User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 76
  2. Negative: 10 out of 76

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Really enjoying this -Beautiful to look at and game play that's genuinely moving the karting genre forward. Sorry Mario, I still love you but you're looking a slow and tired next Sonic Transformed.
  2. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    The first Sega Superstars racing was genuinely refreshing, because Sega's take on the kart-racing genre (shocking to think it has its own genre now!!) had enough of its own flavour to feel somewhat new. This time around Sumo and Sega have served a sequel that is different enough to the first one, whilst still proving to be massively playable. The graphics are mostly lovely (despite theThe first Sega Superstars racing was genuinely refreshing, because Sega's take on the kart-racing genre (shocking to think it has its own genre now!!) had enough of its own flavour to feel somewhat new. This time around Sumo and Sega have served a sequel that is different enough to the first one, whilst still proving to be massively playable. The graphics are mostly lovely (despite the framerate slips at times), the music and FX are awesome, but its the execution of the courses, and the themed-nature between game worlds and courses that really stuns. The courses are huge, and are akin to the freakiest rollercoasters you could ever imagine - then multiply that by ten!! Really worth it, a huge amount of fun, a fitting tribute to Sega, and suprizingly tense too. Expand
  3. Jan 11, 2013
    10
    It's Finally comming to Pc ! Thumbs Up ! :) And thanks, Really liked the first one, love the drifting boost aspect of the game, played it on Ps3 the framerate killed it for me ! Still a great game, really looking forward to the Pc release !
  4. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    Well what can I say, but what an ace little game this is. I love the likes of Mario Kart and obviously this title is compared to that series. While Its still not as good as Mario Kart (IMO) its still a fantastic racing game. Its fun, lots of fun and that is all that matters in this type of game IMO. Crank it up to "A" class skill and its also a good challenge. Great adrenaline rush on someWell what can I say, but what an ace little game this is. I love the likes of Mario Kart and obviously this title is compared to that series. While Its still not as good as Mario Kart (IMO) its still a fantastic racing game. Its fun, lots of fun and that is all that matters in this type of game IMO. Crank it up to "A" class skill and its also a good challenge. Great adrenaline rush on some tracks. Link the above with the fact that my local supermarket was selling it for £23.50 new, its an absolute must. The best karting game in years I think and what so many other pretenders fail at, Sonic takes a podium finish. The most fun you can have with a hedgehog & monkey without angering the animal cruelty brigade. Collapse
  5. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    Although this game might seem a bit "childish", it is still rather fun. The characters for the most part are very good, the track designs are very well done (Rouge's landing definitely the best race in my opinion), soundtrack for both the races and characters are good (Amy's voice annoy's the heck out of me though), the control's for land, boat and flying are all very tight, and splitAlthough this game might seem a bit "childish", it is still rather fun. The characters for the most part are very good, the track designs are very well done (Rouge's landing definitely the best race in my opinion), soundtrack for both the races and characters are good (Amy's voice annoy's the heck out of me though), the control's for land, boat and flying are all very tight, and split screen multiplayer is extremely fun. The online is alright at best, with the occasional lag. A few tiny issues i've experienced with this game are that the AI in offline mode are brutal, regardless of difficulty (which actually makes it funner.....for me), and the (small) number of glitches. One example i've experienced a few times is the vehicle failing to transform, destroying the chance to finish the race entirely. I've had NiGHTS drive through a transform gate to a flying section, only to remain as a car, fall through the ground, and get restarted in the air section, STILL AS THE CAR. It would then repeat this until I had to quit the game. Despite these tiny issues, the game is still very fun. Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2012
    0
    Well what can I say, but what an ace little game this is. I love the likes of Mario Kart and obviously this title is compared to that series. While Its still not as good as Mario Kart (IMO) its still a fantastic racing game. Its fun, lots of fun and that is all that matters in this type of game IMO. Crank it up to "A" class skill and its also a good challenge. Great adrenaline rush on someWell what can I say, but what an ace little game this is. I love the likes of Mario Kart and obviously this title is compared to that series. While Its still not as good as Mario Kart (IMO) its still a fantastic racing game. Its fun, lots of fun and that is all that matters in this type of game IMO. Crank it up to "A" class skill and its also a good challenge. Great adrenaline rush on some tracks. Link the above with the fact that my local supermarket was selling it for £23.50 new, its an absolute must. The best karting game in years I think and what so many other pretenders fail at, Sonic takes a podium finish. The most fun you can have with a hedgehog & monkey without angering the animal cruelty brigade. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jan 24, 2013
    80
    A must play for Sega stalwarts, and damn good fun to boot. Mario best watch his arse. [Feb 2013, p.76]
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    88
    An ace little racer. [Issue#227, p.76]
  3. Dec 23, 2012
    90
    Skilled, stylish, well-balanced kart racing. [Jan 2013, p.101]