Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the fight between heroes and villains, will you choose to save the world or conquer it? The hunt for the Chaos Emeralds is on and battle lines have been drawn between Hero and Dark. Experience two unique adventures featuring both long-time heroes and new and returning villains as they battle for the fate of the world! Sonic Adventure 2 makes its return on Xbox LIVE Arcade with a full cast of playable heroes and villains, exciting two-player competitive modes, Chao Gardens, and more than 30 action-packed stages, all remastered in HD! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    91
    Sonic Adventure 2 is for true Sonic fans that want to relive a time when the series was still fun to play. Despite the terrible camera and some audio hiccups, it's a great experience for old and new players alike. The Chao Garden and great price only add to the overall package making this one a sure fire bet!
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    80
    Sonic Adventure 2 offers the same thrills as its Dreamcast and GameCube predecessors without sacrificing too much. The online features from the Dreamcast title are unfortunately stripped, and the GameCube extras are only available as paid DLC – making this PSN download worth skipping if you already own either of the original titles. But for those who haven't yet experienced the fast paced adventure, this is a stellar port of an old classic.
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    70
    Sonic Adventure 2 has aged well. Nevertheless its purchase should be considered carefully, because of defects that already penalized the original version.
  4. Nov 30, 2012
    69
    Sharp when played in short bursts. [Issue#225, p.83]
  5. The only real reason to purchase this port is if the prospect of scouting out a Dreamcast and a copy of the game seems a bit pricey. [Holiday 2012, p.81]
  6. Oct 9, 2012
    40
    Sonic Adventure 2 didn't really get an unanimously enthusiastic reception when it came out in 2001, and this "HD" remastering won't either. Even though the fans will be able to enjoy this game in full widescreen / 720P resolution, nothing else has been upgraded, and it's not even the best version to date (the GameCube one) that's been used for this. Worst of all, SEGA asks for an extra DLC purchase to upgrade it to the Battle version.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    i lyk plin a sanic i tink itas fun rolling in ball and runn fast through stages and i clear every act gam is in hd high definitnietion you can see the graphifcs sonic is blue angd he get the rings i give this gam 10 sanic hegehouds out of 10 for ggbeing good game very fun yes thbank you bye Expand
  2. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    The best Sonic game ever now in HD. It is very nostalgic to look these graphics that were awesome 11 years ago in a HDTV, but they keep looking good. The musics are awesome (one of the best soundtracks), the story is the best in a Sonic game, and the gameplay is AMAZING (specially with Sonic and Shadow, but the other characters are very fun too). My only concern is about download content. I hope SEGA bring new things (new stages, or new costumes in 2 players mode), not only the 2:Battle from the GameCube. Congratulations Sonic Team for producing the game that I'll never forget, you are great! Expand
  3. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    You will probably have a blast while playing it, i gave it a 10 for a rason. This game is twice the hedghog, twice the fun.

    DO NOT STEAL,
    you8 should probably buy the original. Collapse
  4. Oct 5, 2012
    8
    Can't say too much about it. Still a awesome game, but with the same issue of bugs it has in SA1 for PSN/XBLA, Shadow NA voice acting still terrible and from the rest of NA voice acting as well (rather the JP VA but still not so good because I can't hear anything they say when the BG Music is too loud). There's probably some people would to kill my but I hate the Escape from the City music *die*. I prefer Live 'n Learn *uses phoenix down*. I think nowadays I like Sonic because his character, not from his games anymore. Sorry, but it's true. Anyway, go have fun and play it. Expand
  5. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    i think sanic adventures 2 is a pretty cool guy, eh goes fast and doesn't afraid of anything

    GOTTA GO FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST
    GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2012
    6
    Sonic Adventure 2 could have been a lot better from the get go. It's not the port that's mediocre, but the game itself. Eggman's and Tails' gameplay is slow and has bad platforming, the controls are wonky, and it's just slow in general. Knuckles' and Rouge's gameplay is a little better, but it involves wandering around the level, looking for hints as to where the Chaos Emerald shards are hidden, similar to Sonic Adventure 1. The best gameplay is Sonic's and Shadow's, which is more running, but still not enough speed to match it up to a game like Sonic Unleashed or Sonic Generations. The Chao Garden is fun, but some of the nitpicky details make it a tedious gameplay mode at times. And the Cart Racing more isn't nearly as good as the SA1 version. The multiplayer is good though, and the new HD graphicss make the game look fabulous. Expand
  7. Aug 31, 2014
    5
    A lot of people are going to hate me but the thing that breaks me is the treasure hunting stages and the mech stages, I can handle the treasure stages in SA1 but they slowed it down by making you get the things you need to get in order. the mech stages are slow and pointless. the speed stages are fun and all but what kills me is that hate sonic unleashed for the were-hog stages for being slow when SA2 has the same problems. that's all thanks for reading. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews