Sonic Adventure 2 PlayStation 3

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 66
  2. Negative: 6 out of 66

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 13, 2017
    7
    Sonic adventure 2: Sonic adventure on the Dreamcast was awesome, it had fun gameplay, tones of replay value and it was the most popular game on the system. When SEGA saw the sales for sonic adventure, they new they were back into the positives after the rather not so good 3D games on the Saturn. Sonic adventure 2 was announced in 2001 and was released June on that year. the game wasn'tSonic adventure 2: Sonic adventure on the Dreamcast was awesome, it had fun gameplay, tones of replay value and it was the most popular game on the system. When SEGA saw the sales for sonic adventure, they new they were back into the positives after the rather not so good 3D games on the Saturn. Sonic adventure 2 was announced in 2001 and was released June on that year. the game wasn't very successful because people saw the next generation of consoles and SEGA would later abandoned the Dreamcast and create future sonic games on those consoles. Sonic adventure 2 brought back what was fun about sonic adventure but made a few tweaks, instead of having multiple characters stories this game has 2 separate stories hero and dark. Hero has you playing as sonic, tails and knuckles trying to save the world from the eclips cannon from firing a laser that could destroy the world while the Dark has you play Dr. Eggman, and newcomers shadow the hedgehog and rouge the bat who are trying to destroy the earth but need the chaos emeralds to access the eclips cannon to destroy the earth. Once completed each of 2 stories their will be a last story available like adventure 1. The characters are now trying to save the world because shadow suddenly what he promised to someone ( don't want to spoil too much ) and successfully did just that. The story is better than adventure 1 but It has it's problems and I don't want to go into detail about that. Sonic and shadow control like the sonic stages in adventure 1, only more linear and more focused on speed, while I'm not a fan of this these stages are still pretty fun to go through and the best part of the game. The knuckles and rouge levels are the knuckles stages from adventure 1 which I found pretty enjoyable in that game, the biggest problem is it's much worse here, didn't like the radar in adventure 1? well your going to hate the radar in this game, you can only track 1 emerald piece at a time, in adventure 1 the radar will let you know if your close to any of the 3 pieces but in this game only 1 at a time. It doesn't help that the levels them selves are incredibly huge and are a worse design than adventure 1 with the exception of wild canyon which that stage was ok but the rest are either a frustrating negative experience or a poor design that should of not existed in the first place. The knuckles and rouge levels are not bad but they come pretty close, if anything positive about these stages knuckles and rouge control really great but that it for the treasure hunting levels. The tails and Eggman stages are shooting and Mech stages, think of them like the Gamma stages in adventure 1 only clunky. these stages are nowhere frustrating as the knuckles and rouge levels but they are pretty boring, the majority of the levels your just walking jumping and spamming the shoot button until the levels over. The games graphics and presentation are way better than adventure 1, cutscenes are way better animated and improved voice acting then the previous game. The soundtrack while nowhere as good as adventure 1 is still nice especially music like live and learn, city escape and metal harbor. While comparing the gameplay styles from adventure 1, I think that game is a better experience which was less linear, better designed and just more fun than this game. Now I don't hate adventure 2 I really like it especially the 2 player mode that you can play with in battle mode. Sonic adventure 2 is a really good game but It feels like a step backwards because of the treasure hunting and shooting levels, the sonic and shadow levels are the best part of this game and their miles more repayable than the other 2 gameplay styles. I can recommend 1 / 3rd of this game because the sonic and shadow levels are the only levels that I think anyone can enjoy and have fun with. Very good game but not a good sequel. Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2012
    6
    Sonic Adventure 2 is a solid game. It has a lot of variety due to the multiple characters you play as. The graphics are nicely formatted for widescreen and everything runs super-smooth and in HD. Basically speaking, the game looks beautiful. If you buy the Battle DLC, Sonic Adventure 2 also has a fantastic offline multiplayer mode, too. It actually still remains the best multiplayer SonicSonic Adventure 2 is a solid game. It has a lot of variety due to the multiple characters you play as. The graphics are nicely formatted for widescreen and everything runs super-smooth and in HD. Basically speaking, the game looks beautiful. If you buy the Battle DLC, Sonic Adventure 2 also has a fantastic offline multiplayer mode, too. It actually still remains the best multiplayer Sonic experience on offer. Unfortunately, the game is also riddled with faults. Clumsy cameras, imprecise controls, cheap unfair deaths and an untold number of glitches all raise their hands in this title. It's nowhere near as bad as some of the later Sonic titles ('06, we're looking at you!) but it'll definitely rankle if you're looking for a super-polished game. It also bears mentioning that Sonic Adventure 2 is one of the most difficult Sonic games, so if you're coming off the back of some of the more 'casual' Sonic titles, it might be a bit of a shock. Ultimately, Sonic Adventure 2 makes for a decent game but it doesn't quite rank among Sonic's best. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    6
    Sonic Adventure 2 could have been a lot better from the get go. It's not the port that's mediocre, but the game itself. Eggman's and Tails' gameplay is slow and has bad platforming, the controls are wonky, and it's just slow in general. Knuckles' and Rouge's gameplay is a little better, but it involves wandering around the level, looking for hints as to where the Chaos Emerald shards areSonic Adventure 2 could have been a lot better from the get go. It's not the port that's mediocre, but the game itself. Eggman's and Tails' gameplay is slow and has bad platforming, the controls are wonky, and it's just slow in general. Knuckles' and Rouge's gameplay is a little better, but it involves wandering around the level, looking for hints as to where the Chaos Emerald shards are hidden, similar to Sonic Adventure 1. The best gameplay is Sonic's and Shadow's, which is more running, but still not enough speed to match it up to a game like Sonic Unleashed or Sonic Generations. The Chao Garden is fun, but some of the nitpicky details make it a tedious gameplay mode at times. And the Cart Racing more isn't nearly as good as the SA1 version. The multiplayer is good though, and the new HD graphicss make the game look fabulous. Expand
  4. Feb 27, 2014
    6
    Good gameplay,bad sound,better graphics, SA2 for the nintendo gamecube version is the better definitive version and i said "a heckalot" don't get the dreamcast or the 2012 release
  5. Oct 4, 2014
    6
    Sonic Adventure 2 can be a rather fun game when playing as Sonic or Shadow. But the other character sections sour the game for me.

    Let's start with the story. I can enjoyed the dark story, as it gave some good character interactions and a backstory for Shadow. The hero story I found confusing if you played it first over the dark story and the characters are much more annoying. The sound
    Sonic Adventure 2 can be a rather fun game when playing as Sonic or Shadow. But the other character sections sour the game for me.

    Let's start with the story. I can enjoyed the dark story, as it gave some good character interactions and a backstory for Shadow. The hero story I found confusing if you played it first over the dark story and the characters are much more annoying. The sound editing is horrific as most of the time you cannot hear what the characters are saying over the loud music(while is sometimes very catchy and other times just forgettable/dated)

    Sonic and Shadow's stages are extremely fun to play. They are get to the goal speed sections with good ol homing actions and light speed dashes. I find these levels to be very well-designed until the space-themed levels. They use the gimmicks of gravity switches and rails and this can be a huge pain.

    Knuckles and Rouge's treasure hunting sections I actually didn't mind too much. It was actually fun to glide around and search for treasure. Only problem is the radar is all messed up. It will only go after one treasure at a time, which can make you glide right past treasures countless times. Also these levels can either be really short or really really long. Depends on where the treasure is. These levels are just okay.

    Then there is the shooting sections with Tails and Eggman. These are not to my liking at all. The control in these sections are very clunky as both characters seemed very weighed down with not much floating abilities. Also the biggest problem in this section(as well in some Sonic stages) is that enemies COME OUT OF NOWHERE. They just pop right down from the sky and land on you! That's not fair! The shooting sections are extremely repetitive. Just shoot shoot shoot.

    Only 10 out of the 30+ stages are Sonic and Shadow stages and that is really upsetting. If it was balanced more, this may be a better game. Also for the other modes (Chao garden, multiplayer, etc), they are good time wasters. Except kart race that is just awful. Actually I should give multiplayer more credit. It is extremely fun to play with friends, especially if you have the battle version of this game.

    The Good
    + Sonic/Shadow stages
    + Some hunting stages
    + Multiplayer/Chao Garden
    + Live and Learn

    The Bad
    - Tails/Eggman stages
    - The other hunting stages
    - Terrible voice editing
    - Pathetic boss battles
    - ENEMIES OUT OF NOWHERE

    Score: 6/10 Fun game with some major annoyances that bring down the whole experience
    Expand
  6. Aug 31, 2014
    5
    A lot of people are going to hate me but the thing that breaks me is the treasure hunting stages and the mech stages, I can handle the treasure stages in SA1 but they slowed it down by making you get the things you need to get in order. the mech stages are slow and pointless. the speed stages are fun and all but what kills me is that hate sonic unleashed for the were-hog stages for beingA lot of people are going to hate me but the thing that breaks me is the treasure hunting stages and the mech stages, I can handle the treasure stages in SA1 but they slowed it down by making you get the things you need to get in order. the mech stages are slow and pointless. the speed stages are fun and all but what kills me is that hate sonic unleashed for the were-hog stages for being slow when SA2 has the same problems. that's all thanks for reading. Expand
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Play UK
    Nov 30, 2012
    69
    Sharp when played in short bursts. [Issue#225, p.83]
  2. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Nov 20, 2012
    50
    The only real reason to purchase this port is if the prospect of scouting out a Dreamcast and a copy of the game seems a bit pricey. [Holiday 2012, p.81]
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    80
    Sonic Adventure 2 offers the same thrills as its Dreamcast and GameCube predecessors without sacrificing too much. The online features from the Dreamcast title are unfortunately stripped, and the GameCube extras are only available as paid DLC – making this PSN download worth skipping if you already own either of the original titles. But for those who haven't yet experienced the fast paced adventure, this is a stellar port of an old classic.