User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 223 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 223

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SethC.
    Oct 20, 2008
    1
    This game is garbage. lots of lag, error screens, laggy gameplay, and a general unfinished feel. sure, they might fix it someday but I paid good money for this and don't feel like waiting around for a game that should have been released months from now that was rushed for the holiday season and also rushed in order to not be over-shadowed by gears of war 2. why didn't they wait This game is garbage. lots of lag, error screens, laggy gameplay, and a general unfinished feel. sure, they might fix it someday but I paid good money for this and don't feel like waiting around for a game that should have been released months from now that was rushed for the holiday season and also rushed in order to not be over-shadowed by gears of war 2. why didn't they wait until the experience was good enough instead of selling a faulty product that will need numerous patches until it is up to par? Expand
  2. Vic
    Oct 20, 2008
    1
    If you bought it for the headset, congrats u got the game for $20 (which it seems like its only worth that, or less) The game is lackluster all around. Graphics are mediocre, gameplay is uber sluggish, camera angles are difficult to persuade, and the controller setup is ridiculous. Not to mention they put in a useless messaging device. The headset and the sound are the only good If you bought it for the headset, congrats u got the game for $20 (which it seems like its only worth that, or less) The game is lackluster all around. Graphics are mediocre, gameplay is uber sluggish, camera angles are difficult to persuade, and the controller setup is ridiculous. Not to mention they put in a useless messaging device. The headset and the sound are the only good qualities, not to mention the victory dances are funny, as difficult as they are to achieve. The character customization is a lesser form of Rainbow Six and the lobbies are garbage to get into, crowded as all heck. Changing weapons and even scrolling through menus can take some getting used to, which is bogus. Aiming is difficult, and half the encounters end up straffing wars. A few times I even spawned without any guns, or even an invisogun, the gun model didn't even appear. Buy the set for the headset, don't buy the game by itself, its not worth $40. Expand
  3. JustinR
    Oct 22, 2008
    0
    What a waste of money. I've been trying to play for 3 days and have only managed to play 1 minute of a match before getting kicked off. Not only do I constantly get disconnected from PSN and lose network connections (this doesn't happen in any other game!), it glitches out non-stop. Total waste of money! do not buy! not even worth renting. Biggest disappointment EVER.
  4. JadM.
    Oct 22, 2008
    0
    This game is a Piece of $hit.Why they called it Socom I will never know. There is a ton of things missing from the game. It plays slow, reloads are slow. Sniping is horrible. Freezes up all the time. This Game is a Mess. Slant 6 should have made a Pokemon game, not Socom.
  5. May 2, 2011
    0
    I have played SOCOM since the first one. I would love to hook up with some of the old guys who are still around playing. I miss the old cross roads and the mixer and the jungle maps and many more. I remember sweating at the end of a round trying to get threw PMI mines and just how intense it was WOW!!! Old SOCOM was the **** There never has been a game like that since!!! Not sureI have played SOCOM since the first one. I would love to hook up with some of the old guys who are still around playing. I miss the old cross roads and the mixer and the jungle maps and many more. I remember sweating at the end of a round trying to get threw PMI mines and just how intense it was WOW!!! Old SOCOM was the **** There never has been a game like that since!!! Not sure who designed all of SOCOM 1-2 but I'm sure the one's after that have been some young kid who should be working on COD which is nothing more then a baby sitter. These games have lost story purpose heart and the addiction feeling. People (sad as it is) use to live on these games lol. COD there is not about a team or involves any real thinking and definitely does not require any skills just a bunch of ADD kids who's parents dump them on it so they don't have to deal with them. It is electronic Ritalin. Why put the SOCOM name on something that really has nothing to do with the original SOCOM? The difference of SOCOM vs. this new stuff like COD is that any one can play COD. In SOCOM you had to be smart a good gamer and put a lot of your self into each mission or you would get voted out. Bring your A game. The games today are just reactive games very little thinking or skills involved. Us old guys are looking to SOCOM to give us that. Plus there is a lot of younger people who are not challenged enough by COD (because it is pathetic display of tards). Geeks are not known to listen or connect with people well. So remember this with out fans there is no "SOCOM". You should have BETA the game and tweaked it from there and taken some feed back. You could have been bigger then COD but now your just a game with out sole. Who ever made this shows what they have inside them selves, not much... SOCOM Confrontation is another baby sitter!! Expand
  6. Lazlo
    Oct 18, 2008
    0
    This is an injustice to be called a Socom game. Has no heart, no feeling, and none of the fun of the first two for PS2. The servers are beyond terrible, and it's an online-only game so it's not like the developers couldn't have seen this coming. The only reason I gave it a zero is because this system doesn't allow for negative numbers.
  7. Dec 13, 2011
    1
    This is maybe the most horrible game I have played in PS3 - excluding some of the cheap PSN titles. It is online-only shooter. It has like half an hour installing at first and after then you get to laggy servers. And even the gameplay is like from year 2001. Definetly don't buy it, the player count is also very weak on this and probably there isn't enough players soon or even now to getThis is maybe the most horrible game I have played in PS3 - excluding some of the cheap PSN titles. It is online-only shooter. It has like half an hour installing at first and after then you get to laggy servers. And even the gameplay is like from year 2001. Definetly don't buy it, the player count is also very weak on this and probably there isn't enough players soon or even now to get this going. So definetly don't buy. Expand
  8. RyanK.
    Oct 22, 2008
    3
    I rated it a 3 just for the simple fact that this game was by no way ready for retail. We as consumers need not grow complacent with developers releasing games in a 75% completion state and then justifying the release with future patch promises. This is a completely unexcepted.
  9. StuartH.
    Oct 22, 2008
    3
    Socom 1 and 2 'was' the ultimate online shooter ever to hit the consoles. Unfortunately due to lack of updates/patches the gaming community was forced to move on to other games which never recreated the Socom experience or addiction. Socom was known for its excellent Community management, Clan and stat tracking. This game (Socom Confrontation) IS NOT the game fans of the Socom 1 and 2 'was' the ultimate online shooter ever to hit the consoles. Unfortunately due to lack of updates/patches the gaming community was forced to move on to other games which never recreated the Socom experience or addiction. Socom was known for its excellent Community management, Clan and stat tracking. This game (Socom Confrontation) IS NOT the game fans of the original series were waiting for. Instead Slant 6 served Socom fans a turkey that's still frozen. This is not the Socom 1/2 experienced as promised originally by Seth Luisi (far from it). Slant 6 needs to stick to PSP game development as this game proved to be out of there league. All they can do on the socom website is poll people on irrelevant questions instead of posting updates of the progress for fixing the game. 'Nice PR guys'... Fail to Sony for letting an "online only" game hit the market when the game is almost unplayable online. Just add another Sony exclusive title to growing list of trash games. "EPIC Fail Sony, EPIC Fail". Overall the graphics are 'ok' @ 720p but not anything leading edge here, sound is excellent though (so if you can actually get online to play, shut your eyes to improve your playing enjoyment). Warning: This game makes the PS3 processes slow to a crawl and I've heard of it actually bricking some PS3's. The game gets a 3 because of what it could be not for what it is, if they fixed the bugs, stats, trophies, servers, gun spray, nade damage and improved character controls/movements they may get a 10. Instead they get a 3 for the attempt. XBox has dropped in price and GOW2 in on the horizon along with many other good titles. Looks like it Expand
  10. GofukU.
    Oct 22, 2008
    0
    I couldn't even tell you what the game is like seeing as I cant even access anything. All I do is spend time trying to log in, let alone trying to get into a channel. This is brutal, and Ive never had this problem before in trying to play a game online. Im going back to future shop and telling them I want my money back. If they wont give me my money back Im seriously going to take my I couldn't even tell you what the game is like seeing as I cant even access anything. All I do is spend time trying to log in, let alone trying to get into a channel. This is brutal, and Ive never had this problem before in trying to play a game online. Im going back to future shop and telling them I want my money back. If they wont give me my money back Im seriously going to take my game disc and smash it. You think by now they would have figured out that the game was going to have a ton of people wanting to play it online and they would have TESTED it out before releasing it. Expand
  11. DJB.
    Oct 23, 2008
    4
    Wow where to start. It pains me that we the customers get screwed once again. Slant Six puts out a beta for the game that is quite buggy, and then puts out the retail version with the same problems only 60 bucks heavier (with a nice headset). Why do we have to continue to pay money to beta test company
  12. EdwardM.
    Oct 24, 2008
    1
    Eagerly awaiting the release of SOCOM: Confrontation was a waste of my time. I would have had more fun renting Shaq-Fu for SNES (maybe not). It is a pretty bad game though. The only reason I gave it a 1 is because of the L2 push-to-talk button for chatting. I traded it in the next day. Two thumbs down Bitches.
  13. AcaB
    Oct 27, 2008
    2
    I saw a couple of user comments comparing Socom to COD4 which doesn't do COD4 any justice at all. COD4 is a well designed game with intuitive and easy-to-use controls, solid online play, and impressive graphics, all the things Socom doesn't have. Sorry guys, perhaps Socom used to be a great game but this new reincarnation just isn't such a good deal after all. I hope they I saw a couple of user comments comparing Socom to COD4 which doesn't do COD4 any justice at all. COD4 is a well designed game with intuitive and easy-to-use controls, solid online play, and impressive graphics, all the things Socom doesn't have. Sorry guys, perhaps Socom used to be a great game but this new reincarnation just isn't such a good deal after all. I hope they improve the game soon, it does have potential, but otherwise I am off to COD5 or whatever other good FPS/TPS comes along. Expand
  14. DominicR.
    Nov 3, 2008
    1
    People that are saying this game is great are leing to themselves. It is even funnier when hey say the graphics are awsome, because they truly are not good at all. Infact they look more like PS2 graphics to me. Now everyone knows after this hunk of junk came out Call of Duty is officially the official realistic shooter out today. Sorry Socom, you had your time and plenty of chances.
  15. Anonymous
    Nov 3, 2008
    1
    This was my first Socom game. I have played many shooters, and this just wasn't a great experience for me. Even with the known issues fixed, I still don't see the need to play it. If you are looking for a . My only real issue is that the controls are sluggish. I played a ton of Goldeneye and Perfect Dark back in the day and loved the way the n64 controller felt (even though it This was my first Socom game. I have played many shooters, and this just wasn't a great experience for me. Even with the known issues fixed, I still don't see the need to play it. If you are looking for a . My only real issue is that the controls are sluggish. I played a ton of Goldeneye and Perfect Dark back in the day and loved the way the n64 controller felt (even though it wasn't the best looking controller), and I found Halo to be acceptable (but I still didn't really like the game), but I generally do not like the feel of a controller for shooters. This game did nothing to change my opinion. The precision, accuracy, and quickness you get from using a keyboard/mouse will never be matched by a controller and most people do not care to accept that or understand that. I have played a ton of Goldeneye/Perfect Dark on the n64, and the PC versions of Unreal Tournament, Counter Strike, and Call of Duty 4. If you know what a real shooter is like, then this game isn't for you. I bought into the Socom hype I read on forums, but after giving it a try I really think that the Socom series is overhyped. If this game was anything like the ps2 games, then I know I wasn't missing out. Expand
  16. Al
    Nov 7, 2008
    4
    Not impressed at all. I want zipper to get their hands back on this game and make it the way i remember. I've been a fan and played this game since socom 1. This makes me wish I had bought the disk and not the download. Now I can't resell it.
  17. DemureDoggy
    Jan 20, 2009
    4
    This game has lots of potential, unfortunately for us SOCOM fanatics, it's almost too horrible to play. If you like getting killed randomly and having game stutters and glitches ruin your gaming experience, then by all means, get this game! Visit SOCOMISDEAD.COM if you want to have your say about how horrible this game is without being censored.
  18. MOH.
    Jan 26, 2009
    1
    The patch made the game worse. The data error pops up every five seconds now. Clans with more than 40 players have lost their tags and can not quit the clan, add new members, and have lost there specialized weapons for the faction they picked. Servers clear out entire rooms more often now than before. From all the blogs and post I have read thus far, it seems the better your connection is The patch made the game worse. The data error pops up every five seconds now. Clans with more than 40 players have lost their tags and can not quit the clan, add new members, and have lost there specialized weapons for the faction they picked. Servers clear out entire rooms more often now than before. From all the blogs and post I have read thus far, it seems the better your connection is to the internet the more problems you have with disconnects. Stats for some people did not reset at all. People teleport across the screen more frequently than ever. Sniper rifles are less effective, d-pad lean is back but you can not zoom in and shoot while using it. Shooting out windows or through rails or over rails is still a problem. I think the review I read where the score was a 4 was a tad bit high in my eyes and I have played this game since socom 1, socom 2, socom 3 & combined assult. Releasing this game missing over have the features talked about in the booklette was a bad idea by the PR. And when thy make a patch to fix something and it makes it worse after that patch then it was before the patch, maybe they should just give up and give the game back to Zipper. Expand
  19. Sid6.7
    Apr 28, 2009
    1
    I have played socom since 2. I love this franchise. And i love Sony. I hate x box. Been Sony my whole life. But a game like this makes you wonder. Am i on the right team. This Socom game has been on the market for give or take 6 months. And still isn't working properly. An online only game. Quick match system that is supposed to bring you and a party to a game. A feature i hear xbox I have played socom since 2. I love this franchise. And i love Sony. I hate x box. Been Sony my whole life. But a game like this makes you wonder. Am i on the right team. This Socom game has been on the market for give or take 6 months. And still isn't working properly. An online only game. Quick match system that is supposed to bring you and a party to a game. A feature i hear xbox 360 has had forever. Doesn't work ever!!! Every single time i play this game i am unsatisfied. Every single time! Expand
  20. therealdealdude
    Jun 3, 2009
    3
    it terriableu may have some little fun on online for a month but after that thats it no story mode only 2 game mode which sucks and trophies are about impossible so forget about even doing that bottem line leave the game get a good shooter i bet half the people got the game becuase it as on the ps3 only
  21. mikej
    Sep 9, 2009
    0
    Complete waste of time and money.Took probally an hour to install and patch only to find less than 10 people playing
  22. May 7, 2011
    4
    Overall I didn't like this game, mainly because IT'S NOT SOCOM! It's more like the new fps, medal of honour, rainbow 6 las vegas. My ideal games would be like S1, S2 and the original Rainbow 6 on the PC. Can anyone tell me if anything like these exist on the PS3?
  23. May 24, 2011
    2
    Wow. I dont know where to start regarding how bad this iteration of SOCOM Navy SEALs is. The only think I thought was neat and innovative was the proximity mic feature. They tried so hard to appease the players that complained about people ranking up but in that ruined the integrity of the game. Its all about online play. Nobody will join a custom room that is unranked. The idiot communityWow. I dont know where to start regarding how bad this iteration of SOCOM Navy SEALs is. The only think I thought was neat and innovative was the proximity mic feature. They tried so hard to appease the players that complained about people ranking up but in that ruined the integrity of the game. Its all about online play. Nobody will join a custom room that is unranked. The idiot community is so hung up on rank and Slant Six set this up for failure. The launch delays, slow load up speeds, over the shoulder view, how the games are scored... I could go on. On the POSITIVE side it plays better than SOCOM 4!!!! Expand
  24. May 31, 2011
    2
    I never had a PS2,but always wanted to play the Socom games,as they look right up my street.So now i have a PS3,i was looking forward to finally being able to get in on Socom.How disappointed was i,when i found out that Socom-Confrontation was to be a 'Multiplayer only' game?!.. Theres 3 reasons why i dont like this game. 1.Its a multiplayer game only.I have an issue with ANY game thatI never had a PS2,but always wanted to play the Socom games,as they look right up my street.So now i have a PS3,i was looking forward to finally being able to get in on Socom.How disappointed was i,when i found out that Socom-Confrontation was to be a 'Multiplayer only' game?!.. Theres 3 reasons why i dont like this game. 1.Its a multiplayer game only.I have an issue with ANY game that only has a multiplayer mode,as they are boring,repetitive,shallow,& rely on you having access to the internet & an internet connection to be able to actually play the thing.& when the games servers are shut down,or no-one is playing it anymore,what your left with,is an expensive paperweight.. 2.The game is very buggy & glitchy,is ropey graphically & doesnt play very well,& 3.This game has nothing in common with what Navy SEALS are actually about.. The very nature of Navy SEAL operations,like other Special Forces is about going in,accomplishing a specific mission objective,then getting out with as little 'Confrontation' as possible.Not lingering in the same area,in a sustained firefight,for no particular reason,Risking life & wasting precious ammo in a 'TEAM A versus TEAM B' fight! Dear oh Dear... Expand
  25. Dec 22, 2011
    0
    This game is poor Sony should have never let an outside dev develop Socom. This game really sunk the Socom franchise and now I don't know if it can be saved.
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 64
  2. Negative: 6 out of 64
  1. 58
    It's been a mess. But growing pains aren't unusual for online games these days. These sorts of kinks get worked out in time, and there's no reason to doubt Confrontation's issues will be smoothed out in the process of a patch or two. But in the meantime, the game is available for purchase at retail and via download through the PlayStation Store, and you deserve to know what that game's like right now. [10/20/09]
  2. SOCOM has always catered to the hardcore and Confrontation is no different in this regard. Slant Six has done an admirable job updating the formula of past games, but the decision to wipe the single-player slate clean and the copious amounts of bugs are standout problems.
  3. Despite an arsenal of moves, the process of switching between weapons is labored and will most certainly result in your demise. The lack of a dedicated single player campaign mode hurts as well. Worst of all, Confrontation includes a ridiculous amount of technical bugs.