User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 224 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 224
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrianH.
    Oct 21, 2008
    5
    BULLET SPRAY GAME WARNING Spray bullets....spray more bullets. Spray more bullets. Fight the camera angle and that is pretty much socom confrontation. This game has so much potential. Once technical issues hopefully we'll see more "spicing" up the gameplay and wishes of the community. I have to give what I own at the writing of this review a 5 now. The only thing keeping me playing BULLET SPRAY GAME WARNING Spray bullets....spray more bullets. Spray more bullets. Fight the camera angle and that is pretty much socom confrontation. This game has so much potential. Once technical issues hopefully we'll see more "spicing" up the gameplay and wishes of the community. I have to give what I own at the writing of this review a 5 now. The only thing keeping me playing is the hope of the community and the enthusiasm. Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2011
    6
    im a big socom fan from the PS2 era and spent many months on socom 1 and some time on socom 2 . when i first read the reviews i decedied to wait for a price drop and for all the online problems to be patched . i started playing it about 1 year after it came out and it wasnt to bad online although some of the maps even with 32 players just feels like to much of a chore to find any one toim a big socom fan from the PS2 era and spent many months on socom 1 and some time on socom 2 . when i first read the reviews i decedied to wait for a price drop and for all the online problems to be patched . i started playing it about 1 year after it came out and it wasnt to bad online although some of the maps even with 32 players just feels like to much of a chore to find any one to kill. ive gone the full 20 min and seen only a few enimys . there is some nice custimaszation you can do . and it does have the socom feel to it but not near 100%. also no story mode i would have loved that with 4 player co op . as this game is you are better off waiting for Socom 5 from the way thats shaping up it should hopefully be the socom game fans of the series have been waiting for. Expand
  3. AlexD.
    Oct 16, 2008
    7
    Pros + Great headset if you buy the bundle. + Character customization Cons - Controls sluggish - Muddy Graphics - Camera Controls are arguably what makes or breaks a game. After spending a couple hours with the latest socom and fiddling around with the various options for controls I still couldn't find a 'comfortable' middle ground. When the game is first loaded and you Pros + Great headset if you buy the bundle. + Character customization Cons - Controls sluggish - Muddy Graphics - Camera Controls are arguably what makes or breaks a game. After spending a couple hours with the latest socom and fiddling around with the various options for controls I still couldn't find a 'comfortable' middle ground. When the game is first loaded and you jump into your first game aiming feels constricted and slow. The addition of motion sensing seemed like a very unique concept, finally us console gamers will be able to peek around corners without first having to attach ourselves to a wall. I found the motion controls to be a bit cumbersome and not intuitive. I usually favor third person type gaming, because I get a better feel for my surroundings. Although the camera can be manipulated slightly the differences are quite minimal. You can either be directly behind your avatar at a bit of a distance, or on either side at a much closer perspective. During game play it felt as if my character was always in the way. This really took away from my situational awareness drastically. I would often miss someone walking up to me because my guy was blocking my view. The graphics had to be the second biggest disappointment. Call of duty 4 had amazing graphics and still had solid frame rates. Everything in socom seemed to mush together and characters were difficult to make out. All the textures looked washed out. One thing I did enjoy was the character customization. Changing your character to be more specialized for tanking or stealth is a really nice option, but alas this isn't a dress-up simulation. I really wanted to like this game. I have played past socoms and enjoyed them all very much. I don't like run and gun games as much as tactical shooters, but the best shooter right now on the market is cod4 and I was hoping that this game would have replace it. I would strongly recommend that you rent first before purchasing this title. For me I got a really nice 60 dollar headset and a title that I hope to hock off on craigs list very soon. Expand
  4. RichC.
    Oct 23, 2008
    5
    BUGS, BUGS, LAG, DOWNED SEVERS, and BAD Graphics. This is the worst forty dollars I have ever spent. Talk about a rush job, If i ever put something out like this I would be canned. Save your money and don't buy this game, unless you need the headset.
  5. ChrisW.
    Oct 24, 2008
    5
    This game shows brief moments of great potential, but those moments are all too quickly swallowed up by annoying bugs, poor gameplay mechanics, awkward controls, and absolutely debilitating server issues. If the graphics were amazing, I might overlook some of the many annoying little issues. But the graphics aren't amazing. If the gameplay was revolutionary, again, I might be able to This game shows brief moments of great potential, but those moments are all too quickly swallowed up by annoying bugs, poor gameplay mechanics, awkward controls, and absolutely debilitating server issues. If the graphics were amazing, I might overlook some of the many annoying little issues. But the graphics aren't amazing. If the gameplay was revolutionary, again, I might be able to turn the other cheek. But the gameplay is of the been-there-done-that variety. And did I mention the bugs and server issues? They can't be under-stated. In fact, SOCOM is one big server issue. YES, it's really THAT bad. I wish I was exaggerating. At the end of the day, the frustration-to-enjoyment ratio is so heavily titled to the former, that I find it nearly impossible to recommend this game to anyone, even to SOCOM die-hards (unless you've spent months talking up this game on Internet chat boards and now have yourself convinced that it really is a good game). To you folks, well: have fun SOCOM: Confrontation. I just wish I could too. Expand
  6. FelipeL
    Dec 1, 2009
    6
    Excelent graphic and thats all. The online gaming exclusive associated to one life per turn makes it a boring sniper shooting instead of good confront action like killzone 2 or mw2. The atractive is the headset pack
  7. Mar 26, 2012
    5
    The Socom franchise have felt a decreased value over the years, while, maybe it innovated some elements in the past, the series it's starting to show a lot of age, and taking the formula to " internet only " or " online only " whatever you may put it, this serves as an example of how low and dumb the tactical franchise have received in the last years. My first match was plagued with bugsThe Socom franchise have felt a decreased value over the years, while, maybe it innovated some elements in the past, the series it's starting to show a lot of age, and taking the formula to " internet only " or " online only " whatever you may put it, this serves as an example of how low and dumb the tactical franchise have received in the last years. My first match was plagued with bugs and a heck of a lot of unbalanced kills/deaths in the couple hours. I may love some stuff, but they do NOT steal you from other juggernaut multiplayer games , and with an era that we live , full of FPS and smooth gameplay, SOCOM:Confrontation doesn't last at all, and it's not good , it's a little wimp . But, if you want to play a good exclusive from the PS3, play Killzone 3 (multiplayer side of course ). Expand
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 64
  2. Negative: 6 out of 64
  1. 58
    It's been a mess. But growing pains aren't unusual for online games these days. These sorts of kinks get worked out in time, and there's no reason to doubt Confrontation's issues will be smoothed out in the process of a patch or two. But in the meantime, the game is available for purchase at retail and via download through the PlayStation Store, and you deserve to know what that game's like right now. [10/20/09]
  2. SOCOM has always catered to the hardcore and Confrontation is no different in this regard. Slant Six has done an admirable job updating the formula of past games, but the decision to wipe the single-player slate clean and the copious amounts of bugs are standout problems.
  3. Despite an arsenal of moves, the process of switching between weapons is labored and will most certainly result in your demise. The lack of a dedicated single player campaign mode hurts as well. Worst of all, Confrontation includes a ridiculous amount of technical bugs.