Sonic Adventure 2 PlayStation 3

Sonic Adventure 2 Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the fight between heroes and villains, will you choose to save the world or conquer it? The hunt for the Chaos Emeralds is on and battle lines have been drawn between Hero and Dark. Experience two unique adventures featuring both long-time heroes and new and returning villains as theyIn the fight between heroes and villains, will you choose to save the world or conquer it? The hunt for the Chaos Emeralds is on and battle lines have been drawn between Hero and Dark. Experience two unique adventures featuring both long-time heroes and new and returning villains as they battle for the fate of the world! Sonic Adventure 2 makes its return on Xbox LIVE Arcade with a full cast of playable heroes and villains, exciting two-player competitive modes, Chao Gardens, and more than 30 action-packed stages, all remastered in HD! Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    91
    Sonic Adventure 2 is for true Sonic fans that want to relive a time when the series was still fun to play. Despite the terrible camera and some audio hiccups, it's a great experience for old and new players alike. The Chao Garden and great price only add to the overall package making this one a sure fire bet!
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    80
    Sonic Adventure 2 offers the same thrills as its Dreamcast and GameCube predecessors without sacrificing too much. The online features from the Dreamcast title are unfortunately stripped, and the GameCube extras are only available as paid DLC – making this PSN download worth skipping if you already own either of the original titles. But for those who haven't yet experienced the fast paced adventure, this is a stellar port of an old classic.
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    70
    Sonic Adventure 2 has aged well. Nevertheless its purchase should be considered carefully, because of defects that already penalized the original version.
  4. Play UK
    Nov 30, 2012
    69
    Sharp when played in short bursts. [Issue#225, p.83]
  5. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Nov 20, 2012
    50
    The only real reason to purchase this port is if the prospect of scouting out a Dreamcast and a copy of the game seems a bit pricey. [Holiday 2012, p.81]
  6. Oct 9, 2012
    40
    Sonic Adventure 2 didn't really get an unanimously enthusiastic reception when it came out in 2001, and this "HD" remastering won't either. Even though the fans will be able to enjoy this game in full widescreen / 720P resolution, nothing else has been upgraded, and it's not even the best version to date (the GameCube one) that's been used for this. Worst of all, SEGA asks for an extra DLC purchase to upgrade it to the Battle version.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Apr 18, 2014
    10
    I chose 10 because sa2 is a perfect game for aniversery. No big the cat and you play as eggman. But i would like to say, why is tails in aI chose 10 because sa2 is a perfect game for aniversery. No big the cat and you play as eggman. But i would like to say, why is tails in a robot i mean he's normal in chao garden so why cant he be normal for the whole game. The chao world is so good and isn't as big as SA's chao world and all my chao are hero/run/run All in all SA2 is a amazing game that any sonic fan should try Expand
  2. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    The best Sonic game ever now in HD. It is very nostalgic to look these graphics that were awesome 11 years ago in a HDTV, but they keepThe best Sonic game ever now in HD. It is very nostalgic to look these graphics that were awesome 11 years ago in a HDTV, but they keep looking good. The musics are awesome (one of the best soundtracks), the story is the best in a Sonic game, and the gameplay is AMAZING (specially with Sonic and Shadow, but the other characters are very fun too). My only concern is about download content. I hope SEGA bring new things (new stages, or new costumes in 2 players mode), not only the 2:Battle from the GameCube. Congratulations Sonic Team for producing the game that I'll never forget, you are great! Expand
  3. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    i lyk plin a sanic i tink itas fun rolling in ball and runn fast through stages and i clear every act gam is in hd high definitnietion you cani lyk plin a sanic i tink itas fun rolling in ball and runn fast through stages and i clear every act gam is in hd high definitnietion you can see the graphifcs sonic is blue angd he get the rings i give this gam 10 sanic hegehouds out of 10 for ggbeing good game very fun yes thbank you bye Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2017
    8
    8.8 - Fantastic Sonic game, revolutionary for the time and iconic for a lot of its soundtrack and levels. Would have gave it a 9 if it didn't8.8 - Fantastic Sonic game, revolutionary for the time and iconic for a lot of its soundtrack and levels. Would have gave it a 9 if it didn't have such tedious Knuckles/Rouge missions, but as a whole a really fun and memorable classic. Rolling around at the speed of sound. Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2012
    6
    Sonic Adventure 2 could have been a lot better from the get go. It's not the port that's mediocre, but the game itself. Eggman's and Tails'Sonic Adventure 2 could have been a lot better from the get go. It's not the port that's mediocre, but the game itself. Eggman's and Tails' gameplay is slow and has bad platforming, the controls are wonky, and it's just slow in general. Knuckles' and Rouge's gameplay is a little better, but it involves wandering around the level, looking for hints as to where the Chaos Emerald shards are hidden, similar to Sonic Adventure 1. The best gameplay is Sonic's and Shadow's, which is more running, but still not enough speed to match it up to a game like Sonic Unleashed or Sonic Generations. The Chao Garden is fun, but some of the nitpicky details make it a tedious gameplay mode at times. And the Cart Racing more isn't nearly as good as the SA1 version. The multiplayer is good though, and the new HD graphicss make the game look fabulous. Expand
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    6
    Good gameplay,bad sound,better graphics, SA2 for the nintendo gamecube version is the better definitive version and i said "a heckalot" don'tGood gameplay,bad sound,better graphics, SA2 for the nintendo gamecube version is the better definitive version and i said "a heckalot" don't get the dreamcast or the 2012 release Expand
  7. May 25, 2015
    3
    This isnt the best sonic game of all time.first the story isnt good it has so many plot holes everyone is fricking stuipd how do you getThis isnt the best sonic game of all time.first the story isnt good it has so many plot holes everyone is fricking stuipd how do you get shadow and sonic mixed up they look nothing alike.ok plot holes dont matter its a sonic game well why do people give shadow the hedgehogs a tough time.

    Now lets talk about gameplay.The speed sections where you play as sonic and shadow are fun until the slippery controls mixed with platforming is bad also i swear the homing attack is broken because i attacked some gun robots and i took a hit.There is too much platforming in this game in sonic games you are suppose to fast.Now lets talk about one of the dumbest ideas in this game TREASURE HUNTING in these types of stages you play as Knuckles or newcomer Rouge the bat.The sonic fanbase confusses me they complain about slow gameplay like the werehog in unleashed or Shadow the Hedgehog but they're cool with this.Some of this stages are too small and Knuckles and Rouge run to fast the only good treasure hunting stage is Pumpkin Hill why because its made for Knuckles gliding abiltey and good music.Now the worst part of the game the MECH STAGES these are slow and cluncky in these stages you play as Eggman or Tails when this stages start i want to throw up because this stages are horrible.Its Gammas stages from SA the whole gameplay is hold one button lock on and let go.The only good thing about this game is of course the music is amazing.but that cant save this bad game sonic 06 had good music and that game was total ****
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews