Sonic Adventure PlayStation 3

Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 18
  2. Negative: 6 out of 18
  1. Sonic Adventure is a solid title that definitely has its moments, delivering a boatload of content, along with frantic, fun gameplay. If you manage to overlook the glitches and dinky camera, you'll easily find a gem (or emerald) in this Dreamcast classic.
  2. If you've never played the game but want to find out what it was like, get this version. If you've played the original and want to be taken back to 9.9.99 without having to dig out your Dreamcast, then this is $10 well spent.
  3. Dec 22, 2010
    65
    Sonic Adventure is still today a good product and it still remains a relatively fun experience. But also nothing has changed at all with this PSN/Xbox Live port, including its annoying camera issues and some glitches. If you manage to overlook this bugs, you'll easily find a classic jewel game.
  4. Play UK
    Dec 25, 2010
    63
    The action stages are still great fun, but there's no denying that it is no longer the game it once was. [Issue#198, p.103]
  5. Sonic Adventure reaparition has contradictory results. It is a charming game we all remember fondly, but the formula has aged badly.
  6. Sonic Team really did do a good job with what they had at their disposal and this new release still maintains its charm. It really does. But that charm just isn't enough for us to ignore the negatives that rear their ugly heads from the get-go, and it's tough to recommend it with so many great PSN originals and PS1 classics.
  7. 55
    Nostalgia is the only reason Sonic Adventure is worth playing through.
  8. When you are running at full speed as Sonic, hitting all the boosts, pulling off the loops, and outrunning the Orca whale as it demolishes the very pier you are running on (still the best part of the game), you remember why the game is so much fun. Those parts alone are almost worth the price of admission. It's just that pesky rest of the game that ends up ruining all the fun.
  9. Jan 10, 2011
    50
    A game that should've rested in peace with the good old Dreamcast.
  10. A horrible camera, lots of bugs, no widescreen or any significant news. Not a good use of your money.
  11. Unless you are in the icy grasp of nostalgia, you will be doing yourself a service if you just ignore the fact this ever got released and wait for Power Stone 2 to get ported over to start your Dreamcast collection. It just is not fun.
  12. Sonic Adventure doesn't just make you realise its age, it also makes you question the world we live in: just how did this ever become the most successful Dreamcast game?
  13. Aug 22, 2011
    40
    At best Sonic Adventure is an amusing history lesson for the tolerant, at worst it just serves as a reminder of how long Sonic has been floundering.
  14. Games Master UK
    Dec 25, 2010
    40
    Those vibrant skies still pop and the sense of speed is undeniable, but this is best left as a happy memory. [Issue#232, p.87]
  15. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Dec 25, 2010
    40
    Ugly and outdated. [Christmas 2010]
  16. 40
    Sonic Adventure did not age well at all. The camera is frustrating and the voice overs are very weak. People who are looking for nostalgia could buy this game but even they should wait for Sonic Colors to come out.
  17. I could recommend this game if it came with a download code for the amazing soundtrack, but since that isn't the case, only the die-hard Sega junkies need apply here.
  18. In short, I would not recommend Sonic Adventure to any of my friends, acquaintances, co-workers, enemies or anyone else.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Oct 21, 2010
    7
    good game... but it aint in full screen, it's just a little square format which is weird.. Sega made a False Advertisement by calling thisgood game... but it aint in full screen, it's just a little square format which is weird.. Sega made a False Advertisement by calling this HD, the camera angle has problems sometimes also

    7/10
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    Sonic Adventure (originally 1991) has just arrived on PSN today (USA today, europe 22nd) and is a must-have game for all nostalgilisticsSonic Adventure (originally 1991) has just arrived on PSN today (USA today, europe 22nd) and is a must-have game for all nostalgilistics (don't even know if its an actual word), and so far after 6 hours its been a blast. For those of you worried, fear not as the Chao-breeding simulation and the minigames are back!! Sonic Adventure offers much more beyond the completion of its story then any recent entries such as Sonic Unleashed or Sonic 2K6 (erghh i don't know why i even mentioned this one). Fans of the Sonic series will definitely be pleased with the return of Sonic Adventure as it carries all the features from the original game!! Please ignore the critic reviews as it only judges based on the aging of a 10 year old CLASSIC, but yes the cameras can still be frustrationing as well as the lack of a widescreen option (only 4:3) can deter the experience but believe me this is one experience you don't want to miss!! ENJOY :D Full Review »
  3. Jul 6, 2015
    7
    Played this when i was younger, by that time it was awesome, one of the best games on the Dreamcast, when the port was announced i wasPlayed this when i was younger, by that time it was awesome, one of the best games on the Dreamcast, when the port was announced i was extremely happy, by the end though it seems the title didn´t aged pretty well, play with Sonic and Tails and have fun but the other 4 are clunky or boring, it´s still a good game Full Review »