lack even two of those prerequisites though and SOCOM: Special Forces will come across like a fairly standard operation that takes a bit too much liberty with the descriptor 'special'. [June 2011 p68]
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    60
    SOCOM 4 is a light and breezy third-person shooter that's pretty good by genre standards, but perhaps a bit lacking in comparison to SOCOM 2.
  3. Aug 5, 2011
    69
    This is a decent online shooter with a fairly bland and mildly repetitive single-player component added on.