• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Apr 19, 2011
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 114
  2. Negative: 34 out of 114

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2014
    6
    It's hard to understand what Zipper are targeting with this instalment, it feels somewhere between a typical first person shooter and something completely new. Graphically the game is uplifting, but the game modes are very limited and lag occurs frequently. It is not worth its full price tag, and will likely be disappointing for the fans of the series
  2. Nov 19, 2014
    6
    Being a big fan of Socom 1 - 3, I was very excited for this game. I even ordered the bundle pack that came with the PlayStation MOVE and gun. This game was pretty disappointing to me. The MOVE worked alright with the game, but it was too clunky and not user-friendly. The storyline was lackluster and the online play for the game was poorly done. I used to spend countless hours playing SOCOMBeing a big fan of Socom 1 - 3, I was very excited for this game. I even ordered the bundle pack that came with the PlayStation MOVE and gun. This game was pretty disappointing to me. The MOVE worked alright with the game, but it was too clunky and not user-friendly. The storyline was lackluster and the online play for the game was poorly done. I used to spend countless hours playing SOCOM II online for the PS2;This game totally killed the SOCOM franchise. Expand
  3. May 10, 2012
    10
    Socom 4. upon release took a lot of flak from fans of the series as well as from trolls on zippers official forum. But taking a second look at socom 4 apart from the loss of a few in-game mechanics like guns hot (your'e gun would move indicating an enemy was near). You begin to appreciate how much of a quality game zipper interactive actually made. The maps and campaign graphics areSocom 4. upon release took a lot of flak from fans of the series as well as from trolls on zippers official forum. But taking a second look at socom 4 apart from the loss of a few in-game mechanics like guns hot (your'e gun would move indicating an enemy was near). You begin to appreciate how much of a quality game zipper interactive actually made. The maps and campaign graphics are highly detailed and the foliage even allows you camo that actually works. stealth works consistently too so if you snipe an enemy on a bridge. closer enemies will not react and rush in to kill you, as they do in the recently released sniper elite v2. Having said that most campaign missions require both run and gun and stealth to complete. Socom is the thinking mans call of duty. Were tactics and pre-planning works better than trying to simply shoot everything that moves, that usually results in an un-timely death. The amount of content is good from the lengthy and challenging campaign the seperate online or offline co op missions to the full multi-mode multiplayer with leaderboards full guns and performance stats and medals to show your online progression with a fully working clan, and invite system the online after the final 1.04 patch is about 90%stable allowing for many hours play without lag or disconnect problems. Dedicated servers too so no host migration at all spoiling youre game. Also the uni-forms are replicas of the real item and voice localisation of troops is great. ie chinese troops speak chinese just like they do in real life. Sadly this may be the last in the Socom series as Zipper -Interactive no longer exists. But despite its critics i would recommend socom 4 now if youre looking for a more realistic war game than a lot of more recent titles and even some forth coming titles with recent beta,s do not beat socom 4.r.i.p. Zipper-Interactive. Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    I ACTUALLY gave this game an 8.5 in a Christian Game Review on my You Tube Channel, Gaming 4 Jesus ( http://www.youtube.com/Gaming4Jesus ). But MC won't allow us to give half-points. :/ In summary, if you want an excellent single player game which requires use of tried and true battle tactics, this game is second to only Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter series. TheI ACTUALLY gave this game an 8.5 in a Christian Game Review on my You Tube Channel, Gaming 4 Jesus ( http://www.youtube.com/Gaming4Jesus ). But MC won't allow us to give half-points. :/ In summary, if you want an excellent single player game which requires use of tried and true battle tactics, this game is second to only Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter series. The multiplayer was really nothing to write home about. :( If you wish to see my video review of the game, you can watch it by going to this URL: http://youtu.be/8W5nXtCDKqA

    However, all my video game reviews MAY contain spoilers. So be warned! ;)
    Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    Socom 4 and mag are one of the best games ive play so far compare mag or socom to all others games from BF to COD to brink to homefront whats game can be enjoyable as socom 4 or mag ?? Zipper deserve respect Socom 4 have some issue need to be adresse BUT THe game bashing must END i think every games bashers must be banned from socom forums because they have no place here they ruins theSocom 4 and mag are one of the best games ive play so far compare mag or socom to all others games from BF to COD to brink to homefront whats game can be enjoyable as socom 4 or mag ?? Zipper deserve respect Socom 4 have some issue need to be adresse BUT THe game bashing must END i think every games bashers must be banned from socom forums because they have no place here they ruins the forums they ruins zippers and its not good for anyone Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2011
    0
    Let me keep this short and sweet. SOCOM abandoned all that was once pure. Whatever they had is now gone. If you are a old school SOCOM'er DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. If you are lame.com and are under the age of 2 than this game is perfect for a sippy cup coaster.
  7. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    It is hard to say which is a further departure from what the socom brand used to stand for when considering either the single player or multiplayer of this game. The campaigns of every other socom(excluding one that was multiplayer only) was based around a customizable team that you had to tweak just right each mission. In those mission you had to use stealth and determine the best path toIt is hard to say which is a further departure from what the socom brand used to stand for when considering either the single player or multiplayer of this game. The campaigns of every other socom(excluding one that was multiplayer only) was based around a customizable team that you had to tweak just right each mission. In those mission you had to use stealth and determine the best path to complete your mission or you were likely to be overwhelmed by enemies. This new campaign does everything but pull the trigger for you guiding you down linear paths against swarms of scripted enemies which are still beatable because you conveniently have super health and damage. Not to mention the loss of features such as voice commands which were present in the PS2 era games yet are missing today? What definition of progress does this fit under? But when it comes to the socom franchise most people are more interested in it's multiplayer than campaigns. That arguably manages to disappoint even more where the old one life a round scheme originally inspired by counterstrike is shuffled off to a secondary mode. Gone also are all the game modes that made the MP popular and along with the lack of any original maps in the base game the new maps seem to be either randomly thrown together or designed to be perfectly symmetrical making for an utterly un tactical experience. The community features that were developed through the franchises life are also missing being replaced by a queue system that makes it a pain to find a good room. And on top of all that the shooting mechanics were made to be so beginner friendly the only tactical element of the game is who has the most patience and does not pop out of cover first to be hit by a headshot instantly. Besides all the poor design choices the quality of the game is just as bad. The graphics are acceptable but artifacts are often visible(don't even get me started on the explosions) while the sound on the other hand it just awful, every gun sounds alike and that sound is nothing like a gunshot. Gone is the character customization introduced in the last socom and instead it regressed to character skins half of which look like they belong in the gym pumping irons and steroids instead of on the battlefield, which they are not even equipped with the right camouflage for a jungle environment that matter. The game was built on the MAG engine and it's obvious that they copied and pasted nearly everything from that game, and MAG was a bad game in the first place. Expand
  8. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Different then older socom but a great game anyways. The new game modes are alot of fun. Nice to see developers trying something new. In a time where respawn is kind it is great Zipper kept a classic mode for all of that are true.
  9. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    What a game,I love everything about this game.Thanks a million that it got the patches it needed cause yes it truly needed it.The game was good but needed help because it was rushed.I usually won't go out and get a game that is bashed by reviewers so badly,except for a few.People are really hypnotized with black ops fever cause this game is better and more real.It's like comparing anWhat a game,I love everything about this game.Thanks a million that it got the patches it needed cause yes it truly needed it.The game was good but needed help because it was rushed.I usually won't go out and get a game that is bashed by reviewers so badly,except for a few.People are really hypnotized with black ops fever cause this game is better and more real.It's like comparing an arcade racing game with a simulation.This game is real while more and more military games are being streamlined and made arcadey just for the fun aspect.So you have a choice,go out and buy them all like I do or if you have or want to choose then what is your preference,do you like run and gun like black ops,do you like real and rewarding like bad company 2 or do you like it all which is this game.Trust me folks,the game play,graphics,feel of war,replay factor,team based mission structure,ect..,ect..This game is the game to get. Expand
  10. Nov 1, 2011
    6
    SOCOM used to be awesome on the Ps2 but now it went downhill. Everything about this game just sucks and I returned this game to Gamestop and exchanged it for Ratchet and Clank All 4 One and even that game was better than this because it was actually fun.
  11. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    This is the most underrated multiplayer game ever. It's fast, fluid, fun and looks gorgeous. Great game modes, lots of weapons and cool looking characters. It's way better than Call of Duty and Battlefield games.
  12. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    I guarantee everyone on here that is crying about how they hate this game are playing it right now. You can't tell me that you don't have fun when you play it, regardless of it's problems. Stop comparing it to other socom's. No one care that you've been playing socom since the first one. Get over yourself and be honest, you probably play socom 4 everyday like the rest of us.
  13. Aug 26, 2011
    0
    With SOCOM 2, Zipper had a near perfect title, Fantastic Multiplayer, Epic Soundtrack, and Amazing tactical squad based single player. Now, They are planning on re-booting the franchise with SOCOM 4. So what is their definition of reboot? Take out EVERYTHING that made SOCOM 2 good, and then improve the graphics, and while their at it, focus on some motion control fad then the actualWith SOCOM 2, Zipper had a near perfect title, Fantastic Multiplayer, Epic Soundtrack, and Amazing tactical squad based single player. Now, They are planning on re-booting the franchise with SOCOM 4. So what is their definition of reboot? Take out EVERYTHING that made SOCOM 2 good, and then improve the graphics, and while their at it, focus on some motion control fad then the actual gameplay as even more of a slap to the face to SOCOM fans. Squad control interface? Dumbed down to the point where it is as broken and useless as the RPG elements in Mass Effect 2 (Don't get me wrong, Mass Effect 2 was a good game) Smart Squad AI that makes you feel like a leader, rather then a baby-sitter? Gone. Stealth play? Gone. Open environments that give you tactical options that aren't 'Obvious sniper rifle on the high balcony'? Gone. All the characters from the SOCOM Franchise? Gone. Difficulty? Gone. US Navy SEALS? Even THOSE are gone. That's right folks, You don't even play as the US Navy SEALS, You play as 'NATO Special Operations'. The combat is clunky and feels broken, Your squad mates seem more interested running in single-file formation into enemy fire rather than following orders. Did Zipper make this game just to slap SOCOM Fans in the face? Bottom line: Game tries to be just any other shooter, and even fails at that, resulting in a broken mess of a game. You would get a better use of your hard-earned money by wiping your ass with a $50 bill. Expand
  14. Jun 29, 2011
    8
    This is the best SOCOM yet. This under-rated shooter shines at giving the high level of tension and coordination that comes from being a U.S Navy SEAL. Surprisingly, the sound effects really give you a sense that you're in the middle of a real battle. I've never experienced this in any SOCOM game. Also, the gun-play is spot-on. It's not Call Of Duty level of spot-on gun-play, but for aThis is the best SOCOM yet. This under-rated shooter shines at giving the high level of tension and coordination that comes from being a U.S Navy SEAL. Surprisingly, the sound effects really give you a sense that you're in the middle of a real battle. I've never experienced this in any SOCOM game. Also, the gun-play is spot-on. It's not Call Of Duty level of spot-on gun-play, but for a third-person tactical shooter, it's pretty good. Using the D-Pad to give out orders, Thinking up strategies with your squad has never been easier. Left for the blue team, right for the yellow team and down to regroup. This makes using your team alot of fun. Something I disliked in previous SOCOM games. The story is the best in a military game since the first Modern Warfare. Give Zipper Interactive alot of credit. They really went all out when it came to giving us the first good SOCOM single-player campaign. The custom campaign mode is a pretty cool way to give the game more replay value. Better yet, you can play them in Co-Op. Teaming up with friends lets you strategize the missions in a way that would be impossible with A.I. team-mates. Multiplayer is great as always. It has alot of variety in the game-types, rewards, unlock-ables and the interface is pretty easy to use. Now, don't get me wrong, SOCOM 4 is great but it's not perfect. The later missions in the story campaign get so hard that you'll be laughing out of frustration just to distract you from the fact that you want to throw the controller to the TV. The camera really needed some more polish as it gets in the way sometimes and makes your character completely disappear. I struggled with this regularly throughout the game. The A.I. is not the smartest I've seen. Your team-mates sometimes get in the way and then scream at you as if it was your fault that you shot him in the back. Also, the enemies seem to be super-human since they can hear your footsteps from a mile away. You can be quietly sneaking and all the sudden an entire army comes at you guns-blazing.

    SOCOM 4 has it's issues but the pros outshine the cons. Longtime SOCOM fans should feel right at home and very satisfied with this latest entry. And for those tired with the Call Of Duty's and Battlefield's, this game is a great change of pace from all the run-and-gun shooters that are dominating the market these days.
    Expand
  15. Jun 20, 2011
    0
    A sad day for SOCOM fans and a slap in the face from the devlopers, there is nothing good to be said about this title or the dev anymore....this game is literally MAG2 (in 3rd person) and nothing like SOCOM...co op can be fun but as far as MP goes......terrible....and ONLINE GAME WITH NO PARTY SYSTEM
  16. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    The Socom series is easily one of the best series on the PS consoles. Socom 4 does not disappoint, its a great game with a whole lot of content this is a must buy.
  17. May 31, 2011
    0
    When i first heard this game was announced i was absolutely ecstatic. Finaly Zipper returns to Socom to bring the GREAT series to Playstation 3. Then it was released and i couldn't have been more disappointed. Lets see where do i begin..? I'll begin in the single player campaign. First off each and every single level looked like it was straight out of MAG. Now dont get me wrong i actuallyWhen i first heard this game was announced i was absolutely ecstatic. Finaly Zipper returns to Socom to bring the GREAT series to Playstation 3. Then it was released and i couldn't have been more disappointed. Lets see where do i begin..? I'll begin in the single player campaign. First off each and every single level looked like it was straight out of MAG. Now dont get me wrong i actually liked MAG alot but this (Socom) was supposed to be a different game. There was no attempt to create new environments whatsoever. Second and the most important, the gameplay. Socom is great because of the tactical game play. This however was the complete opposite of the older games in the series. They reduced the expansive command menu from the past games to the simple "go here" and "shoot him". You are no longer graded at the end of each mission as before. The GREAT stealth aspects from the past Socoms are absolutely gone. There are "stealth missions", but they are forced and only are playable with one character. The attempt at "stealth" in this game was pathetic. In the old Socoms you could stealth your way past just about every level and there were multiple paths through each level. There was also the option the shoot your way through the level if you wanted. The point being there were multiple ways to beat a level. Socom 4 deviates from that great formula by throwing wave after wave of enemies at you. Every level is run 20 ft then have a 10 minute fire fight, run 20 ft then another fire fight. Its obvious Zipper took the Call Of Duty route here and tried to attract the casuals to this game, but in the process ruined their name and a game. Second, the A.I. in this is just terrible. Both your team and the enemies. I dont know how many times I would "command" my team to positions only to be killed by an enemy or 2 that walk right past my team and shoot me. Unless you specifically "command" them to shoot some one the team is useless. They stand out in the open getting shot and killed even if they were told to move behind cover. Third, the story is very weak. The past Socoms never had the characters emotionally tied to what was going on the game. They were exactly what they should be, military MISSIONS. The characters weren't personally involved in the conflict. And that brings me to the main character, Cullen Grey. It's blatantly obvious that they were going for Nathan Drake's (Uncharted) image. They failed in that attempt. Anyone who finds this "story" and characters interesting needs to re think gaming as a hobby. Now the mulitplayer. It is NOTHING like the the previous Socom games. Zipper completely went the casual Call Of Duty route here. The classic mode is not what Socom was. It is an insult to the hardcore Socom fan base. It's clear that it was second to the non classic mode, which was NEVER the case in the past. These new modes, game types, and the run and gun play style is something that would never be found in a TRUE Socom game. Socom used to be for the hardcore shooting gamers that took patience, skill, and team work to play. Zipper turned their back on the fans that made that series what it was and now only want the money from the casuals out there. Bottom line here, if youre looking for a next gen Socom game then Socom 4 is NOT it. Confrontation was bad on release but has since been fixed up and was actually a good game that tried to keep Socom's identity. Socom 4 = Biggest disappointment of 2011. Expand
  18. May 31, 2011
    8
    Unlike alot on here,i'm not judging this game on what it is,not what it 'isnt'.i'm reviewing this as a game in its own right.& that is a fun to play & competent Squad Action game.Sure,its not much like earlier Socom games.They were obviously trying something different here.Stop moaning that this isnt like another title,& just enjoy this for what it is.I'm sure they'll be more traditionalUnlike alot on here,i'm not judging this game on what it is,not what it 'isnt'.i'm reviewing this as a game in its own right.& that is a fun to play & competent Squad Action game.Sure,its not much like earlier Socom games.They were obviously trying something different here.Stop moaning that this isnt like another title,& just enjoy this for what it is.I'm sure they'll be more traditional Socom titles in the future,& i'll be sure to enjoy & try them too.The only reasons the score isnt higher,is because it didnt have Co-Op in the campaign(what a waste of potential),& the Stealth Missions,which i didnt find particually enjoyable,& just felt like they were in the way.Anyone who says Confrontation is better than this is mad.Its a very poor quality multiplayer-only game,that isnt even what the Seals are about.Seal missions are about going in,completing a very specific mission,then getting out,with as least 'Confrontation' as possible.Not llingering in one place,in a prolonged,pointless firefight.. Expand
  19. May 27, 2011
    10
    I love tactical shooters, Rainbow Six, Operation Flashpoint, Battlefield games etc, but I have to say that SOCOM 4 is a great game. The single player mode is decent at best, but the online is where (IMO) this game excels!! Good variety of modes and detailed maps. I enjoyed MAG by these same devs, but SOCOM is where its at for me. Brilliant online game in every sense of the word.
    If you
    I love tactical shooters, Rainbow Six, Operation Flashpoint, Battlefield games etc, but I have to say that SOCOM 4 is a great game. The single player mode is decent at best, but the online is where (IMO) this game excels!! Good variety of modes and detailed maps. I enjoyed MAG by these same devs, but SOCOM is where its at for me. Brilliant online game in every sense of the word.
    If you like your "no tactics, run and gun" games, then CoD is for you (altho I have been very disappointed with the last 2 CoD games, not a patch on MW 1). People keep harming on about 'there's no seals in the game', well if your from the states, the game is called SOCOM navy seals, I'm sure you get to play as a seal. Around the rest of the world it seems to be called SOCOM special forces, and is localized for your country. If team work and bit of Rambo solo is your passion, then you wont go far wrong with SOCOM. Brilliant work Zipper. Collapse
    Expand
  20. May 24, 2011
    1
    Absolute disaster. This game makes SOCOM Confrontation look great. Everything about this game evolved around online play with your friends. Its next to impossible. There is no way to make a room and have everyone join and play a medley of all maps the way you like them. Zipper lost it. I just want my SOCOM game native to PS3. PLEASE vote to have SOCOM native to PS3 and bring all theAbsolute disaster. This game makes SOCOM Confrontation look great. Everything about this game evolved around online play with your friends. Its next to impossible. There is no way to make a room and have everyone join and play a medley of all maps the way you like them. Zipper lost it. I just want my SOCOM game native to PS3. PLEASE vote to have SOCOM native to PS3 and bring all the classic maps back. RIP SOCOM franchise. Expand
  21. May 21, 2011
    2
    Okay, where to begin? Let's see...for starters, I've played all of the Socom games on the ps2 and ps3. I thought the original Socom and Socom II were very well done. All of the other versions, not so much. With that said, I would have to say this is easily the worst game in the series. I am giving this game a score of 2 just because of all things, the sp. The mp is just too messedOkay, where to begin? Let's see...for starters, I've played all of the Socom games on the ps2 and ps3. I thought the original Socom and Socom II were very well done. All of the other versions, not so much. With that said, I would have to say this is easily the worst game in the series. I am giving this game a score of 2 just because of all things, the sp. The mp is just too messed up. To me, the shooting mechanics are broken, the characters movement is clunky, the map selection is poor and there are more issues to numerous to mention. I actually am surprised when I say the sp is the strongest part of this game and that's not saying much. I think it's just passable as a generic shooter, not a Socom game. I played it just because the PSN was down and to get all of the trophies. Beyond that, it is forgettable in every way. In conclusion, if you want a generic shooter that tries to be a little bit of everything out there today, but does no one particular thing well, then this is your game. Everyone else, should stay far away. Expand
  22. May 19, 2011
    6
    After ignoring previous SOCOM installments I decided to give this one a bash in the hope SOCOM had rediscovered its form. Sadly, SOCOM is no longer the game it once was and this certainly won't live long in the memory. If SOCOM didn't have the multiplayer on offer this would be a very average shooter. Single Player is short, forgetable and largely uneventful. For me, it failed to reallyAfter ignoring previous SOCOM installments I decided to give this one a bash in the hope SOCOM had rediscovered its form. Sadly, SOCOM is no longer the game it once was and this certainly won't live long in the memory. If SOCOM didn't have the multiplayer on offer this would be a very average shooter. Single Player is short, forgetable and largely uneventful. For me, it failed to really focus on the tactical side of things which is something I seem to remember SOCOM done relatively well however I was disappointed as it seems as though they have put to much emphasis on the shooting side of things. Its as simple as getting weapons completing a level and carrying on there's no unlocks which is surprising and it doesn't leave you feeling rewarded. A frustration for me in particular was no grenade arc, why?! Besides that it doesn't last long and you won't take anything away from the experience. Visually the camera angle seems wretched, not anywhere near as bad as Kane and Lynch but it's certainly a big flaw in SOCOM4. The graphics on show aren't to bad but they aren't great but SOCOM never really relied on ground-breaking visuals to be a success. Fortunately SOCOM can take heart with the fact that the multiplayer is dependable and you will get a lot of enjoyment from the game if you have bought it solely for this. With a good variety of modes to choose from there's plenty to do. Some might be furstarted with the shortage of maps but the detail is great. SOCOM4 is not the worst game in the series but it's not anywhere the greatness we have seen in the past. A poor single player mode let down by a lack of depth and gametime is only bailed out by a solid multiplayer and with games like Operation Flashpoint impriving SOCOM has a lot of work to do to get itself back to anywhere near its former best. Expand
  23. May 16, 2011
    0
    I am going to keep this short and simple. Zipper abandoned the expectations that come with the name "Socom". Terrible camera, terrible gameplay, no recoil, no grenade arc, no lean, no lobby or party system, terrible leveling up system for weapons and mods, no push to talk, no escort or breach medley, only 8 maps. What is this? A terrible modernization for the "casual" gamer. Avoid at all costs.
  24. May 5, 2011
    6
    Socom 4 is a game that actually grew on me from first starting it up. The game itself the black sheep of the Socom series, you aren't even SEALs during the Campaign. First and foremost my major complaint would be the camera. Why in god's name is it so damn close?! It feels so weird being right up in your face. It can be a little glitchy too. I've actually had a few occasions whereSocom 4 is a game that actually grew on me from first starting it up. The game itself the black sheep of the Socom series, you aren't even SEALs during the Campaign. First and foremost my major complaint would be the camera. Why in god's name is it so damn close?! It feels so weird being right up in your face. It can be a little glitchy too. I've actually had a few occasions where Forty-Five would start twitching and going insane on my screen and another occasion actually on mission 2 where several enemies were trying to walk into the same place and were just walking into each other for about 10 minutes. Secondly this might just be me but I feel like even the PSP Socom Fireteam Bravo's have more to offer when it comes to gameplay and things to do. With this you just pick up weapons, finish the level with them and then you can use them. I like the idea of the whole leveling weapons to unlock mods, I just wish there was more to it. You can get mod level 5 in 1 mission. It really doesn't add much but it seems pretty neat. Graphically wise it's not too bad either. For some reason I feel like Socom Confrontation looked much better, but that could just be me. Socom's have really never had great graphics when they've come out and this one at the very least follows that trend. I find myself having trouble giving this a 6 or a 7 I feel the game isn't that bad but I feel it really doesn't has as much depth as the other Socom's which is a definitive step back for the series, but there are aspects in the games campaign that I have enjoyed after completing it the first time. Over all this games alright, but at this point I believe fans of the series deserved something better. Expand
  25. May 2, 2011
    8
    The online is where it's at for me. Granted, it is much different and more accessible than previous Socoms, but I still feel like I'm playing Socom. Zipper is good with patching games so any bugs are being fixed(don't count Confrontation, ZIpper didn't make that one). The multiplayer camera is completely revamped from the SP view, which is great. I'd much rather be playing this thanThe online is where it's at for me. Granted, it is much different and more accessible than previous Socoms, but I still feel like I'm playing Socom. Zipper is good with patching games so any bugs are being fixed(don't count Confrontation, ZIpper didn't make that one). The multiplayer camera is completely revamped from the SP view, which is great. I'd much rather be playing this than CoD. The online Rush Hour map is just euphoric. It's massive, there's many pindown points, and it's a blast to play on respawn....something I thought I'd never say with a Socom game. This game's online is where it excels, everything else is very bland and forgettable. Nowhere near better than Socom 1 or 2, but better than 3 and CA in my book, as far as multiplayer is concerned. I say rent it, $60 is too much to gamble with on video games. I also think the graphics are amazing on my HD Toshiba. It's not Killzone or FFXIII quality, but you can tell there was a lot of work put into detail. Most of the reason this game is getting such bad reviews is because of how much the series has changed. Most veterans of the franchise are having a sitdown in attempt to reinvigorate what Zipper used to mean to them. That, and there aren't any Navy Seals in this game lol. It should've been called NATO: Special Forces in all honesty, kidding aside. Granted, am I a bit disappointed with what Socom 4 has become? Yeah. I was hoping that Zipper was more down to earth and wouldn't attempt to tap into the CoD demographic. But I can't deny I have fun playing this game. That's where it counts for me. Expand
  26. May 1, 2011
    0
    One of the greatest playstation franchises has officially died, and socom 4 is the final nail in the coffin. The key features that made this franchise stand out amongst everything else, leave you asking WTF? The single player is no longer a tactical mission, it plays out like any other shooters SP. Where you walk into an area as quietly as possible, yet the enemy some how knows you areOne of the greatest playstation franchises has officially died, and socom 4 is the final nail in the coffin. The key features that made this franchise stand out amongst everything else, leave you asking WTF? The single player is no longer a tactical mission, it plays out like any other shooters SP. Where you walk into an area as quietly as possible, yet the enemy some how knows you are there. The cover sysem is a nice addition to the game, but again its nothing innovative since so many other shooters are using it as well. And as for the multiplayer, its a total nightmare. There will be times in classic mode as soon as the match starts, everyone spawns, than about 15-20 seconds later it allows you to respawn. And by the time you even leave your spawn, you are hit with a nade or gun fire. The camera view doesn't do this game any favors either, the over the shoulder view blocks out any peripheral vision that you have. And going around objects makes the camera zoom into the back of your characters head. Lack of weapon customization and character customization really hurt this game as well. All in all socom 4 is a mediocre game, that tries to imitate all the other shooters out there. Not worth my $60 Expand
  27. Apr 30, 2011
    0
    I've been a long time Socom fan. And this game, this game is awful. Its not even Socom! No lobbies, no pistols, no original game modes besides suppression, ranked respawns, a cover system. no grenade arc, you need to push up on the d-pad, really?, etc. This game is like Cod,Gears of War, and Mag had a ugly and disgusting child. This game isn't even worth renting.
  28. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    Do not listen to haters and trolls. This game is easily among top 3 of multiplayer shooters. Well designed maps, 32 players and nice tactical gameplay. Movement is slower than in CoD series preventing rambo style rampage. It is pretty sad such great game is being downranked that badly because of not being CoD paced (critics) or not being what Socom 2/3 fanboys expected (users).
  29. Apr 28, 2011
    0
    Terrible. Not what fans of the series wanted. How many times will Zipper strike out before they listen to their fans?

    Like the multiplayer, the campaign is bland and completely unfaithful to the old games.

    This isn't SOCOM. It's a new shooter pretending to be SOCOM. Shame on Zipper for disrespecting their long time fans with what can only be deemed a slap in the face.
  30. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    Although something is lacking, in comparison to Socom 2. This game brought me back into the franchise after not purchasing Socom 3 and Confrontation. The elimination of vehicles was great, in multiplayer. Single Player is more tactical than either Socom 1 or 2. At the end of the day they made leaps, and just because its not a first person shooter people hate. This game kills COD BlackAlthough something is lacking, in comparison to Socom 2. This game brought me back into the franchise after not purchasing Socom 3 and Confrontation. The elimination of vehicles was great, in multiplayer. Single Player is more tactical than either Socom 1 or 2. At the end of the day they made leaps, and just because its not a first person shooter people hate. This game kills COD Black Ops anyday, in fact its more balaced, better campaign and multiplayer. Stop Hating and Appreciate, not only the spectacular graphics but also, the intense game play. Expand
  31. Apr 27, 2011
    6
    Easily one of the easiest shooters I've ever played. This game and for now this series, has been 100% dumbed down for the casual audience. Graphically its ok. The Single Player lacks all sizzle, and is just wounded by awful team and enemy AI, not to mention a story that is so mundane and mediocre you cant wait for it to be over. The multiplayer is no where close to being finished andEasily one of the easiest shooters I've ever played. This game and for now this series, has been 100% dumbed down for the casual audience. Graphically its ok. The Single Player lacks all sizzle, and is just wounded by awful team and enemy AI, not to mention a story that is so mundane and mediocre you cant wait for it to be over. The multiplayer is no where close to being finished and requires at least 3 good patch jobs before anything starts to improve. The saving grace for Socom 4 is the Co-OP. You team up with 4 other buddies and run through custom missions. This is an awesome feature. Although i wouldve like to have seen the entire SP experience on Co-Op, the Co-Op experience is nothing but 100% pure fun. If it wasn't for the Co-op this game would be a debacle. Expand
  32. Apr 26, 2011
    5
    honestly i never really found this series appealing but i was told that this game was amazing by many of my friends so i borowed it from my friend who thought the exact oposite of most of my friends and boy am i glad i borrowed it instead of buying it. first off the camera i didnt like it and it would zoom in on my head so often i would sometimes get disoriented and die due to it and ihonestly i never really found this series appealing but i was told that this game was amazing by many of my friends so i borowed it from my friend who thought the exact oposite of most of my friends and boy am i glad i borrowed it instead of buying it. first off the camera i didnt like it and it would zoom in on my head so often i would sometimes get disoriented and die due to it and i never really got into it as i played about 1.5 hours of the story and just gave up on it. great graphics and solid controls and i can see why people fell in love with the series but this game is just not for me and was not my cup of tea so in my opinion rent it before buying to see if you will like it Expand
  33. Apr 25, 2011
    0
    This game is just straight up trash. You can tell just from the main menu that zipper wasnt trying at all to make a game true and dear to their fanbase.They were probably in their studio getting high or something cause they werent working on this game at all!! First off the character movements are terrible, they move like retards i mean they are suppose to be trained military men and theyThis game is just straight up trash. You can tell just from the main menu that zipper wasnt trying at all to make a game true and dear to their fanbase.They were probably in their studio getting high or something cause they werent working on this game at all!! First off the character movements are terrible, they move like retards i mean they are suppose to be trained military men and they move like tit heads. Second there the shooting mechanics in this game are so bad and clunky along with the annoying camera it makes playing more than 30 mins a headache at best. Third the game is clearly copying off of call of duty with its gay little airstrikes that are usless and ineffective i mean they even changed the strafing speed to make it more like call of duty a game that does everything better than socom 4 Expand
  34. Apr 24, 2011
    0
    I bought this game expecting a fresh new experience, but all I got was more of the same. Socom 4 has a dry and boring SP, and a disasterous multiplayer mode. This will be my first and last Socom game.
  35. Apr 24, 2011
    0
    One of the greatest playstation franchises has officially died, and socom 4 is the final nail in the coffin. The key features that made this franchise stand out amongst everything else, leave you asking WTF? The single player is no longer a tactical mission, it plays out like any other shooters SP. Where you walk into an area as quietly as possible, yet the enemy some how knows you areOne of the greatest playstation franchises has officially died, and socom 4 is the final nail in the coffin. The key features that made this franchise stand out amongst everything else, leave you asking WTF? The single player is no longer a tactical mission, it plays out like any other shooters SP. Where you walk into an area as quietly as possible, yet the enemy some how knows you are there. The cover sysem is a nice addition to the game, but again its nothing innovative since so many other shooters are using it as well. And as for the multiplayer, its a total nightmare. There will be times in classic mode as soon as the match starts, everyone spawns, than about 15-20 seconds later it allows you to respawn. And by the time you even leave your spawn, you are hit with a nade or gun fire. The camera view doesn't do this game any favors either, the over the shoulder view blocks out any peripheral vision that you have. And going around objects makes the camera zoom into the back of your characters head. Lack of weapon customization and character customization really hurt this game as well. All in all socom 4 is a mediocre game, that tries to imitate all the other shooters out there. Not worth my $60 Expand
  36. Apr 24, 2011
    9
    These people giving this game any less than a 5 are just Socom fanboys that are **** about it not being Socom 2. It's an excellent game that'll keep you playing for a long time. The SP campaign albeit short is quite good, nothing to really write home about, but it's unique and you can play the missions many different ways. There's a custom campaign which is awesome and a co op campaign soThese people giving this game any less than a 5 are just Socom fanboys that are **** about it not being Socom 2. It's an excellent game that'll keep you playing for a long time. The SP campaign albeit short is quite good, nothing to really write home about, but it's unique and you can play the missions many different ways. There's a custom campaign which is awesome and a co op campaign so you can play with your friends online. If it's a cod ripoff why hasn't cod ever had a custom campaign or had a co op campaign (except W@W which had a co op campaign). The online is really fun. A decent variety of game modes, solid clan system and a NO LAG (something else cod doesn't have). I do have one gripe about this game and that's the lack of an invite system. You can join your friends when they're already in a game but you can't invite them to a party which is annoying. That's a big enough flaw to take a point off an otherwise fairly perfect game. I definitely suggest buying this. I cancelled my preorder the day before release because of these retard Socom fanboys but I still ended up buying it a couple days after release and I'm very glad I did. The psn outage has forced me to play the SP and after 4 days of it I'm still not tired of it. Expand
  37. Apr 24, 2011
    8
    I find it unfortunate that gamers and critics are so fickle and so unrealistic with their expectations. It is always "where are the next gen graphics" and " this game does not compare to that game". SOCOM 4 is actually a good game to play (the single player experience is what I am commenting on as I cannot play the online portion until PSN is back up). Very good game. I like playingI find it unfortunate that gamers and critics are so fickle and so unrealistic with their expectations. It is always "where are the next gen graphics" and " this game does not compare to that game". SOCOM 4 is actually a good game to play (the single player experience is what I am commenting on as I cannot play the online portion until PSN is back up). Very good game. I like playing it with PS Move and the complaints about the cover system are true but is just not that big a deal. The squad AI is maybe a little too good but this allows you to command your squad from the back if you want to. I hope you enjoy it for what it is. Expand
  38. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    While I agree the single player is **** Socom has never had a great single player and that''s not the attraction to the franchise. What matter is the MP and it delivers. Offering "most" of the classic gameplay modes as the first 3. You'll find yourself playing suppression as demolition was vastly changed, and imo, not in a good way. However, they've outdone themselves in creating the maps,While I agree the single player is **** Socom has never had a great single player and that''s not the attraction to the franchise. What matter is the MP and it delivers. Offering "most" of the classic gameplay modes as the first 3. You'll find yourself playing suppression as demolition was vastly changed, and imo, not in a good way. However, they've outdone themselves in creating the maps, greatly increasing the area and detail on par if not exceeding that of CoD: MW2 . There is chokepoints, but cleverly disguised in what seem to be huge maps. What stops me from giving this a perfect 10 is the camera issues. It's something that people can get used to, but is just annoying at the start. Not similar to any of the previous Socoms. A Expand
  39. Apr 23, 2011
    2
    This Socom is the biggest disappointment in the once very popular, very strong Socom franchise. Its lacks the very essentials that help make a team based strategy game. The game was released before it was even completed and there are a whole host of patches needed to fix the many glitches and errors in the game. No Lobby system, no party systems, camera angles are terrible, the OTS andThis Socom is the biggest disappointment in the once very popular, very strong Socom franchise. Its lacks the very essentials that help make a team based strategy game. The game was released before it was even completed and there are a whole host of patches needed to fix the many glitches and errors in the game. No Lobby system, no party systems, camera angles are terrible, the OTS and cover system have completely ruined the game while they have managed to remove essentials like d-pad lean and "jump to climb". There only half the number of maps in Socom 4 as there were in other socoms, and they are symmetrical and geared towards the respawn based gameplay, not traditional socom modes.

    If you are looking for a new game to keep you entertained, look elsewhere. This is simply a 3rd person Call of Duty gone wrong. Games modes are not entertaining either. If you buy this game, make sure you have enough gas in the tank to make a trip to Gamestop the next day because this is a game you will definitely be returning.
    Expand
  40. Apr 22, 2011
    4
    I was completely unimpressed by the lackluster story and its' half assed attempts at trying so hard to pretend it's original. The shooting mechanics are atrocious and nobody should have that much recoil while shooting a weapon. The camera was extremely close and claustrophobia inducing, also severely limiting your field of view in SP. MP is a work in progress. I get that most gamesI was completely unimpressed by the lackluster story and its' half assed attempts at trying so hard to pretend it's original. The shooting mechanics are atrocious and nobody should have that much recoil while shooting a weapon. The camera was extremely close and claustrophobia inducing, also severely limiting your field of view in SP. MP is a work in progress. I get that most games nowadays can be patched later, but that should be left for exploits, not for fixing things in a game that was already delayed. Doesn't feel like a SOCOM experience at all. Overall, one of the bigger disappointments of this year. Expand
  41. Apr 22, 2011
    3
    As a fan of the original SOCOM's on the PS2, this game totally strays far from its original roots. A very poor OTS Camera view with tons camera collision, random bullet spray instead of actual recoil, and a cover system that promotes heavy camping. This game was meant to cater to the semi-retarded ADD players of COD. That is not what SOCOM is about. The previous SOCOMs were all aboutAs a fan of the original SOCOM's on the PS2, this game totally strays far from its original roots. A very poor OTS Camera view with tons camera collision, random bullet spray instead of actual recoil, and a cover system that promotes heavy camping. This game was meant to cater to the semi-retarded ADD players of COD. That is not what SOCOM is about. The previous SOCOMs were all about teamwork, communication, and skill. I do not see any of these in this installment of SOCOM. Currently, the game makes it almost impossible to play with your friends. Include that with a shotty mic system that hardly works and a socom engine where gunfights are determined by luck rather than skill, this game just simply isn't SOCOM. They simply added the SOCOM name to it to improve their sales because we all know this game wouldn't sell if it was called "Third Person COD and Every Other Shooter Out There Rip Off" Expand
  42. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    I have played every single Socom game, and I feel that is a great modernization of the Socom franchise. No its not exactly like classic Socom, but it DOES make the game more comfortable to a wider audience while keeping the core fans satisfied with the Classic gameplay mode. Zipper is actively listening to the community to make it an even better game. I really enjoy the game.
  43. Apr 21, 2011
    4
    If you purchase this game expecting a "SOCOM" title you will be SEVERELY let down. This game has gone away from the true roots of the series and has moved the title to be more casual player friendly. Features found in shooters such as call of duty, uncharted and rainbow six debut for the first time in this "SOCOM" titled game. All aspects of this game are changed for the worse from singleIf you purchase this game expecting a "SOCOM" title you will be SEVERELY let down. This game has gone away from the true roots of the series and has moved the title to be more casual player friendly. Features found in shooters such as call of duty, uncharted and rainbow six debut for the first time in this "SOCOM" titled game. All aspects of this game are changed for the worse from single player, co-op and online multiplayer as I will now explain to you.

    Singleplayer in SOCOM 4 is an mediocre experience at best. The storyline is extremely cheesy as it is you and your squad versus an entire country's army with generic plot twists.. Rambo would be jealous because I racked up 1000+ kills on hard mode right before the game ended (I know this because I got a trophy for that). The acting is very b-movie like where it shines for a few moments and then drowns miserably for the rest of the show. However the voice acting is a tad bit better during some moments. To beat the games 14 lackluster missions on hard it took me a total of 7 hours and 14 minutes. Your AI teammates range from being useful as bullet sponges to being borderline retarded during the entire length of the campaign. The best part of singleplayer is when it solos you through four stealth missions. Zipper must of made these to piss of the socom community, as they are the only parts of singleplayer that almost resemble the series offline roots.

    Co-op is best played online since your squad ai is already as I mentioned handicapped in every way. There are only 4 missions to play with your friends or random quick matched players. However these missions can be altered with enemy difficult and count. But who the hell doesn't want to play on the hardest settings? Once you beat them all each one time you will never want to return as co-op gets repetitive and boring quick.

    Sigh now lets get into the biggest letdown of the words on the front of the box. SOCOM is all about online multiplayer gameplay no question about it. With that being said this is honestly the worse online SOCOM game you will ever play. Lobbies are now replaced with random call of duty quick matches where little to no communication takes place. There is never a sense of comradery in these rooms as you will find quick you don't give two **** who is in or out of your game nor does anyone else. Consider yourself lucky if you can switch up teams in 15 seconds since you cant talk to the opposing team.

    Do you like playing with your friends on SOCOM? Well you cant for awhile zipper forgot to add a party system there suppose to "patch" it in before the end of april. You can play with friends but you have to join there room and hope its not full while hoping you get on there team... talk about a nightmare. The clan system is the only way to currently play in a "party" at all. Here's how it works; you make a group and challenge clans from any gamemode from a list and hope they accept or even get the invite to war.

    If you want to go solo you can play some ranked respawn and call in some airstrikes from your killstreak reward.... yep hello call of duty! There are classic modes where there is no respawn but they are a slight nod at the series if you want to go that far. Hip fire sucks so you get two dual primary weapons on this "SOCOM" game! Everytime you score a kill you get some fancy experience points to unlock weapon attachments and level up your character to gain access to new weapons. That is assuming if you can get a kill with the clunky character view point that plagues every aspect of the game from online to offline.

    Im going to stop here as I do not want to rant about the thousands of negative changes for multiple paragraphs. Maybe in 3 months from now after multiple patches this game will be better but as it stands right now it is better than Confrontation RELEASE period. See that the keyword was RELEASE... Confrontation TODAY is better than SOCOM 4 without a doubt if you get into a legit room. This game does everything the mainstream market has today but doesn't do one thing right its just a big mess.

    Bottom line... zipper lost touch with its fanbase and you need to avoid this game unless you find it used or on the bargain bin for a decent price.
    Collapse
  44. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    MY Review is based off of Single Player, Co-Op and Multiplayer Classic. I loved every minute of the 7 hours i played last night. Co-op- Is an extremely fun and rewarding mode if played with the right people. Using the mic is a must and so is patience. The levels we played needed everyone to take thought out positions and not run out in the middle. If someone tried to rambo through theyMY Review is based off of Single Player, Co-Op and Multiplayer Classic. I loved every minute of the 7 hours i played last night. Co-op- Is an extremely fun and rewarding mode if played with the right people. Using the mic is a must and so is patience. The levels we played needed everyone to take thought out positions and not run out in the middle. If someone tried to rambo through they would die and have to wait until our team could clear out enough enemies to safely revive them. Made playing the levels very tactical and we actually paid attention to other players health levels and moved who had point based on their health. Using strategy and tactics we were able to get through levels without failing but it did not come easy. Single Player- Admittedly i only played the first level with the sharpshooter and move but it was very fun. The button layout will take a while to get used to on the sharpshooter but using it enhanced the SP.

    Classic multiplayer- While playing i seen a trend. The player who ran out without knowledge of the map or a purpose dies quickly and complained a lot. Online requires a lot of strategy and knowledge of how your weapon works. The same players were always on top so the game is very skill based. The shooting mechanics require that your reticle be on target before you shoot or you will most likely miss your your target with subsequent bullets. After getting the hang of this shooting without L1 is very easy to do and i found myself on the good end of face to face battles.

    I do know that there are pleasant of players who do not understand the shooting mechanic yet because a few times someone would fail to kill me when they start shooting at my back. Generally their first shot missed then they hit me with the 3rd or fourth shot and blow through a few more that miss before i turn around and took them out.
    Expand
  45. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. Great single player campaign. Fun and addicting Co-Op. And the heart and soul of SOCOM is its multiplayer and it shines in this one. It is great to have Zipper back in the saddle. Can't wait for the possibility of throwback DLC, maybe some classic maps and modes. But don't get me wrong. This is a title no one should miss.
  46. Apr 20, 2011
    8
    Socom 4 offers strategic gameplay and interesting maps. The graphics are crisp, with vivid detail on cracked roadways and damaged cars; lots of interesting hiding places come out of those too. The game has only been up for one day, but so far Iâ
  47. Apr 19, 2011
    7
    A lot of video game companies that are continuing a series title tend to try to make the title appeal to a very broad audience (Much like Bioware and Dragon Age II). Although it doesn't have the same feel as a typical SOCOM U.S. Navy Seals title, it still ends up being a pretty fun 3rd person shooter. (It looks a lot like Call of Duty if it were in third person) Like every war game nowA lot of video game companies that are continuing a series title tend to try to make the title appeal to a very broad audience (Much like Bioware and Dragon Age II). Although it doesn't have the same feel as a typical SOCOM U.S. Navy Seals title, it still ends up being a pretty fun 3rd person shooter. (It looks a lot like Call of Duty if it were in third person) Like every war game now you have the typical weapons that every game has and the cover system where you run behind something and can pop in and out to fire. Nothing really new or extremely exciting about but if your a big fan of 3rd person shooters, it may be worth your while. Expand
  48. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Wow look at the scores here: people very divided about this game. I'm having fun with it. I played COD MW for a while. This game is more tactical. I like the cover system. People who don't like it should realize they don't have to use it, and should quit complaining about it. And please stop with the comparisons. This game has a good feel of it's own. I guess you'll love it or hate it.
  49. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Best SOCOM since SOCOM 2. After SOCOM 2 zipper pretty much fell off for me. Then Slant 6 came in and I loved their work on the PSP, but when it came to confrontation it was just as bad as Zipper's last project, but Zipper came back to change all that and as a diehard SOCOM fan I must say they did rather well. Sure their are issues, but playing in classic mode is a nice change of pace forBest SOCOM since SOCOM 2. After SOCOM 2 zipper pretty much fell off for me. Then Slant 6 came in and I loved their work on the PSP, but when it came to confrontation it was just as bad as Zipper's last project, but Zipper came back to change all that and as a diehard SOCOM fan I must say they did rather well. Sure their are issues, but playing in classic mode is a nice change of pace for things. Definitely can't play this game like or compare this game to other modern day shooters. This one actually takes time, teamwork, and patience. Overall what I expected. Expand
  50. Apr 19, 2011
    0
    A travesty of epic proportions. True Socom fans need not to play this crap. This game is nothing but Call of Duty in third person mode. Kilstreaks, weapon ranks, and all the other crap you hate. The game's cover system encourages camping. One button grenade throwing encourages grenade spam. This is worse than SOCOM: Confrontation which at least tried to be a SOCOM game. This game will goA travesty of epic proportions. True Socom fans need not to play this crap. This game is nothing but Call of Duty in third person mode. Kilstreaks, weapon ranks, and all the other crap you hate. The game's cover system encourages camping. One button grenade throwing encourages grenade spam. This is worse than SOCOM: Confrontation which at least tried to be a SOCOM game. This game will go down as a horrible game overall. Zipper is done and so is SOCOM. Expand
  51. Apr 19, 2011
    1
    Zipper destroyed the franchise with Socom 4.A bad made CoD clone.
    Hope Slant Six works on a Confrontation 2 so I get the real Socom feeling again.

    http://forums.socom.com/t5/SOCOM-4-General-Discussion/How-to-restore-Classic-Mode-to-it-s-former-glory/td-p/1065178
  52. Apr 21, 2011
    0
    If you purchase this game expecting a "SOCOM" title you will be SEVERELY let down. This game has gone away from the true roots of the series and has moved the title to be more casual player friendly. Features found in shooters such as call of duty, uncharted and rainbow six debut for the first time in this "SOCOM" titled game. All aspects of this game are changed for the worse from singleIf you purchase this game expecting a "SOCOM" title you will be SEVERELY let down. This game has gone away from the true roots of the series and has moved the title to be more casual player friendly. Features found in shooters such as call of duty, uncharted and rainbow six debut for the first time in this "SOCOM" titled game. All aspects of this game are changed for the worse from single player, co-op and online multiplayer as I will now explain to you.

    Singleplayer in SOCOM 4 is an mediocre experience at best. The storyline is extremely cheesy as it is you and your squad versus an entire country's army with generic plot twists.. Rambo would be jealous because I racked up 1000+ kills on hard mode right before the game ended (I know this because I got a trophy for that). The acting is very b-movie like where it shines for a few moments and then drowns miserably for the rest of the show. However the voice acting is a tad bit better during some moments. To beat the games 14 lackluster missions on hard it took me a total of 7 hours and 14 minutes. Your AI teammates range from being useful as bullet sponges to being borderline retarded during the entire length of the campaign. The best part of singleplayer is when it solos you through four stealth missions. Zipper must of made these to piss of the socom community, as they are the only parts of singleplayer that almost resemble the series offline roots.

    Co-op is best played online since your squad ai is already as I mentioned handicapped in every way. There are only 4 missions to play with your friends or random quick matched players. However these missions can be altered with enemy difficult and count. But who the hell doesn't want to play on the hardest settings? Once you beat them all each one time you will never want to return as co-op gets repetitive and boring quick.

    Sigh now lets get into the biggest letdown of the words on the front of the box. SOCOM is all about online multiplayer gameplay no question about it. With that being said this is honestly the worse online SOCOM game you will ever play. Lobbies are now replaced with random call of duty quick matches where little to no communication takes place. There is never a sense of comradery in these rooms as you will find quick you don't give two **** who is in or out of your game nor does anyone else. Consider yourself lucky if you can switch up teams in 15 seconds since you cant talk to the opposing team.

    Do you like playing with your friends on SOCOM? Well you cant for awhile zipper forgot to add a party system there suppose to "patch" it in before the end of april. You can play with friends but you have to join there room and hope its not full while hoping you get on there team... talk about a nightmare. The clan system is the only way to currently play in a "party" at all. Here's how it works; you make a group and challenge clans from any gamemode from a list and hope they accept or even get the invite to war.

    If you want to go solo you can play some ranked respawn and call in some airstrikes from your killstreak reward.... yep hello call of duty! There are classic modes where there is no respawn but they are a slight nod at the series if you want to go that far. Hip fire sucks so you get two dual primary weapons on this "SOCOM" game! Everytime you score a kill you get some fancy experience points to unlock weapon attachments and level up your character to gain access to new weapons. That is assuming if you can get a kill with the clunky character view point that plagues every aspect of the game from online to offline.

    Im going to stop here as I do not want to rant about the thousands of negative changes for multiple paragraphs. Maybe in 3 months from now after multiple patches this game will be better but as it stands right now it is better than Confrontation RELEASE period. See that the keyword was RELEASE... Confrontation TODAY is better than SOCOM 4 without a doubt if you get into a legit room. This game does everything the mainstream market has today but doesn't do one thing right its just a big mess.

    Bottom line... zipper lost touch with its fanbase and you need to avoid this game unless you find it used or on the bargain bin for a decent price.
    Collapse
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 64
  2. Negative: 2 out of 64
  1. If you have all the accessories to play this game as it is meant to be digested (Move, Sharp Shooter, a decent online connection and four non-idiotic mates on standby for co-op) it's one heck of a good game. Lack even two of those prerequisites though and SOCOM: Special Forces will come across like a fairly standard operation that takes a bit too much liberty with the descriptor 'special'. [June 2011 p68]
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    60
    SOCOM 4 is a light and breezy third-person shooter that's pretty good by genre standards, but perhaps a bit lacking in comparison to SOCOM 2.
  3. Aug 5, 2011
    69
    This is a decent online shooter with a fairly bland and mildly repetitive single-player component added on.