User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 223 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 223

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SethC.
    Oct 20, 2008
    1
    This game is garbage. lots of lag, error screens, laggy gameplay, and a general unfinished feel. sure, they might fix it someday but I paid good money for this and don't feel like waiting around for a game that should have been released months from now that was rushed for the holiday season and also rushed in order to not be over-shadowed by gears of war 2. why didn't they wait This game is garbage. lots of lag, error screens, laggy gameplay, and a general unfinished feel. sure, they might fix it someday but I paid good money for this and don't feel like waiting around for a game that should have been released months from now that was rushed for the holiday season and also rushed in order to not be over-shadowed by gears of war 2. why didn't they wait until the experience was good enough instead of selling a faulty product that will need numerous patches until it is up to par? Expand
  2. Vic
    Oct 20, 2008
    1
    If you bought it for the headset, congrats u got the game for $20 (which it seems like its only worth that, or less) The game is lackluster all around. Graphics are mediocre, gameplay is uber sluggish, camera angles are difficult to persuade, and the controller setup is ridiculous. Not to mention they put in a useless messaging device. The headset and the sound are the only good If you bought it for the headset, congrats u got the game for $20 (which it seems like its only worth that, or less) The game is lackluster all around. Graphics are mediocre, gameplay is uber sluggish, camera angles are difficult to persuade, and the controller setup is ridiculous. Not to mention they put in a useless messaging device. The headset and the sound are the only good qualities, not to mention the victory dances are funny, as difficult as they are to achieve. The character customization is a lesser form of Rainbow Six and the lobbies are garbage to get into, crowded as all heck. Changing weapons and even scrolling through menus can take some getting used to, which is bogus. Aiming is difficult, and half the encounters end up straffing wars. A few times I even spawned without any guns, or even an invisogun, the gun model didn't even appear. Buy the set for the headset, don't buy the game by itself, its not worth $40. Expand
  3. BrianH.
    Oct 21, 2008
    5
    BULLET SPRAY GAME WARNING Spray bullets....spray more bullets. Spray more bullets. Fight the camera angle and that is pretty much socom confrontation. This game has so much potential. Once technical issues hopefully we'll see more "spicing" up the gameplay and wishes of the community. I have to give what I own at the writing of this review a 5 now. The only thing keeping me playing BULLET SPRAY GAME WARNING Spray bullets....spray more bullets. Spray more bullets. Fight the camera angle and that is pretty much socom confrontation. This game has so much potential. Once technical issues hopefully we'll see more "spicing" up the gameplay and wishes of the community. I have to give what I own at the writing of this review a 5 now. The only thing keeping me playing is the hope of the community and the enthusiasm. Expand
  4. JustinR
    Oct 22, 2008
    0
    What a waste of money. I've been trying to play for 3 days and have only managed to play 1 minute of a match before getting kicked off. Not only do I constantly get disconnected from PSN and lose network connections (this doesn't happen in any other game!), it glitches out non-stop. Total waste of money! do not buy! not even worth renting. Biggest disappointment EVER.
  5. JadM.
    Oct 22, 2008
    0
    This game is a Piece of $hit.Why they called it Socom I will never know. There is a ton of things missing from the game. It plays slow, reloads are slow. Sniping is horrible. Freezes up all the time. This Game is a Mess. Slant 6 should have made a Pokemon game, not Socom.
  6. Mar 24, 2011
    6
    im a big socom fan from the PS2 era and spent many months on socom 1 and some time on socom 2 . when i first read the reviews i decedied to wait for a price drop and for all the online problems to be patched . i started playing it about 1 year after it came out and it wasnt to bad online although some of the maps even with 32 players just feels like to much of a chore to find any one toim a big socom fan from the PS2 era and spent many months on socom 1 and some time on socom 2 . when i first read the reviews i decedied to wait for a price drop and for all the online problems to be patched . i started playing it about 1 year after it came out and it wasnt to bad online although some of the maps even with 32 players just feels like to much of a chore to find any one to kill. ive gone the full 20 min and seen only a few enimys . there is some nice custimaszation you can do . and it does have the socom feel to it but not near 100%. also no story mode i would have loved that with 4 player co op . as this game is you are better off waiting for Socom 5 from the way thats shaping up it should hopefully be the socom game fans of the series have been waiting for. Expand
  7. AlexD.
    Oct 16, 2008
    7
    Pros + Great headset if you buy the bundle. + Character customization Cons - Controls sluggish - Muddy Graphics - Camera Controls are arguably what makes or breaks a game. After spending a couple hours with the latest socom and fiddling around with the various options for controls I still couldn't find a 'comfortable' middle ground. When the game is first loaded and you Pros + Great headset if you buy the bundle. + Character customization Cons - Controls sluggish - Muddy Graphics - Camera Controls are arguably what makes or breaks a game. After spending a couple hours with the latest socom and fiddling around with the various options for controls I still couldn't find a 'comfortable' middle ground. When the game is first loaded and you jump into your first game aiming feels constricted and slow. The addition of motion sensing seemed like a very unique concept, finally us console gamers will be able to peek around corners without first having to attach ourselves to a wall. I found the motion controls to be a bit cumbersome and not intuitive. I usually favor third person type gaming, because I get a better feel for my surroundings. Although the camera can be manipulated slightly the differences are quite minimal. You can either be directly behind your avatar at a bit of a distance, or on either side at a much closer perspective. During game play it felt as if my character was always in the way. This really took away from my situational awareness drastically. I would often miss someone walking up to me because my guy was blocking my view. The graphics had to be the second biggest disappointment. Call of duty 4 had amazing graphics and still had solid frame rates. Everything in socom seemed to mush together and characters were difficult to make out. All the textures looked washed out. One thing I did enjoy was the character customization. Changing your character to be more specialized for tanking or stealth is a really nice option, but alas this isn't a dress-up simulation. I really wanted to like this game. I have played past socoms and enjoyed them all very much. I don't like run and gun games as much as tactical shooters, but the best shooter right now on the market is cod4 and I was hoping that this game would have replace it. I would strongly recommend that you rent first before purchasing this title. For me I got a really nice 60 dollar headset and a title that I hope to hock off on craigs list very soon. Expand
  8. May 2, 2011
    0
    I have played SOCOM since the first one. I would love to hook up with some of the old guys who are still around playing. I miss the old cross roads and the mixer and the jungle maps and many more. I remember sweating at the end of a round trying to get threw PMI mines and just how intense it was WOW!!! Old SOCOM was the **** There never has been a game like that since!!! Not sureI have played SOCOM since the first one. I would love to hook up with some of the old guys who are still around playing. I miss the old cross roads and the mixer and the jungle maps and many more. I remember sweating at the end of a round trying to get threw PMI mines and just how intense it was WOW!!! Old SOCOM was the **** There never has been a game like that since!!! Not sure who designed all of SOCOM 1-2 but I'm sure the one's after that have been some young kid who should be working on COD which is nothing more then a baby sitter. These games have lost story purpose heart and the addiction feeling. People (sad as it is) use to live on these games lol. COD there is not about a team or involves any real thinking and definitely does not require any skills just a bunch of ADD kids who's parents dump them on it so they don't have to deal with them. It is electronic Ritalin. Why put the SOCOM name on something that really has nothing to do with the original SOCOM? The difference of SOCOM vs. this new stuff like COD is that any one can play COD. In SOCOM you had to be smart a good gamer and put a lot of your self into each mission or you would get voted out. Bring your A game. The games today are just reactive games very little thinking or skills involved. Us old guys are looking to SOCOM to give us that. Plus there is a lot of younger people who are not challenged enough by COD (because it is pathetic display of tards). Geeks are not known to listen or connect with people well. So remember this with out fans there is no "SOCOM". You should have BETA the game and tweaked it from there and taken some feed back. You could have been bigger then COD but now your just a game with out sole. Who ever made this shows what they have inside them selves, not much... SOCOM Confrontation is another baby sitter!! Expand
  9. Lazlo
    Oct 18, 2008
    0
    This is an injustice to be called a Socom game. Has no heart, no feeling, and none of the fun of the first two for PS2. The servers are beyond terrible, and it's an online-only game so it's not like the developers couldn't have seen this coming. The only reason I gave it a zero is because this system doesn't allow for negative numbers.
  10. Jan 20, 2011
    10
    THIS GAME BLOWS...... No.

    Seriously.

    I'm a socom-er from way back - back when S1 first came out - save your money. This is bogus. Cheaters - holy **** HOLY **** Cheaters are worse now than ever. Save your money. Buy some dope - get high - you'll be better for it.
  11. TylerH
    Oct 19, 2008
    9
    I gave it a 9 because the game is one of the best tactical shooters I have ever played. Only thing I have played that comes close to this game is Ghost Recon(s), Operation Flashpoint, Americas Army(s) and Arma. So If you like those games you should love this. Awesome graphics, amazingly effective/clear chat system, great weapons. That is not to excuse the lag/disconnects that have been I gave it a 9 because the game is one of the best tactical shooters I have ever played. Only thing I have played that comes close to this game is Ghost Recon(s), Operation Flashpoint, Americas Army(s) and Arma. So If you like those games you should love this. Awesome graphics, amazingly effective/clear chat system, great weapons. That is not to excuse the lag/disconnects that have been happening, but it is the first week... and I know those will be fixed. Other than that they need to fix the motion control leaning and scopes and this will be the best tactical game II've ever played. Expand
  12. Dec 13, 2011
    1
    This is maybe the most horrible game I have played in PS3 - excluding some of the cheap PSN titles. It is online-only shooter. It has like half an hour installing at first and after then you get to laggy servers. And even the gameplay is like from year 2001. Definetly don't buy it, the player count is also very weak on this and probably there isn't enough players soon or even now to getThis is maybe the most horrible game I have played in PS3 - excluding some of the cheap PSN titles. It is online-only shooter. It has like half an hour installing at first and after then you get to laggy servers. And even the gameplay is like from year 2001. Definetly don't buy it, the player count is also very weak on this and probably there isn't enough players soon or even now to get this going. So definetly don't buy. Expand
  13. JF.
    Oct 21, 2008
    8
    Graphics 7.5/10 - Huge maps are nice to look at it but lack overall up close detail Sounds 9/10 - Wow, the best gun sounds I've ever heard, and great in game chat. Controls 8/10 - They do the job, but some things take some getting used to. Overall the game is fun and addicting but it has lots of problems. Basically the game right now should be a BETA. They are promising patches soon Graphics 7.5/10 - Huge maps are nice to look at it but lack overall up close detail Sounds 9/10 - Wow, the best gun sounds I've ever heard, and great in game chat. Controls 8/10 - They do the job, but some things take some getting used to. Overall the game is fun and addicting but it has lots of problems. Basically the game right now should be a BETA. They are promising patches soon and we can only hope they fix everything so this game can reach it's true potential. This game has the potential to be a 9. But it's not there yet. For $40 it's worth waiting on to see if it improves. The $60 version comes with a great headset and is more worth the money if you don't have one. Expand
  14. CoreyC.
    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    To early to rate it accurately. This game has serious top end potential. I think the major reason for the low rating is the fact that they had to release it to work out the server issues. 57 out of 100 is ridiculous and inaccurate if right now. This game will be rated 90+ in the future.
  15. RyanK.
    Oct 22, 2008
    3
    I rated it a 3 just for the simple fact that this game was by no way ready for retail. We as consumers need not grow complacent with developers releasing games in a 75% completion state and then justifying the release with future patch promises. This is a completely unexcepted.
  16. DevinG.
    Oct 22, 2008
    9
    Since launch servers have been so much better to play on and the amazing experience that is SOCOM Confrontation is slowly starting to show itself. Ignore the bad reviews. Games running pretty good and the patch this week will make it so much better. This game will grow.
  17. StuartH.
    Oct 22, 2008
    3
    Socom 1 and 2 'was' the ultimate online shooter ever to hit the consoles. Unfortunately due to lack of updates/patches the gaming community was forced to move on to other games which never recreated the Socom experience or addiction. Socom was known for its excellent Community management, Clan and stat tracking. This game (Socom Confrontation) IS NOT the game fans of the Socom 1 and 2 'was' the ultimate online shooter ever to hit the consoles. Unfortunately due to lack of updates/patches the gaming community was forced to move on to other games which never recreated the Socom experience or addiction. Socom was known for its excellent Community management, Clan and stat tracking. This game (Socom Confrontation) IS NOT the game fans of the original series were waiting for. Instead Slant 6 served Socom fans a turkey that's still frozen. This is not the Socom 1/2 experienced as promised originally by Seth Luisi (far from it). Slant 6 needs to stick to PSP game development as this game proved to be out of there league. All they can do on the socom website is poll people on irrelevant questions instead of posting updates of the progress for fixing the game. 'Nice PR guys'... Fail to Sony for letting an "online only" game hit the market when the game is almost unplayable online. Just add another Sony exclusive title to growing list of trash games. "EPIC Fail Sony, EPIC Fail". Overall the graphics are 'ok' @ 720p but not anything leading edge here, sound is excellent though (so if you can actually get online to play, shut your eyes to improve your playing enjoyment). Warning: This game makes the PS3 processes slow to a crawl and I've heard of it actually bricking some PS3's. The game gets a 3 because of what it could be not for what it is, if they fixed the bugs, stats, trophies, servers, gun spray, nade damage and improved character controls/movements they may get a 10. Instead they get a 3 for the attempt. XBox has dropped in price and GOW2 in on the horizon along with many other good titles. Looks like it Expand
  18. BobP.
    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    First off the server issues are sony related not Slant Six. That being said Sony is hard at work fixing said issues so give slant and socom a break and submit reviews once the servers are running 100%. Playing the game with optimal servers is a blast and I'm hoping that all these reviews get revised once this happens as this game deserves better as do the slant six employees who have First off the server issues are sony related not Slant Six. That being said Sony is hard at work fixing said issues so give slant and socom a break and submit reviews once the servers are running 100%. Playing the game with optimal servers is a blast and I'm hoping that all these reviews get revised once this happens as this game deserves better as do the slant six employees who have bled for this game. Expand
  19. GofukU.
    Oct 22, 2008
    0
    I couldn't even tell you what the game is like seeing as I cant even access anything. All I do is spend time trying to log in, let alone trying to get into a channel. This is brutal, and Ive never had this problem before in trying to play a game online. Im going back to future shop and telling them I want my money back. If they wont give me my money back Im seriously going to take my I couldn't even tell you what the game is like seeing as I cant even access anything. All I do is spend time trying to log in, let alone trying to get into a channel. This is brutal, and Ive never had this problem before in trying to play a game online. Im going back to future shop and telling them I want my money back. If they wont give me my money back Im seriously going to take my game disc and smash it. You think by now they would have figured out that the game was going to have a ton of people wanting to play it online and they would have TESTED it out before releasing it. Expand
  20. RichC.
    Oct 23, 2008
    5
    BUGS, BUGS, LAG, DOWNED SEVERS, and BAD Graphics. This is the worst forty dollars I have ever spent. Talk about a rush job, If i ever put something out like this I would be canned. Save your money and don't buy this game, unless you need the headset.
  21. JedG
    Oct 23, 2008
    8
    If you love COD 4 but crave something with more brains headaches, SOCOM: Confrontation has got you covered. This game is incredible if you give it time. Everything people have written about regarding the lengthy install(s), the server debacles, the game freezes, the clunky menu and unintuitive game controls is true. However, the servers are pretty reliable now after a week and once you If you love COD 4 but crave something with more brains headaches, SOCOM: Confrontation has got you covered. This game is incredible if you give it time. Everything people have written about regarding the lengthy install(s), the server debacles, the game freezes, the clunky menu and unintuitive game controls is true. However, the servers are pretty reliable now after a week and once you get into a game and spend some time learning the controls, gameplay and your own style, you'll see how much depth there is to levels, and how intense the gunfights can be. That's why we play games, right? Because they're fun. Expand
  22. DJB.
    Oct 23, 2008
    4
    Wow where to start. It pains me that we the customers get screwed once again. Slant Six puts out a beta for the game that is quite buggy, and then puts out the retail version with the same problems only 60 bucks heavier (with a nice headset). Why do we have to continue to pay money to beta test company
  23. ChrisW.
    Oct 24, 2008
    5
    This game shows brief moments of great potential, but those moments are all too quickly swallowed up by annoying bugs, poor gameplay mechanics, awkward controls, and absolutely debilitating server issues. If the graphics were amazing, I might overlook some of the many annoying little issues. But the graphics aren't amazing. If the gameplay was revolutionary, again, I might be able to This game shows brief moments of great potential, but those moments are all too quickly swallowed up by annoying bugs, poor gameplay mechanics, awkward controls, and absolutely debilitating server issues. If the graphics were amazing, I might overlook some of the many annoying little issues. But the graphics aren't amazing. If the gameplay was revolutionary, again, I might be able to turn the other cheek. But the gameplay is of the been-there-done-that variety. And did I mention the bugs and server issues? They can't be under-stated. In fact, SOCOM is one big server issue. YES, it's really THAT bad. I wish I was exaggerating. At the end of the day, the frustration-to-enjoyment ratio is so heavily titled to the former, that I find it nearly impossible to recommend this game to anyone, even to SOCOM die-hards (unless you've spent months talking up this game on Internet chat boards and now have yourself convinced that it really is a good game). To you folks, well: have fun SOCOM: Confrontation. I just wish I could too. Expand
  24. JohnnyV.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    most reviews out at the moment are based on the server issues, and the few bugs here and there. IMO this is not the right way to rate a game and they should, like Gametrailers does, wait until at least a few more bugs are fixed so that they can review the game properly. This is just unfair if you ask me, it's a really good game, if you look over the bugs.
  25. EdwardM.
    Oct 24, 2008
    1
    Eagerly awaiting the release of SOCOM: Confrontation was a waste of my time. I would have had more fun renting Shaq-Fu for SNES (maybe not). It is a pretty bad game though. The only reason I gave it a 1 is because of the L2 push-to-talk button for chatting. I traded it in the next day. Two thumbs down Bitches.
  26. DanM
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    This brings me back to the SOCOM 2 days. The reviewers were absolutely ignorant because once the technical bugs get worked out in the first few weeks, the game can really be seen for what it is. And this one is a heck of a lot of fun as it is the first shooter where teamwork is absolutely essential to winning. The graphics are good, the level design is great, and the gameplay is wicked This brings me back to the SOCOM 2 days. The reviewers were absolutely ignorant because once the technical bugs get worked out in the first few weeks, the game can really be seen for what it is. And this one is a heck of a lot of fun as it is the first shooter where teamwork is absolutely essential to winning. The graphics are good, the level design is great, and the gameplay is wicked fun. A must have! Expand
  27. AcaB
    Oct 27, 2008
    2
    I saw a couple of user comments comparing Socom to COD4 which doesn't do COD4 any justice at all. COD4 is a well designed game with intuitive and easy-to-use controls, solid online play, and impressive graphics, all the things Socom doesn't have. Sorry guys, perhaps Socom used to be a great game but this new reincarnation just isn't such a good deal after all. I hope they I saw a couple of user comments comparing Socom to COD4 which doesn't do COD4 any justice at all. COD4 is a well designed game with intuitive and easy-to-use controls, solid online play, and impressive graphics, all the things Socom doesn't have. Sorry guys, perhaps Socom used to be a great game but this new reincarnation just isn't such a good deal after all. I hope they improve the game soon, it does have potential, but otherwise I am off to COD5 or whatever other good FPS/TPS comes along. Expand
  28. BattleX
    Oct 28, 2008
    9
    Excellent graphics and the same great gameplay that made Socom what it is today. The chat works really well and the maps are well designed as usual. Lots of server problems which will be fixed ASAP and a patch will be coming out soon to fix some gameplay issues. After the game is fixed there is no doubt that this will be one of the best online experiences of any next-gen console. I'm Excellent graphics and the same great gameplay that made Socom what it is today. The chat works really well and the maps are well designed as usual. Lots of server problems which will be fixed ASAP and a patch will be coming out soon to fix some gameplay issues. After the game is fixed there is no doubt that this will be one of the best online experiences of any next-gen console. I'm basing my vote on news from Sony that the problems will be fixed by the end of the first week of November. Expand
  29. DanielB.
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    Great socom game, I've played every socom released and the controls are better than ever. I've not run into any issues that other are complaining about, sure there is some lag but its a multiplayer game that was released less than a month ago. There will be some issues but not for long. Great game, great matches no need to pass this one up.
  30. ArthorF.
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    Week one issues are gone. Most reviews are from a really shitty week for SOCOM. Game runs beautifully now, hella fun. Only issue is some pop-in to be honest. But the gameplay is top notch, as you'd normally expect from a SOCOM game.
  31. EddieR.
    Nov 1, 2008
    8
    Hesitantly bought this game due to mediocre reviews, but as it turned out i was pleasantly surprised with how fun it is. Personally the only problem I've faced is some online lag and the occasional stat tracking problem. Another bonus has been the Mic that came with the game, works beautifully.
  32. SamuelW.
    Nov 1, 2008
    9
    Bought hoping all the negative reviews were wrong, and i was correct in my assumption. I think I depends on each individuals experience with the game. I've had no trouble with freezing or joining game. The only problem I've had is the internet lag every once and a while. I honestly enjoy this game...and the included headset is amazing.
  33. IvanY.
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    Wow this game is perfect everything has been fixed already it works perfectly and it plays great. A must have for any online shooter fan or SOCOM 2 fanatic like me [aFg] Ivan. LoL... Buy this game you will be hooked is addictive it has great must play maps. The graphics are jaw dropping amazing. No other game can beat this. All this bad reviews are from idiotic stupid reviewers the game Wow this game is perfect everything has been fixed already it works perfectly and it plays great. A must have for any online shooter fan or SOCOM 2 fanatic like me [aFg] Ivan. LoL... Buy this game you will be hooked is addictive it has great must play maps. The graphics are jaw dropping amazing. No other game can beat this. All this bad reviews are from idiotic stupid reviewers the game is free of any flaws don't believe this crappy reviews the game is fine buy it and you won't ever regret it. Expand
  34. DominicR.
    Nov 3, 2008
    1
    People that are saying this game is great are leing to themselves. It is even funnier when hey say the graphics are awsome, because they truly are not good at all. Infact they look more like PS2 graphics to me. Now everyone knows after this hunk of junk came out Call of Duty is officially the official realistic shooter out today. Sorry Socom, you had your time and plenty of chances.
  35. Anonymous
    Nov 3, 2008
    1
    This was my first Socom game. I have played many shooters, and this just wasn't a great experience for me. Even with the known issues fixed, I still don't see the need to play it. If you are looking for a . My only real issue is that the controls are sluggish. I played a ton of Goldeneye and Perfect Dark back in the day and loved the way the n64 controller felt (even though it This was my first Socom game. I have played many shooters, and this just wasn't a great experience for me. Even with the known issues fixed, I still don't see the need to play it. If you are looking for a . My only real issue is that the controls are sluggish. I played a ton of Goldeneye and Perfect Dark back in the day and loved the way the n64 controller felt (even though it wasn't the best looking controller), and I found Halo to be acceptable (but I still didn't really like the game), but I generally do not like the feel of a controller for shooters. This game did nothing to change my opinion. The precision, accuracy, and quickness you get from using a keyboard/mouse will never be matched by a controller and most people do not care to accept that or understand that. I have played a ton of Goldeneye/Perfect Dark on the n64, and the PC versions of Unreal Tournament, Counter Strike, and Call of Duty 4. If you know what a real shooter is like, then this game isn't for you. I bought into the Socom hype I read on forums, but after giving it a try I really think that the Socom series is overhyped. If this game was anything like the ps2 games, then I know I wasn't missing out. Expand
  36. JamesM.
    Nov 4, 2008
    9
    Putting the Single Player component aside, I don't feel this game is in too bad of shape. There are deifinitely clear issues reguarding the games performance. However, as a whole I have thouroughly enjoyed the game after patches. I personally don't understand why there is so much emphasis on the SP portion of the game. Warhawk received muchg more favorable reviews from sources Putting the Single Player component aside, I don't feel this game is in too bad of shape. There are deifinitely clear issues reguarding the games performance. However, as a whole I have thouroughly enjoyed the game after patches. I personally don't understand why there is so much emphasis on the SP portion of the game. Warhawk received muchg more favorable reviews from sources (despite lacking Single player). SOCOM was advertised as an online only product. The reviews seem to show a little personal emotion bleeding through. Due to the lack of SP which has been there in all previous installments. Based on this how are these reviews from the major websites and magazines unbiased? Expand
  37. Al
    Nov 7, 2008
    4
    Not impressed at all. I want zipper to get their hands back on this game and make it the way i remember. I've been a fan and played this game since socom 1. This makes me wish I had bought the disk and not the download. Now I can't resell it.
  38. Spooty89
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    I didn't pick this game up right away. I had been reading the reviews for it and, as I'm sure you know, they were unanimously terrible. So I waited and, just a few days ago, I checked the official website to see if they had fixed the issues that reviewers had addressed in their initial reviews. Surely enough they had released a patch which cleared up all the prominent issues, so I didn't pick this game up right away. I had been reading the reviews for it and, as I'm sure you know, they were unanimously terrible. So I waited and, just a few days ago, I checked the official website to see if they had fixed the issues that reviewers had addressed in their initial reviews. Surely enough they had released a patch which cleared up all the prominent issues, so I picked the game up. Let me tell you, I'm glad I did. This game isn't for everyone, I'll give it that. You can't rush in guns blazing and expect to last very long. You need to have good teamwork. I personally like this change from the typical console shooter. The levels are very well done and allow you to play the game the way you want to. Whether you favor a sniper or a sub-machine gun in your hands, there are always places for you to do your own thing on each map. The different game modes aren't anything new (team deathmatch, escort, capture the flag, etc.) but that doesn't mean that they aren't still fun. Plus, when you only have one life to work with each round, the tension adds a completely new level of excitement. Obviously, none of this would matter if the game didn't control well. Thankfully the controls are spot on and, if you die, you can rest assured that it isn't the game's fault, it's yours. Basically what I'm saying is that, if you liked Socom II or you're simply looking for a fun new experience, you should disregard the initial reviews of this game. They don't do the game justice for where it stands today. Go to EB Games and get a used copy. If you like it, great. If you don't like it, return it. Hope to see you online. Expand
  39. LarsF.
    Jan 15, 2009
    9
    The game that was promised on the back of the box was not the game we received on day 1 of release. Yet now, a few months later we have an update via online for this title and it is truly something to behold. I feel if you have been a SOCOM fan since PS2 then you will find this game to be right up your alley. If you are coming from COD4 though you may be in for some major difficulties as The game that was promised on the back of the box was not the game we received on day 1 of release. Yet now, a few months later we have an update via online for this title and it is truly something to behold. I feel if you have been a SOCOM fan since PS2 then you will find this game to be right up your alley. If you are coming from COD4 though you may be in for some major difficulties as you learn to play this different style of shooter. It is a tactical shooter in which you must use teamwork and basic communication to complete your teams mission objective. The best thing to do is search a room nearest your region. US West for Los Angeles - and then go into a medley room w/ either 32 or 16 players. You will cycle through the game modes and maps and it is a very fun and entertaining shooter experience. Must have for next gen systems. Expand
  40. DemureDoggy
    Jan 20, 2009
    4
    This game has lots of potential, unfortunately for us SOCOM fanatics, it's almost too horrible to play. If you like getting killed randomly and having game stutters and glitches ruin your gaming experience, then by all means, get this game! Visit SOCOMISDEAD.COM if you want to have your say about how horrible this game is without being censored.
  41. MOH.
    Jan 26, 2009
    1
    The patch made the game worse. The data error pops up every five seconds now. Clans with more than 40 players have lost their tags and can not quit the clan, add new members, and have lost there specialized weapons for the faction they picked. Servers clear out entire rooms more often now than before. From all the blogs and post I have read thus far, it seems the better your connection is The patch made the game worse. The data error pops up every five seconds now. Clans with more than 40 players have lost their tags and can not quit the clan, add new members, and have lost there specialized weapons for the faction they picked. Servers clear out entire rooms more often now than before. From all the blogs and post I have read thus far, it seems the better your connection is to the internet the more problems you have with disconnects. Stats for some people did not reset at all. People teleport across the screen more frequently than ever. Sniper rifles are less effective, d-pad lean is back but you can not zoom in and shoot while using it. Shooting out windows or through rails or over rails is still a problem. I think the review I read where the score was a 4 was a tad bit high in my eyes and I have played this game since socom 1, socom 2, socom 3 & combined assult. Releasing this game missing over have the features talked about in the booklette was a bad idea by the PR. And when thy make a patch to fix something and it makes it worse after that patch then it was before the patch, maybe they should just give up and give the game back to Zipper. Expand
  42. JohnDoe
    Mar 3, 2009
    10
    SOCOM: Confrontation is the best socom game ever, not just on the PS3. I enjoy it realism and somtimes fast paced, and somtimes more tactical games. Having to use stradegy and teamwork to overcome the opponent is AMAZING! The graphics are brilliant, there are some pop-ins you might see, but what doesn't? The character customization is fantastic. The weapon are desent, but there could SOCOM: Confrontation is the best socom game ever, not just on the PS3. I enjoy it realism and somtimes fast paced, and somtimes more tactical games. Having to use stradegy and teamwork to overcome the opponent is AMAZING! The graphics are brilliant, there are some pop-ins you might see, but what doesn't? The character customization is fantastic. The weapon are desent, but there could be more selection. The maps are great and with bringing back 3 classics, what more could a socom fan want? all the bugs have been fixed, except for some glitches in the game that people can do, but thats why you have the vote option. Bottam line is this is the most addicting and best SOCOM game i have ever play, much better than Call of Duty 4. (trust me I have them both) So stop reading and get this game! Expand
  43. BaileyR
    Mar 15, 2009
    10
    I love this game.i have a little secret for every one.go to map fallen or fallen large(i recommend fallen large).be the mercs and go over to the waterfall.cross over the waterfalland down the stairs.jump on the rail at the bottom.theres a fence on the right.while on the rail.you have to jump over the fence and then climb the rocks.you can go all around the map.please if you are going to I love this game.i have a little secret for every one.go to map fallen or fallen large(i recommend fallen large).be the mercs and go over to the waterfall.cross over the waterfalland down the stairs.jump on the rail at the bottom.theres a fence on the right.while on the rail.you have to jump over the fence and then climb the rocks.you can go all around the map.please if you are going to do this use a sniper. I've seen people up there with machine guns and they die in like a second. Don't lay by anybody cause you both will die.be careful because the other team try to snipe you to so hide.i hope you try this trick out. Expand
  44. SocomNutter
    Mar 28, 2009
    10
    The first day you play this you will probably despise everything about it. Wake up the next morning, all you can think about is SOCOM. Due to the wide range of weaponry, clever customization and incredibly layed out maps, SOCOM: Confrontation will earn its place in your collection over time. Don't reject it after the first day, learn to love. Oh and one more thing. You can't The first day you play this you will probably despise everything about it. Wake up the next morning, all you can think about is SOCOM. Due to the wide range of weaponry, clever customization and incredibly layed out maps, SOCOM: Confrontation will earn its place in your collection over time. Don't reject it after the first day, learn to love. Oh and one more thing. You can't just run in with an AK-47 and expect an all out slaughterfest going your way. You will get mutilated by a storm of bullets from the opposing team. Team is a vital part of SOCOM and is the Key to overpowering the other team. This is the game that keeps on giving 10/10. Expand
  45. Sid6.7
    Apr 28, 2009
    1
    I have played socom since 2. I love this franchise. And i love Sony. I hate x box. Been Sony my whole life. But a game like this makes you wonder. Am i on the right team. This Socom game has been on the market for give or take 6 months. And still isn't working properly. An online only game. Quick match system that is supposed to bring you and a party to a game. A feature i hear xbox I have played socom since 2. I love this franchise. And i love Sony. I hate x box. Been Sony my whole life. But a game like this makes you wonder. Am i on the right team. This Socom game has been on the market for give or take 6 months. And still isn't working properly. An online only game. Quick match system that is supposed to bring you and a party to a game. A feature i hear xbox 360 has had forever. Doesn't work ever!!! Every single time i play this game i am unsatisfied. Every single time! Expand
  46. therealdealdude
    Jun 3, 2009
    3
    it terriableu may have some little fun on online for a month but after that thats it no story mode only 2 game mode which sucks and trophies are about impossible so forget about even doing that bottem line leave the game get a good shooter i bet half the people got the game becuase it as on the ps3 only
  47. AlexC
    Jul 21, 2009
    8
    If you are considering buying this, let me warn you. The network in which you connect to play is INCONSISTENT. Being able to stay connected is rare. With that said, if you can stay connected... this game is great. The graphics are borderline last generation, but the gameplay is fantastic. Now, if only I can stay connected. @#$@%@#%
  48. mikej
    Sep 9, 2009
    0
    Complete waste of time and money.Took probally an hour to install and patch only to find less than 10 people playing
  49. FelipeL
    Dec 1, 2009
    6
    Excelent graphic and thats all. The online gaming exclusive associated to one life per turn makes it a boring sniper shooting instead of good confront action like killzone 2 or mw2. The atractive is the headset pack
  50. EoinF
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    Fantastic, with all the patches they've fixed this up good, with a good headset and skill with 3rd person shooters, this game is great to play with mates, teamwork is vital in this, unlike Call Of Duty: Mediocre Warfare 2, without teamwork you'll fall easily. 9/10 for great gameplay, definite reccomended for SOCOM fans
  51. ChaseL
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    This is a game where the first time play, you will say ''what the heck do i do!?'' After that you will be a true full blooded SEAL. I love it and suggest you get it if you want a change from Modern Warfare 2. P.S. you can get this game used for around $15
  52. May 7, 2011
    4
    Overall I didn't like this game, mainly because IT'S NOT SOCOM! It's more like the new fps, medal of honour, rainbow 6 las vegas. My ideal games would be like S1, S2 and the original Rainbow 6 on the PC. Can anyone tell me if anything like these exist on the PS3?
  53. May 24, 2011
    2
    Wow. I dont know where to start regarding how bad this iteration of SOCOM Navy SEALs is. The only think I thought was neat and innovative was the proximity mic feature. They tried so hard to appease the players that complained about people ranking up but in that ruined the integrity of the game. Its all about online play. Nobody will join a custom room that is unranked. The idiot communityWow. I dont know where to start regarding how bad this iteration of SOCOM Navy SEALs is. The only think I thought was neat and innovative was the proximity mic feature. They tried so hard to appease the players that complained about people ranking up but in that ruined the integrity of the game. Its all about online play. Nobody will join a custom room that is unranked. The idiot community is so hung up on rank and Slant Six set this up for failure. The launch delays, slow load up speeds, over the shoulder view, how the games are scored... I could go on. On the POSITIVE side it plays better than SOCOM 4!!!! Expand
  54. May 31, 2011
    2
    I never had a PS2,but always wanted to play the Socom games,as they look right up my street.So now i have a PS3,i was looking forward to finally being able to get in on Socom.How disappointed was i,when i found out that Socom-Confrontation was to be a 'Multiplayer only' game?!.. Theres 3 reasons why i dont like this game. 1.Its a multiplayer game only.I have an issue with ANY game thatI never had a PS2,but always wanted to play the Socom games,as they look right up my street.So now i have a PS3,i was looking forward to finally being able to get in on Socom.How disappointed was i,when i found out that Socom-Confrontation was to be a 'Multiplayer only' game?!.. Theres 3 reasons why i dont like this game. 1.Its a multiplayer game only.I have an issue with ANY game that only has a multiplayer mode,as they are boring,repetitive,shallow,& rely on you having access to the internet & an internet connection to be able to actually play the thing.& when the games servers are shut down,or no-one is playing it anymore,what your left with,is an expensive paperweight.. 2.The game is very buggy & glitchy,is ropey graphically & doesnt play very well,& 3.This game has nothing in common with what Navy SEALS are actually about.. The very nature of Navy SEAL operations,like other Special Forces is about going in,accomplishing a specific mission objective,then getting out with as little 'Confrontation' as possible.Not lingering in the same area,in a sustained firefight,for no particular reason,Risking life & wasting precious ammo in a 'TEAM A versus TEAM B' fight! Dear oh Dear... Expand
  55. Dec 22, 2011
    0
    This game is poor Sony should have never let an outside dev develop Socom. This game really sunk the Socom franchise and now I don't know if it can be saved.
  56. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    For a game that got a small budget(was announced that it had only a "PS2" budget) and was made by a developer with very little experience this game manages to capture the socom element near perfectly while the "true" developers of the franchise failed on every count in their latest attempt.

    The game lost some features in the franchise but added some new ones at the same time while also
    For a game that got a small budget(was announced that it had only a "PS2" budget) and was made by a developer with very little experience this game manages to capture the socom element near perfectly while the "true" developers of the franchise failed on every count in their latest attempt.

    The game lost some features in the franchise but added some new ones at the same time while also missing some socom elements while improving on other. And though it was originally riddled by bugs most were slowly patched and today it is the only game that offers a tactical shooter experience with a population to back it up. If the game were given the time and resources it could of surpassed the original socoms as these developer earnestly sought to make a true socom game.
    Expand
  57. Mar 26, 2012
    5
    The Socom franchise have felt a decreased value over the years, while, maybe it innovated some elements in the past, the series it's starting to show a lot of age, and taking the formula to " internet only " or " online only " whatever you may put it, this serves as an example of how low and dumb the tactical franchise have received in the last years. My first match was plagued with bugsThe Socom franchise have felt a decreased value over the years, while, maybe it innovated some elements in the past, the series it's starting to show a lot of age, and taking the formula to " internet only " or " online only " whatever you may put it, this serves as an example of how low and dumb the tactical franchise have received in the last years. My first match was plagued with bugs and a heck of a lot of unbalanced kills/deaths in the couple hours. I may love some stuff, but they do NOT steal you from other juggernaut multiplayer games , and with an era that we live , full of FPS and smooth gameplay, SOCOM:Confrontation doesn't last at all, and it's not good , it's a little wimp . But, if you want to play a good exclusive from the PS3, play Killzone 3 (multiplayer side of course ). Expand
  58. Sep 4, 2012
    8
    Being a long-time SOCOM fan, I really love this game, other than the cheating and technical glitches. Sadly, it's best played with a bunch of your buddies, rather than logging into random games. I thought it was a great update, and was really looking forward to more from Slant Six, since the newer Zipper versions just weren't cutting it for me anymore.
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 64
  2. Negative: 6 out of 64
  1. 58
    It's been a mess. But growing pains aren't unusual for online games these days. These sorts of kinks get worked out in time, and there's no reason to doubt Confrontation's issues will be smoothed out in the process of a patch or two. But in the meantime, the game is available for purchase at retail and via download through the PlayStation Store, and you deserve to know what that game's like right now. [10/20/09]
  2. SOCOM has always catered to the hardcore and Confrontation is no different in this regard. Slant Six has done an admirable job updating the formula of past games, but the decision to wipe the single-player slate clean and the copious amounts of bugs are standout problems.
  3. Despite an arsenal of moves, the process of switching between weapons is labored and will most certainly result in your demise. The lack of a dedicated single player campaign mode hurts as well. Worst of all, Confrontation includes a ridiculous amount of technical bugs.